Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Curtis Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Curtis Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Get thrilled by the booming output of 450 watts on the Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System. This HD home theater system features five satellite speakers, a subwoofer and a DVD player that makes it a complete home entertainment solution. The built-in Dolby digital decoder brings the thrilling experience of theatre sound right into your room. The DVD player features progressive scanning and parental controls. It plays back popular DVD and CD formats, as well as MP3 files. The Curtis is bound to stand out among all your home electronic equipment with its versatility and amazing quality.
Average Customer Rating:
2.956 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
26
3 stars
22
2 stars
15
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation53%60 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 141 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
26
3 stars
22
2 stars
15
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Can't hang on the wall

01/09/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I can't tell you about the sound quality because we never hooked it up. The wires are short and there aren't any holes on the back of the speakers to hang on the wall. The wires were so short that we couldn't do anything with the speakers unless we just sat them really close to each other. We are taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Not what I expected!

12/27/2010
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price was GREAT....and I found out why once I went to connect to my TV! There is NO AUDIO OUT on this at all! I was exteremly dissappointed in that! The ONLY time u can use the surround sound is if u are watching a DVD. U cannot use the surround sound for everyday TV. I was so bummed that I did not even finish hooking everything up. The manual was awful..no help at all. I will be returning this!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+164points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Brian
Common Mistake
Posted 08/03/2012
This is a mistake I always see people making. Hook all your components to your tv, (dvd player, blu-ray, vcr, whatever) audio and video, then run one wire or cable from the "audio Output" on the tv to you surround sounds audio input. Doing it this way will allow what ever is playing on the tv to come through the surround sound.
0points
Customer Avatar
Augusta,GA
Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System
Posted 08/09/2011
you need a VCR input
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

not what it seems

01/07/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
good product for the price but the surround sound only works if you are playing a dvd. It doesn't let you run the tv sound thru the surrond sound
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Estacada Oregon
Posted 06/27/2011
I PLAY MY TV THROUGH IT JUST FINE. NOT SURE IT IS SURROUND SOUND ON TV PROGRAMS HOWEVER
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Don't Bother

01/11/2011
By ,
temecula,ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This DVD player was terrible. It would stop in the middle of a movie. The speakers were just fair. The volume control is only available using the remote. Please don't bother buying this despite the great price. It was valued at $99 but purchased @ $39. It is not worth anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Not Happy

01/08/2011
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We returned this product and bought a different one at a resale shop that actually worked. Don't waste your time or money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088
05/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first thing was it took almost 3 weeks to receive the product.
it was a very good price but in this case we got what we paid for cheep.
we returned it the next day
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

BOUGHT ON SALE!

12/18/2010
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price you can't beat it, only on sale! Bought it for my bedroom...perfect fit. Would not have gotten it for my large TV.
Hook up instruction was not user friendly, luckily I knew how to. Speaker wires were short, remote is fragile but works. It pretty much met my expectation but I knew what I was getting. For the price... you can't beat it $39.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

RETURNED THIS PRODUCT

04/22/2011
By ,
norwood, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
skips during dvd's and phases in and out on sound. not a good product would not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Great choice, until I opened the box....

12/21/2010
By ,
Marysville, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this on Black Friday for their online special. It was a great price and was excited to get it shipped. I had my husband open it up and begin to install it. First off, the wires for the speakers are not your typical wires that you split and then needle into the back of the DVD player. Each wire was an A/V cable that ran to the back of the Sub-woofer. When we took all of the contents out, we noticed 3 sets of A/V cables. We had no clue what they were for until we read the horrible directions inside of the booklet. There are step-by-step directions for the darn remote, but only two pictures for the connection set up that is to take place on the back of the Sub-woofer. The diagram was incredibly small and we had a problem trying to follow the picture on where each cable went. We finally had all of the cables connected and proceeded to test it out. We put in a movie that had decent action in it to test the speakers. We turned on the system and absolutely no sound came on. My heart dropped because I had to wait for this for darn-near two weeks. I felt dumb because I hadn't read the reviews (until now) and felt that I had wasted my money. Somehow my husband re-did the wiring set up and got it to work. Now, the sound from this is actually really good! I was so happy because I didn't want to spend more money on another surround sound system. The picture quality is sub-par but I am not trying to compete with local movie theaters. This satisfies my expectations as far as the sound goes. My advice, go ahead and satisfy your curiosity. Do your best to follow the awful diagram and you will get a decent product with this. Great price but the stress it took for us to get to decency was better off not enduring.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

