Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oneida Oneida Can Opener

Oneida Oneida Can Opener

The Oneida Can Opener is an essential addition to your kitchen. This classic, manual can opener features a brushed handle that's sure to look good in any home. Stainless steel is dishwasher safe for easy clean-up.
Average Customer Rating:
1.538 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation12%3 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oneida Can Opener

Minus Five (-5) Rating

11/29/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just like another reviewer, in a pinch, I had to open my cans squeezing the handles together! The gears would not meet up to turn the blade - after only a few uses! I NEVER put it in the dishwasher. Because I was tired of electric openers' short lifespan, I bought the Oneida manual can opener. And, it quit even faster!
So, I bought a stainless steel old fashioned rip can opener - no gear mechanism - just good 'ole' elbow grease. It opens my cans just fine.
For those who've never seen a rip can opener, I included a photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port St. Lucie, FL
Buyer Beware!
Posted 06/29/2014
I bought this can opener less than a year ago. It was hard to open cans after a few weeks. Now it doesn't even work. I wasted my money on this item. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Oneida Can Opener

To say it's junk is a complement, it's a waste!!!!

07/27/2014
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Having owned multiple sets of Oneida Flatware for 40+ years I purchased this more expensive can opener to replace a cheaper can opener thinking it would be a good investment. OMG, how wrong I was!!! Who knew I should have read the reviews before spending my money on something as basic as a CAN OPENER???!!!!!! Oneida use to stand for a quality product. Not this item as the wheels spin but it does not cut the can, rips paper off the label. I had to pull my SEARS 40+ year old electric can opener out of the cupboard to open a simple can of vegetables. It's never been in a dishwasher and maybe opens a can of cat food every day - if that. It did not even last a year. PITIFUL!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oneida Can Opener

Name brand isn't everything!

10/16/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the email I wrote to Oneida:
I am currently the owner of an Oneida Stainless Can Opener that I purchased for $7.99 at WalMart about one year ago. Previously, I would purchase much less expensive hand openers and would have to replace them within 3-4 years. I made the mistake of thinking that if I would purchase a more expensive opener, made by a reputable company, it would last much longer and I wouldn't have to spend the money to purchase them more often.
The Oneida Can Opener is no longer working. The gears slip or lock up and the only way I can open a can is if I repeatedly open and close the handles. Instead of spending $8 per year for the Oneida product, I think I will pay $3 every 3-4 years for a cheap can opener.
Apparently, name brand isn't everything. I would like my money back please. If you send me a UPS shipping label I will be happy to return your product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OKC
know what you mean
Posted 11/17/2013
mine did the same thing, pretty much a piece of junk
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Oneida Can Opener
08/08/2012
By ,
albuquerque, nm
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk! What more can I say other than I should have read the reviews myself. As the other reviewers have noted, this can opener, for some reason, shreds and tears the labels, and you end up with little bits of label paper in your food. This is annoying at best, but is not the reason I'm writing this review. What mine started doing recently, is the drive gears don't mesh properly, and the can opener locks up. What a piece of junk. It's going straight to the garbage and I'm going to order a quality Swing-Away can opener. If you"re reading this to see if you should buy this can opener or not, do yourself a favor and DON'T. Order yourself a Swing-Away and never look back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oneida Can Opener

Worst EVER!

05/19/2014
By ,
WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our old can opener had seen better days and after 10+ years of use, thought I'd purchase a new one. WELL, do not be deceived by the 'pretty-ness' of this can opener. It's probably the worst purchase of my life. It worked for about 2 weeks. NOW it spins without gripping the can, and IF you can finally get it to grip the can, you can turn the crank because it's so stiff and 'unturnable' (is that a word?) It would take a village to get this thing to perform it's function--one to hold the can, one to TRY to turn the handle, another to help with the trying and 2 other people to grip the handles. IN SHORT, buy something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oneida Can Opener
09/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product as a replacement for a can opener I did not like but because of the weight I presumed this would be quite satisfactory. I was wrong. I fought using this almost every time I attempted to open a can. The other review is correct - it does not fit on the lid and the labels tear and fall into the food in addition to being so hard to turn. I tossed it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oneida Can Opener

