Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Optimus Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Optimus Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Bask in instant, penetrating warmth with this Optimus H-5210 Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater. The unit's infrared, quartz-heating element consumes less energy, heats up quickly and delivers soothing, radiant heat for economical comfort and convenience. The control knob at the top is easy to use and lets you turn the unit on/off. It even lets you switch between the two heat settings namely low and high effortlessly as per your convenience. With a highly functional design that incorporates a safety grill and keeps the housing cool, this garage radiant heater is safe and efficient in all ways that it can. The carrying handle makes this quiet radiant heater portable and thus facilitates easier transport. It also has a cord wrap on its backside for easier storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%160 out of 169reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

great little heater

11/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Optimus infrared space heater is a great little heater! I would classify it as a "personal" heater. It works best when placed in close proximity to you. It is wonderful to use when you're working on the computer, watching TV, reading a book. It heats objects not the air, so when you walk out of range you no longer feel the warmth. It is a great SUPPLEMENT to your regular heat. You can turn down the thermostat a few degrees & sit next to the infrared heater.
Cost-wise it is THE best value for an infrared heater I found either online or in any store. It is lightweight & easy to port from one room to another. It heats up almost instantly. The automatic shut off feature if tipped over is a great added safety feature for anyone with pets. I would definitely recommend this heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Works great for heating a single room! =)

01/19/2012
By ,
Franklinville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Considering how this "bite size" heater is only about $30, it serves it's purpose and then some. Turn it on 400w to heat the room in a few hours, or turn it on it's max setting(800w) to heat the room in approximately an hours' time MAX. The only part that's actually hot to the touch while in use is obviously the vents, as well as the top and bottom. The sides are cool-ish, and if you want to move it, I'd recommend turning it off first, although it's not really necessary. The Safety Off switch works like a charm, and the only sound it makes is when you turn it on when it's been off for awhile, and that "buzzing" sound only lasts for a few seconds. Got a particularly colder room in your house you use often/want heated? Get this heater, and you'll never worry about being cold again... Or at least, in that room, lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Adjustable power yet light weight

01/15/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although it's unavailable in any Walmart store, it's worth waiting to get it via the site-to-store delivery option. The protection switch at the bottom is great. The adjustable power (400W or 800W) meets our requirements. The quiet operation is great too. The only concern I have is the light weight. It seems that it's easy to tumble down. If the manufacturer can add extension toes to the bottom so it's less possible to fall, that'll be much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

great buy

05/13/2011
By ,
baltimore,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i am so glad i bought this heater. i have a cold tile kitchen floor and in the winter it can be really cold. I took this little heater out and placed it on the floor as i was cooking and my feet never froze. i am buying another one to place at each end of the kitchen that way i dont have to turn the main heat on on less colder days. its also very lightweight and portable i can put it in my bedroom to heat it up. it's very quiet doesn't make a noise. it has saved me over $50 on my heating bill. I am very pleased with this purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

A money-saving product

04/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for keeping you warm, if you are stationary in a cool room. The heat is focused directly on you, rather than heating the whole room, or the air. It uses a fourth to half of the electricity of a 1500w electric heater. The warmth is comparable to sitting in front of a campfire.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Great Value

12/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater totally exceeded my expectations. I purchased it based on glowing reviews across the web, and everyone was right. This heater emits radiant heat, which feels like the heat you experience from sunshine. It is the type of comforting heat that warms you to the core. While it's true that you need to be within a few feet of the heater to feel the heat, the heater will gradually warm up a room if you leave it on for long periods of time. It has two heat levels, 400 watts, and 800 watts. Most space heaters are up to 1500 watts, so this unit will save on some energy costs. Another PRO is that this heater does not dry out the air, as it doesn't have a blower or fan. The casing gets a little hot if you leave it on the high heat setting for long periods; and if you place it on the carpet, it will warm the carpeting. There are times when I worry about the carpeting becoming too hot, so I often place the heater on a small glass table if I'm in a carpeted area. Otherwise, I always place it on a hard floor. I have spent a lot of money on space heaters over the years (i.e. ceramic, fan-forced, oscillating, name brands, etc. But this little heater ranks the best bang for the buck. As soon as I saw it's performance, I went right back online and ordered another one. I am even thinking about ordering a third one for the living room, one for the kitchen, and one for the bathroom). They are very lightweight and can be moved from room-to-room, but at this price, you can have the convenience of owning a few, which allows for easier transitions when you move from location to location within your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

FITS MY NEEDS TO A "T"

04/30/2011
By ,
Lakewood, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After blowing multiple fuses with my old space heater I purchased this unit which uses half the power to deliver the same wattage output. It is reliable, meets my needs and was reasonably priced --less than half the cost of the 10 year old heater it replaced.
My only reservation is that the "benchmark" to align the temperature control knob to is a very tiny reversed dimple on the adjacent housing. I rectified the problem by highlighting said dimple with a black magic marker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210
12/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater on low (400 watts) provides the equivalent warmth of a 1500 watt forced air heater which has a natural cooling effect from the blowing fan. It will not heat anything but an extremely small room but that is not its function. If you place it 2-3 feet from you the radiant heat is pleasant, immediate and effective. For $25 it is an excellent value and watch out for Amazon's 'special' $24.98 pricing--- this just means it's not eligible for free shipping (minimum $25 purchase) and you will pay an extra $8 for that as opposed to Walmart's 97 cent shipping cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Good Lil Heater

