Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

RCA RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

With the RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder in hand, you will no longer miss out on any important lectures, notes, or interviews. Storing and accessing those recorded audio files is also simple and efficient in this RCA digital voice recorder. An exciting feature is the variable-speed playback, which lets you listen to recorded files at your own pace. You can bookmark recorded files on this 1GB voice recorder to help you navigate through the various files quickly and easily. With the built-in flip-out USB connection, this digital voice recorder enables convenient data transfer to your PC.
Average Customer Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation70%47 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 146 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Great Paranormal Investigation Tool!!

06/28/2011
By ,
Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a paranormal investigator and equipment retailer I need an inexpensive digital voice recorder that records in WAV format and has a USB connection. WAV is important because we need our recordings as close to the original audio input as possible without file compression. EVP or electronic voice phenomenon is sometimes captured in inaudible frequencies that MP3 or WMA formats will compress or even remove. WAV takes up more space, but with 1gig of memory we can still record several investigations on the internal memory. The flip out USB means we have less accessories to keep up with. Seldom will you find a DVR that records in WAV format for this price. The option to plug in an external microphone for better sound quality really seals the deal for me. Less educated investigators would shy away from this product because it is inexpensive, but from my experience this recorder is a GEM. The only problem I have with this recorder is the user friendliness, but that's nothing a few minutes with the instruction manual won't fix. This is a must for any serious paranormal investigator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Nice for the Price

12/06/2010
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The controls took me a little while to get used to: This is my first digital recorder. But once you get the feel of it, it's not hard to use. The software that comes with the unit is decent-- not outstanding. I downloaded a freeware converter to change the voc files to mp3s.
You can also record in WAV format and drag the files directly to a WAV-enabled MP3 player. (My sound editing software, Roxio hates WAV files, so I have to convert the files first if I want to edit them.)
I really like the light weight of this product and the built-in USB connector. I wish it would have come with a carrying case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Perfect recorder

11/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to help me record notes in meetings and use as a reminder tool. It works perfectly. The amount of time that can be recorded is way more than I need and what I like about it is that you can record your notes in .wav files, which can be played back on any computer. It's so easy to use, it's exactly what I needed for my use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Great recorder, best value

02/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for this recorder largely because it has USB, something that the competitors only seem to have at much higher price points. This device has pretty good quality recordings of my course lectures when set to HQ, though I wouldn't recommend the SP or LP modes for any distance. If your goal is only for dictation, this will more than meet the task at all quality settings. So long as you don't use worthless $1 batteries, the charge seems to hold for a while. I'm still on my first set of AAA's a few weeks in while a classmate who bought the exact same recorder had it die after only 3 hours due to cheap batteries.
Further, despite what some people seem to claim, this works well on Windows, Linux, and Mac when using HQ (which saves as .wav). It only works on Windows in SP and LP mode (which saves as .voc and needs the included free software to convert to .wav).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

PIECE OF GARBAGE!!! (Just My Opinion)