Useless! Wasted my money

03/16/2013
By ,
Boston area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This can opener looked & felt well made, was stainless steel & Oneida was a brand I trusted. Forget that! After just a few weeks this can opener is useless. Aside from the issue with bits of labels falling into the can, it's become impossible to use. The gear that actually bites into the can & makes it move has worn out already! Why would they make this gear out of metal that's obviously softer than the cans you're trying to open?? It's not rocket science, people - can openers have been around for a LONG time, it shouldn't be hard to make one that actually works. What a piece of junk - you'd be better off using a Swiss Army knife. It's a nice looking accessory, but that's about it. This is the last Oneida product I will ever buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oneida Can Opener

Not a good product

02/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this a few weeks ago because of the workmanship and the weight and thought it would work as well as my old trusty that I was trying to replace, Wal-Mart did not have, and I am very dissatisfied!! You have to start it several times and it peels off the labels in shreds on top of can that the shavings fall back into the can. Now ordering my trusty Swing Away opener that I have needed to replace due to age. Used that one for 25 years!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oneida Can Opener

Trash

03/22/2013
By ,
Denver, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it looked substantial...all metal, I could hang it up and it looked great. If you want something hanging in your kitchen that looks good...go for it! If you want it to work for longer than 3 months...no, do not buy it. The metal gears wore out before 3 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oneida Can Opener

Add me to the NO list!

02/03/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not purchase this item! I, too, bought it because I thought Oneida was a good brand. Not so far as can openers go! Gears slip, very hard to turn the handle, and extremely frustrating to try and use. I wrote to Oneida to see what they will do. Will see.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oneida Can Opener

extremely poor quality

04/02/2014
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought two of these can openers, thinking the first failure after only about three months was a fluke. I've had the second one for about the same amount of time, maybe less, and the same failure. The gears stop meeting up properly when opening a can. Doesn't matter if you remove the paper from the can. Neither were put into the dishwasher; they were hand washed. Both failed. Terrible product. DO NOT PURCHASE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oneida Can Opener

the cutting blade&drive wheel rusted in dishwasher

01/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the cutting blade and drive wheel rusted after putting it in the dishwasher for
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oneida Can Opener

Don't waste your money

11/07/2012
By ,
East Providence, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product a month ago to replace an electric can opener that broke the first week I bought it. This opener appealed to me because of its appearance and weight. Well, I just threw it out!! It stopped opening any can about 5 days ago. does nothing but puncture now....totally worthless. So tomorrow morning I am heading out to buy my third can opener in two months!! Why don't they make them like they used to??????
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oneida Can Opener

Useless

09/17/2013
By ,
Phillipsburg, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was only used several times and fell completely apart - entirely useless - not worth the money and of course I can't locate the receipt to return it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oneida Can Opener
07/24/2013
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for a couple of months then would not turn on can. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oneida Can Opener

Looks Can Be Deceiving!

02/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This can opener might look good and feel like it would work well, but guess again. This is the absolute worst can opener I have ever owned. The first time you use it it will work great, but after a few uses and washes, it won't open anything. Hard to turn, and skips badly. My suggestion is don't buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oneida Can Opener

disappointing purchase

02/25/2013
By ,
Mineral, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After horrible luck w/ other can openers, I purchased this one as I felt sure that the Oneida name wouldn't let me down. I was wrong! After a few months it was useless... so now finally given up and bought an electric opener...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oneida Can Opener

Pretty but not Quality

12/04/2012
By ,
Oxford, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased to replay my old can opener that had seen better days. The nice appearance was what made me purchase and it did work nice for a while. Nearly a month later, it just fell completely apart while using it. I'm guessing a screw came apart so it now sits in a draw.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oneida Can Opener

JUNK!!!

02/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can opener number 2 that I have bought from Wal-Mart only to throw it in the trash. This item looks quality but it is absolutely junk! If I still had the receipt I would take it back. Just like others have posted, it shreds labels and open very well at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oneida Can Opener

Broke the first time I used it!!!!

05/14/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This can opener has never fully opened a can! I started to use it, got about a quarter of a can open. The gears poped off, spring came out, and turning handle fell off in my hand. I had to use a knife to open the rest of the can!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next