Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The Priest's Graveyard

The Priest's Graveyard

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%15 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Priest's Graveyard

An emotional rollercoaster

04/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ted Dekker has done it again! He has taken two characters from very different walks of life and brought them together in a tale that is fast-paced and exciting. Somehow he is able to delve into the deepest, darkest depths of the human psyche. So much, in fact, that everything Danny and Renee struggle with hits home. He draws the reader in so intensely that you feel as though you are them. These are things that you and I have dealt with. Perhaps you have a sister or a brother who has struggled in a similar way. It was beautiful and sad, thrilling and disturbing, at times tough to stomach...yet so worth it.
I couldn't put this book down. I laughed. I cried. I got angry. It gave me hope. It kept me on the edge of my seat. This is a story I will be thinking about for days to come. Any book that can cause me to feel this way gets two thumbs up! Definitely his best book yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Priest's Graveyard

Masterpiece

05/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ted Dekker has done it once again! This is a tale of epic proportions that shows us that there is more than meets the eye and questions your very sense of what truly is “right” and “wrong”? In this riveting and heart-wrenching (and sometimes quite gut-wrenching as well) story, readers are taught never to judge by what is seen. There is always more to every story. There are not enough words to describe the beauty of the intracies that Ted entwines into this story. It is not only a book, it is a cleverly crafted masterpiece. It is a powerful, magical story hidden behind the guise of a “novel”. Read it, and the magic contained in this story will unfold beautifully before your eyes. And until you finish that last page, don’t even begin to think that you understand it. Because as Ted has beautifully portrayed, nothing is ever quite like it seems. This book will haunt you long after you finish that last page.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Priest's Graveyard

This is Why I Read!

05/02/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Priest’s Graveyard has touched me in a way few books have. It has reminded me why I want to be a writer. I don’t feel this way just because of the story’s vivid characters, intense plot, and surprising twists that only Dekker can create. And it’s also not just because I found myself laughing out loud at spots and choking back tears at others. And it’s not just the dark edge to the story that kept me on the edge of my seat. What got me most about this book was the story itself. I really feel like I went on a journey with these characters, and I lived the story myself. This book changed my perspective of the world; I can’t look at myself or others in the same way I used to. It’s hard to believe I can learn so much truth from a fictional story, but this book has opened my eyes. I can’t explain how, but this book got under my skin and stayed there. I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Priest's Graveyard

An amazing read!

04/30/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Different is one word to describe this book. It is not like most Dekker novels yet, it is. I loved Renee and Lamont…until I learned the truth of Lamont, that is. I loved Danny, the priest. This book is different in the “graphicness” as one of my friends put it, but not in a way that I would stop reading it. Graphic, in the sense, that some of the things that happened were quite shocking. (page 25 mainly). Renee’s OCD made me laugh. The love Danny shows, and his “Confession” at the end is…I don’t have a word for it. Amazing.
All in all, I loved this book. As a novel I promoted for weeks, and bought 8 copies of,and was majorly excited about I was not let down. I couldn’t put it down—unless it was necessary. Amazing read!
You will see some parts of yourself in some of the characters, Danny, or Renee maybe??
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Priest's Graveyard

A must for Dekker fans.

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You should really read this book when you have a decent amount of time on your hands so you can give it the appreciation it deserves and devour it in one or two sittings. The second you pick it up, you won't want to put it down. Humor mixed with wide eyed, edge of your seat action and situations that make your heart pound is what you'll find in Ted Dekker's latest novel. Without giving anything away, The Priest's Graveyard causes you to examine your own beliefs of right and wrong and judgement. Do you feel superior to others? Or do you only feel superior to those who inflict pain on others? Questions like these will wander through your mind as you embark on this wild ride with Renee Gilmore and Danny Hanson. It will leave you stunned and racing to the first chapter so you can read it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Priest's Graveyard

Brilliantly written!

04/26/2011
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Priest's Graveyard" by Ted Dekker is an attention-grabbing, fast-paced story that immediately engages the reader with one of the main characters, priest Danny Hansen. Danny grows up in Bosnia, where he experiences first-hand the brutalities of the Serbs, who murder his mother and sisters. He personally avenges their deaths and vows to spend his life protecting the innocent, by whatever means it takes. Here enters into the story a recovering heroin addict named Renee. She is rescued from the streets by her savior, Lamont. Although Lamont is a fanatic about rules and cleanliness, he takes Renee into his home. One day, Lamont doesn't come home and Renee sets out to find and exact justice on the person she knows is responsible for his death. Danny and Renee's paths cross and they are inevitably drawn together as they are both seeking the same murderous monster. The story races to a heart-pounding climax that leaves the reader breathless, filled with suspense until the very end. 
This is not only a superbly-written story with unexpected plot twists and believable, deep characters, but it also raises questions throughout that force the reader to examine their own convictions about law and grace, justice and love. Absolutely brilliant and deep!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Priest's Graveyard

