Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Create a wonderful ambience that is free from harmful effects associated with dry air with the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier. The unit helps for the process of humidification and produces a mist that can be seen and felt. You have the option with the visible mist humidifier to control the mist to your comfort. There is no need for periodical replacement of filters. A single tank filling can help you enjoy the mist covered environment for 24 hours. The Sunbeam filter-free humidifier shuts off automatically when the tank is empty. It features built-in measures to inhibit the growth of odor causing microorganisms such as bacteria, mold, and mildew.
Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation52%47 out of 91reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

So far so good!

11/12/2010
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very quiet. The mist is visible but haven't had any issues with droplets landing on the surrounding area. Easy to fill and it is awesome that it doesn't require a filter every four weeks. It is a larger unit but it is tall so it doesn't take up much space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Humidifier Quit

11/01/2012
By ,
Golden, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second SUL-495 I have purchased. It appears the electronics cannot last past 6 hours.
My first SUL-495 stopped misting, but the fan continued to work. Some part on the electronic board burned out after 6 hours of use.
My second SUL-495 stopped misting and the fan did not work. Problem---Blown fuse. If the 2.5 amp fuse blew, then there is an electronic fault with the humidifier.
Sunbeam needs to re-engineer their humidifiers so they will run for 10 to 12 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Too much water

01/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased three of these units. The first lasted five years. The second lasted two weeks. The third lasted about 10 days. It appears the water tub does not seal very well and as a result the water basin overfills and the unit stops working. The solution is to empty and dry everything, then restart. It always started back up, but sometimes I would have to invoke this procedure every hour or so for an entire day, then it would only run for 20 hours because it ran out of water. When the unit functioned it functioned quite well. It just wasn't hands free as it was supposed to be.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. For troubleshooting assistance, please call us at (800) 435-1250; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, Eastern. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

leaky mess

02/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these machines and not one of them worked properly!!!!!! They would work for several hours and then begin leaking water from the base. The included instructions gave no answer to this malfunction. I tried half filling the reservoir but got the same results. If someone out there knows what the problem is, please enlighten me, otherwise don't waste your money on this product.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/12/2015
We appreciate your honest review. So we can troubleshoot your humidifiers with you, please call us at 1-888-264-9669; we're open Monday through Saturday, 8 AM to 8 PM Eastern. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

What did I breathe in?

02/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier was a disappointment, I was highly suspect of the white film residue that collected on furniture and very possible in my lungs.
I did read customer comments concerning the residue emitted from humidifier but never thought the residue would be so great throughout my home.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/16/2015
The tap water you use might be hard or high in minerals. We recommend that you use distilled water or a combination of half distilled and half tap water. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Loud

02/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The device delivers humidity to the air but is very loud. I need other humidifier but will start shopping around for something less distracting
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

PIECE of JUNK!!!

01/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchased this item today. Brought it home, read all the instructions in detail. Filled the tank up with filtered water, then placed the tank on the base. The water commenced filled up the base. I walked away for several minutes, returned to check how it was doing...there was water dripping pretty good from the back side of the base. There is an opening in the back of the base. Not sure why. Probably two quarts or so...went on the carpet. I am taking this back ASAP! I should have paid attention to other reviews on this product. I am buying an Honeywell product from Amazon.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. This information has been forwarded to the appropriate department. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

great item

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier is excellent. I love it because its tall enough to sit right by the bed and my face. Im 5 months pregnant so Im suffering from sinuses and stuffy nose so this is the perfect humidifier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Excellent Humidifier

12/18/2012
By ,
Norman, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a long term investment! The tank is kind of hard to fill, since the top is angled, but I found a solution by putting it top down on top of a towel, holding the tank with one hand, and using a flexible, cheap cup to fill the tank with water. By using the cheap plastic cup, I was able to create a spout, so one of my hands could steady the tank. I really love how it's a cool mist humidifier, but I can still see the vapors. I had the chance to test the overall performance of this vaporizer for the purpose I wanted it for- for when I was sick. Having the vapors helped my illness tremendously! All in all, it's an excellent product. I'd definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Randomly stopped working