DVD sound system

01/10/2011
By ,
Yorba Linda, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound is nice...but DVD player sticks during viewing of movies. It was quite cheap and you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088
02/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I only used this producted one time before it stopped working. The dvd player wouldn't hardly turn on, and when it did it would shut its self back off a second later. The only reason i have not returned this product is because i can't get it to stay on long enough to get my dvd back out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Curtis DVD 5088

12/08/2010
By ,
Wal Mart - online
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought product ...should have saved my money!!! They did not supply enough cords. The length of the cords on the speakers were not very long.
Have trouble connecting it to the TV. Instructional Manual might as well be thrown in the fire, thats about the only thing its good for.
There is not definitions for some of their abbreviations.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Not A Very Good Buy

04/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not expect a lot for this low price, however, I did expect it to have a lot better sound than what it has. The volume has to be adjusted via the remote and what a pain, u only have a few seconds to move it up and even after putting all sound levels as high as they would go, the volume was lower than what our TV would be at. When people talk on the movie, u can't hear them, even when the volume is full blast! It's a pain to have to switch the unit on or off as u have to do this manually. The DVD player is about the only thing that is decent. Don't buy this if u r wanting decent volume and sound, spend more money and get what u want.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Not A good Product

04/27/2011
By ,
Memphis,Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well its not loud enough, the Sub dosen t have A thick bass sound for it to say it is 450 watts!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Big disappointment

01/07/2011
By ,
Toledo Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought for hubby for Christmas gift, he opened it hooked it up and then realized there was no sound control. We have to young children so we have to be able to control the volume and besides that is wasn't to low it was to loud. We took it back the next day for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Not worth the time

12/16/2010
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok. I'm not going to knock this product to much but my mother saw this and wanted it so of course I was the one who would have to hook it up. When I pulled it out the box I notice that there where to many speakers to many wires. I tried in vain to hook it up corrctly to no avail. The direction were no help. I called the customer support and spoke to someone who didnt have a clue about the product. After sitting for an hour trying to figure it out. I advised my mother to send it back and buy a sound bar. She took my advice. The sound bar has 1 cord that attaches to the back of the TV and thats it. EASY! My opinion buy a sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

IS NOT A TRUE SURROUND SOUND-DVD ONLY!

03/20/2011
By ,
West Plains, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this to add sound to my LCD wall mounted flat screen. I was so disappointed when I went through the trouble to hook it up and it sounded much better than I thought it would, but it is only surround sound for the actual DVD player. You can not run your television, cable, games, nothing else through it. The sound was good, but not enough to keep it. If you just want it for movies, then maybe it would be worth it, but for just $18 more you can get a system that does movies and all your other things. Im returning it as soon as I can!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

its ok

01/12/2011
By ,
lansing,mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the cords are not long eangh and
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088
12/22/2010
By ,
Kansas City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this product. It came in a very timely manner, but when I got everything hooked up 3 out of the 5 speakers didn't work. It was kind of odd to hook all the speakers to the subwoofer and then run to cords from the subwoofer to the dvd player, but everything works differently I suppose.
I would not recommend this product to anyone unless you like returning products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Curtis 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theatre System, DVD5088

Not what I wanted

01/10/2011
By ,
Elk River, Mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
could only use it through the dvd player. why have surround sound if you cant watch tv shows also? It was not what I expected. Need to read more closely next time. I ended up returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next