Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Canopy Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Renew your bedroom or guest room with the Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser in rich Mahogany. This sturdy dresser is easy to assemble with just one tool. Beautiful solid hardwood and birch veneers stand up to real life wear and tear, while protecting your clothing and other necessities inside. The durable HardCoat top coat helps guard against scratches and bumps. Plus, the spacious drawers are set on smooth, ball-bearing glides, so you can open and close them without making a sound. Bright brushed nickel knobs add a touch of style against the warm Mahogany finish. This elegant 6-drawer dresser will look great in any room in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%46 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

WOWEEE

02/10/2011
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've wanted this dresser for like 2 years after I bought the Canopy Home office desk. As newly weds we didn't have the money or room. But FINALLY we have it and WE LOVE IT! The wood is STRONG and the drawers glide smoothly. It brings a luxurious feel to our room. Thanks Canopy for making great products!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Beautiful piece, terrible shipping

06/02/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser is gorgeous. In my opinion it looks like its from Pottery Barn - I really love it now that its all put together. With two people, it was fairly easy to assemble, but really hard to get up stairs (its shipped in a huge box and the shipping weight is about 190 lbs) The drawers are a little wobbly, and the top slides a tiny bit, but other than that it seems pretty solid.
I would have given it 5 stars if Walmart would choose a better shipping company! It used to be available for site-to-store shipping, but not anymore. So now you have to pay $75 or more and wait 2+ weeks for it. Seko worldwide, the shipping company, doesn't even deliver it to your door - in my case they gave it to Wilson trucking who had to set up a drop off day/time (8am - 5pm).
Overall it was a great purchase, not a bad price (when you ignore the shipping costs) and a beautiful look, but the entire process of having it shipped was frustrating to say the least. I don't know if I would ever order furniture like this from Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Great value, most can't believe it's from Walmart!

12/30/2011
By ,
Suffolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For starters, I assembled this entirely on my own at 8+ months pregnant and it took about 90 minutes. We are using it in our son's nursery as our changing table and it looks great with our more expensive pieces of furniture. My only issue is that the drawers aren't on rails so they don't slide out easily plus they can be easily pulled completely out of the console table. i liked that the piece will grow with him as opposed to a traditional changing table that's useless after 18 months.
Overall, it's the best value and quality for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Everything I wanted in a dresser

11/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This piece is gorgeous! I couldn't be happier with this dresser. It is heavy and solid wood. And I mean heavy. It's 175 lbs and the box is enormous. I ordered it site to store to save $90 in shipping fees. The box took up the entire back of an SUV and required 3 people to handle into the house.
On to the good stuff...The dresser is rich and luxurious looking. The espresso hue is exactly what I wanted and looks like the website image.
The dresser was easy to put together, but did require two people because it is solid wood and quite heavy to hold the large pieces up while assembling.
It comes with two options for draw pulls, nickel or wood. And I was pleasantly suprised at the draw depth and width. It also comes with a marker for covering scuffs.
I purchased this for $300 and thought it was an excellent value.
I would recommend this product highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Since I've purchased this...
Posted 06/09/2011
...the dresser itself is still beautiful and works well, but the price has gone up by $50 and site-to-store is no longer a shipping option (shipping is $75 now).
That makes the total price of the dresser $425 vs the $300 I paid. Part of my 5 star rating is value of the product. For $425 I would put the product at 4 stars and recommend people shop around for a comparable price at furniture stores that offer free shipping.
Walmart did this product a great disservice by increasing the price and removing site-to-store.
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

BUY THIS!!! Don't hesitate!

