Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Nikon Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

The Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR Camera Zoom Lens is a compact, 5.5x, DX-format Nikkor AF-S telephoto lens with High Refractive Index lens element and ED glass. This camera lens is ideal for capturing distant subjects at athletic events, family pictures, dramatic sunsets, travel, and more. With built-in VR II image stabilization, this DX Nikon zoom lens gives you handheld shooting at up to four shutter speeds slower than would otherwise is made possible. It assures dramatically sharper still images and stable video captures. This high-power telephoto zoom lens includes a Tripod Deduction Mode that shuns the vibration occurring from shutter release while mounting on a tripod. The special Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM) is present in this Nikon telephoto zoom lens offers accurate, fast and silent autofocus.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%146 out of 154reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Excellent addition to camera bag

03/12/2012
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nikon 55-300 mm DX AF VR Telephoto Lens is an excellent addition to the camera bag for any Nikon D3100 user. A heavy duty tripod is recommended for use when shooting long distance shots to eliminate camera shake once focused.
I've had good success getting excellent photos with this new addition to my camera bag. And the price is well worth purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

I love this lens

05/13/2011
By ,
RICHMOND, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a beginner when it comes to DSLR camera. However I have a IT degree. At first I started out as a person who took picture for a hobby. Then I decided to use it as a side gig. I purchased the D3100 and it took great shots. After taking portrait shots and family shots I quickly became know as the photographer in my local area. After having a couple gigs under my belt I realized that I need a better lens that will allow me to get closer to the subject from a far. I have book my first wedding and it is tomorrow. A few hours ago I was able to use it during the wedding rehearsal and I am so excited about the quality and now that I don't have to worry if I'm close enough or is the lighting bright enough. The building that I will be shooting in tomorrow is an old building which means the lighting is not the brightest. However this lens was able to still perform with and without the flash. When I first opened and use this lens I decided to take a picture of a subject using the standard lens that come with the d3100 18-55mm lens zoomed all the way. Then compared it to the 55-300 lens zoom all the way and I must say the picture speak for itself.
If you are just starting out in photography I would say that this lens is all you need for at least a year, but a course once you get into photography you will notice that every lens has it's own special characteristic.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Great Lens

07/02/2011
By ,
Williamsburg, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about purchasing such a expensive lens from Wal-mart. I'm a true Best Buy customer but decided to give Wal-mart a try. I just received my lens and have had it about a week. To my surprise, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. The lens is GREAT addition to my 18-55mm and does wonderful with my Nikon D60. The zoom gives me the ability to take close-up pictures from a distance. I have a few gigs lined up for the next week which include taking some Senior Pictures and a wedding in a few months. I'm excited and glad that I bought this lens :<)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

I Love this Lens...PHEWWWWWWw

05/25/2011
By ,
Sanguem Goa, India
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I totaly agree with its a nice lens ..Recently i bought a Nikon D3000 with a body lens 18-55 & I was supposed to go for a Nikon 70-300...but when I was in the outlet where the Nikon products are being sold ..I found this lens & the seller told me its a very good lens ...though I am an amatuer in photography...I mounted the lens on my cam & had some trial shots...I was not dat happy coz i wasnt used to these types of lenses & neither i had knowledge bout lenses...I bought it & at home I tried clicking ...mannnnnnnnn da output was amazing..I really liked the lens & am happy dat I got dis lens
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

expand your experience

03/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to expand your photo-taking experience, this one will fill the bill. Get over the F4.5 It's the best you are ever going to get with 300mm. Sharp pictures without having to get too close to mother nature's creatures. You will find it is worth the extra money over the 70-200mm.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

55-300 Nikon Lens is Awesome

04/20/2011
By ,
Greenfield,Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 55-300 lens does a great job. I was afraid for the price that I wouldnt get a great lens, but it does an awesome job. The VR is great for hand held at 300. The pictures are sharp and moves smoothly. The lighting holds up well for the 300. For the price you are getting a great lens that does a great job.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

excellent for my needs

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an inspector on pipelines and use primarily in macro and it far exceeds my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Great Addition to the DX Line-up

02/21/2011
By ,
NC, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
his lens is fantastic - especially for $399. My first concern was whether it not it had a plastic or metal mount since some DX lenses in this price range have plastic. I even contacted Nikon and they couldn't (or wouldn't) tell me. Well, I was really pleased to see that it does have a metal mount. It has a nice solid feel to it. The zoom movement is smooth and I haven't had any problem with lens creep when I'm aiming it downward. Even when I point the camera downward and shake it, it won't creep.
I'm just beginning to get into testing it but my preliminary pictures are coming out nice - really nice. The sharpness is amazing and the lens produces a very nice bokeh. I posted the image of the dragonfly with the chicken wire background (see the customer uploads) Check out the detail in the wings. That shot says it all. It was HAND HELD and cranked all the way out to 300mm. The original image is great but a lot of the detail was lost with the upload to Amazon. But - none the less - it's still pretty sharp. The auto focus on this lens is fast, smooth, quiet and very accurate. It locked right in on the subject. It was set on aperture priority at f/8 1/500sec for the shot that I posted here (shot with a D-90).
The VR on this lens is great. The detail I get with hand-helds just amazes me. It has Nikon's VRII image stabilization and it even has a tripod detection mode that reduces any vibration from shutter release when it's on a tripod.
Colors are rendered accurately and the contrast is pretty sharp even at the max aperture. The lens is compact for a 300mm and it's lighter than my AF-S DX 18-200mm which I use as my regular walk-around. I'm sure the new 55-300 will be used as my walk around pretty frequently also.
All in all for an APS-C lens, Nikon did a great job with this one - especially for the price. It's a welcome addition to the DX line and I'm really glad I have one in my gear bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Great Lens For Good Price

