Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

Schumacher Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

The Schumacher XC10 Battery Charger is a durable microprocessor-controlled battery charger that monitors battery condition. The charger also adjusts the charge rate to prevent battery damage and over-charging. The 10/6/2/ amp battery charger is designed for 12-volt amp, gel cell and deep-cycle batteries. The automatic battery charger is microprocessor-controlled and safety smart with auto voltage detection. This unit is designed with an eye to reliability and dependability. It comes with a variety of features such as thermal runaway protection that will make for a long-lasting unit.
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation70%7 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

No bells or whistles on this thing

12/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My cars truck was open and the light drained the battery. I bought this because their 6.4.2 Amp charger for $24 sold out while I researched these things. Delivery was faster than anticipated. I opened the box and the first thing I had to find out is if I had a sealed battery or not so I called customer service and they were closed at 4:30 PM. I searched the web and found out sealed batteries sell 100 to 1 and if charged too quick they get ruined. I went to hook it up to my car and the clamps were so small I had to take the car hook up off of it first. Then I set it for the sealed battery and after 6 hours I kept checking it because the web said it would take 7. The last time I checked the indicator lights quickly flashed from charge to maintain and then just turned off. If I wouldn't have seen it I would have no idea what happened. I started my car and the dome light blacked out but it did start. I had to keep it running for an hour to reach a full charge. I'm keeping it because my car is 7 years old but I think it supports only the minimum charge needed and the way the thing just shut down with no way to know the charging status isn't a well thought out design.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

Fine Charger

05/20/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this charger to charge my pop-up camper battery.
Works quickly and quietly.
Easy to understand settings when you read the manual.
If you lose the manual you can find it on-line.
Five year warranty when you send in the registration....a good deal.
There are others that cost more money if you need more features.
Looks like a fine product from a company that has been around.
Product is offered at multiple places, shop around for the best price or
ask Wal Mart to match any sale price printed in an advertisement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

Spend extra $10 for one with starting capabability

07/09/2011
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Charger, but I'm returning it for an upgraded model, one with engine/Battery jump start capability and battery test % of charged meter for just $10 more dollars.
Suggest buying Schumacher XC12 or XCS15.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

Great customer service

08/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one of these 3 years ago and used it to charge everything from my lawn mower to my large truck. Last month, it stopped working so I mailed it back to the company and they replaced it for free with a new one... now that is great customer service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

A Dud!

09/24/2013
By ,
Coachella Valley, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although at this price I wasn't expecting to buy a whiz-bang product, I was hoping for more than a "patient" that belonged on an autopsy table. For all the help they provided, the instructions could just as well have been written in Urdu. The unit itself showed no signs of life. Not one of the LEDs so much as flickered.
Assuming that the LEDs had actually worked, the device might at least have served as Christmas tree ornament. When a roadside service truck came to my rescue, the technician was carrying a medium-size case with a charger-jump starter inside. Once it was attached to my battery -- a very simple procedure-- my car came to life.
I asked the tech where I could buy a unit similar to his. He suggested Walmart or Home Depot, adding that I should expect to pay $125 to $150. I have since done a lot of research on battery starters and found a number of potentially useful units for about $75. I suggest you do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger
03/31/2013
By ,
Wellsburg,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My battery was completely dead & it had it charged in about 3 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

Does it's job

02/18/2013
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this 2/14/2013 before I read the reviews. Here's the thing. You have to disconnect the battery cables before this will work. Connect the wires directly to the battery. Don't ground it to the chassis. The fan will come on and all the lights will work. I monitered this thing every two hours, because of some of the bad reviews. I let it charge for eight hours. No problems. Car started right up. This is a small unit for the money and not to be used regularly. It's good to keep around the house. The thing I hated most was the "do not return to store" message. So I got to pay postage? The nice lady at checkput say I could purchase a warrenty for an extra four dollars. Couldn't afford that. Took a gamble and it worked out. This thing is not for every day use. Use it occasionaly and you'll be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

Not Dependable

08/04/2012
By ,
Crosby, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the 10/6/2 charger to maintain my motorcycle battery.
I purchased it on 7/30/12. It worked fine until 8/4/12.
It just totally stopped charging in all modes after just 5 days.
I should have checked the reviews for all chargers before I bought
this one.
If you decide to buy one, I hope it last longer than mine did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DooDog
Posted 08/21/2012
I would go to www.batterycharger.com amd they may be able to help you with your issues.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger

Nice product

10/03/2013
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this back in Jan 2013 when we were having record lows at night. Every morning my battery was dead due to the cold. I hooked this up and let it charge for 2 hrs and my vehicle started right up. At night I would hook it up and put it in Maint mode, my battery stayed charged
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Schumacher XC10 10/6/2-Amp Battery Charger
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5