01/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The following statements are made based on my professional opinion, experience, and best of my knowledge and belief, after spending countless hours with learning features and diagnosing problems on this recorder and its recent simillarly-featured predecessors:
1. This recorders' files constantly get corrupted and CHKDSK or other Disk Repair has to be run on it. I just spent over TWO HOURS running the last Repair on a big sound file.
2. Even though it records in .WAV format, the O/S doesnt treat the 32-bit formatted memory space in the same manner as a USB "thumb-drive," meaning:
A. You cant simply use a PC drag-and-drop of the files to and from the media without the INDEX file getting messed up AND risk causing the memory space to be corrupted, which results in future file-corruption. If you copy and delete a sound file and then copy it back, the recorder no longer sees it because the operation was controlled on the PC, not via the Recorder's O/S where the index file would otherwise be updated. You must use the RCA software at all times and places, which may not always be convenient.
B. If the RCA device driver isnt loaded, the PC [Win-XP (SP3)] might not recognize the Recorder. This could be problematic if transferring to School, Library, or Corporate "locked-down" PC's, preventing access to your files.
3. WEAK BATTERY WILL LEAD TO LOCKED-UP RECORDING AND FILE CORRUPTION: Whenever the batteries get close to dying in the middle of a recording, it will lock-up and make a ticking noise. All the buttons freeze-up and the only resolution is to immediately remove the batteries. When new ones are put in you may have to deal with a file-corruption problem and receive error messages copying one or more files to the PC. Causing you to have to run a Disk-Repair Utility to straighten it out. Some recordings may end up irrepairable.
4. ITS A NUISANCE TO RECORD...You must ALWAYS FIRST press the Play button before recording and it usually flashes <WAIT>...<WAIT>...<WAIT> for several inconvenient seconds before it is ready to record. So you CANNOT just press <RECORD> and immediately start recording. It requires at least one extra cumbersom step and delay before recording starts. RCA may claim it as a "safety feature" but you and I may find it more annoying. If youre a journalist or have to have quick-start recording, this is not for you.
I have owned several prior models to this with simillar problems. I have used them with some of the most stable PC's and in the most conservative manner, always following the manufacturers operating instructions when using this device with the same results. Previously I used a Panasonic USR380 (now unavailable), had no trouble and loved it! With RCA's models Ive spent way too much time fixing the recorders files. The only reason I bought them was unavailability of decent competing models in Wal Mart, and price. Im now looking for a Panasonic that is priced comparably. I would not recommend anyone buying any later-improved RCA models. I feel RCA has had plenty of chances to get it right.
(BTW, I dont know why, but this items Product Reviews area was EMPTY when initially displaying the items WalMart.com listing.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+214points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Kansas City
Submerged RCA Voice Recorder
Posted 05/29/2012
After many months of uninterrupted use I was demonstrating an occasional noise emanating from my home A/C unit that I had recorded for the A/C technician. After the demo I put the recorder in my pocket and later went for a dip in the pool. It wasn't until I went to change clothes that I realized my RCA voice recorder was still in my pocket and had endured a thorough soaking. I removed the batteries and let it dry out and after a 12 hr drying period the recorder worked fine and was no worse for wear after it's underwater ordeal.
+1point
Customer Avatar
chicago
RCA Recorder
Posted 04/11/2012
super clear sound but very difficult to understand how to use. could not use it.
-3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

It's a $25.00 recorder--You can't beat it for the

01/07/2012
By ,
Billings, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no idea why there's a couple reviews about this recorder that go into depth about all the technical gibberish associated with digital recording and so forth. It's a $25.00 digital recorder, not a $200.00 one! If you want something that's really versatile and gives you all kinds of happy little frills and benefits and quirks, keep shopping and pay a little more. For the money, this is a GREAT recorder. I've used it for hundreds of hours now with NO PROBLEMS. NONE of the problems people have reported with this recorder have happened to me. One even says you have to push the record button then the play button to get it to record and that you get a "wait" message over and over...uh...are you sure you reviewed the correct recorder??? All you have to do is tap record and it immediately starts. I've never had a problem with the included software. You can download free Audacity software and play with your digital files there (cutting and pasting, dragging and dropping, etc...). It's a blast to use, too. It's so simple and self-explanatory that it kinda explains itself. Playback sound is not too bad at all with the built-in speaker. It records in uncompressed .WAV format, which is lager than MP3 but sounds better (especially with headphones or external speakers). AND there's an external microphone jack so you can add a phantom-powered or dynamic microphone at will. Speaking of phantoms, it's a great EVP recorder too for all you paranormal investigator buffs. Because it records in .WAV there's very little chance you'd miss something (like you probably will using an MP3 recorder). I've already picked up all kinds of stuff with it, and using Audacity software with it works GREAT for saving sounds as files). Anyway for $25.00 you really can't go wrong. Pick one up and play around with it. If you don't like it, you're not out much. But if you do (which you will), you'll have all kinds of fun with it. It's worth it to give it a try, especially with all the extra little features you get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

great for the price

06/19/2011
By ,
Round Rock, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to use to capture EVPs when I went to visit the historic Menger Hotel in San Antonio. First time I used it, I captured 2 evps, although I didn't know it until I listened the next day. I think this product works great. Sounds great and easy to use. I use it for all of my ghost hunting outings. I am going to get another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Stopped working after 2 uses

