Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Schumacher Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

The Schumacher XCS15 Marine Battery Charger is a special battery charger that can be used for cars, marine and for different kinds of cells and batteries. The automotive battery charger is microprocessor-controlled which monitors the battery condition.. This ensures that the battery doesnt overcharge and become damaged. You can select from the 15-amp fast charge, 10-amp medium charge, or the 2-amp slow charge, as per your needs and the battery's condition. It is lightweight and is easily portable. The LEDs provide easy indication of charging status. The portable car battery charger also features a safety start and offers thermal runaway protection. It comes in a polypropylene case which is molded to the charger for superior protection. The Schumacher XCS15 Battery Charger also has an electronic push-button control system which makes it easy to use It is ideal for 12-volt AGM farm equipment, for marine recharging, RV, deepcycle batteries and also gel cells.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%39 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Don't trust the nay sayers!!!

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased my Charger and was limited on where and when I could get it because my need was immediate, so I purchased it from my neighborhood Walmart. This purchase came after a lengthy review and reading all like products on- line and in the store which included asking the Walmart mechanic if this will charge a fully dead battery.
The answer was," yes, just place it on the lowest setting". When I got it home I then sat down and read all the reviews, which made me nervous (the negative ones). I then read the instruction manual which needed more information, but I must say when taken in account with the positive reviews where some real smart reviewers knew what they were talking about, it helped me to not reach the same negative assumptions they had made.
This machine is a Battery Charger- Set it and Forget it!! That simple, the electronics is almost fool proof, I did say almost; right. You just read the manual and the reviews written on 8/15/11 and 4/22/12; these reviews explain functions that will make you think the unit is not operating properly, but it is.
This machine works better than the reviews give it credit for and I'm so glad since I purchased it while being in a bind. It charged batteries from my 48V Golf cart that was not being charged by the automatic charger that came with the cart. ( you know that some chargers can not charge fully dead batteries and have to sense a voltage before they start the charging process.) You won't have to worry about that with this unit.
Please review my other reviews on Amazon.
Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger
04/22/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One reason I bought this model is the desulfation mode. There is no explanation at all in directions on desulfation. I called customer service 3 times and received 3 different answers to the same questions. The reason I'm doing this review is to explain the process to others so you understand before you purchase this charger or you will know what is going on after you purchase it.
There are no buttons, lights, or display items for desulfation mode. It goes into this mode automatically during normal charging. Best I could put together from the last girl I talked to, that seemed to know what she was talking about, was this... If charging process seems to have "froze" then it is desulfating. Say your putting a battery on charge real quick to top it off the last few %, it will seem to lock up for what could be hours with no indication of what it's doing or how long it will take. Let's say you put it on and it reads 90%. You can watch it work it's way up to say 97%. You think your about finished but it just sets on 97% for 8 more hours because it's desulfating.
I've charged a total of 9 batteries of different varieties since my purchase. 5 car, 1 truck, 1 deep cycle trolling, 1 tractor, and 1 ATV battery. It works great and I love the automatic "plug and forget" nature of the charger. No worries of checking on it everytime you turn around so you don't overcharge/damage your battery. The one real fault I see is the desulfation mode needs to be a true "separate mode" you can use when you decide to. The directions need to explain the desulfation mode also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Slick!

08/15/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared to my old bulky transformer 6/2 charger, this one runs circles around it. It uses newer technology eliminating the bulky transformer, resulting in very compact and lightweight unit. Yet it delivers almost 3 times the output as the old one. Being used to seeing the old analog amp meter, the digital display showing % charge was different at first glance... but it soon became apparent that this is a much better way to truly see how the charging is progressing. Only 2 buttons to set: One selects the type of battery (standard, AGM or GEL), and the other selects the charge rate (2-10-15). Bingo! I charged a new 700 cca battery from 67% charged to fully charged in about an hour at the 10 amp rate. As the charge got to 100%, the charger automatically sensed it and switched to the 2 amp "maintaining" rate. No worries about overcharging and cooking a battery.
One "little" feature which I love is the fact that it has built in cord wrap arms for wrapping the cords for storage. A little thing, but oh so convenient. Very few manufacturers ever provide means for storing cords with a device... thanks Schumacher!
The owners manual is very thorough and explains different anomalies that may show up and the proper course of action for each. Very helpful. So far, I see no "cons" other than the fact that the indicator LEDs are hard to see in bright sunlight... but all digital devices have that drawback. The "&charge" lcd display, however, is quite visible even in the sunlight.
I was always uncertain with my old charger... and concerned that I might be doing more harm than good from potential overcharging. But this new smart charger gives peace of mind. That alone is worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Exceptional item for the price!

