Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Optimus Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Optimus Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

This Optimus H-5300 Quartz Heater is a reliable and effective convection radiant heater. It is a portable heater with large wheels so that you can take it to any room for warmth where it is needed the most during freezing winters. The heater comes with thermostat that regulates heat automatically and has four different heat settings. It comes with simple control panel, power indicator light and a carrying handle for easy portability. It can be put in the garage, basement, or any room. The cord storage system of this Optimus radiant heater keeps cord tangles and the mess out of your way.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%14 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

GREAT Heater and doesnt dry the air

02/22/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've been using it for 2 months now and We just love this thing! The reason I give it only 4 stars not 5 is because the model in the picture is not the one we got. ours is a beige and grey model with buttons not a dial.
I am not deducting a star from the product (which works great) because Wal Mart sent us one that had obviously been returned by someone else.
This heater heats our 300 SqF room easily on 3/4 power and makes absolutely no noise.
Plus I love that I can choose to turn on just one bulb to keep the room warm once it gets to the right temp. The thermostat works fine but I like to make sure its not using too much electricity.
It doesnt dry the air as much as other space heaters I've had, and it heats way better than the heat dish. It rolls easily over carpet and works great to dry wet gloves on the top vent (even though the directions say not to)
Overall the best product Ive purchased all year!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

Great heater IF.....

01/16/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this heater to provide supplemental heat to a bonus room. The room is a finished garage and the heat duct that had been added to the room was from the central heat and air off the rest of the house. It did absolutely nothing to heat the room! If anything it sucked heat from other rooms of the house that needed it.
I had very low expectations for any space heater to heat this room. It is 200-300 square ft and was SO cold. When we first plugged it in and turned it on I immediately thought it was junk. It does not "blow" warm air out and it is very quiet, which I thought meant it wasn't powerful enough to heat the large room. BUT after turning it on and walking away from it when I came back into the room a couple hours later it was toasty!!! The bonus room is now a very warm and inviting place to be. We spend hours at a time in there. I highly recommend this heater however a consumer must understand that it is not made to blow warm air out at you but rather to gently distribute true heat into the room... Turn it on, follow the instructions precisely and leave the room. Give it a little while and it'll be cozy in no time. Also... it was January when we bought it and the temp was in the teens so this heater was definitely given a work out. We have only had it for a few weeks so as long as it lasts a few years I will be 100% satisfied with our purchase!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 3 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

not a great heater but a good heater

12/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i live in a singlewide moble in arizona and this heater keeps the temp 10 degrees warmer in the living room and kitchen. thats about 500sf. well worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

super optimus radient heater

02/07/2011
By ,
mooresville, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great warms my double wide trailer very well along with the old furnace, just make sure you use an over head fan to get the heat spread out in the room other wise doesn't work so good but with a fan it is fantastic!!!!! we would've froze this winter especially with the cold ice storm if I hadn't purchased this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

Does the job

01/16/2011
By ,
Cynthiana, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater mainly for my wife for down in the basement in her sewing room. Be aware, it does NOT have a fan, but works with radiant heat, and convection heat that comes out of the top. You can sit about 4 to 5 feet from it and feel the heat. If you are further away, you won't feel the heat as well. It's perfect for a small room, but large open rooms would take a long time to heat up. I'd call it a "spot", or immediate area heater. Used for this purpose, it's a good unit. She really likes it and says she'd recommend it. I agree, it does what it's supposed to do. Easy to unbox and setup and operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 6 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

FANTASTIC Space Heater for an Affordable Price

03/09/2014
By ,
ST. CHARLES, MISSOURI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased 4 different space heaters over the years and this one is by far my favorite now. After more than 2 years it is still working great, and it has been used daily throughout the winter. Reasons I LOVE this:
Far Infrared Heat does not dry out air, so lungs and sinuses are happy:)
QUIET: No noise from fans, which is nice especially for sleeping
This works the best in a smaller room like a bedroom, keeps the room toasty warm, so I can turn the heater thermostat way down overnight, which keeps the gas bill alot lower in winter. Why heat your entire house all night long when all you need is a warm bedroom?
Walmart has this for an affordable price, especially compared to other brands and types of far infrared space heaters.
This keeps me warmer at night than a man does for alot less trouble:)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

excellent product

12/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heats up my 13x12 room.
red hot glow great to keep by the bed side.
silent and awesome.
could be cheaper but what ever
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

Works quite well...

11/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet, puts out great heat, interesting system of switches to allow choice of 1 to all 4 quartz tubes for best choice of amount of heat vs. watts used. Not especially stylish, but sturdy. Metal construction looks and feels solid. I'm satisfied with this purchase and have already bought and received another!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

Works Great!!!

10/20/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and decided on this one. I'm in The Rocky Mountains. It's worked great so far. The only issue may be the lack of an internal fan. I sometimes put a small fan on it to circulate the heat. It's nice and light. I like the rollers, so I can move it from room to room. I haven't had it above the lows setting so far. Then again it hasn't gotten down to -20, YET!!! ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

optimus quartz and convection radiant heater

11/28/2011
By ,
massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The heater is exceptional. When I first turned it on I left the room and shut the door so that it could warm up quicker. I returned about an hour later and the room was really too warm. I opened the door and turned it down to the lowest setting and it kept the bedroom nice and warm all night. The room is about 12 x 12. We live in the northeast near the ocean where it gets pretty cold and damp during most of the seasons. I think this heater will be what we need as extra warmth without having to turn up the furnace, especially at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

Just what I wanted

10/03/2011
By ,
Abilene Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a small heater this is the one that you should get it made my living room, kitchens and front bedroom very nice and warm and I really like the three setting so I can use it just to take the chill off the house or hotter if I need it, Great heater love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

EXCELLENT HEATER

12/11/2011
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this heater in our big living room ,,, which we had converted our garage and added to our living room size more than doubled. It keeps it toasty,, when the room gets warmed up can lower the seting and the radiated heat is great. MMMMMM WARM :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300
11/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchase the OTIMUS QUARTZ CONVECTION RADIANT HEATER from Lowe's for 54.00 dollars. It is not worth buying it does not give off enough heat it has no blower so don't buy it period! At Walmart or Lowes
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 14 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

optimus quartz

12/12/2010
By ,
pottstown pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i got this heather about lil over a week and half ago and it has been cold here and this heather has been keeping my room about 68 to 70 i am thinking about getting more for the house
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300

worthless

04/13/2011
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This heater is worse than my little $20 heater. Sorry, I had to return it next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-10points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Optimus Electric Quartz and Convection Radiant Heater, HEOP5300
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5