Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canon Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

This Canon all-in-one printer is a compact, stylish and high quality Pixma inkjet model that will fit in virtually any area of your home. Its maximum 4800 x 1200 color dpi is combined with Canon's patented hybrid ink system. So, you'll have a pigment black ink for crisp text along with dye ink for beautiful photos up to 8.5" x 11".
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(349 Reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
103
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation89%308 out of 347reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
103
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Not good

06/18/2011
By ,
philladelphia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This printer gets 2 stars and that's for the scanning alone. The scanning is easy, fast and pictures come out perfect.
I feel i have a defected printer and i will be returning it.
1: The pictures when printed come out dull, look low quality and faded. I have a high mega pixel camera and glossy photo paper and they just come out horrible and other printers the pictures come out glossy and clear.
2: The pictures never come out aligned. I used the alignment tools and still come out with one big edge on one side and no edge on the other. Even if you set it to full page it never works. I tried all the setting and just got tired of wasting ink on bad prints.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 2 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Decent printer for the money.

01/25/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This printer is great. Prints perfectly in black and color. The only downsides are it is very, very loud, after you turn it off it continues to make noise for about 2 minutes until it quiets down; and it does not come with a usb cable, but I bought one on Walmart.com for around $5 that works fine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

This is an EXCELLENT buy. Quiet, fast, east to ope

04/18/2012
By ,
Santa Fe, New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I worried that this was just too cheap to work well. Was I surprised. This little printer is super quiet, makes great color copies and scan color accurately. I prints quite fast at about 5 seconds from hitting the final print command to having the first page out and finished.
With photo paper the commands let you place boarders, crop and zoom before printing beautiful prints.
Highly recommend this for anyone that needs a home or small office unit.
Geddy,
Santa Fe
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Not That Great

01/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lets start with the Pros: Ya can’t beat the price, and it’s a stylish little
Printer, and worked great. For a couple of days anyway…
Cons: Day 2, the printer started printing washed-out color pages with
Very noticeable vertical lines through the page. I cannot correct this problem
no matter what I try. However, the black print is fine.
Over all, I am not happy, and this print quality is not acceptable, so the printer
Goes back!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Excellent Printer For The Money!

06/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prints from simple black and white documents to high resolution pictures with excellent quality.
Easy to install, with cd rom and step-by-step instructions.
Does not have a USB cord. -Not big deal- These days you can find them at the dollar store, also any friend or family may have a spare one...
Catridges are probably on the group of the less expensive if you watch the printing quality everytime you use the machine they will last really long: for plain text I use the draft option that prints fast with low ink usage. I use the whole load of paint only for photo or cards.
Scanner and Copy functions are easy to use.
If you are looking to make a lot of copies I would suggest the next model with the copy tray in the top. If you are looking to share this printer with other computers you can do it through a local network. If you are looking to share the printer wireless I would recommend to buy the next model with wireless connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+205points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Inez< ky
usb cord
Posted 03/29/2012
what is the usb cord for . do u need this
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

great little printer

10/13/2011
By ,
delaware ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had a hp printer for years..the ink was so exspensive..someone had told me about the canon pixma 280, so i took a chance and bought it. it prints in color very well. because of wal- marts 90 day return policy, i had nothing to loose. it prints letters very very fast. it scans very very fast. i would buy this printer again if i had to. i dont know how fast the color ink will be used up,cause i have mainly doing letters. this would make a great gift to a student . the ink is not expensive..in prior reviews that i have read about the printer starting out loud during initial start up is no big deal..it sounds no differant than my expensive hp printer grabbing paper to the paper feed. it did not come with a usb cord, but that was no problem for me cause i used the usb cord i had with my hp printer. i like the all over color of black. you cant go wrong with this printer. the extended warranty for this printer if you wish to buy thru wal-mart is very inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 7 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Excellent printer for price but ink goes quickly