03/14/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this heater cause I moved into a two story house and the downstairs can get a lil cold. I would say this would be a great heater for a small space but for my needs its just ok. I have to sit it right on top of me to feel the heat again this is cause I have a larger room and high ceilings. If I place it under my desk next to my feet it works great. Its also good for those who have small kids as I do cause they tipped it over and it shut down very fast. Carpet was a lil warm but no burns. :) Very happy about that.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Excellent

11/22/2011
By ,
Attleboro MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little heater can really put out the heat! I love the fact that it doesn't have a noisy fan. It doesn't seem to pull electricity like the others I have had. I haven't gotten an electric bill since using it, but we shall see. We will most likely be getting another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Nice heaters

11/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These heaters worked good in my 5th wheel, only 800watts ea allows me to use one in the front and one in the rear.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Quality item

02/27/2011
By ,
Ypsilanti, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was smaller than expected...but turned out to be a good thing...easy to move around. Perfect for my 11'x11' bedroom. Takes longer to heat a larger room but surprisingly does get it done. Totally noiseless and well-built. I happily purchased a 2nd one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

nice heat

12/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this based on the high number of positive reviews, and so far it has not disappointed. I run it almost 24/7 and it really heats up any area. Good for standing in front of and getting warm, or heats up a bedroom overnight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210
01/19/2012
By ,
kenton tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband loves this and we plan on buying more for the house we got this to use in our computer room(coldest room during the winter)and we couldn't be happier would reccomend it totalty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Excellent product

12/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it for a week. Love it. Because it doesn't have a fan, it is super quite. It is very light, easy to move around.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Very Quiet, Very Warm!!

02/04/2011
By ,
houston, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We wanted to get this unit for our home because we tried other fan heaters, but all of them freaked out the dog. Basically the fan was partially for the dog, since she is sleeping in a crate on a cold tile floor at night. Even though we have 2 crate beds stacked up for her to sleep on, and a little dog sweeter, she would get cold and wake us up in the middle of the night to go take care of her business. Well, ever since we got this quiet unit, we are sleeping thru the night.
Only down side is the bright orange glow while you are trying to sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Heater stops working when I need it most

01/12/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This would have been 5 star but Heater stops working when I need it most - during the cold nights.
I have to wake up - unplug it for 3 -5 minutes several times and plug again - then it starts working again (sometimes). Its unacceptable because I have to break my sleep or coil up in a ball because am so cold. The Optimus heater is a good buy only if it works all through the night, I just ordered another new Optimus heater because I like it - am willing to give it a second chance, but I will be returning the one I have presently (had it for only 3 months).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
Posted 03/08/2013
This is also happening to me. I don't have the box anymore so hopefully I can still return it with the receipt because I want to exchange it for another, just like you I am willing to give it another chance. So how is it now?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Very good product - for me -

11/08/2012
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value and performance - for me - for the purpose I needed it for. Positives are: it's infrared radiant heat - heated my small workshop (I'm not good at dimensions) perhaps 20' L x 15' W shop - warms the place like a warm summer sun's breeze and it's so quiet - it doesn't add to the extra noise in the shop while working with hammers, etc.
.... The Infrared Radiant Heater - I bought one to try it out - was so "just what I needed" that I now have two (2) more of the same on the way to my home right now. Can't wait to use them upstairs & downstairs in my small rooms - all my rooms are small (adventure house -lol) or in the basement. ... Safety feature - if knocked over - it will shut off. Very good product for me - indeed - and for $29.00 - it's just grand & I will stay warm while working in the shop or inside my home. Thank You! for offering a great product - for me - at a great value ... Very satisfied customer here! I already recommended this particular product to a colleague at work - her office is cold - and this would be a perfect solution - so quiet while on the business phone. ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

excellent heater

01/16/2011
By ,
Miami OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best heater I have ever owned. I bought this one and two other more expensive heaters which I paid 130. each and this one is my favorite. Plan on buying a couple more.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Optimus Electric Infrared Quartz Radiant Heater, HEOP5210

Solves a problem

10/31/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use a pellet stove to heat my house. The stove is located in the living room at one end of the house. My PC is in a den at the other end with a room between. The den temperature naturally runs below the comfort level when working at the PC. It wasn't practical to keep this room at full temperature because it is only used for two or three hours a day.
After reading several reviews of radiant heaters, I purchased this unit to heat just the PC position when I am there. I found that it worked very well for this purpose on the 400 watt setting. I can work at the PC in a T-shirt when the room is 58 to 62 degrees and be warm and comfortable.
This type of radiant heater functions similar to the sun and only heats objects that are in front of it. It is not effective for heating the whole room. For certain applications - such as mentioned above - I feel it can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next