Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Igloo Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Igloo Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Need a quick and easy way to make ice? Enjoy iced tea, margaritas, cold lemonade and more with the Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker. Perfect for parties and other occasions, this powerful ice maker provides the convenience of having ice at your fingertips on hot summer days — anywhere in your home. A modern countertop design and adjustable cube size add to the unique functionality. It works quickly to produce up to 26 lbs of ice in 24 hours, with an ice cube basket capacity of 2.0 lbs. It's the perfect appliance for your kitchen or rec room, and can also be used outdoors on any patio with power outlets. You can even take this ice maker camping in your RV — it's ideal for keeping your coolers cold and fresh. The sleek silver design will match well with any home decor. The ice maker's water reservoir holds up to 3.1L of water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.009 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(213 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
67
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation83%177 out of 213reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
67
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

makes ice fast!

05/05/2012
By ,
El Paso, Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is pretty quick to make ice, but you have to remove it & store in your freezer or it melts. I just run a tank of water through it when I want more ice & then unplug it. I love having an endless supply of ice - a real luxury!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 2 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

VERY ANGRY

10/01/2013
By ,
Mount Vernon, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine because I was having company and did't have any place for ice trays in my refrig. I used it for about two weeks and because I was not using it I unplugged it until I was ready to use it again. I plugged it in this summer ready to use and the "full" button came on but there was nothing in the tray so I unplugged it and plugged it in again but got the same message. I called the company but because it was just over a year old I was told by an angry representative that the warrenty had expired and I should turn the machine off for three hours and then turn it back on I explained I had already done that and this angry rep. told me I should do it a again so I did and it still said the same thing "full" so I just got rid of it as far as I am consern it was just a waste of money and the company should teach their representatives to be a little more coureous becuse I had bought this item in good faith and was not treated with respect .
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+11points
Review 3 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker
06/12/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this ice maker for about a month now and am very pleased with it. When I read reviews on this product, one person made mention to be sure and read the directions about cleaning the machine before using it. I noticed that another mentioned that the ice had an odd taste.
When I got the machine out of the box, it had a very distinct plastic smell. I cleaned the machine according to directions. AND, left the lid up and let everything air out over night before making ice. The plastic smell was gone the next morning and the ice tasted just fine.
There are a lot of benefits to reading reviews and I appreciate the person who said to be sure to read the directions for first time use, and the other who mentioned the bad taste. Taking these two things into consideration, I put forth the effort necessary to have a good experience with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+202points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hewlett ny
igloo portable countertop ice maker
Posted 05/22/2013
when will this item be available?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Great Buy

05/17/2011
By ,
Houma, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because the ice maker in my fridge has been out and not worth getting fixed. We go through tons of ice, especially during the summer. Ice trays are taking up too much space in my freezer and the bag ice is getting costly. I saw this and thought, why not give it a try? The price wasn't too bad but I wish it was in the store rather than having to pay for shipping to my home or wait to get it to the store. I tried it out right away and was pleasantly surprised. The size I find the best is the largest, which isn't really that large though. It is super quiet and I had a large container of ice in my freezer in about two hours. The only thing I wish was that it would be refrigerated so that it could prevent the first ice collected from melting and creating water in the bottom of the basket. Even though it has holes, water still accumulates in the bottom and causes ice to clump together when it refreezes in the freezer, but even that is not bad cause it is easy to simply use a knife and it comes right apart. Much better than slamming bags of frozen ice on the floor to break it apart. I think it will get a lot of use in my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+134points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hazard, ky
Refrigerated storage
Posted 07/07/2011
Even commercial ice makers don't have refrigerated bins. It would cause a huge sticky ice clump in the bottom
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

I love chewing ice!!!

04/15/2013
By ,
Myrtle beach, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I cant afford a pellet ice maker but ended up falling in love with this one all my fellow ice chewing addict friends love it too... It is bigger ice but when you chew it, it crumbles in your mouth.. When chewing the ice At room temperature or ice has to be in water if frozen in freeze wait 5 min b4 chewing. The ice hardens bad in Alcohol but still chewable or powered.
Okay the machine itself!!! Have had 2 now.. You get what you pay for... 1st one sensor broke and then completely stopped making ice!!! Thank god I had 3 bags to hold me over. The size of ice doesn't change from small to large it all looks large.. The first few cycle ice is small and I wish ice was always that size... The bin is not too big so you have to constantly watch it so your not wasting energy.. Cleaning is easy I just clean it with Vinager and water dry it well and let it air out for the night Ice taste great!!! Hope this helps... If this one breaks may try another brand until I get my personalized kitchen with a mini sonic ice machine lol ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Almost perfect ice maker

06/01/2011
By ,
Northwest Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this little counter top ice maker because my ice maker in my freezer just can't keep up with the ice demand in the summer and I am tired of buying bagged ice.
I have only used it a few days and like it very much. My only complaint with it is if you don't remove the ice immediately and place it in your freezer, it begins to melt. I would have thought it would have been insulated better to keep the ice longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Review 7 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