01/24/2012
By ,
Reno, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second Pixma MP280 printer I have purchased and you cant really beat the price point for the quality and features. Print quality is pretty good, especially with high quality setting and glossy photo paper, but you will go through ink very fast. Ink prices are about the same as any other inkjet printer so expect to spend around $40-$50 to replace both cartridges at retail prices. Definitely look for alternatives to retail purchasing of ink cartridges.
Scan quality is excellent and as I import most scans into Adobe Acrobat this is important. Printer is noisy but no more than most printers under $100.
Using one of the printers on a Windows 7 system and another on XP system and both work perfectly with no compatibility issues.
No special features, wi-fi, or net printing, and would you expect that for this price? No. What you get is a decent multifuction printer that's cheaper than replacing your old printer's ink cartridges and does what it's supposed to do, which is print and scan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Decent Printer, Terrible Ink Usage

02/16/2011
By ,
Locust Grove, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The print quality is good. Scanning and copying are fairly easy. No problems using the wireless connection. Setup and installation was easy. At first I thought the only real downfall to this printer was the noise (which is easy to tune out after a few uses, but if you haven't used a printer in a while it can be a little disconcerting and annoying) but then after going through the first ink cartridge fairly quickly, I decided to pay attention to how many pages it took to run down the second one.
190 pages killed over half an XL ink cartridge.
Some people might think that's a lot of pages, but to a student it's not. Unless you only print things once in a while, find a different printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+461points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Santa Fe, New Mexico
WRONG PRINTER. This is NOT WiFi and has GREAT ink
Posted 04/18/2012
This uses little ink. make sure you have the correct device before reviewing.
0points
Customer Avatar
Cincinnati
Nice, Yet Not So Economical
Posted 09/03/2011
The printer itself is reasonably price and has excellent print quality. It uses ink too quickly and it uses two cartridges that are not cheap. I cannot enjoy it as much because it costs too much to keep ink in it.
0points
Customer Avatar
Queens, NY
this review is for a different printer
Posted 06/03/2011
You are reviewing the wrong item. This Canon MP280 is NOT wireless.
+18points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

MP250 is not for business use

01/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While this model is the MP280, I have the MP250 which is similar. I haven't printed very much with this printer yet, but I can say this. Trying to print envelopes is more painful then getting a root canal. I am very computer literate and never have had so much trouble trying to print a envelop correctly. I've used many different printers, but this is my first Canon. While Canons may print good photos, they don't seem to make much good as a business machine. I had to fumble with many settings at many different locations and waste a good number of envelopes to just get one that was usable. Even then, the results are horrible. I had to goto the manual and even their directions are not complete. The end result had my return address way to far over from the left hand side because it will constantly complain about the margins and cut part of it off. I used a standard 4.5 x 9.5 envelope with Microsoft Word as my program. This is the first and last Canon I will buy for business use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Wrong Printer
Posted 02/09/2012
Do not review the wrong item. You say the printers are similar, how can you know without using the MP280? They are 2 different products, period!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Best scan-copy-print unit on the market.

11/25/2011
By ,
Chandler, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally went to Fry's Electronics to purchase the printer but they were out of stock, having only the display unit, and the only printers they had in stock that could copy, print and scan, also had fax, which I did not want, and were significantly more expensive than the MP-280. I stopped by the local Walmart to see what they had available and they had several of the MP-280s in stock at a cheaper price than Fry's. The printer is so easy to set up and install on the computer for wireless printing. I have not had a chance to use all the different printing programs it has, but have been wholly impressed with what I have done. Kind of unusual for an inexpensive product to perform better than advertised. This is undoubtedly the best non-fax everything else printer on the market. Thanks, Canon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 11 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Amazing value

05/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer was the 2nd cheapest they had so I had not high expectations....It's been great though. I was able to setup this printer on my network which mixed XP and Windows 7 in about 30 minutes from box open to first print. It's been very stable and print quality is great! I've seen people say it's loud but from my previous printer, it's quieter so that's a non-issue for me. Ink usage seems standard so far. But for $38 (May 2011), this is a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+192points
Review 12 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

GREAT PRINTER / FLATBED SCANNER!!!!

