Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

The Dyson DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum Cleaner is a bagless vacuum cleaner, specially designed for families with pets. It features the Level 3 Root Cyclone technology, which is the most efficient technology for capturing microscopic dust. The Dyson bagless vacuum cleaner is certified asthma & allergy friendly by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America. It comes equipped with a mini turbine head attachment to remove pet hair and dirt from hard-to-reach places such as upholstery, stairs, and car interiors. This lightweight vacuum cleaner also features an articulating hard floor tool and an on-board brush, stair, and crevice tool. Similar to all other Dyson vacuum cleaners, the Dyson DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum Cleaner also has no loss of suction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%105 out of 117reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Worst vacuum ever

11/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst vacuum ever. I will never purchase another dyson product again. I bought the pet one thinking it would pick up dog hair I am extremely disappointed. It just glides across the carpet and doesn't pick up anything definitely doesn't give carpets a good cleaning a broom picks up more. I had it for 2.5 years and had to have the motor replaced and the turbo power head. it is light plastic and cracks and breaks easily doesn't have a good seal to keep the suction like the commercials show on t.v. my filter queen that was over 20 yrs old put this vacuum to shame it still cleans better than the dyson
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
From DysonProductExpert11/18/2014
Hi, this is Jay with Dyson. We would like to learn more about this unusual experience and provide support for these current issues while using your DC23 Animal. Please contact us at AskDysonUS@Dyson.com. If you have any other questions please let us know, we will be in touch as soon as possible. Best wishes, Jay Dyson Customer ServiceDyson-EN_US
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson is better than this

04/14/2011
By ,
Marysville, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've used a Dyson Animal upright previously and really prefered it's power to the canister. I thought the canister would have it's own motorized powerhead but I must have overlooked that detail. And frankly I don't know why it's not. The canister is great on my hardwood floors, vinyl and stairs and I can really get under furniture well, but the carpets really need the same power as the upright. I have 2 cats and one sheds a lot. Next time I'll buy the upright.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Description
Posted 07/18/2011
The description says the powerhead does have a motor...are you sure it doesnt have a switch you missed...i sure wont buy it if it doesnt have one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Great suction but....

03/11/2012
By ,
Canton OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first use I agree with others that the are some design flaws regarding placement of power switch and bare to carpet floor switches but I was willing to live with those because it is so powerful. However, after second use I turned over the power head to see if it needed cleaned and saw that the brushes are unraveling. I don't see any other reviews with this problem so I will assume I just was the lucky one to get the defective power head. Will be taking back for a refund and just ordered the Airmuscle upright so hoping the brushes on it hold up for the money
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Really sucks!

07/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the most powerful cannister vacuum I have owned. So far it is performing above what I expected of it. It beats out the $1000 cannister it is replacing. No bags to handle and dispose of, not to mention the cost of replacement bags, is a big plus.
Get one, you'll love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner
08/27/2011
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The vacuum does a great job, the stairway option has been a very handy feature thus far. The only downside seems to be that there isn't an actual instruction manual present.
Pros: Suction, Cord Length, Ease of Use, Design, easy roller cleaning
Cons: no user manual
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Great Suction

03/12/2012
By ,
Denver, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the suction on this vacuum cleaner. I knew it would be a bit messy cleaning up but.....the canister is easy enough to disconnect and clean. It is the part that has the motor that goes into the canister that leaves something to be desired. It gets VERY dirty-because of the awesome suction. Since it can't be put in water, I am only able to wipe it clean. The cone shaped design makes it impossible to get it completely clean. The attachments are very easy to change. Everything about it is awesome!!! Minus the clean-up and the fact that if you have animals, the hair tends to get stuck to the wand. Static? I am not sure, but it gets all over the wand, hose and vacuum head. (it isn't super great for throw rugs either) Very light and extremly easy to get around furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Best Vaccuum I've owned to date.

01/11/2012
By ,
Marble Falls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vaccuum works great and I can't believe how much dirt it pulls out of my carpet compared to my last vaccuum. I also noticed when I vaccuumed my tile floors the mop water wasn't as dirty as when I just use a broom. Awesome vaccuum and very versitile for cleaning different areas: sofa, tables, chairs and curtains.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Great product!

