Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schumacher Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

The Schumacher XC75 SpeedCharge Battery Charger is a fully automatic microprocessor-controlled device, which offers a great combination of efficiency, ease-of-use, and reliability. It also prevents the battery from getting over charged and becoming damaged. It also enables 10/20-amp rapid charge and 2-amp slow charge for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles, and lawn tractors. It is designed in such a way that it is protected against thermal runaway. This automatic battery charger has a digital display that shows the percentage of charge and also indicates the remaining volts.
Average Customer Rating:
3.263 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation53%10 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

It seems to do the job, just not well

04/02/2012
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to replace a charger that is old and nearing the end of its useful life. It took almost eight hours to charge my large deep cycle battery on the 20 amp setting. My other charger does that in under four hours at 20 amps and just over two hours at 35 amps. Part of the problem is that the 20 amp setting isn't really 20 amps. It is some sort of weird combination of 10 amps and 20 amps. When the fan speed goes up, it is charging at 10 amps. When fan speed goes down, it is charging at 20 amps. It keeps alternating back and forth. Don't even get me started on the fact that it probably needs a higher fan speed when charging at 20 amps. Also, it is advertised as having a built in desulfating feature. But the package says nothing about that and the manual only makes a brief mention of it. Nowhere does it tell you what the charger is doing to desulfate the battery. But I was able to figure it out. Normally a smart charger will charge at 14.4 volts. There is a process called "boiling the battery" that is sometimes used to recondition batteries. To do that, you need to charge at 15 volts or more. It is generally not recommended to boil your batteries often. Once every month or two is fine, and only for about two hours. This charger does it every time and there is no way to turn it off. I don't know if that is bad for the battery. What I do know is that this charger caused my maintenance free battery to boil over. As it was nearing full charge, the battery acid started flowing out of the top of the battery and I lost a few ounces. It would have been much worse if I had not been there to catch it soon after it started boiling over. Another interesting thing about this charger is that it supposedly tells you the percentage of charge as it is charging the battery. It was at about 77 percent when I accidentally knocked one of the cables loose. So I unplugged it and then restarted the charge. It now said the battery was 96 percent charged and, as it turned out, 96 percent was about right. So the 77 percent reading was way off. Maybe there was something wrong with the unit I purchased, but I don't think so. I think it is just a bad device. Because they try to make the whole process so automatic that all you have to do is push one or two buttons, and because the display tells you so very little about what is happening, I think many people just don't know that this charger is doing things that seemingly make no sense. But even if I am wrong and the unit I got was not working right, there is still a big problem. Unless you have your multimeter handy, and know how to use it to test the battery and the charging process, how do you know if the charger is working properly? There is no way to know. I can't recommend this charger to anyone. Fortunately, it was an easy return at my local Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Great charger

12/02/2010
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old automatic 10 amp died so I bought this one. It is awesome. It not only goes through all three modes to charge it will even desulfate your old batteries that are completely dead! Then it even tests your alternator in the car while running! Auto detects 6 or 12 volts. Wont even spark when you put the wires together because it runs a test before it even starts charging. Once it charges the battery it drops to maint mode. The start function doesnt start till you turn the key so you dont have to run from the battery to the key like the old models. This is just an awesome charger you will not be dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 3 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Great Charger. One problem.

10/08/2011
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can say compared to my old reliable Schumacher charger from 20 years ago this thing is a really nice advanced battery charger. Nothing to think about when using and you can't accidentally connect the cables up backwards or inadvertently strike the positive and negative together. You do not have to be a mechanic to know how to use. It will do all the work knowing what type of battery it's hooked to and displays the charge percentage.
Only complaint is with the L.E.D. in well lit areas or daytime use. It's very difficult to see which mode the unit is in on the 4 left side "Charge Rate" L.E.D. indicators. It could simply be my unit and I hope so. During the day I cannot tell what mode the charger is in without shading.
I would like a zip up bag to put it in when not in use.
A real value.
Nice charger. A+.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 4 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Works...sort of...

03/13/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, it started my car, but as another poster said, forget about seeing anything on the display. I am not talking about bright sunlight, but any daylight at all. It's too bad because if you could see it, I'd be more inclined to give it a more favorable review. But since I can't tell what mode it's in, I have to say I would not buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Review 5 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Works great, but hard to see lights in sunlight.

10/09/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, this charger does what it's supposed to. It charges well, and the LED display gives you a quick glance at how complete the charge is as a percentage. My only complaint is that the lights for battery type and charge speed (along with others) are covered by tiny pictures, and therefore are completely washed out by sunlight. The LED display is also hard to read in the sun, but you can at least put your hands around it for shade in order to view it. The others, however, are still extremely hard to discern. If the manufacturer would use brighter LEDs and not cover them with unnecessary icons, it'd be much easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 6 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger
01/20/2013
By ,
North Pole, AK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I walked into the store, picked this up and checked out (big mistake)! I didn't get it out of the box for two weeks till I needed it one morning at 0600, fortunately with the Tahoe in the heated garage. No instruction sheet in the box (Strike 1). I looked at the control panel, little pictures of a bunny, a snowflake, a boat, a turtle and an engine (Strike 2). It can't be that hard. Hook it up. plug it in and 5 minutes later the Tahoe slowly cranks but won't start (Strike 3)!. I get out the old Schumacher model SE-1250, hook it up and coax it to life. 1 minute later the Tahoe spins to life and my wife is off to teach the children for another day.
Evidently it works for some folks but when daily temps are falling below -40, I can't have a unit that requires "interpretation", doesn't have an ammeter and won't get an engine (Chev 350) started in short order!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 7 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

02/17/2011
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works good, with my battery completely dead, and set on Start, it started in about 3 minutes.
I don't like the lit displays, they're impossible to see if there's any light outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Review 8 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Schumacher XC75... can't see LCD mode

03/13/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Works OK... but you will struggle to see LCD mode in daylight, which is frustrating and essential. Suggest shop around for another model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 9 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Great Battery Charger

02/05/2011
By ,
Edmore, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this on several batteries types and I'm very satisfied. Has all the bells and whistles one could need. 75A start feature works great also!.
I should have owned one a long time ago like this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 10 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

awesome little charger

06/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an high end audio system in my car and need to keep my battery charged and this charger dose it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

only worked for chargu=ing battery 3 times

03/19/2013
By ,
Jackson, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It died after 3 uses, I returned it. Walmart has a great return policy. All I can say for this product, not good!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Not all that.

