Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

The Dyson Ball DC24 Animal Upright Vacuum is a light upright machine that can be used on most floor types and homes with pets. The handle can slide into the machine allowing you to store it in small places. This lightweight bagless vacuum cleaner has a motorized brush bar, driven by an independent motor for improved cleaning performance. The vacuum cleaner has an integrated fingertip brush control to switch the brush bar on or off. Equipped with a reversible wand, the DC24 Animal vacuum reaches even the most inaccessible areas. The ball technology used in the vacuum cleaner lets you maneuver it with ease. It also comes with a min turbine heat attachment that picks up minute pet hair. For effortless dusting, you can convert the nozzle into a brush tool using an on board accessory tool. As with all Dyson ball vacuum cleaners, the DC24 Animal vacuum has minimal loss of suction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(858 Reviews) 777
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
641
4 stars
134
3 stars
30
2 stars
23
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation92%787 out of 858reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
641
4 stars
134
3 stars
30
2 stars
23
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Fantastic Vacuum at a Fantastic price!

12/08/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instead of standing in line for Black Friday, I ordered it Thursday night from my home and it arrived the following Tuesday! That was a savings in time and money!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Definitely worth it!

06/05/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE my 'Little Animal'! It picks up pet hair and debris just like it says it should. My husband and have two Lab-mix dogs that shed A LOT, espcially now that summer is hitting. We needed something to get up the pet hair that gets stuck in our carpet, and this baby does the trick! From the clear canister it is easy to see that it picks up things you didn't even know were there!
There are a few buttons and latches that you will need to learn how to use. But they all serve a good purpose. I gave a 4 out of 5 for the features for one reason - the length of the 'wand tube' could be longer. On the other hand, the vacuum tends to glide smoothly along when you need it to. It doesn't fall over when you're using the 'wand'.
All in all this is a great product that I would recommend to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson Animal DC24

07/29/2011
By ,
Iowa Great Lakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best vacuum I have ever owned! I had heard several good things about this vacuum and was hesitant to buy it based on the price, but after purchasing a new vacuum every year I figured what the heck. I am so glad that I did. First off this vacuum is light weight and second it picks up everything! I could not believe all of the dust, dog hair, and just plain old dirt that was in my capet this vacuum picked up my old one was leaving behind. The hose reaches into small spaces and high areas. I can not say enough how great this product is. It's actually FUN to clean because you can see just how much you are removing from the carpet with the bagless feature. I have owned other bagless vacuums in the past and they did not pick up half of what this vacuum does. It is awesome that Walmart.com offered this product for less than the manufacturer and with free shipping site to store I could not resist!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

I love this vacuum!

05/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the by far best vaccum I have ever owned. I have all hardwood and tile floors and it picks up every piece of dust, I was impressed. I couldn't believe how much pet hair and dirt it pulled out of our area rugs and furniture that our other vacuum left behind. My rugs felt and looked new again! However, these Dyson vacuums are pricey, there is nothing compared to them. If I lived in a home with carpet I would have bought the full size dyson. I would recommend this vaccum to anyone who lives in a home with hardwood floors and/or tile or someone living in a small apartment. Oh and just because it is compact, don't expect it to be very light. It is heavier than my last vacuum but its performance is amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

If this is an Animal, it's a Kitten.

07/21/2011
By ,
san diego
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dyson is on the right track with the ball idea, this vacuum works well on all surfaces and does an okay an job overall. I would not say this was animal rated, due to the poor design in the hose length, cord length, container size and suction. I was pleased with the power brush attachment for the hose as it preformed as well as it could based on suction.
To use the hose you have to turn the handle over and connect it to the hose, the hose is short and I found it difficult to vacuum the tops of the cat towers. We have long hair cats and the shed a lot in the summer months. I expected the Dyson to rip through the fur however, we tested this against our old Bissell bag less and sorry to say, the $49.00 Bissell did almost as well as the Dyson.
The other problem we encountered was if you go to empty the canister and happen to push the button while you are lifting you have dust and dirt everywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Perfect my little house

05/29/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small house that I share with my boyfriend and our cat. I only have carpets in three rooms so I just wanted something light, with good power, and made for animals. This vacuum does it for me. I absolutely love my dyson.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

The Dyson is great!

07/28/2011
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dyson is great for hair pickups. I have 3 German Shepherds, so I have tons of dog hair everywhere. I was amazed at the amount of hair it did pick up. I works great on the carpets and so-so on the hardwood floors.
The only negatives I have is the length of the cord. It's short. Also, I feel like I have to be very careful with everything b/c it's so light. I'm scared I am going to break something.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Small but powerful

05/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easily the best vacuum I have ever used. It is quite a bit smaller than I expected, but it picks up dog hair that I didn't even see in the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
07/18/2011
By ,
bonne terre,mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Dyson dc24 Animal vacuum, the price is great compared to other retailers and the shopping networks. I have owned a Hoover windtunnel for years and has always done a good job, but this dyson beats it hands down. The suction power is stronger and it gets a lot more dog hair off the furniture and floors than my old vacuum, and the dirt it gets from the carpet is unbelievable this is the best vacuum i have ever owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Awesome vacuum for pet hair

04/10/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been in search of a vacuum that is durable and would be able to efficiently pick up pet hair from all types of floor surfaces. After using the vacuum for the first time I was able to see why everyone I know has always recommended a Dyson. The DC 24 animal lived up to all the specifications and details that were described on the package. The only negative, and this may just be adjustments to using it properly, is when I switch the settings from hardwood to carpet, the vacuum seems to push any trapped hair onto the carpet. It easily picks up again but just seems to provide more work, so I am still working out the best way to use the vacuum and all the settings. So far it has lived up to and exceeded my expectations. I would 100% recommend this model to any pet owner and strongly suggest investing in a reliable vacuum!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

great buy!