01/25/2011
By ,
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have collected pretty much all the furniture in this collection. I started with one piece that I purchased when they carried it in the stores and I loved it. That said, please remember you are ordering this from WalMart not some high end furniture store, which means that yes, it can come damaged (although none of my pieces ever have) but, WalMart is great about returns and/or replacements - so no fear!!! It was easy to assemble, I did by myself and while it took a little time, the pride I had in seeing it in all its glory was well worth it and it looks awesome!!! Its heavy, sturdy and made out of real wood. The box that comes weighs in the neighborhood of lile 175 lbs so getting it is definitely a 2 person job!! ORDER THIS, you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Not so easy to put together

06/27/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The finished product is very nice. The process to getting there is not. They say it is easy to put together. I will never buy another piece of furniture I have to assemble myself because of this dresser and it's matching 5 drawer tall chest. It was like World War III was going to start in my house. At least it is together. I couldnt give it one star because it does finish nicely and the drawers look like they have a lot of space. I cannot give it more because it was such a pain to put together that no amount of looks will ever fix how I feel about assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

LOVE this! Matches Pottery Barn Hudson Collection

05/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for a new bedroom suite, and I feel in love with Pottery Barn's Hudson furniture. Unfortunately, my budget wasn't anywhere near what it would cost me to get the entire collection, so I bought the PB bed, but bought the nightstands and dresser from Walmart's Canopy line. The entire suite matches PERFECTLY! I love to show off the room, and when I share my secret, everyone has been shocked. I saved thousands of dollars AND didn't sacrifice on looks or quality. These are gorgeous solid wood pieces - no cheap particle board.
The only concern I had was that one piece of a drawer was broken, and one track was off. However, I called the number that came with the dresser, and the company sent out replacement parts very quickly and apologetically. Absolutely no hassle there.
I would not hesitate to buy this again and highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

LOVE IT!!!!!

04/27/2011
By ,
North Platte,NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its everything we expected. we own other Canopy home furniture and the quality is fantastic. We shopped at all of our local furniture stores and this is even better quality for less price than what other leading stores could offer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Beautiful & Sturdy

10/08/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th piece of furniture from the Canopy line. I have been extremely satisfied with all. This piece is real wood so it's extremely heavy. Fortunately when it was delivered a neighbor was out so he helped carry it up the 4 steps to my porch and slide it inside. I put it together myself and it took a few hours, but it wasn't difficult. Sauder makes it all a piece of cake with the instructions, pictures and perfectly packed screws/dowels. I've had the dresser for maybe a month and it's done great. All of the drawers kind of click in when you push them closed all the way, like a soft click, except one but it's not that bad. It has self-leveling feet, be sure to level it BEFORE filling with clothes, that might help with my drawer issue. Overall I am extremely happy with my purchase. The drawers are nice and big (after transferring from my old dresser I have quite a bit more room for clothes now) and the wood is just beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Beautiful, sturdy dresser.

02/21/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser does not disappoint. It was fairly easy for my husband to assemble. He only needed my help a couple times in the beginning to get get the frame assembled. It is solid, it is gorgeous and we are so pleased. The drawers are dovetailed for extra stability. The bottoms are wood, not some cheap cardboard. It's a thinner wood, but it's wood. There are two different styles of draw pulls included you can choose from, the brushed silver or wood with the mahogany finish. It costs more than most dressers you find at big box stores but it's MUCH better quality than any dresser I've ever found at a big box store. It's more like furniture store quality, you just have to assemble yourself.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

WONDERFUL DRESSER!!!

06/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just ordered this dresser about 2 weeks ago from walmart.com. It's beautifully made and looks far more expensive then the $350.00 price tag. We could not get free shipping to the store, so we had to pay for the shipping. The shipping was pricey, but still a great value overall. I almost ordered a dresser from Potterybarn, but decided to keep looking instead. I am so glad I did, because the other dresser was around $1100.00. They look almost identical with the same mahogany finish!! GREAT BUY!!!! Keep in mind... If you get shipping to your home they will not bring the dresser inside. The box weighs 200 lbs. My husband wasn't home, so I had to open the box on the drive way and carry each piece inside. It took about 2 hours to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Love It!

