Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Create a wonderful ambience that is free from harmful effects associated with dry air with the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier. The unit helps for the process of humidification and produces a mist that can be seen and felt. You have the option with the visible mist humidifier to control the mist to your comfort. There is no need for periodical replacement of filters. A single tank filling can help you enjoy the mist covered environment for 24 hours. The Sunbeam filter-free humidifier shuts off automatically when the tank is empty. It features built-in measures to inhibit the growth of odor causing microorganisms such as bacteria, mold, and mildew.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation52%46 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

stopped working

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First tank of water ran fine. I was happy with output. Thought it was easy to fill. After 24 hours and one tank, it quit working. I have a Vicks brand (warm mist) that I have had for 8 years and still works great. Will be returning this one tomorrow and going back to Vicks brand.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are always willing to assist with any troubleshooting. We can be reached at (800) 435-1250; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, Eastern. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Wonderful Purchase

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had several humidifiers over the years, mostly Vicks brand, that never worked properly and caused all kinds of problems. I use the humidifiers heavily every winter. They run 24/7. This is the best one I've had yet. It's very quiet and the visible mist leaves no residue or water marks anywhere. I'm also glad I don't have to deal with changing a filter. It's very easy to clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
11/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recently, I purchased the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier for medium rooms. I brought it home on Saturday, November, 13th and set it all up in my medium sized room. I ran the humidifier in between the high and low setting at night, turning it off during the day. I set this humidifier on an oak dresser and watched the mist flow into the air. Thinking I would not have a problem with the tiny water droplets and they would just dissolve in the air. On Tuesday, November 16th I woke up to find the top of my wooden dresser warped and ruined from the mist. The mist had fallen on top of my dresser and soaked into the wood over night while I slept. I can not set this humidifier anywhere else in my home in fear that it will ruin another item. I have wood floors throughout and I would hate to see them affected by this product. I am very dissatisfied with this product and would like to bring it to your attention that I now have a ruined oak dresser.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Humidifier

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works really good!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Has helped snoring

12/14/2013
By ,
NW Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both had terrible colds, and the result was snoring from both of us. We had not had a good night's sleep in two weeks, and the first night we tried the humidifier the problem was resolved due to more moisture in the air. We have hard water, but I fill it with water run through a PUR filter on the tap and we have not had any issues yet. It runs all night on half a canister, and it makes very little noise (if any). The only issue we had at first was I moved the unit after I had filled it and there was no mist. I thought it was broken, but realized it actually said in the directions not to move it, so I emptied the bottom container and it was fine once we started over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Awesome Humidifier

01/12/2011
By ,
Denver, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently moved to Colorado from Florida. Going from extreme humidity to extreme dryness has reaked havoc on my skin in only a years time. I purchased this humidifier because I was noticing changes in my skin in this super dry air. I run it all night and sometimes through out the day. It has made a huge difference not only in my skin but with my sinuses as well. It is super quiet and lasts for a very long time before I have to refill the water. I am super happy with my purchase and I would definitely recommend to a friend. Knowing that things do tend to condensate when wet I do not run it close to my wooden dresser or night stand. I also have a small fan set up to behind it to spread the misty air coming out to prevent water from forming condensation on top of the humidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

No filter is not alwasy good ...

11/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have hard water and this ultrasonic humidifier produce a lot of white powder from calcium in it.
We didn't have this problem with one which uses a filter. It turns out to be cheaper to replace a filter than use purified water.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Just a warning.

01/19/2014
By ,
Norman, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not like you leave complaints or reviews but i feel it is necessary to warn everyone about this product. The reservoir fills up with water faster then the humidifier can disperse it, even on its highest setting. this becomes a problem within the first hour due to the 2" gap at the base in the rear that is there to pull in the air. This product has continued to leak regardless what we do. After hours of cleaning i figured i would try making sure it was perfectly level and some other slight angles on it but nothing changed. The item will be returned asap and i feel for anyone else who buys this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

So far so good!

11/12/2010
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very quiet. The mist is visible but haven't had any issues with droplets landing on the surrounding area. Easy to fill and it is awesome that it doesn't require a filter every four weeks. It is a larger unit but it is tall so it doesn't take up much space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Piece of Junk

02/14/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had this for less than 2 months and it simply quit turning on. You turn the knob, nothing happens. I bought this for the filter free option that I thought would be better in the long run, save money from replacing filters. At the same time, we bought a different brand/model for a larger bedroom. This sunbeam disappointed for a few reasons: It's hard to hold onto when you fill it, as there is no handle on the bottom side. It gets some sort of pink fungus growth in hard to clean nooks and crannies. I couldn't even get it clean with q-tips. Why don't they treat the plastic with a microban similar to what they do with pet water dishes? It is also way overpriced for only working a couple months. I do not recommend this product...buy a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

DO NOT BUY THIS!