07/10/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a marine battery charger that wouldn't break the bank, but still give me the slow charge of a higher priced item. Well I found it with the Schumacher XCS15, along with a digital gage to let me know when my battery is fully charged. Extended battery life at a low price, can't ask for much more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Works as advertised

07/04/2011
By ,
Spring Hill, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charged to large marine batteries from 1/2 charge to full charge with no problems just as the instructions said. I like the voltage and percent charge feature on readout. Very versatile charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WEST VIRGINIA
Buy this for your marine batteries!
Posted 08/31/2011
Love it!!! When you first plug it in it tells you what percent yout batteries are at. Then you set your mode (tells you in instructions) for marine battery and there it goes, it tells you what precent it is at while charging so you can questimate the approx time left. I take my batteries out of my boat before charging but you really could just run a extension cord out to your rig with this, it is very light and portable. Wish I had bought this years ago, beat the pantsoff any charger I ever used and the price is unbeatable, trust me I don't buy unless I know its the best price. If you have a boat go get this today and you'll be very glad when you can come off the lake the next day and have confidence your batteries will last!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Best you could buy

01/10/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best Charger on the market for the money. The three settings, Standard, Gel, and AGM provides the versatility needed to charge any battery on the market today. It automatically detects a 6 or 12 volt battery and will automatically desulfinate batteries that you formerly didn't know needed it which makes for a much longer battery life. I've used this unit for over 2 years now to charge deep cell boat batteries, AGM- both charge and maintain, and standard batteries, some of which are over 7 years old and still chugging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Lots of Potential

09/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this charger. Only have two things that could make it better. 1. It does not have an off button. Needs to be unplugged to turn off. 2. If you have it set in a certain mode (Deep cycle slow charge, for example) if the power to the charger goes off it will default back to the factory setting of regular battery full charge when power is restored. Other than that it seems to work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger
01/23/2012
By ,
baton rouge. la.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase the charger on-line which I seldom do but was surprize how easy it was and delivered to the store. I pick it up with no problems, read the instructions and started using it. Now I know if the charger is working and it's cut off automatically. I use it and is very satified.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Very good - Fast, convenient, multi-functional

01/10/2013
By ,
Portage, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very light (obviously no transformer), and the visible indication of the % of charge and auto shut-off is very convenient. The basic instructions could be a little clearer, but it is pretty much intuitive. For example, it is normal for the fan to run for a while after the charge is completed. (On deep cycle marine batteries it is best to use the slower charge for a complete chage per the inst.) I think it is a great little charger to have around the house for car, marine, and other misclelleaneous battery usage. If it lasts for 5 years, I'll be a very happy camper.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Dead on Arrival

08/15/2012
By ,
WA and AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I plugged in the charger as per the instruction manual. The charger seemed to be working because the fan was on but the LED lights were not lit. I called Schumacher customer service and they guided me thru connection, testing, etc. Their conclusion was to return the charger to Walmart and get another one. The new one is working. I will update in a month or so with any new comments.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WA and AZ
Had to return second unit
Posted 09/03/2012
After returning the first unit because of a manufacturing defect, I had to return the replacement unit because the charger would stick on 60 to 80% charge and continue to charge even though the battery was 100% charged. This would lead to overcharging the battery. I returned this unit and will buy another brand of battery charger from a different retailer.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

The Best

12/10/2012
By ,
On tour of the USA in a 37' Motorhome
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm actually re-buying this charger as my first one got rained on while plugged in (opps).
I use it at a "battery-tender" for my motorhome's engine battery. Has selections for different types of batteries, slow/fast charge, and "tender" mode. Great item. Set it and forget it (just be sure it's totally out of the rain)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

does the job, works ok for me

08/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
first time buyer, needed chager for electric trolling motor,
came in 3 days, used 3 times so far and works well.
Easy to use. If it keeps working would buy another.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Simple and Works well so far

11/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous charger seemed to be going out and it was time to replace it. I use this charger for charging my two boat marine batteries (Starting and Trolling motor). It is simple, quiet, compact, and seems to get the job done in a timely manner. Time will tell on durability but for now I wouldn't have any problem recommending this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Great Charger for the Price!

06/23/2012
By ,
Jasper, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this charger for his boat and he really likes it. It charges his boat batteries fast and the automatic shut off is what he was looking for. I would recommend this product to any looking for a good charger for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Exactly as advertised, Great Charger

03/22/2013
By ,
Brazil, In.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought to keep my deep cycle batteries charged, and it has rejuvenated an old car battery that we had given up on, this a great charger, don't pass this one up if you need a quality charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Works Great

05/30/2012
By ,
Leominster, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this a few weeks now but I have charged my Marine battery a few times since then and this works very well. Quick charging and simple operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Plug and go

07/16/2012
By ,
Yeagertown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easy out of box plug in and go operation. Everything is automatic, EXCELLENT unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

its perfect

08/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works just like it says. just plug it in, it does the thinking for you. awesome value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Great Charger for Batteries Large and Small!

01/19/2013
By ,
Hollywood, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this charger for several months now, and I have had great results on batteries installed on trucks, tractors, cars, boats, riding lawn mowers, and my ATV. I have charged sulfated batteries that my other chargers would not charge. I've only used about 6 or 8 chargers before buying this one, but this charger is the safest, easiest and most effective charger that I have ever used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger

AWESOME!

01/03/2013
By ,
north dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I PICKED THIS UP YESTERDAY. THE BATTERY IN MY BMW WAS DEAD, IT HAD NOT BEEN STARTED OR DRIVEN IN OVER A MONTH. NO JUICE TO EVEN TURN ANY LIGHTS ON. I THOUGHT FOR SURE I WOULD BE PURCHASING A NEW BATTERY FOR IT.
I DECIDED TO PICK THIS UP AT WALMART LAST NIGHT.
When I hooked it up the battery was reading 0%. about 2 hours later it was at 100%. The car fired right up and the battery is good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next