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a new bedroom suite for quite a long time, but I refuse to buy anything that is not real wood. Unfortunately my budget right now doesn't support my taste, that is until I found this set. Gorgeous piece of furniture, looks like I paid 3x what I did and it was fairly painless for my husband to put together. He did have a few issues with the drawers, took him a bit to figure out how to remove them (after he put one in and it wasn't on the track), but he figured it out finally. The drawers are the only reason I gave four stars on appearance, a couple of them have gaps larger than what I would like. However, once you put clothing in and items on top you can barely notice. I'm pretty particular and they don't bother me, in fact, I don't even notice it any more. The drawers slide easily and the color is beautiful. It is VERY heavy though, the husband had to carry it from the garage piece by piece (I'm no help in the muscle department) so I hope I never have to move it. I am extremely satisfied with this purchase and I'm hoping to buy the five drawer dresser and nightstands soon. Of course I have only had it about a month, so I don't know for sure how it will hold up. If I were to guess from the initial quality I would say it will last minimum five years (that would be with a lot of abuse) but more like ten or more with proper care and use. It really is a beautiful piece of furniture. I am convinced that if all of them are built like mine, no one who purchases it will be disappointed based on craftmanship, value, or functionality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Great Buy!!!

01/27/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!! Had been looking for a good dresser on a tight budget for our nursery. Had concerns about ordering without viewing first. I am pleasantly suprised by the quality and look of this. Very easy to put together and the drawers slide smoothly. My husband is a carpenter and was also pleasantly suprised by the quality of this. It is very heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

beautiful dresser

01/24/2011
By ,
richland, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very beautiful dresser & made of solid wood. You cannot beat the price on this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Beautiful

02/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser is very, very beautiful. I have been to big furniture stores and have not seen the kind of quality that this canopy dresser has.
There were a few pieces that were difficult to put into place, but once all together it looks so nice.
I do not like that site to store was not an option and that they seem to no longer be making the 5 dresser tall boy in mahogany. I bought this with the hopes of getting the rest of the pieces at a later date. Having to pay $75 for shipping is what made me hesistant. It is worth the money though. It's a beautiful piece of furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Great piece of furniture!

07/24/2011
By ,
Sumter, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After almost 30 years, I finally decided to get some new bedroom furniture...not hand-me-downs, not "kids moved out so I'll use theirs", not leftovers. This was my choice and after looking through many of the furniture stores in the area (many 'name brand'), I chose this line. I am not sorry one bit! There is no question in my mind that the quality and workmanship is at least equal to the products I saw in many of the stores - for up to 4 times more $$. After putting the pieces together, I believe this line is probably higher quality than many. The one caveat is you have to put it all together, but it's easy! You may need some assistance lifting some of the pieces because they are HEAVY, but it's still easy! I also have the nightstands, large mirror and console table (I use is as TV stand in bedroom). Each piece (with exception of the 2 night stands) was purchased/ordered at separate times, but they all match perfectly. I'm thrilled to see they finally have the 5 drawer chest (now my hubby will match!). Don't hesitate to purchase anyting in this line! I do suggest you have someone to help you get it all in and out of the car, though!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Canopy End Table, Multiple Finishes
4.5 out of 5(427)
 
 
 
Canopy Anywhere Console Table, Mahogany Finish
4.6 out of 5(557)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Great quality

02/22/2011
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the entire canopy collection. Own the office collection, dresser and night stands. Purchased a bed from Havertys and the night stands and dresser match it perfectly. Shopped all over for furniture for our new home and the canopy line met our budget and exceeded our expectations in terms of quality. The furniture is solid wood and well-constructed. It's also relatively easy to assemble. Highly recommend the Canopy line. We are very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

It's ok

02/14/2013
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After looking for months for a dresser to use in our son's nursery I came across this Canopy dresser. The reviews were very positive and I felt good about the purchase. One thing I didn't see anywhere was that the Canopy dresser was made by Sauder and that the drawers are mdf and not vvery sterdy. Had I known all of this I would have bought something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Disappointed in quality

07/13/2012
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
With all the 5 star reviews I was really expecting a fabulous piece of furniture, but this dresser is a disappointment. Putting it together was not easy, lining up the brackets and getting them secure was difficult. A few of the drawers are not perfectly straight, one of them has a bad drawer glide making it difficult to open/close. The legs seems so dinky, but you can see that from the photo. After the expensive shipping fee it would have been a wiser choice purchasing a more quality piece of furniture already put together at a local store for about $150 more. This dresser is more suitable for a child's bedroom, not a master bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canopy 6-Drawer Dresser, Mahogany Finish

Awesome dresser

12/30/2013
By ,
St.louis MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality . Heavy solid wood. A very good buy. My daughters both have the same dresser .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next