Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Create a wonderful ambience that is free from harmful effects associated with dry air with the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier. The unit helps for the process of humidification and produces a mist that can be seen and felt. You have the option with the visible mist humidifier to control the mist to your comfort. There is no need for periodical replacement of filters. A single tank filling can help you enjoy the mist covered environment for 24 hours. The Sunbeam filter-free humidifier shuts off automatically when the tank is empty. It features built-in measures to inhibit the growth of odor causing microorganisms such as bacteria, mold, and mildew.
Average Customer Rating:
3.079 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation52%46 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Piece of Junk

02/14/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had this for less than 2 months and it simply quit turning on. You turn the knob, nothing happens. I bought this for the filter free option that I thought would be better in the long run, save money from replacing filters. At the same time, we bought a different brand/model for a larger bedroom. This sunbeam disappointed for a few reasons: It's hard to hold onto when you fill it, as there is no handle on the bottom side. It gets some sort of pink fungus growth in hard to clean nooks and crannies. I couldn't even get it clean with q-tips. Why don't they treat the plastic with a microban similar to what they do with pet water dishes? It is also way overpriced for only working a couple months. I do not recommend this product...buy a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Awesome Humidifier

01/12/2011
By ,
Denver, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently moved to Colorado from Florida. Going from extreme humidity to extreme dryness has reaked havoc on my skin in only a years time. I purchased this humidifier because I was noticing changes in my skin in this super dry air. I run it all night and sometimes through out the day. It has made a huge difference not only in my skin but with my sinuses as well. It is super quiet and lasts for a very long time before I have to refill the water. I am super happy with my purchase and I would definitely recommend to a friend. Knowing that things do tend to condensate when wet I do not run it close to my wooden dresser or night stand. I also have a small fan set up to behind it to spread the misty air coming out to prevent water from forming condensation on top of the humidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

PIECE of JUNK!!!

01/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchased this item today. Brought it home, read all the instructions in detail. Filled the tank up with filtered water, then placed the tank on the base. The water commenced filled up the base. I walked away for several minutes, returned to check how it was doing...there was water dripping pretty good from the back side of the base. There is an opening in the back of the base. Not sure why. Probably two quarts or so...went on the carpet. I am taking this back ASAP! I should have paid attention to other reviews on this product. I am buying an Honeywell product from Amazon.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. This information has been forwarded to the appropriate department. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Humidifier

02/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great humidifier! Perfect for my one bedroom apartment. Very quiet, only have to fill once a day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

No filter is not alwasy good ...

11/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have hard water and this ultrasonic humidifier produce a lot of white powder from calcium in it.
We didn't have this problem with one which uses a filter. It turns out to be cheaper to replace a filter than use purified water.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

So far so good!

11/12/2010
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very quiet. The mist is visible but haven't had any issues with droplets landing on the surrounding area. Easy to fill and it is awesome that it doesn't require a filter every four weeks. It is a larger unit but it is tall so it doesn't take up much space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

no filter

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fill, & set up. Quiet & best part NO filter to deal with!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Humidifier Quit

11/01/2012
By ,
Golden, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second SUL-495 I have purchased. It appears the electronics cannot last past 6 hours.
My first SUL-495 stopped misting, but the fan continued to work. Some part on the electronic board burned out after 6 hours of use.
My second SUL-495 stopped misting and the fan did not work. Problem---Blown fuse. If the 2.5 amp fuse blew, then there is an electronic fault with the humidifier.
Sunbeam needs to re-engineer their humidifiers so they will run for 10 to 12 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Not up to expectations.