AMAZINGNESS

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
     I started the Priests Graveyard, by Ted Dekker with no amount of Trepidation, okay I did a little, but only in a small way. I was afraid I would ruin the book. I do not know why I was afraid. Ted has created such wonderful stories before! 
     I decided to finally crack the cover. Soon after the first page had been turned I slammed the book down and exclaimed, "THIS BOOK IS NOT DISSAPOINTING!" I then picked the book up and resumed my reading. 
     Two or maybe even five pages passed and I began to weep. Danny, The main character, goes through a terrible trauma. 
     I assure you, with no fear in my heart, that at that second I found this book Ted's "BEST SO FAR" as many headlines have said. 
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Priest's Graveyard

The Priest's What?

04/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Priest's Graveyard - The Priest's What? Graveyard? Yes Graveyard! The tittle alone compells you to pick up this book, by one of the most remarkable best selling authors, Ted Dekker. Once you hold this book in your hands you will not be able to put it down, as you are drawn into the horrific lives of a tormented justice seeking priest, Danny Hansen and the tortured soul of the tiny and pathetic Renee Gilmore. These two are destined to play an unbelievable game of life, death, justice, revenge, rituals, laws and love. The pages will fly by and the ending will leave you questioning the value of your very soul. Get The Priest's Graveyard today and be changed! If you dare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Priest's Graveyard

One of his best!!

05/02/2011
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a book that grabs the very desires of your soul. Then you should look for Ted Dekkers new novel The Priest's Graveyard. This book will give you everything you love to watch, read and dream. Its filled with action, romance, suspense, and Blood and not to mention and a bunch of good looking mysterious characters. That will make you fill like your inside the book your holding and make you ask yourself if you are making the right life decisions or if you just as twisted as some of the characters in Ted Dekkers most wonderfully written book The Priest's Graveyard.
He'll leave you wanting more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Priest's Graveyard

A Dekker twist you will never see coming!

04/30/2011
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Ted Dekker is able to crawl into the minds of his readers and shake things up with a feisty delight before shining a fierce light upon the fragmented tangled pieces. “The Priest’s Graveyard” is his latest venture into the human monster revealing, with painful clarity, the very part of us we hide from. A vigilante priest and an abused, used-up drug addict do not begin as characters that induce respect or empathy, but you will find in them more to love than loathe. Danny, a Bosnian immigrant who saw his entire family brutally and viscously slaughtered, is on a mission to right the wrongs of injustice from behind the purity of the white collar. Renee is a lost and desperate victim of bad decisions and even worse fate. Their paths cross in a most violent and disturbing manner that leads to a very unlikely alliance. The exceptional character development in this book shrewdly weaves for us a tapestry of two people who show us just how far a person can be pushed before they are broken beyond repair. Yet through the distortions of this intensely paced story, the power of love and forgiveness shines far above a wretched soul searching for hope in revenge with a Dekker-twist that I guarantee you will never see coming! This story of judgment and redemption is a journey into the frailty of the human psyche that will have you questioning not only ‘reality vs. fantasy’ but also pondering how unpredictable is that monstrosity within yourself?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Priest's Graveyard

It's a fast and unforgettable read!!!

05/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Priest's Graveyard will take you out of you own grave of darkness and set you on a whole new path. It's a fast and unforgettable read. Taking you to the edge of your mind and making you sit there pondering what is right and wrong. From the characters that make you feel their pain to the amazing story line. This book has all that you are looking for and more. All I can say is Ted Dekker has written, yet again, an amazing fast paced thriller that will keep you reading till the end and leave you wanting more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Priest's Graveyard

Highly Recommended

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dekker has woven a tale of love so deep and haunting that it will plague your mind days after finishing. You’ll stay on the edge of your seat from the very first chapter to the last, waiting for the resolve. Yet the resolve is nothing that you would expect or perhaps it is. For if you look deep enough, you will see the story is actually is not about the characters; it is about the deepest places of your heart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Priest's Graveyard

Amazing! Total Thriller!!

