Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Igloo Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Igloo Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

You can make ice cubes for parties or hot summer days within a few minutes with the Igloo Ice 102 Portable Ice Maker. Its compact and contemporary design makes it easy to transport and stylish to display. With 2.0 lbs capacity of ice cube basket, this Igloo ice maker saves space in your freezer for other food. It features a 3.1L capacity water reservoir that can make up to 26lbs of ice in 24 hours. You need not drain the melted ice as it drains back to the reservoir. This countertop ice machine features the compressor cooling system and operates at low noise. The modern design and adjustable cube size add to the unique functionality of this Countertop Ice Machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(652 Reviews) 555
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
357
4 stars
155
3 stars
35
2 stars
17
1 star
88
Customer Recommendation82%536 out of 650reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
71 Questions | 472 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
357
4 stars
155
3 stars
35
2 stars
17
1 star
88
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Functions as advertised

05/27/2014
By ,
Manassas Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty cool machine and a good price compared to similar brands. Works perfect for a family of 2-3. More than that and the ice making speed would not be able to catch up. I would recommend this product where a fridge with an ice maker is not possible. My wife is lazy and never refills the ice trays to put back in the freezer. This product is perfect for a man who loves ice and has a lazy roommate or significant other.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Great ice maker for camping trips and parties.

07/02/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ice maker is exactly what we expected it to be from the reviews we read online. This works great for making ice for drinks and your cooler while camping. The only thing we have noticed is the two ice settings small and large make almost the same size cubes. This may not be ideal for large parties as it may not be able to keep up with producing enough. A batch of ice takes 8 minutes and makes 9 ice cubes. We start making it an hour before we need it and it keeps up just fine. I would reccommend this for anyone who has small parties and for camping trips.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Returning My 3rd One

01/05/2014
By ,
Honolulu, HI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 out of 3 broken. It's not like I keep it in a car or move it around a lot. It sits in an office. The first one broke after 13 months. Just stopped getting cold. The second one broke after just a few months. Plastic piece that moves the basket for making the ice broke. Not even a refrigerator repair man could fix that. Now my third one... 1/3 of the day it works fine, 1/3 of the day it says FULL even though the thing is completely empty so it won't make anymore ice, and 1/3 of the day the movable part inside there is stuck in the back position and just won't move forward unless I reach in and force it with my hand.
Support for this is COMPLETELY NON-EXISTENT for this machine. I quickly found that it is not actually made by Igloo so they do not support it. The company that does make it does not answer the phone. Luckily I bought the extended warranty thing for $15 on my 3rd attempt, although I'm not sure how that's working out yet since I can't actually reach a human from there either.
When it works, it's great... but it doesn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Gulfport, Ms
Ice Maker
Posted 08/26/2014
I am with you, just had to get money back from my ice-maker for the third time...mine sits right on the counter with one person using the product. It seems they don't last much more then a year and then QUIT making ICE. Not sure what I am going to do without it, I take medicines that make my mouth dryed out all the time, just wish I could find one that lasts longer, anyone have any ideas??????
0points
Customer Avatar
Elgin, SC
Mr.
Posted 01/24/2014
I may be wrong, but if this machine was kept in an office (and on the floor or even on a table), the janitorial crew may be moving it to clean around or under it and it should not be moved. It needs a sign to that effect posted on it so that it is left alone. Janitorial personnel don't care about how they treat things as long as they get their job done. They may even occasionally drop things and there is no way of knowing it. I would suggest if this is needed for an office, to get a professional machine and a direct water supply to it similar to a coffee maker. In fact, you may be able to rent one from your coffee service company.
0points
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
regarding returning my 3rd one.
Posted 01/16/2014
Considering this is more to being an appliance that is for home use, I can understand why you would say that it does not work at your office. How many people work in your office? And do all of these people get ice from the machine? Why do you not consider asking if people would contribute to a commercial ice maker? Makes sense.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Good product for a low cost ice maker

04/07/2014
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FYI information. When first switched on, the cubes will be smaller than normal for the first couple of cycles; full size form after the unit stabilizes; we use large size. Unit produces 9 cubes every 8 minutes. Filling the basket requires 8 or 9 cycles (9 cubes X 8 minutes X 9 cycles produces 81 cubes @ 72 minutes). To fill a gallon freezer bag will require approximately 4 or 5 baskets (gallon bag of cubes in 5 to 6 hrs). Amount of cubes in basket (cycles) can vary depending on how the cubes "embank" to the point that activates the "icefull" sensor. The times listed here are if you are closely watching for the "icefull" light and maintain the water requirements. There is some noise each time the 9 cubes are dispensed into the basket. To this point we feel the unit does what it was designed to do. If your needs are for more ice, a larger unit would be necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

DO NOT PURCHASE!!!!!!!