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Noisy compared to other Ultrasonic humidifiers. Bought for a medium sized bedroom. Not enough water disbursement. Taking back for refund. Also no auto shut off when empty.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. This unit is recommended for 600 square feet or less. Also, when the humidifier runs out of water, the transducer will automatically shut off and the fan will keep running to dry any residual water out of the base and chamber. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Wonderful Purchase

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had several humidifiers over the years, mostly Vicks brand, that never worked properly and caused all kinds of problems. I use the humidifiers heavily every winter. They run 24/7. This is the best one I've had yet. It's very quiet and the visible mist leaves no residue or water marks anywhere. I'm also glad I don't have to deal with changing a filter. It's very easy to clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

stopped working

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First tank of water ran fine. I was happy with output. Thought it was easy to fill. After 24 hours and one tank, it quit working. I have a Vicks brand (warm mist) that I have had for 8 years and still works great. Will be returning this one tomorrow and going back to Vicks brand.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are always willing to assist with any troubleshooting. We can be reached at (800) 435-1250; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, Eastern. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Excellent Humidifier

12/18/2012
By ,
Norman, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a long term investment! The tank is kind of hard to fill, since the top is angled, but I found a solution by putting it top down on top of a towel, holding the tank with one hand, and using a flexible, cheap cup to fill the tank with water. By using the cheap plastic cup, I was able to create a spout, so one of my hands could steady the tank. I really love how it's a cool mist humidifier, but I can still see the vapors. I had the chance to test the overall performance of this vaporizer for the purpose I wanted it for- for when I was sick. Having the vapors helped my illness tremendously! All in all, it's an excellent product. I'd definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Humidifier

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works really good!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Randomly stopped working

11/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first night we bought this it was great - quiet, no leaks, etc. Then the very next day there was no mist when I turned it on. After my long ordeal with the vicks filter free I had no more time for games. Returned it the next day and got the Crane5301 and haven't looked back since..
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

its great

12/15/2013
By ,
Atlanta, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it helps me with my dry skin during the winter time. its pretty with the dry air as well. its been pretty good for us. you have to make sure its clean or it wont work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Excellent humidifier for master bedroom

11/23/2013
By ,
minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would definitely recommend this humidifier. It does exactly what it says. Good price too! Easy to fill and maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Great cool mist humidifier

01/26/2012
By ,
Western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I like about this machine: NO irritating night light; NO spitting water; NO noise. Easy to fill, doesn't leak. Since we will be using this for years we decided it was best to order online and pay a little more to get one we really like and we couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Good Humidifier, Bad Design

01/19/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tank Capacity: 1.5 gallons (since half of them don't tell you.)
I was impressed by the opeartion of this humidifier. I filled the tank, put it on, turned the knob, and immediately, a fine tower of mist came out (and only on halfway setting). Very quiet.
The problem I have with it is the design of the tank. You can see the curved handle on the top in the product image -- this makes it impossible for the tank to stand up so you can fill it with water. It really is like balancing an egg on its point, and you have to stand there and hold it carefully while you fill it.
The cap is not a screw-style cap (like the Sunbeam Warm Mist Humidifier), it has four little tabs to hold the plug in place. Always make sure you test that it is securetly closed before you pick the tank up!
Also on the bottom is a spring gasket, that has a plastic sleeve extender that sticks out about an inch. This makes it precarious to set the tank down on its bottom. All the sides are sleekly curved, which looks nice, but is also not very steady.
Basically, this tank is designed to fall over and crack. I will be exchanging it for Sunbeam's Warm Mist version, as I already have had one of those for 3 years, and it works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

DO NOT BUY THIS!

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this humidifier yesterday. Our old humidifier that we liked so much, the reservoirs got a crack in them from age and started leaking. Unfortunately, they don't make that model anymore. So, at the store, we decided to go with this one. Terrible mistake! We should have read the reviews on here first! We woke up this morning to find water all over our bedroom floor! There's a hole in the back...what for? I don't know, but it caused the water to leak all over the place! We are returning this to the store today. Walmart didn't have much to choose from on the shelves and we need a new humidifier soon, so we may have to go someplace else to get it as we don't want to wait for shipping.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

DO NOT PURCHASE EVER!!

01/13/2011
By ,
Dublin, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very simple to use and put together. Made the purchase yesterday. Woke up at 4 am and had about a half gallon of water on my carpet. There is a water exhaust on the rear of the device and it was leaking very bad out that. Returning the item today for a different one.
Stay away from this item. Go with something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 83 total reviews