Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Die Hard Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Die Hard Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

The Diehard DH-100 battery charger can be used to charge car, marine, truck, RV and farm equipment batteries. This microprocessor controlled charger with 100 engine start amps allows instant start, making it ideal for emergencies. With two different charge settings, the charger can be used for both fast charging and trickle or maintenance charging. Featuring a digital display and touch pad controls, the fully automatic battery charger is easy to use. The LEDs clearly display the current charging status along with the percentage of charge, even in dark conditions. The charger charges batteries in five stages. The Diehard DH-100 Battery Charger is available with a battery and alternator tester, and can be operated in float mode. The automatic desulfation mode helps to charge batteries that have not been used for a long period of time. The Diehard automatic battery charger is very compact and easy to transport.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%15 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Works, but ...

05/05/2011
By ,
Raleigh NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good: Works fine out of the box. Fully automatic, with maintain (float) mode. Has a cool automatic desulfation mode for batteries that haven't been charged for a long time. Good, hefty transformer.
The bad: The clips don't open quite wide enough for the clamps on a post-type battery. You can get them on there, but it's a pain. They're tin-plate instead of the traditional copper, not sure how this will hold up. The claim of 30A charging is misleading: operating in 30A mode, it cycles on and off and won't finish much faster than 12A mode (despite claims to the contrary in the manual), so it's really only a 2/12 charger with 100A start.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

This is a very good product.

10/03/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only issue I have is the lack of proper shipping material when this was sent to me from the Walmart warehouse. The charger was put in a box twice the size of the charger with no (ZERO) packing material and of course it bounced around quite a bit en route to my home. The first unit was damaged and I had to send it back. After discussing this with Walmart personnell, the replaced unit still came back with zero packing material. I am out of town now and have not had a chance to check it to see if it also is damaged.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great product!

11/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is awesome, it saved me a couple of batteries which my other chargers couldn't even charge. I thinking this one is the best bang for the buck in terms of features because it goes up to 100/30 Amp full blast which will charge up a completely empty battery within an hour or two. However, the healthiest way to charge a battery is on the slow trickle (2Amp) so if you have time, use that one to preserve the longevity of the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start
02/11/2011
By ,
SW MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already used this charger several times to get the tractor started, charge a pickup battery that is not used much, and trickle charge and start my car. It is pretty much idiot proof! There's a light to tell it is charging, charged or needs checked. A read out of what percent charge the battery has, and other good features.
I can finally quit asking my neighbor for help!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

amazing contained charger

02/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am more than impressed by this charger. And in time I will know longevity?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Takes 2 for 1 to work

07/24/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Packaging for delivery was horrible. First unit came in broken as the unit was shipped in a large box with NO protective packaging. I advised WM of the issue and they shipped a 2nd one that had only a small amount of Kraft paper placed in the box with the charger. It works, but I am surprised.
The unit itself provides a charge to both 6 and 12 volt batteries which is great. I have not tried the emergency start function at this time so I cannot comment on that. The battery does get hot compared to my previous charger so I am a little concerned that the rate is more than shown.
I believe I will try a different model next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

A great battery charger for the price!

04/03/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use charger, just connect to battery terminals and plug the power cord into wall outlet. Select battery type and charge speed and it takes care of the rest. It has a cool desulfation mode that it goes into automatically if it detects a sulfated battery. the charger works with 12V standard, Deep Cycle, AGM Gel Cell batteries or 6V standard batteries. The 100 amp emergency start mode is for use WITH a weak or run down battery in the vehicle. The alligator clips are huge and easy to handle. There is plenty of room to store the cables on the unit. All around a super nice charger for the price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

So far so good

12/07/2011
By ,
Harvest, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as stated but not convinced on the jump start charge setting. If the car is dead. Better to let it charge on 30amp for a few minutes. All in all it does what I need it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Very Nice Charger

01/17/2014
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very nice charger/CCA Did the job out here in the Dakota 's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start
03/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well designed , very compact,will use it offten to maintain the battery on our dirt race car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Dead on Arrival

07/05/2013
By ,
Miami, FL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had a couple of other basic Diehard chargers in the past and they all worked great for years. I recently decided to purchase this more complex unit thinking it would be nice to have more options available but upon a great disappointment finding this unit not working right out of the box, I think I will go back to the basics.... Now my problem is that I'm stuck with either paying for return shipping or standing in line at the return counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

2nd one dead

06/26/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After returning the first one, I ordered a replacement. Arrived promptly with the box looking in great shape. But something inside the charger had come loose and punched through the front panel that contains the tactile buttons. 2 ordered, 2 dead on arrival. I am done with this junk. Ordered something similar from Amazon. I only wish they sold this one in the store so it could be checked out prior to buying.
Avoid this product is my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Excellent charger for the price

05/30/2012
By ,
Northern, In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent charger for the price. As an ex-mechanic, I can see the value of this charger. i have used it 5 or 6 times already, and it has performed perfectly. It is well made for a wide variety of uses. It is very heavy for its overall size, so it means they didn't spare or skimp on the inner workings.The only flaw with it is... the handle has a very rough and sharp edge on the underside that could cut or scrape the hand. Overall, I highly recommend this battery charger. Finally, with a name like Diehard, you know you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Recent purchase.

05/15/2012
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just purchased this item, but did set it up and plug it in to see if it worked properly. The features on this charger are excellent and it will do anything you need to do. Has testing capabilities which helps you know what you need to do or not do with your battery. Instructions are clear and very easy to follow. Chargers functions are well marked and easy to read. All in all seems to be a quality item, typical of DieHard products.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Nice charger at a nice price does 6v and 12v

10/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice charger, hefty cables that are as long as my old charger. Easy to operate. As I have 6v batteries on my trailer, this is a good unit..many units do not charge 6v batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Charged dual battery system easily and quickly.

03/18/2012
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charged both batteries quickly with no problems, did not try the emergency engine start feature yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5