Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Igloo Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Igloo Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

The Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer features a space-saving upright design that fits almost anywhere, whether at home or in the office. A defrost drain offers a passage for water to drain and makes it simple to clean. An adjustable thermostat lets the compact chest freezer maintain a consistent temperature. The thermostat also helps set different temperatures to store different categories of food items. Because of its convenient upright design, it is easy to find your stored foods once it's time to thaw them out and cook. The spacious defrost chest freezer includes a shelf for easy organization. Stay prepared for holidays, parties, or unexpected guests with this large-capacity home chest freezer that's easy to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.208 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(480 Reviews) 430
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
290
4 stars
110
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation88%420 out of 480reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
110 Questions | 338 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
290
4 stars
110
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Quit Working

03/06/2013
By ,
OKC, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this unit in December and it quit working in late February. I called their service center, which is located in India twice. I was given two completely different set of instructions on how to fix it...none worked! In order to get a repair under the factory warranty, you have to ship it to Illinois.
I guess I now have a pretty white storage box. Do Not Recommend!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Had to order and return twice

10/11/2013
By ,
Scottsboro, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first one I ordered had a bent ground prong that broke off when we tried to straighten it slightly to plug it in. The second one had a dent along the side and sounded like a jet taking off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
s/e Louisiana
Broken ground prong
Posted 11/10/2013
Mine came in, picked it up last night, tried straightening out the very bent in ground prong-very thin where it connects, it broke off. One of the other flat pieces was a little bent in but that straightened out okay. I know people break these off for their 2 slot receptacles, so I plugged it in, it worked fine-started cooling right away. Unplugged to let refrigerant settle, then hours later, plugged it in-it works fine. Wal is 5 minutes away so went back, I picked up a replacement plug in hardware-$1.96, and a few things to put in the freezer. I will replace the plug, too many reviews about getting in a dented freezer, and I didn't want to have to put it back in the car and order another one. So other than the ground prong, I still love the freezer-mine is fine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

freezer

10/30/2013
By ,
west point miss
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when i receive my freezer it was bent up and the paint was coming off. it was not good one
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
07/18/2012
By ,
Groesbeck, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My problem is not with the freezer... it is with the shipping or the employess of the Mexia store that are damaging the product. We order the first freezer and it came in bent around the lid and hinge & sent it back. We order a second one and at first it appeared fine. Upon closer examination we found a small dent in the front panel but decided that we could live with that and moved it into our travel trailer. Very quickly, we noticed that the compressor was leaking some type of oil. We then took the freezer back to Wal-Mart. We still need a small chest freezer to use in our travel trailer, but have not made up my mind if I will use Walmart online again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

item damaged in ship to store process

07/26/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned item. It was damaged. Never even brought it home.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Died after 1 year

04/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took a gamble and lost on this freezer. It lasted one year and then it died with lots of food in it. I am not happy. The compressor just seemed to stop working. SMH! I guess I got what I paid for in a bad way. I do not recommend this deep freezer. Igloo did not do well for us. We lost about $200 worth of food. Thanks for nothing Igloo. #WasteOfMoney #Disappointed
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Actually 3.3 cu. Ft., box says 3.5,& website 3.6

12/08/2013
By ,
Misplaced Texan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this online and picked it up in the store. The box says 3.5 cu. ft so I measured it when I got home because it bothered me that my receipt said 3.6 and the box said 3.5. Anyway, the capacity of the freezer is actually only 3.3 cubic feet and that's with me rounding up on all dimensions. I would've taken it back but my DH destroyed the box when unpacking it... It's much smaller than I expected. If you look at Sam's club or sears during their sales, you can fine twice the size for about less than double the price you pay for this (although we got it for cheap with walmart 's $25 gift card holiday sale). I can cram 3 pizzas standing up, 6 small bags of vegetables, and a few packages of meat. The inside has a ledge to accommodate the mechanics so you have to be creative in order to get the full use of the space. Bigger is better when it comes to freezers!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Damaged in shipping

06/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the freezer would be the perfect size & it seems to run quietly, it was dented in 3 places when we took out of the box. Now have to go through the hassle of reboxing, bring it back to store & buy a replacement. The packaging is not sturdy enough to withstand shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

The item came damaged

08/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Someone sent a damaged item and they new it was damaged, The bottom was out and both the front sides were bent and it could not stand up. Hope this is not how the next one comes.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Freezer arrived damaged and needed to be returned

12/07/2013
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to find this freezer at an excellent price on walmart.com and promptly ordered it to be delivered site-to-store. It arrived severely dented and cracked, with the lid even sitting askew! I asked to exchange it for one in better condition, but was only given the purchase price and told to re-order it again on the website. However, by this time the great deal was over. I asked customer service to allow me to to order another using the original deal, but was declined. The quality of this freezer may not be so bad, but the quality of Walmart's customer service led me to order a new freezer at Home Depot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Bad product. Didn't work.