06/20/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a great lens for outdoor sports photography, this is the one. 55-300mm allows effectively to shoot track and field, football, soccer, and even baseball. For basketball you would need a much faster lens, which would cost 10x the price. This lens is also good for photographing parades and animals in the wild.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Excellant product

01/06/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great range lens and high quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Great zoom lens, great price.

01/06/2014
By ,
McKinleyville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really had no delusions that this wouldn't be a great lens for my wife and her camera, but it was the service I received that really made this purchase special. I stopped in the Ukiah, CA Walmart on December 21, and a young lady named Diane assisted me. She looked for the lens I wanted, but they didn't have one in stock. She then looked it up on the computer, found the one I wanted, then took the time to take my cash, purchase a gift card so I could order the lens (I didn't want it to show up on my debit card statement because my wife checks that account frequently), and made sure it went out on express shipping. It arrived on Dec. 23, and was exactly what I had ordered. I even tried to give Diane $20 to have lunch for her help, but she politely refused. I will definitely go back to that Walmart for any future camera needs, even though it's 150 miles from my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX
12/12/2011
By ,
lake city, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After fighting with a manual focus telephoto lens for 2 yrs, i decided to purchase this AF lens. It's been a dream to take pictures now. It's been a pleasure getting used to the way it works. Only regret is that I didn't purchase this lens the same time I purchased the Nikon d3000.
Spouse and I are avid bird watchers and this lens is ideal for that purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

D5000 300mm

06/07/2011
By ,
McAllen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great lens, Better than the 2 lens that comes with my camera. you can actually keep shooting more than 3 frames, and don't have to stop shooting. My older lens doesn't let me do that I have to take 3 continuous shoots stop for a sec and then try it again. Zoom is great, this is more than what I was expecting from a power lens for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR Zoom

02/18/2014
By ,
Rio Verde, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace the 55 - 200 mm zoom that comes standard. It works like a charm and provides a perfect lens for my Nikon D3200. The anti vibration works perfectly, as does the auto-focus feature. This lens is perfect for taking close-ups and for bringing in distant objects. It is not absolutely sharp at the extreme (300 mm), but it is still an exceptional lens at a very good price. The next step costs multiples of this item and there comes a moment when you have to decide that perfection may not be worth the additional $1,000. Still, it is bright enough to photograph very late and dark sunsets, so that satisfies my need for a lens that I can use just before evening sets in.
This lens will bring in distant objects and landscape features to a very good degree. Obviously for close-up bird shots, this is not the best (expect to have a 400mm or longer focal length for such purposes). Some views of sunsets and a bird on a saguaro are on my Flikr page at http://www.flickr.com/photos/100558722@N02/12579136664/ (or http://www.flickr.com/photos/100558722@N02/). Look for the 55 - 300mm lens in the photo details. Several shots display the Pinnacle Peak landscape brought in close with the lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Great Value for Price

07/15/2011
By ,
Williamson, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been looking for this lense at a price I could afford. When I found it on Walmart Online I ordered it right away. If you can buy a lense make sure it is this one. Pick up from 55 to 300mm.It get great shots at a distance. Great Price- GreatLense.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
SanDisk SDSDQ-2048-A11M 2GB microSD Card
4.9 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
Nikon D3000 Black 10.2MP DSLR Camera Kit with AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Lens
4.7 out of 5(120)
 
 
 
3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder
4.6 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Great lens

10/17/2013
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lens to help me be less obtrusive photographing my son's high school and junior golf tournaments. It gives me the distance I need to be able to make images from a distance and it also gives me the opportunity to work with the lens either with automatic focus or manually. It has been a very good investment and I must say that the images are better than the ones I have been taking with a Canon. Would like to have it be less costly, but the quality clearly comes through in the image.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Great lens, get it with camera as a kit and save $

05/29/2012
By ,
Billings, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My go-to lens for nature photography. The books and experts say, "use your feet, not a zoom". I photograph skittish (and occasionally dangerous) wildlife. Squirrels seldom pose for close-ups, and bees do not appreciate the attention. I haven't yet gotten to shoot a bear or a moose, but deer are sure friendlier through a zoom lens :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Works great

03/16/2014
By ,
Middletown, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice smooth operation, and easy to install and remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Nice lens and easy to use.

03/15/2014
By ,
Hasting, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to change lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

I had to return this because of a defect.

10/06/2013
By ,
West Salem, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The coating on the lens had a missed spot which I was concerned about causing me to return the lens and unfortunately the camera also since I bought a combo pack. I am looking forward to the new camera and lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next