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I dove into The Priest’s Graveyard, I was plunged into a whirlpool of love, lies, and an unquenchable passion for justice. Unable to escape, I rushed toward the last pages and found myself enthralled by Ted Dekker’s latest masterpiece.
The characters are blinded by their convictions, and they dragged me right along with them. They are such simple characters, straight forward and single-minded, but at the same time, so incomprehensibly complicated (wow, there’s a tongue twister for you).
Renee is willing to do whatever it takes, no matter the cost, no matter the pain, no matter the choices she must make to find justice and revenge. She believes in what she’s doing, in the decisions she’s making, in the judgment she’s casting, and that made her an entrancing and engrossing read. Although her logic is twisted by abuse and pain, I found myself empathizing with her, even in the crossroads of life-altering––or life-ending––decisions. She trapped me in her mind and showed me the world from her perspective.
Danny is a misguided soul with motives you can’t get around. He made me wish I didn’t like him or what he was doing, but it was so impossible not to love him! Conflicting emotions followed me like a tail while discovering the rawest parts of this deeply wounded character. By the end, I loved him. Just loved, loved, loved him.
I couldn’t stop myself from being on his side, even when he was doing atrocious things in the name of justice. Because in his mind, (and I found myself lured by his logic) the things he does are an act of love to the innocent souls in the world, who don’t deserve to be hurt, as he was.
But in the end, its all gets turned on it’s head, as only Dekker can do. Brace yourself for a brilliant and haunting experience in the blood covered pages of this gripping novel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Priest's Graveyard

Judge not lest you be judged

05/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Judge not lest you be judged”…The Priest Graveyard is the newest book from New York Times bestseller author Ted Dekker. It’s a beautifully crafted story that will leave your mind racing, even after you finish the book. It’s a story about Love, Betrayal, Grace, and Judgment. The story is told from the perspective of two separate, but similar characters. Danny Hansen, whom was raised in Bosnia during the war between the Serbs and Croats, now a Priest that’s mission is to rid the world of the vipers or criminals who escape the law. Some would call him a vigilante, but for him it’s his calling and what he’s known since the day he saw his family killed. Judge not lest you be judged. The story is also about Renee Gilmore, a heroin addict, who in the midst of overdosing is saved by a man who takes care of her, and helps her break her addiction. For over a year the man, named Lamont, cares for her and helps her. However, not all is as it seems, and one day Lamont doesn’t return from a business trip. Afraid of what has happened to Lamont, Renee seeks vengeance for Lamont’s disappearance. While seeking vengeance, Renee and Danny’s paths cross, leading down a road in which nothing is as it seems. Worlds are shattered as the story reaches it’s climax ending with a plot twist you could never see coming. At the heart of the story it’s about Love and Grace, which to get there, the story travels through the darkness leading up to the Truth and Light at the end of the tunnel! This truly is a masterpiece of a story, and will have your mind racing for days. It’s a story that at parts had me laughing, shaking in fear of what could happen next, and then in tears of joy as the story ended. This is a great story for any Dekker fan or anyone who is looking for a great suspense thriller. “Judge not lest you be judged.”
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Priest's Graveyard

Intensely gripping read

04/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s unusual to read a book in which the hero would ordinarily be considered a villain. Danny Hansen, a priest with a passion for justice, kidnaps those he judges to be the scum of the earth and kills them if they do not repent. When his mission intersects with that of Renee, a hurting young woman in search of revenge, they join forces to take down a smooth talking tycoon with blood on his hands. The final confrontation they come to is a twist worthy of the name on its cover.
Danny is a killer in the name of God, true enough, but he is also a kind man who treasures goodness and beauty. Spunky, determined Renee is very naïve in some ways and very experienced in others. Each with their own dark and complex past, they read as very authentic and well rounded, raw human beings simply doing what they must. Their chemistry is surprising, and still feels completely inevitable. Ted has a real knack for putting his characters in breathtakingly fantastic and/or horrific situations that reveal the core of their humanity, and The Priest’s Graveyard is no exception. The characters drive the story, which is absolutely as it should be.
The climax is packed with enough suspense and emotional oomph to rank it firmly among Ted’s finest works. This is an ending I definitely did not anticipate and felt a bit torn about, and yet I can’t imagine it ending properly any other way. In my experience, that’s always a mark of a truly fantastic story.
At the time of this writing, just nine days past the release, The Priest’s Graveyard has already hit #9 on the New York Times bestseller list, the quickest of any of Ted Dekker’s books to date. I read it over the course of one weekend and could hardly put it down. I’ve been anticipating this book for well over a year now, and I’m happy to say it lives up to the hype. This is no cheap thriller barreling through on blood and adrenaline; it’s an intensely gripping story containing both edgy suspense raw enough to make you tense every muscle, and reckless love strong enough to bring a lump to your throat. This story will leave you breathless and will haunt you with the question, “Who really has the right to judge another?”
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.