10/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Charger cant determine difference in 6 or 12 volt battery if batteries are completely dead, stops when charged at 100% on 6 volt on a 12 volt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 13 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

ok, so it works

02/27/2011
By ,
NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Yes, it works- it charges batteries- that's what it does. Here's what it doesn't do- come with comprehensible directions. They are absolutely miserable- although, after 40 minutes of wading through gibberish, you find out that all you have to do is hook it up and push 2 buttons. There is absolutely no excuse for such an awful manual. And another thing, there is absolutely no way to see the "mode," LEDs, which are essential, in daylight. Again, no excuse. Otherwise, this thing is fine. Haven't shopped around, but I would probably look for something else. Oh well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
-8points
Review 14 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Not a 2 amp charger

02/07/2012
By ,
southwest, mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I received this it was a 75/20/10/3 amp not a 2 amp. The difference? Will not charge a motor cycle battery (max 2 amp). Other than that it is hard to see outside and does what it claims to well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nevada
Is NOT a 75 or 20 Amp charger! BEWARE
Posted 04/09/2012
Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger will not charge at all in 75 amp mode and will not charge in 20 amps. Before buying take out of box and turn over and read the lable. It will only supply 75 amps when connected and key is actually turned and you are trying to start a car, but then only for 3 seconds. It will only supply 20 amps for 105 seconds then it charges at 10 amps for 135 seconds and continues to cycle. It will NOT continuously charge at 20 amps. Now you know why the front panel displays % charge and battery type NOT charging current or voltage being applied to battery. Compare to 10/2 amp chargers only. If you leave it on overnight on a low or dead battery it will show the ERROR F06 and turn off. Essentially, it won't even charge at 10 amps if a battery is very low or dead. If you have deep cycles forget it as it times out, turns off and the F06 error is displayed. I suspect that if you have a low or dead car battery, marine or deep cycle battery it will not even charge at 2 amps. To use this charger WHEN A BATTERY REALLY NEEDS TO BE CHARGED YOU HAVE RESET IT WHEN YOU GET AN ERROR BY PULLING THE PLUG, PAUSING THEN PUTTING IT BACK IN THEN THE SAME CYCLE OVER AND OVER AGAIN and it's still only 10 amps NOT 20. Front panel lights TERRIBLE. Manual TERRIBLE. ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW IS WRITTEN ON THE BOTTOM OF THE CHARGER ON A TAG, READ BEFORE YOU BUY. I have a 6/4/2 Shumacher charger and it won't charge batteries either. DON'T BUY A SMART CHARGER AS THEY DON'T WORK. The older non-Schumacker and non-smart chargers worked well and always charged all of my batteries.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger
06/18/2011
By ,
Malad City Id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best chargers that I have owned in many years,I can trust it to fully charge the Battery and shut down. this takes the worry out of over chargeing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Must be plugged in to jump start!

12/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because I was having trouble with my charging system in my car. It works great to charge the battery, however, in order to jump start your car, it has to be plugged into a wall. Since I live in an apartment, this didn't work out like I'd hoped... I was hoping to keep this in my trunk in case I got stuck. Other than that, it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-39points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pittsburgh, PA
You bought a battery charger, not a battery
Posted 04/05/2012
You left a less-than-perfect review, which in ordinary circumstances isn't a problem, on a product... but the only negative you mentioned was something it wasn't meant to do. Had you done some research, you would have known this.
Jump-starting is referring to the act of starting a vehicle by temporarily connecting your battery to an external power source, usually another battery. A battery charger does not have its own battery, so it must be plugged in to be a power source. When a battery charger is not plugged in, it is just as useless as any other electronic device that is not plugged in.
What you are looking for is one of those portable batteries that have cables attached to the case so you can connect them to your battery. Those are not battery chargers, and you shouldn't ever use those to charge a battery because they have way too much current. They are designed to start the vehicle and then immediately be disconnected. Even a regular battery charger shouldn't be used on the higher amp settings unless you really need the battery in less than a few hours.
I'm not trying to be harsh, but if you're going to criticize a product, and maybe influence others' decision to buy that product, you should really take the time to learn what you are criticizing.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

cheaper than a new battery

05/25/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every spring when I try to start my ride-on mower I discover that the battery has died over the winter. With the Schumacher's start option I just connect it up, plug it in and the engine starts without problem. Even if I use it just once per year for the initial season start it's cheaper than buying a new battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 18 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Charger works great - Lights are a dismal failure

03/09/2013
By ,
Pueblo, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this for my Boat and RV and as a winter battery maintainer for multiple batteries. It has worked great for 2 years now. The indicator lights are a big failure. The only way to see them is to hood the unit with a towel to get it out of any light. I would have given it an excelent except for the indicator lights.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger

Dead out of Box

03/30/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the lights were were dimly working, and the cooling fans whirred up, but no voltage output. Item seemed to have already been used, returned and restocked as the cable ties were off and it had that layer of garage grime and dirt already on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point