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this humidifier yesterday. Our old humidifier that we liked so much, the reservoirs got a crack in them from age and started leaking. Unfortunately, they don't make that model anymore. So, at the store, we decided to go with this one. Terrible mistake! We should have read the reviews on here first! We woke up this morning to find water all over our bedroom floor! There's a hole in the back...what for? I don't know, but it caused the water to leak all over the place! We are returning this to the store today. Walmart didn't have much to choose from on the shelves and we need a new humidifier soon, so we may have to go someplace else to get it as we don't want to wait for shipping.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Humidifier Quit

11/01/2012
By ,
Golden, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second SUL-495 I have purchased. It appears the electronics cannot last past 6 hours.
My first SUL-495 stopped misting, but the fan continued to work. Some part on the electronic board burned out after 6 hours of use.
My second SUL-495 stopped misting and the fan did not work. Problem---Blown fuse. If the 2.5 amp fuse blew, then there is an electronic fault with the humidifier.
Sunbeam needs to re-engineer their humidifiers so they will run for 10 to 12 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

At last, the perfect amount of moisture

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. It is quiet and effective. I like that it has a dial instead of just low and high settings so I can get the humidity level just the way I want it. I also like that I don't have to buy filters and bacteriostat. Good product at a good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Broke in two minutes

11/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It ran for two minutes, shooting mist out the top, and then the transducer failed; only the fan remained working.
It was also difficult to fill as the top of the tank is curved. When you turn it upside down to fill, you have to hold it the whole time.
The only good thing about it was the lid to the tank, which didn't screw on and off; it required only a quarter turn to loosen or tighten.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. For further assistance, please call us at (800) 435-1250; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, Eastern. Sunbeam
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Excellent Humidifier

12/18/2012
By ,
Norman, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a long term investment! The tank is kind of hard to fill, since the top is angled, but I found a solution by putting it top down on top of a towel, holding the tank with one hand, and using a flexible, cheap cup to fill the tank with water. By using the cheap plastic cup, I was able to create a spout, so one of my hands could steady the tank. I really love how it's a cool mist humidifier, but I can still see the vapors. I had the chance to test the overall performance of this vaporizer for the purpose I wanted it for- for when I was sick. Having the vapors helped my illness tremendously! All in all, it's an excellent product. I'd definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

its great

12/15/2013
By ,
Atlanta, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it helps me with my dry skin during the winter time. its pretty with the dry air as well. its been pretty good for us. you have to make sure its clean or it wont work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

good humifier

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Quiet but not Effective!!

11/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a fairly quiet humidifier ... but the moisture output goes all over the floor around the humidifier and that is about all it does. Tried it for about 3 days but I am returning it.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Great cool mist humidifier

01/26/2012
By ,
Western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I like about this machine: NO irritating night light; NO spitting water; NO noise. Easy to fill, doesn't leak. Since we will be using this for years we decided it was best to order online and pay a little more to get one we really like and we couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Good Humidifier, Bad Design

01/19/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tank Capacity: 1.5 gallons (since half of them don't tell you.)
I was impressed by the opeartion of this humidifier. I filled the tank, put it on, turned the knob, and immediately, a fine tower of mist came out (and only on halfway setting). Very quiet.
The problem I have with it is the design of the tank. You can see the curved handle on the top in the product image -- this makes it impossible for the tank to stand up so you can fill it with water. It really is like balancing an egg on its point, and you have to stand there and hold it carefully while you fill it.
The cap is not a screw-style cap (like the Sunbeam Warm Mist Humidifier), it has four little tabs to hold the plug in place. Always make sure you test that it is securetly closed before you pick the tank up!
Also on the bottom is a spring gasket, that has a plastic sleeve extender that sticks out about an inch. This makes it precarious to set the tank down on its bottom. All the sides are sleekly curved, which looks nice, but is also not very steady.
Basically, this tank is designed to fall over and crack. I will be exchanging it for Sunbeam's Warm Mist version, as I already have had one of those for 3 years, and it works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 82 total reviews