11/01/2011
By ,
LaGrange, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The vacuum does everything as advertised. It was amazing what this vacuum cleaner picked up that my previuos upright cleaner left behind. Even though my confirmation said it may take 5 to 7 business days to for local store pick up, I got it in two. Great service, no hassle, and a great product! Saving me money so I can live better! I like that.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner
01/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was given as a gift and the recipient was so pleased with the performance of the vacuum. She had vacuumed with her old one and then with the Dyson. She could not believe all the dirt that the old vacuum had left behind. She thinks it is awesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson's sell themselves.

01/12/2012
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so love my first Dyson that I bought a second one for downstairs!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner
12/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it!! It costs more than alot of vacuumn cleaners, but I was able to purchase it on sale with 97 cent shipping. It does not need bags and it is very easy to empty the canister.
I do not have any carpet but we do have 2 cats and 2 dogs in the house with alot of pet hair. It is able to get all the hair and the attachment works great on the furniture to remove the pet hair.
Very easy to pull around the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Great on animal hair

03/20/2012
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great vacuum. My dog and cat shed alot and this vacuum takes care of it no problem. I like all the attachments and the fact that the vacuum does not weigh that much. I also like that the cord goes into the vacuum with a push of a button, no more winding it up around the vacuum like I had to with the old machine. All in all very happy so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

very good product thus far

11/26/2011
By ,
central pennslvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel it is a bit premature to rate such an expensive product after about a month but here goes:
The Dsyson is actually replacing 2 - 10 yr old commercial vaccs we used at home for our numerous pets - a heavy duty upright for carpets and an heavy duty back pack for hard surfaces.
The Dyson has easily replaced both at 1/4 the weight , ease , noise and is much much more easy to move around and get under furniture.
The articulating floor brush is great, the turbine power heads work very well on carpet and furniture, so far absolutely no complaints! I bought through Walmart.com and they were a full $99 cheaper than ANYWHERE. A great sale, I paid hte .97cents to have it shipped to my home.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner
01/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as a gift to my daughter. We saw it being used by her son. Everyone was amazed at how much animal hair was collected. So much that he had to keep emptying the bin frequently. They are very pleased!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

The BEST

01/09/2012
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Dyson vacuum. I already own an upright. I am extremely happy with this new canister vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Perfect for animal owners and older people!

01/09/2012
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Mom is 78 and still wants to clean her own home, and she has a dog. Thus vacuum is lightweight and easy for her to use. She loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner

Excellent carpets and hardwood floors

01/04/2012
By ,
Pisgah Forest, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did vacuum cleaner research for probably 3 weeks online and in-stores, etc. Bought and returned an upright from Hoover, simply bc it was too large for me to handle. I never even used it, so couldn't comment on Hoover performance compared to Dyson. Realized I just don't want to physically work that hard when I'm vacuuming pushing around a huge upright....so went with a canister. I need to vacuum the whole house once a week bc we have 2 cats and a dog....and the dog is allergic to the cats (the vet has rarely seen this!). I gave up trying to "score" something cheaper than a Dyson, simply because all other canister vacuum reviews had 1 bad review for each good one....even Dyson reviews were not all 100% good. I spent $100 more than I wanted to on a vacuum, but I've received 100% performance...I was on hands and knees the day after I vacuumed the first time with the Dyson TRYING to find a pet hair -- none. I am amazed at how easy it is to vacuum the sofas and pillows, the small bath rugs too. The attachment for the small stuff actually lets you vacuum the small stuff without sucking up the corners of the small carpets. I've never vacuumed hardwood floors, always swept and swiffer wet-mopped. The Dyson with the hardwood floor attachment is like magic to me, seriously. So easy, lightweight, effortless and all pet hair and dust balls and spiderwebs are gone. Emptying the canister is simple, and dust does not fly up everywhere, trust me. I empty the canister once with each whole-house cleaning...although it doesn't look full, there is a mark where the dirt builds up to, that's when you are "supposed" to empty the canister, so I do. Height adjustable handle is wonderful, the whole things lays flat to go under furniture and beds (awesome!), and changing the heads and using attachments is easy. Solid canister vacuum, does not feel like cheap plastic anywhere, especially when interchanging the carpet/floor/attachments. I will warn you that this canister vacuum looks small in the photos - I would say it is medium sized. Bigger than I was expecting, it's not heavy or anything, but just bigger than looks in photo. I love it - no complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dyson DC23 Animal Bagless Canister Vacuum Cleaner
Based on the average of (100) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5