11/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first night we bought this it was great - quiet, no leaks, etc. Then the very next day there was no mist when I turned it on. After my long ordeal with the vicks filter free I had no more time for games. Returned it the next day and got the Crane5301 and haven't looked back since..
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

its great

12/15/2013
By ,
Atlanta, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it helps me with my dry skin during the winter time. its pretty with the dry air as well. its been pretty good for us. you have to make sure its clean or it wont work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Great cool mist humidifier

01/26/2012
By ,
Western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I like about this machine: NO irritating night light; NO spitting water; NO noise. Easy to fill, doesn't leak. Since we will be using this for years we decided it was best to order online and pay a little more to get one we really like and we couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Excellent humidifier for master bedroom

11/23/2013
By ,
minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would definitely recommend this humidifier. It does exactly what it says. Good price too! Easy to fill and maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Humidifier

02/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great humidifier! Perfect for my one bedroom apartment. Very quiet, only have to fill once a day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Good Humidifier, Bad Design

01/19/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tank Capacity: 1.5 gallons (since half of them don't tell you.)
I was impressed by the opeartion of this humidifier. I filled the tank, put it on, turned the knob, and immediately, a fine tower of mist came out (and only on halfway setting). Very quiet.
The problem I have with it is the design of the tank. You can see the curved handle on the top in the product image -- this makes it impossible for the tank to stand up so you can fill it with water. It really is like balancing an egg on its point, and you have to stand there and hold it carefully while you fill it.
The cap is not a screw-style cap (like the Sunbeam Warm Mist Humidifier), it has four little tabs to hold the plug in place. Always make sure you test that it is securetly closed before you pick the tank up!
Also on the bottom is a spring gasket, that has a plastic sleeve extender that sticks out about an inch. This makes it precarious to set the tank down on its bottom. All the sides are sleekly curved, which looks nice, but is also not very steady.
Basically, this tank is designed to fall over and crack. I will be exchanging it for Sunbeam's Warm Mist version, as I already have had one of those for 3 years, and it works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

no filter

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fill, & set up. Quiet & best part NO filter to deal with!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Not up to expectations.

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Noisy compared to other Ultrasonic humidifiers. Bought for a medium sized bedroom. Not enough water disbursement. Taking back for refund. Also no auto shut off when empty.
Recommends this product? No
From Sunbeam Brand Team02/09/2015
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. This unit is recommended for 600 square feet or less. Also, when the humidifier runs out of water, the transducer will automatically shut off and the fan will keep running to dry any residual water out of the base and chamber. Sunbeam
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

DO NOT PURCHASE EVER!!

01/13/2011
By ,
Dublin, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very simple to use and put together. Made the purchase yesterday. Woke up at 4 am and had about a half gallon of water on my carpet. There is a water exhaust on the rear of the device and it was leaking very bad out that. Returning the item today for a different one.
Stay away from this item. Go with something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Wonderful Purchase

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had several humidifiers over the years, mostly Vicks brand, that never worked properly and caused all kinds of problems. I use the humidifiers heavily every winter. They run 24/7. This is the best one I've had yet. It's very quiet and the visible mist leaves no residue or water marks anywhere. I'm also glad I don't have to deal with changing a filter. It's very easy to clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

This is a joke...

12/04/2011
By ,
Highland Park, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When people mentioned that it leaked, I thought it was weird. I had never seen a leaking humidifier.
So I just bought one.
As soon as I bought, I checked whether it was leaking, and it was not.
So I had the humidifier on during the whole night.
Can you guess what happened in the morning?
A lot of water around the humidifier, and that water ruined my wood drawer on which it was located.
But it was not leaking.
And it was more like rain.
The vapor particles are very coarse, meaning pretty big, so the vapor does not disperse very well. As a result, the vapor rains around the humidifier as soon as the humidifier puff out the vapor.
Gosh, it just looks like a leak.
Do not buy, unless you don't care raining around the humidifier.
And one more thing.
Avoid Sunbeam products. They are bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 85 total reviews