11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AFTER READING SOME OF THE REVIEWS I WAS HESITANT, BUT I HAD BOUGHT THE CORDLESS UPRIGHT SEVERAL MONTHS AGO AND I LOVE IT SO I TOOK A CHANCE.
I DO AGREE THAT THE INSTRUCTIONS WEREN'T EASY. BETTER PICTURES AND SOME "WORDS" WOULD HELP, BUT I DID GET IT TOGETHER. ALSO I THINK SOME OF THE NEGATIVE SUCTION REPORTS COULD BE DUE TO NOT STEPING ON THE WHEEL STAND TWICE. THE FIRST STEP
DOWN PICKS UP THE WHEELS PART WAY BUT, THE SECOND STEP DOWN RETRACTS THE WEELS ALL THE WAY UP SO THAT THE VACCUME IS RESTING TOTALLY ON THE "BALL" AT WHICH POINT ALL THE SUCTION GOES TO THE FLOOR HEAD.
I FOUND THE SUCTION GOOD FOR SUCH A LIGHT VACCUME AND THE LIGHT WEIGHT AND EASY MANUVERING MAKES IT THE IDEAL CLEANER WITH MY TENDONITUS.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

NEVER again

03/10/2013
By ,
Temecula, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do yourself a favor and DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. What a piece of junk, been in the shop 3 times, and ALWAYS over $100 to fix. Bad power switches and now, a broken belt. Now I have found that ALL Dyson vacuums have to have the entire clutch replaced when the belt breaks, HUH???? are you kidding me ? instead of any more pricey repairs on this outrageously priced vacuum, im going to just go out and get a hoover or eureka and this heap of junk is going in the trash....... could have bought 4 other vacuums on the price of the repairs alone. AND the repair guy told us they are junk and he has them in his shop all the time. Heck with this, im back to good ole american
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

10 STARS!!!!!!

04/14/2013
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is more than worth the money, I have had mine for 3 years now and with 3 house cats, I don't know what I did without it!!! It cut my vacuuming time in half. Picks up like a charm and has made a broom for hard floors almost obsolete. I never even registered mine and had no receit for it and when a minor problem arose, I called Dyson and they found a nearby shop for me to take it and they paid for everything!!! I tell everyone it is the one purchase I did not waste my money! Dyson I LUV u!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Worth every dime!

03/12/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had previously owned a canister vacuum that I LOVED- but it was going out and I caught this on sale. I had been wanting one, but I would not pay $600 for a vacuum. When this went on sale, I immediately ordered it. When it arrived, I vacuumed all of my area rugs with my old vacuum and then with this one just to see if it really did what they said it would. It DID! If it died tomorrow I would have another one rushed to me! Awesome product~
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Pet Hair No More

01/18/2013
By ,
Montpelier, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have tried several different cheaper vacuum brands, just to find that they left lots of pet hair behind. We have two dogs and a cat. The first time we used it, we could actually see the carpet without a layer of hair! Would definitely recommend this to any indoor pet owner!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Very good product

09/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works very well, very compact, light and nimble. Canister is very convenient, but a bit small if you have a lot of dog hair.
Pet grooming attachment works great(sold perperatly).
It's all plastic, so we will see how it holds up.
Cord is a bit short.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Cons: Cord Length
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Great

06/14/2012
By ,
Maysville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, something that picks up all pet hair easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

This vacuum really sucks! (sorry)

05/25/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best vacuum I've owned. I have two great cats that shed non-stop. Any vacuum will pick up pet fur - if you go over it three or four times - but the Dyson really picks up fur from carpeting the first time.
The extension hose on this model is a bit short for reaching high places. I replaced a canister vacuum and the power cord comes out the rear. On the upright Dyson, it comes from higher up near the handle and is always in the way of vacuuming. You need to hold it so you're not going back and forth over it. Something I'll just have to get used to.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Best Vacuum Ever!

05/10/2012
By ,
Boynton Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best Vacuum I have ever owned. I was shocked it actually Vacuumed the Kitchen the way a broom sweeps the floor and it picked up all the cat hair on the carpet! It is very light and small enough to fit in the bottom of my closet! It picks up everything off the hard tile flooring, to the laminate, and then the carpet. I would recommend this Vacuum to anyone. The bag-less feature is wonderful; now i don't have to pry it open like with my old vacuum to try and get the dirt/hair out and then i would end up getting it all over me instead of in the garbage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dyson DC24 Animal Ultra Lightweight Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Great vacuum cleaner!

05/26/2013
By ,
Snellville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vacuum cleaner! I would add a light and bigger cyclone refuse container, but I love it. I had back surgery a couple of years ago and 6 months ago I had a portion of my bicep removed during rotator cuff surgery, so it was important that I find a light-weight, easy to maneuver vacuum. This is 11 lbs of wrist action vacuuming at its best! No back and forth movement, just turn my wrist and it goes in that direction. I love it!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next