Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

Rival Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

Make delicious treats for your family with the Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer. This sturdy Rival Hand Mixer features a 125-watt motor and chrome-plated beaters. There are also easy-to-use thumb tip controls with this electric hand mixer as well as a beater ejection button. Using this electric hand mixer will be easy thanks to the included instruction manual. This Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer is an appropriate choice for nearly anyone who loves to bake.
Average Customer Rating:
2.275 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation30%12 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

dont bother!!!

09/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i purchase this product for light work!! the 3 time i used it broke down. if you mix your eggs with 7 oz flour its dead like mine. dont bother to buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

WORTHLESS!!!

01/19/2011
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a big pile of junk! Second time I've used this mixer and the thing isnt strong enough to mix a simple buttercream frosting. The mixers keep getting pushed together and seem to mix themselves more than the frosting. So upset right now. Ugh...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston
Posted 05/22/2013
I totally agree. By the way, mines went out as I was making buttercream icing too and this was the second time using it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer
03/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First time making cakes with it and motor burnt out. Horrible mixer, didn't even mix properly!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

junk

12/20/2010
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have gone through 2 of these. when i was making cookies, while adding the flour to the dough, this mixer could not handle the consistency, and burned out and broke. today i am making molasses cookies, and just mixing sugar and butter, it cant handle it. not worth the 10.00 or whatever it costs to buy this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer
12/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this mixer the week of thanksgiving to mix batter for cakes. On the fourth cake the motor burned out. The batter was simple and thin so it would not have had to struggle to mix it. It is going back asap!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

Gears broke in less than 2 min

12/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gears broke and batters no longer spun after less than 2 minutes in medium thick batter on lowest speed ( low = still very fast spin ).
Only cost us $6.00 but would have paid more to avoid the hassle.
Note to Rival: STOP USING PLASTIC PARTS!
Grandma's 1940's Sunbeam still going strong.
( Good old metal parts~! )
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer
11/25/2012
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned 2 of these mixers now and both have failed with the first use. first one the gears stripped out and the second the ON switchs were stuck all the way ON only way to turn off was to unplug. DO NOT BUY THIS MIXER. You get what u pay for with this one.If it seems like a good idea go 1 step up from this and u get a decent mixer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

GREAT HAND MIXER

01/22/2014
By ,
Perry,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the bad reviews on this mixer but still bought the mixer just to give it a try. It has been working great for me, I think it is best for cakes/light battered mixing. I just think it should be said that I have been using it for over a month now and I am very pleased with the mixer. Great affordable hand mixer for some of us that can't afford the higher dollar things in life. Thanks Rival!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

This is the worst mixer ever

06/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Sunbeam mixer I had for over 10 years died a couple of months ago so I bought this one to replace it. I should have just spent the extra money and bought another one, because I've used this one maybe 3 times and now it's a great paperweight. DO NOT waste your time or money on this. I was mixing cookies and the gears inside stripped out and stopped turning the beaters.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

This is very poor quality

03/03/2013
By ,
Brevard County FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The beaters jammed into each other freezing up the mixer just trying to do cake batter. Only lasted about 2 months and I only used it 3 times.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

Worst mixer ever

02/26/2012
By ,
Rapid City, SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this mixer during Black Friday last year. While I got a good deal on it, I wish I never would have spent the time and money to get it. The lowest speed is not low at all...it flings food out of my mixing bowl and all over the place. I've had to hold a towel over the bowl while mixing in order to keep everything in. DO NOT waste your money on this piece! I threw mine away after the 3rd use. I would have taken it back, but fighting the crowds isn't worth the $3 I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

Waste of Money

09/20/2012
By ,
Lewiston maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing this product. I have had it for a year, but only used it perhaps six times and only to mix eggs and milk for bread pudding. The second time I used it to make something more challenging to the motor, molasses cookies, the motor burned out. I will still try to return it to Walmart. I noticed it is sold out online and is on clearance. Maybe they have had so many complaints that they are discontinuing it. I certainly hope so.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer
07/12/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bake about once or twice a month if that, I haven't even had this for a year and one of the beaters just quit spinning. it would have trouble mixing a simple frosting or the beaters would get out of sink. Totally not worth it. better off buying a used mixer for a 3rd of the price from a thrift store then buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

I am completely satisfied.

12/14/2012
By ,
Baltimore, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The color, size and operation is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

think I got a LEMON on this one

11/30/2012
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We just bought a beach home and enjoyed our first Thanksgiving this did
not help very much. First, it doesn't turn off. And while it appears to
have 5 speeds it goes in one speed only. to turn it off you had to pull the
cord out of the socket and when adding liquids to the mash potatoes it
splattered due to being unable to slow it down.
I purchased because using the delivery option I didn't have to pack it with
everything else I needed to take and just stopped by my beach WalMart
and mixer, toaster, set of dishes and blankets were already to be picked up
and go to the new house. Think this must just have been broke from the
start, but didn't realize it until the food was being prepared on the holiday.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

Good Value

12/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this online on Black Friday for three bucks. For the price this is great. We will see how long it lasts. The only problem was I ordered two and was only sent one. When I called, these were no longer being stocked. Customer service promptly gave me a refund for the second unit, so all was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

I am very happy with it!!

11/21/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mixer during Black Friday last year for an extremely low price. I had low expectations too, after reading all the reviews online for this product, but I still decided to give it a try - because of the price. I am glad that I did, because I was pleasantly surprised! The mixer does its job, I couldn't be happier! Only one issue: sometimes it stops working, but it is because the power goes off; you just have to press the reset button on your power outlet and it's back on. So if you are contemplating to buy this product on Black Friday this year, I'll say give it a try :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer
06/07/2012
By ,
saint louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
donot buy this product thinking u can own a hand mixer for a cheaper price.it burnt for the first time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer
05/22/2013
By ,
Houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you paid for. I went through two of these already. I just bought the second one a week ago used it on the second try and already went out. It seemed to work fine but I was always aware to not put in on high speed since I could hear it starting to act up but even keepingit in low setting still wasn't enough as it is in the trash can now. Will never try anymore Rival products again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rival 5-Speed Hand Mixer

This mixer is nothing but a piece of junk.

08/02/2013
By ,
mexico, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even though, we didn't spend a lot for this mixer, it wasn't worth the price that we paid. We have used it 4 times and the gears stripped out. If Walmart decides to sell this mixer for one dollar, I would advise against buying it because it's not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next