Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Die Hard Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Die Hard Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

The Diehard 100/30/12/2 amp fully automatic battery charger can be used to charge car, marine, truck, RV and farm equipment batteries. This microprocessor controlled charger with 100 engine start amps allows instant start, making it ideal for emergencies. With two different charge settings, the Diehard automatic battery charger with emergency engine start can be used for both fast charging and trickle or maintenance charging. Featuring a digital display and touch pad controls, the Diehard 100/30/12/2 amp fully automatic battery charger is easy to use. The LEDs clearly display the current charging status along with the percentage of charge, even in dark conditions. The charger charges batteries in five stages.
Average Customer Rating:
3.972 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation86%31 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Works, but ...

05/05/2011
By ,
Raleigh NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good: Works fine out of the box. Fully automatic, with maintain (float) mode. Has a cool automatic desulfation mode for batteries that haven't been charged for a long time. Good, hefty transformer.
The bad: The clips don't open quite wide enough for the clamps on a post-type battery. You can get them on there, but it's a pain. They're tin-plate instead of the traditional copper, not sure how this will hold up. The claim of 30A charging is misleading: operating in 30A mode, it cycles on and off and won't finish much faster than 12A mode (despite claims to the contrary in the manual), so it's really only a 2/12 charger with 100A start.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Review 2 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

This is a very good product.

10/03/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only issue I have is the lack of proper shipping material when this was sent to me from the Walmart warehouse. The charger was put in a box twice the size of the charger with no (ZERO) packing material and of course it bounced around quite a bit en route to my home. The first unit was damaged and I had to send it back. After discussing this with Walmart personnell, the replaced unit still came back with zero packing material. I am out of town now and have not had a chance to check it to see if it also is damaged.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
+8points
Review 3 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Didn't work out of the box.

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seemed like a robust charger, but could not get it to work. All lights came on including the LED display 888. Choices for modes seemed to be stuck on all modes. Tried it on multiple batteries, good ones and questionable. Same deal, just doesn't work.
I have tried a fully automatic charger in the past and ended up throwing that away too.
My thoughts are: If automatic chargers are only good when charging a good battery, than they are not for me. I need to force charge a battery that's in trouble.
So, I returned this one and bought one that has both manual and automatic modes. Old school Schumacher SE-125A 2/15/125 Amp Automatic / Manual Battery Charger with Engine Start.This one works like a charm, even when I need to force power to an older battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 4 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great product!

11/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is awesome, it saved me a couple of batteries which my other chargers couldn't even charge. I thinking this one is the best bang for the buck in terms of features because it goes up to 100/30 Amp full blast which will charge up a completely empty battery within an hour or two. However, the healthiest way to charge a battery is on the slow trickle (2Amp) so if you have time, use that one to preserve the longevity of the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Review 5 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start
02/11/2011
By ,
SW MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already used this charger several times to get the tractor started, charge a pickup battery that is not used much, and trickle charge and start my car. It is pretty much idiot proof! There's a light to tell it is charging, charged or needs checked. A read out of what percent charge the battery has, and other good features.
I can finally quit asking my neighbor for help!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+33points
Review 6 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

A great battery charger for the price!

04/03/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use charger, just connect to battery terminals and plug the power cord into wall outlet. Select battery type and charge speed and it takes care of the rest. It has a cool desulfation mode that it goes into automatically if it detects a sulfated battery. the charger works with 12V standard, Deep Cycle, AGM Gel Cell batteries or 6V standard batteries. The 100 amp emergency start mode is for use WITH a weak or run down battery in the vehicle. The alligator clips are huge and easy to handle. There is plenty of room to store the cables on the unit. All around a super nice charger for the price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 7 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

I understand the other comments.

09/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product seems to work as advertised. Ordered online and the box was beat to hel* and back. Face plate has some obvious dings from the poor packaging and handling, but seems to work so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Charges Everything

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Die Hard Platinum does everything from 2 amp trickle charging/maintaining small batteries for things like atvs to jump starting trucks with 100 amp engine start. Buy this product (black case platinum) and not the blue case platinum because this one charges 6 volt batteries and has 100 amp jump start instead of 80 amp. It's only 5 dollars more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Doesn't show charge current.