BAD service from factory NO GOOD

09/17/2013
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I gave it a 1 star only because I could not give it negitive stars..........This item is no good. I used it daily, It lasted about 3 months, then would only make 2 ice pieces at a time. I called the number it said to call, and it was someone I could hardly understand, and finally understood that if I would send back to them at a cost of $27 they would look at it and fix. The unit cost $119, and still no promise it would be issue free, Igloo is not where you think it is. I WOULD highly stay away from this product and everything IGLOO makes, as the cost to ship back an item that is still under warranty is not worth the product cost. VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE ICE MAKER AND THE SERVICE AT IGLOO. VERYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY POOR AGAIN STAY AWAY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

very satisfied

05/14/2011
By ,
Pasadena,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this product about two weeks and it meets all specs. Amazing how fast it produces ice. I don't understand why it is not on display in the store, especially in the camping department
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+87points
Review 9 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker
03/13/2012
By ,
Military overseas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this ice maker in November. It worked fine for about 2 months. Then it started saying to add water, when the water tank was full. I am very disappointed that this has occured. It started out as a wonderful product. Not sure if I just got a bad machine or what happened. I have written to costumer service at Igloo in hopes of having it repaired or replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Review 10 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

will pay for itself

05/15/2011
By ,
modesto, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this ice maker!!! I hate messing with trays and use to buy 1lb bags of ice every other day or two. This will pay for itself over time. Takes just a couple of hours to make a big bag of ice that lasts as long as store bought. Great for making ice to fill up cooler for get togethers. Super quiet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 11 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

I love this ice maker!!!

04/11/2011
By ,
Ocoee, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works wonderful and compared to buying a bag of ice on it will pay for its self quickly! I HATE paying for bags of ice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+132points
Review 12 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Disappointed!!!

06/13/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered an Igloo Portable Ice Maker to use in my camper. I paid for shipping to have it delivered in time for an upcoming camping trip. I was impressed with the delivery time but, when the unit came I set it up and waited 3 hours before using even though the instructions recommended 2 hours. When I turned it on the "Add water" light came on and I could not get the unit to work. A call to the Service Center connected me to a foreign sounding chap who put me on hold until he talked with someone else to determine the problem. He instructed me to unplug it, wait 10 hours and plug it into another outlet and try again. I waited 13 hours and tried again but it still wouldn't work. I returned it to Walmart with a Quick Return receipt printed off of the Internet and purchased an Emerson Ice Maker from another store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 13 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Perfect for my needs

05/16/2011
By ,
Tyler, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for my needs. Only pulls 120 watts so I can run it on a couple of solar panels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 14 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

not good

07/31/2012
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The machine made 2 sizes of ice but made a lot of noise, motor was very loud. When ice drop was very very loud. May have been a bad one.
Returned it and got the magic chef brand and love it, it was $10 more makes 3 sizes of ice larger holding bin and only hear ice drop not loud at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 15 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Bought new, but recieved a used one instead

03/16/2012
By ,
Farmersville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did the site to store option for this ice maker and when I got it, opened it up, you could automatically tell it was a used unit. I took it out of the box thinking maybe it would be ok anyways. After looking it over, it wasn't ok after all. The power cord was all scuffed up with black stuff and little knicks were here and there, making it not safe. The bottom of it, the rubber stopper thingys were worn down on the edges, around the foam circle part the plastic was ripped up and if you smell by the motor, it had that smell of over heating, which is probably why someone else sent the unit back to them. So needless to say I packed it back up and returned it for a refund. It was my first time using the site to store option, so I was very disappointed. Hopefully next time will be better...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 16 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Quality product but flawed in some respects

04/15/2012
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this primarily due to the excellent reviews and highly disappointed.
Pros: Its of good construction. Simple to use. Keeps ice cold for about 20-minutes. Water lasts a good time. I save in the price of buying bag ice for the costs of the machine in just a few months and the rest is free. Oh... the ice taste good, but I use arrowhead water!!!
Cons: However, this is NOISY!!! Not loud, just annoying. Ice clutters after its dumped into the tray. Fan needs about 6 inches on the right side for the fan, so it allots for more room than expected.
Its been great for a single person or is good for camping, just not everyday.
There is more... Try it for yourself and make your own judgment. It holds almost a gallon of water.
Its worth the money for the price, but there are others that are just as good, I'm sure...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

A good buy but there are a few BUTS...

10/02/2011
By ,
Brunswick, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall this is a great product but you need to know a few things to be fully satisfied. The unit makes ice rather quickly but the ice tray is rather small. When the ice is finished you need to bag it and immediately place it in your own freezer as the ice is a bit wet and the ice cubes stick together. Once refrozen you can break them apart and place them in the refrigerator freezer compartment ice tray for later use. Continue to do this for several hours until your main frig freezer ice tray is full and then the unit will keep you in plenty of ice. I was spending about $5.00 a week on ice and this unit will pay for itself in four to five months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

DO NOT BUY!

09/07/2011
By ,
Columbia, Ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this ice maker and it worked for about 4 months, then one row of the evaporators stopped working, now we get half the ice! What a dissappointment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 19 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Great!

06/13/2012
By ,
SAN ANTONIO,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this product for 2 weeks and have been using it in our RV. It works great. We have plenty of ice when needed.
Sleek and contemporary looking.
Ice cubes have no after taste (just be sure to follow the pre-use cleaning instructions)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 20 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

FOR CAMPING

04/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY GOOD
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next