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a bad purchase. The product worked on the first day and then everything in it defrosted. Trying to return the item was another hassle given that it was purchased online. Had to rent a car to return it to the store and was then told that their systems were not working. Ended up settling for a refund of just the item's cost without taxes or shipping charges. There was no point in arguing with disempowered employees.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Poor Warranty & Drain Design & Operating Room Temp

02/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all the warranty if you can call it that. The first year is covered for defects or failure, HOWEVER you have to ship it to what appears to be a reclaim business that has nothing to do with Igloo at YOUR COST! And then they charge you for shipping the freezer back.! Essentially it would be cheaper to buy a new unit rather than exercise the so called warranty.
The next problem is the drain design. All it is is a hole in the bottom of the unit that is only about an inch off the floor filled with a piece of foam rubber. If you want to defrost and drain the unit, you will have to move it somewhere that you don't mind water running on the floor. It would have been much better if there were plastic tubing you could attach to the drain hole.
And the last deficiency with the unit is room temp requirements. We had planned to put the freezer in our garage. However, the instructions explicitly state that the freezer should not be operated in room temperatures less than 55 degrees F. It gets much colder than 55 degrees in the winter time so so much for that idea.
If we had not needed the unit to store some freshly bought meat, it would have been returned unused.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Received damaged

08/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I picked up the box appeared damaged, the reps said just bring it back if it didn't work. Against my better judgement I took it home and found the product was damaged a bit, but the product did still work.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

arrived damaged

02/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not get to use. Arrived damaged. Returnees to store and purchased 5.0c.f. freezer from Lowes for $11 less.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
01/17/2012
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Since I have only had this freezer about 3 weeks I cannot attest to its durability. What I can rave about is Walmart's service. I ordered on Christmas day and received the freezer on December 28th!! The freezer is perfect for my needs. I do not have much room and it fits perfectly. The interior has plenty of room. This is the perfect freezer for smaller spaces.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
your reveiw???
Posted 01/29/2012
I don't understand. When I read your review and it having a 1 star, I expected it to mean you had a major problem with the item. But from what you have said, you are very happy with it so why did you give it a 1 star rating? Am I missing something in your statement?
Thanks...
+27points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

stubbs

02/01/2014
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product arrived dented on both sides. The plate that covers the compressor is bent. Not happy about the shape in which my freezer arrived.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
05/13/2013
By ,
Mary Esther, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped freezing after 5 months. Manufacture warranty is worthless. You have to ship at your cost back to them which is more than the cost of the freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Beat to heck during shipping and unusable

12/30/2013
By ,
Bay Area, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've read all the bad reviews here about shipping damage, but I thought over a couple of years of reviews that someone would have gotten their act together. I did a ship-to-store, and the box arrived in fairly poor shape. Walmart shipped via fedex, and whoever packaged this thing, well, didn't. It was sent without any other box than the flimsy product packaging. Either it had sat in water or was drained in the box, because the entire bottom of the packaging was warped and full of awful mildew. I opened the box to find multiple dents and collapse damage at the edges, chipped paint, and the bottom looked like a crumpled recycled can with dried liquid foam pouring out numerous holes. No care had been taken to protect the plug, so it was pressed and the grounding prong was missing.
This seems like a quality product, and if you read the reviews of it on other sites, they lack the numerous shipping damage notes. I'm thinking this might be a Walmart problem. You can't just throw this around trucks and stores without properly packaging it. They don't do it with TV's, and they shouldn't do it with these freezers. I returned it today and did a price match with another company. Hopefully they take a little more care in shipping it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Recieved the item damaged

06/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked the freezer up from the store and brought it home. When I took the packaging off I noticed the entire bottom section of the freezer was crumpled. I returned it immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Igloo 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Never even worked

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this item site to store. Received with a huge dent in it. The product would cool as long as it was running as soon as it reached the temperature it was set to it would cut off. Still waiting to exchange for another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 431 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next