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Ice maker last year and it only worked for a couple of months. Thankfully I purchased the walmart extended warranty because Igloo isn't actually the manufacturer. They license their name to a company called Curtis International. When I called Curtis, it was immediately apparent that it was an offshore call center, not a problem in itself, but not my preference. In order to repair/replace they insist on an up front insurance fee of $8. They won't even provide a reference number or address to ship the unit too unless you pay up front. Then you also have to pay for shipping.
But.... I had purchased the $15 extended warranty from Walmart, and I am getting reimbursed for the full price of the unit, since the manufacturer is so bad. DO NOT PURCHASE
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

This little icemaker is a gem.

01/27/2014
By ,
Jacksonville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having given the icemaker a full weekend run...it has proven to be a great purchase. Easy to use, not noisy as described by some reviews. The hum of the motor is similar to that of a quiet refrigerator and the dropping of cubes into the plastic basket is something that you hear when your home ice maker drops cubes...only quieter.
The production of cubes met expectations and the machine has a nice look to it.
The cubes are created by the water freezing onto several rods thus the shape is cylindrical and about 1/2 inch high each. One guest mentioned that they seemed to melt faster than regular cubes so perhaps best performance is achieved with prechilled drinks.
For the weekend experience, I rate this purchase as giving 100 % satisfaction.
Hope it works for a long duration because I just bought another for my mom.
Delivery from Walmart was fast , affordable and hassle-fee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Just what I needed

05/18/2014
By ,
Katy, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit came a day earlier than promised. I'm planning on using in my travel trailer. When I received it I set up in my kitchen at home ran it through its paces. I made large ice, and small ice. I let it run out water to make sure it would shut down. I let it fill up with ice to make sure it would shut down. All of these things I did several times and it performed well. it starts making ice quickly. The first batch was in about 6 minutes. I believe I made about 20 pounds of ice while testing it. The real test will be time. I did buy the 2 year replacement plan just in case. One surprise, I'm not sure what it weighs but it is heaver than I thought it would be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

returning it

09/16/2012
By ,
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Perhaps my expectations were much too high because I am very disappointed in this product. Every 7 minutes 9 thimble sized ice cubes are produced. It takes more than an hour to fill the whole ice basket which is very small. I had to run it for 12 hours to fill my ice cube tub in my freezer. After 3 days of constant running, now its making loud noises and I'm afraid its going to die. Hopefully there is a warranty and I can return it. I believe the product description said it makes 24 lbs of ice in 24 hours. I believe that is true, 22lbs is a large bag of gas station ice so yes, if the machine ran for 24 straight hours then it would make that much. Be aware that you need to empty the ice basket every hour or the ice will melt, also the ice maker stops working once the basket gets full. This would be good if you just wanted a little bit of ice for a few drinks but if you are trying to supply a household with plenty of ice this probably isn't for you. But what's the alternative? I guess going back to buying bags of ice almost daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Great little Ice Maker

01/06/2012
By ,
Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchashed this for my daughter and the Magic Chef for myself. The Igloo is a lot smaller with a smaller reservoir for both Ice and Water. The Igloo is a lot quiter than the Magic Chef and keeps up with her needs. It only has 2 different ice sizes. If I were to purchase another I would get the Magic Chef, even though it makes quit a bit of noise when running, I like the larger Ice bin and the larger water reservoir plus it makes 3 different size cubes. They both work great and I would recommend either. The Igloo has a lot smaller footprint and takes less space and I will probably get one for my motorhome this summer.
Both seem to produce the same amount of ice, but if you have a large family and use a lot at a time, I would go with the Magic Chef. If space and noise are an issue then the Igloo. Hopes this review helps in your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+373points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Worked great for 4 months.