04/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The battery charger works well and has some nice features; however, it does not show how much current is being applied during the charge. Instead, it shows percentage of charge. Also, the voltage shown is to the nearest volt and is not accurate. The cables are nice and the clamps are very nice. Having membrane switches makes it rainproof to a certain extent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 10 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

So far so good

12/07/2011
By ,
Harvest, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as stated but not convinced on the jump start charge setting. If the car is dead. Better to let it charge on 30amp for a few minutes. All in all it does what I need it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 11 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great product

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

DID NOT LAST

08/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this for about 3hours. Then there was a little snap and it quit charging. However all indicator lights indicated it was working but no output. I was hoping this charger would be my answer for charging the RV batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Good Charger & Good Value

08/11/2014
By ,
NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this charger on a 4 battery solar bank. Does a good job. Only drawback is the noisy fan that runs even when on 2 amp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 14 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Performed flawlessly on a fishing trip,

07/27/2014
By ,
Jefferson City Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performed flawlessly on a recent fishing trip. It recharged the battery rapidly, showed level of charge without over-charging. My only complaint was Walmart did not ship the battery with enough packing materials and it could have been damaged like other customers have complained about other models purchased online from Walmart. You would think they would read their own reviews and take corrective action.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 15 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great performance so far (a little loud).

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to work fine . The fan is much louder than I expected, I'm not sure if that is normal or not. The packing for shipping was very careless (no protection, just bouncing around loose with no packing material)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

great for farm use

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hook it up, plug it in, watch a minute or so to see if you get any 'messages' from the charger, then go do whatever is next on your list. it's that simple. has worked so far on : car, farm truck (charges 2 big batteries together, still 12v), tractor, lawn mower, 4 wheeler...
there is no danger of overcharging, thermal runaway, or hooking up the cables wrong (it tells you if you do!).
built for convenience; cord and cables store in charger back. seems to be built rugged.
VERY GLAD I CHOSE TO GET THIS ONE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Versatile Battery at a good price

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good charger, numerous features that other charges at this price point don't have, good value and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Dead on Arrival

07/05/2013
By ,
Miami, FL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had a couple of other basic Diehard chargers in the past and they all worked great for years. I recently decided to purchase this more complex unit thinking it would be nice to have more options available but upon a great disappointment finding this unit not working right out of the box, I think I will go back to the basics.... Now my problem is that I'm stuck with either paying for return shipping or standing in line at the return counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 19 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

2nd one dead

06/26/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After returning the first one, I ordered a replacement. Arrived promptly with the box looking in great shape. But something inside the charger had come loose and punched through the front panel that contains the tactile buttons. 2 ordered, 2 dead on arrival. I am done with this junk. Ordered something similar from Amazon. I only wish they sold this one in the store so it could be checked out prior to buying.
Avoid this product is my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 20 for Diehard 100/30/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great features, arrived damaged, failed first use.

07/08/2014
By ,
North Central Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this battery charger after researching comparable models online. The features I am most interested in are the fully automatic charging and the desulfation mode. I had another brand of automatic charger with similar features that I used for five years until it failed.
HOWEVER... I decided to ship this charger "Site to Store". It arrived on time packaged in an oversize, single thickness box. When I opened the overpack, the charger was in it's original manufacturer box, rattling around inside the much too large overpack. There was NO packing material inside the overpack.
I could see that the original manufacturers box had been opened. The face of the charger had a large scratch across the display. there were two scuffed places on the case and the cables were loosely placed inside the box. (This did not deter my interest in this unit as I am more a function type person rather than cosmetics) The damage showed rough handling...
Several days later I had cause to use the charger. After thoroughly reading the operators manual, I connected the charger to a known good, though discharged battery. The charger started up like it was supposed to with the battery reading at 39%. I monitored the charging process until the battery was at 78%. When I returned for the next check all lights were off. This charger is supposed to switch off Full Charging voltage and go into Trickle Charge mode automatically after the battery is fully charged.
I disconnected the charger and reconnected to the same battery. The charger would not turn on, start up or do anything. I tried on another battery with the same failed results.
I returned the charger to my local Wal Mart (20 miles away...) and found the return process painless and quick.
I decided to order another unit, hoping that this was a unique failure, since I really want the specific features of this charger. I will update this review after receiving the replacement and thoroughly testing all capabilities.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next