07/15/2011
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plugged it in and started printing spectacular photos. Scans look like originals. Perfect!
It even used the same cords as my old HP All-in-One so I didn't have to get under the desk!
Borderless 4x6 photos are beautiful, software is easy to use, and new ink cartridges aren't too expensive.
I highly recommend this printer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 13 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

First Impression

07/11/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this printer for a day but it seems perfect to me. Easy to install and I just put a paper on the glass, pressed "Color" and out came a perfect copy. My old scanner transmitted it first to my computer and the result was a fuzzy image. This one produced a copy indistinguishable from the original! Printing and scanning functions work fine too.
It is interesting to realize that if you buy the two cartridges separately, you will pay about $35 and yet this printer, including the two cartridges is $38. I guess it's sold at a loss with the expectation that you will buy lots of cartridges in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 14 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS

01/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a sweet all in one printer.
After suffering with HP super sensitive digital insanity(see the HP site with a great number of people complaining about capacitors and having to weld mother boards) I searched for a non HP substitute.
So many people on line raved about this printer.
Then I found it at Walmart $30.00 beneath the cheapest price. I still can't believe what I paid--$29.00!!
It's compact,easy to work.A little noisy.It has a quiet mode which I haven't bothered to try . I like the paper load from the back which I don't believe will get jammed like HP did with a bottom feed.
It was not in the store so I ordered it on line,had it shipped to my local Walmart and in no time--I had it in hand.
I printed a color photo from an original on plain paper, not photo paper.The color was brilliant.
I love this printer (fits my space neatly) and I love Walmart. And no, I'm not related to any employee! I have always had the best experiences in their stores all over the country.The only thing that is terrible is their Great Value Decaf coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 15 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Exceptional high quality at a very good price

07/05/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great buy. Print, Scan and Copy, all in one set up. And price is very competitive. A discount electronics store wanted almost twice the amount online. If you are replacing a current printer keep the usb hookup. It will work. These connectors are usually under $2, if you need to purchase one. Be sure to follow the instructions with the provided software. As usual the Canon phone customer service is also exceptional. This should be one of the hot buys at Walmart. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 16 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer
06/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this unit it displays great color as well as scans excellent. I would buy another one. And the ink is priced very fair as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 17 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Piece of Junk!!!

08/26/2011
By ,
Pembroke, Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product doesn't even deserve the 1 star i gave. When i brought the product home, i had to run back out to Wal-Mart and pick up the USB cable, which for the price, i thought, OK, It's still worth the money. It was my own fault for not reading further to see the usb cable wasn't included. But I finally got the product hooked up and i scanned a couple of documents, which worked GREAT! Then i go to print..... Need I say More??? YES!!! The paper doesn't load correctly and is fed into the printer crooked, which in turn jams the printer. I have tried to set the paper size correctly add less paper, more paper, etc... But it still doesn't feed straight. And get's jammed. The scanner is great! But the printer stinks... I really expected more from Canon! I will definately return to the LexMark Product. This piece of junk is getting boxed back up, and returned to Wal-mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Clinton Township, Mi
No Problems here at all.
Posted 03/03/2012
The only reason I could see the paper loading improperly would be if the instructions weren't followed, if the paper guides are not moved out before loading it will cause the paper to load improperly.
0points
Customer Avatar
TX
reply
Posted 08/30/2011
I agree with you! Just installed it to my computer and the paper won't load correctly. Have tried the same things: less/more paper and it doesn't work, either. Returning it to Walmart!
-4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Great Printer for a great price.

07/13/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is really a great printer. Super easy to set up for an all-in-one. Has a great feature to print "quiet" at hours your specify. The only thing I didn't care for was the shiny sides. I ordered it online and picked it up in my store, which was incredibly easy and fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 19 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

Good value for simple printing needs

12/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer satisfies simple printer needs such as printing text in black and white and occasionally printing 4x6 color photos. It does a great job for both of these. And the price ($38) was great. Another advantage - if one of the ink cartridges is completely used up, you can still continue to print with the other cartridge. Not all printer operate this way. This is especially helpful when most of your printing requires only black ink. The printer operation is a little noisy but you can set the printing part to a quiet setting. You still have to put up with a noisy pre-print preparation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 20 for Canon Pixma MP280 All-in-One Photo Printer

compact, functional - a real bargain

06/20/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't tried the copier yet, but the printer and scanner work very well. The printing is probably not as crisp as a laser printer, and it is not wireless, granted. But that is why the price is so low. If you just need something convenient and sturdy for home use, this is definitely a good choice. Set up is easy - takes less than 30 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
1-20 of 266 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next