08/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this (in silver) on 4/26 of this year. We use it every day in our kitchen only (never took it anywhere) and turn it off each night. Nearly 4 months to the date of purchase, it stops making ice consistently, sometimes only producing 12-15 cubes in a 3-hour period, and it makes a ridiculously LOUD mechanical/grinding type of noise that will last 2-3 minutes, and this will happen every 10 minutes or so.
I bought the extended warranty from Walmart, but since it's more than 90-days past date of purchase, I have to go through Igloo since the appliance is still under the manufacturer's warranty.
After holding for a half hour with Igloo, they tell me that they don't actually manufacture the ice maker, that it's made by a Curtis International and I will have to contact them for warranty service.
I call Curtis, and I have to do a re-set on the ice maker and then call them back if it doesn't work.
It didn't work, so now I have to call Curtis again, box-up the ice-maker, pay to ship it to Illinois for warranty service, and include a money-order for $7 to pay their return shipping on it as well. What a joke.
Wouldn't buy it again. Wouldn't recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Makes ice quickly

09/24/2014
By ,
Atlantic City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Igloo unit replaces another brand that after 6 years failed. The Igloo unit is a bit smaller, and only has 2 ice sizes. The unit makes small ice in about 7 min. large in about 10. I use ice water for the first batch to speed up the unit. Overall the Igloo seems to be a high quality unit that I hope will last for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Good little ice maker

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the ice this machine makes. Machine throws off a little heat by its fan so place it accordingly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

I wouldn't recommend this product!

09/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a piece of junk! It worked barely over two months and then the pump went out. I wouldn't recommend buying this product. The one I had before, a Magic Chef, at least lasted over two years before it stopped working so I ordered another one of those.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Great ice machine for two person use

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this ice machine to go in my camper and it preformed to expectations. I drink ice water all day and it kept up with me and my wife both using from it. The machine takes up a minimual amount of space on the counter. Great machine when being used by one or two people.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Great little ice maker.

12/04/2013
By ,
Live Oak, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very glad I bought this ice maker. I have used it now for a couple of weeks, and it does everything I wanted it to. I read reviews that said it made very small ice cubes, even on the large setting, but I think the size is quite nice. Yes they have a hole in the middle of each ice cube where it forms around the fingers to freeze it, but hey, it keeps my drink cold and that's all I care about. Takes about 3-4 hours to fill my ice bucket but that's ok too. I would recommend this ice maker to anyone who goes through a lot of ice, especially in the summer. I also read that the ice had a "taste" so I did like another reviewer and rinsed it out, and let it set overnight open and haven't detected any bad tastes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Grant, Al
Posted 04/04/2014
I eat alot of ice all day n night I was wondering if the ice was really small thats how I like it, sry I have very low iron.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

Great replacement for my old one!

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased an icemaker 2 years ago from Sears which worked slower, made only small cubes, and lasted 2 years. The Igloo seems to be (by weight) of better construction (larger compressor, better fan?), and has exceeded my expectations (thus far). I purchased the extra warranty coverage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

This ice maker can put out some ice!

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ice maker is well worth the money. I love mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

EXTREMELY loud

08/01/2012
By ,
Kearney, NE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so excited to get this ordered in. I'm disabled so a daily trip to the store for a bag of ice in this summer's 100+ degree weather is impossible, so when I got this, it was like christmas. My satisfaction was quickly marred by the sheer volume of the water pump in this thing. While it doesn't pump for long, it can be heard clear across the house, and even drowns out the TV volume. Unfortunately, returning this to the manufacturer for repair would cost about $60 in shipping due to the weight, and that's almost half of the price of a brand new one. The water fill light indicator has also failed, and no longer works, so unless I constantly check the reservoir, I have no idea if I need to add more water or not. Overall I am pretty displeased with this. If not for the fact that it can make a cup of ice in 6ish minutes and keep up with the speed that my ice melts (due to the weather) I'd toss this in the garbage and go back to manually freezing cubes in the freezer trays.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Wow!!! I barely hear mine running...
Posted 09/17/2012
We make about 4 bags of ice in one day for an ample supply for the week and I barely hear mine running... In fact if it wasn't for the RED indicator light letting us know the basket is full I never know when to empty. The only sounds that we hear is of the water filtering into the wells to create the ice and the sounds when the ice drops into the basket... I believe you had a defective one or maybe on that was refurbished from a return. With this machine.. we will never go back to the traditional ice cube trays...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

small but good

09/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
smaller than we are used to but operates great
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Igloo Portable Countertop Ice Maker

portables last about a year when used daily

09/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These portables last about a year when used daily. This is my forth. My first was reconditioned from woot and lasted about a year. Don't remember the brand. Second was the MagicChef from Walmart. Lasted 1 year. Third was this Igloo. Lasted 9 months. In all cases the ice full sensor failed and they stopped making ice.
This time I am purchasing the 2 year replacement warranty. I am buying Igloo again because it makes ice faster than MagicChef and is quieter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 556 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next