02/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have only used this recorder twice. I was in the middle of recording a meeting for a school assignment and the recorder suddenly told me to format it. Upon trying, my computer stopped recognizing the recorder and now only sees an EMPTY storage device when plugged in. The only way to get the files off is to record it onto a NEW recorder. Not worth the money. Its worth it to get a recorder that costs more if it has a better history of working for more than a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PLEASE SEE Q&A AND MY ORIGINAL COMMENTS 1/7/2011
Posted 11/09/2011
Ive addressed this both in my 1/7/2011 Review and in Q&A on this product. You must read those for important information, however sometimes the following procedure will restore some (not all) of your files:
1. Goto command prompt: Run menu, type: CMD
2. Type "CHKDSK /F/X <drive letter of RCA>" (e.g. "CHKDSK /F/X E:") , ENTER,
3. Wait, sometimes hours, until it completes.
4. Connect, then COPY, all files to your PC.
5. Disconnect and Format the RCA using the devices' utility (NEVER from the PC!!!) See RCA manual for instructions on this.
6. In near future, do not record anything important on this for awhile until youre sure its working ok, else take it back.
7. Norton or Windows-Based Utilities will not properly correct the problem so please do not use them even if it "appears" to work. Ive been around the block too many times with this RCA so trust me on this!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Good Digital Recorder

08/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recorder is very good and inexpensive. The sound is very good and the microphone picks up sound even if it's far away. The operation is very simple if you take a minute to read the instructions. The construction is good, it is very light. The slide out usb is very nice and convenient way to upload your audio. If you use the HQ it records in WAV. format, which is very easy to load on your computer and just about every audio program supports this format. Overall for the price this recorder meets and exceeds my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Happy with purchase. :-D

07/23/2011
By ,
miami, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this for lectures in school. I don't even have to put the recorder near the teacher for it to be clear. It's clear from my desk! I love the usb connection that the recorder has. Overall, I very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

overkill for a product that should be simple

11/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
too many functions for what should be a simple hand held voice recorder. definitely not for the elderly who would be better served with a functional product geared to simple and easy one step usage.....nick
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

RCA VR5320

06/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good recording device. It has a mic and a usb port on the top, a mic and headphone jack on the left side, and a volume, record, and erase button on the right side. I am pretty pleased with this digital voice recorder. I would advise this to anyone who wants to record things such as thoughts, memos, ect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Not all that great

11/01/2010
By ,
Columbia SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already had an audio recorder by another company. I purchased this to use in the car. What a mistake! The instructions are hard to understand. It's hard to operate and it takes a while after switching it on before it'll record. With my existing one, it's instantly on and instantly recording. This RCA thing doesn't even have a standard file format. It has something called VOX which needs to be converted to WMA before it's usable. On the whole I'd say save your money and buy something better. It's just not worth the hassle. I eventually lost mine - it fell out of the car. Good riddance to bad rubbish!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

just what I needed for cheap

05/10/2011
By ,
Clearfield, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a new device for me to use with my vocal students. They could use it with their home puters to edit out all of the things not neccessary to practice for the week. It was a great recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

operation complex

09/30/2011
By ,
san diego ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TOO hard to operate. Instruction weigh more than unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

TERRIBLE!!!

06/13/2011
By ,
Houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this voice recording in hopes of recording church services and have them transferred on to my PC and hopefully then, to our hopefully new website. NOT what is going to happen with this trash. Sure it's OKAY...IF you're only going to listen to it from the device and do nothing more than that. I had to worry about doing all these conversions and it never even got done because I don't know how. However, I did find someone's opinion very helpful because most of what he said as a professional I caught on to (I'm 18 so it makes me feel better haha) and had to download all these programs that in the end only told me to register so that was a complete waste of my time. So of course, In summary, DO NOT buy this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

Great product at a great price!!

09/04/2011
By ,
Sussex, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in nursing school, and this device is perfect for recording the lectures. I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder
10/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
terrible. cannot record clearly and files are not mp3. it's think and not easy to use. cannot hear anything on the speakers unless you are recording an interview and the recorver is right infront of the person. not great for lectures
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder

RCA VR5320 1GB

04/25/2011
By ,
Hot Springs Village, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk. You will spend all day trying to set everything up. The instructions must have been written by an engineer. After finally getting the recorder to work I could not erase or delete files. Don`t waste your time or money on this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA VR5320 1GB Digital Voice Recorder
05/23/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this for 3 years and it has worked perfectly for that time. I bought an earpiece which has allowed me to record voicemail messages as well as real time phone conversations. I highly recommend it and have had other friends who have purchased the item and been pleased with it as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next