Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Die Hard Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Die Hard Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

You'll never have to worry about batteries dying on you again with the Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger in your garage. This must-have tool delivers 80 engine-start amps to accommodate emergency starting needs. This Diehard battery charger is microprocessor controlled and comes with 2-amp slow charging and 10 amp and 20 amp fast charging settings. You can power-up and maintain a number of items including small batteries, motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and lawn tractors, even though this device is primarily intended for cars, trucks, marine, RV and farm equipment. Other features of the 2 amp battery charger with emergency engine start include float-mode monitoring, a battery and alternator tester, easy-to-use touch pad controls and a digital display and status indicator. The reverse hook-up protection feature shields the device from damage caused by an improper charging connection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation90%117 out of 130reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 231 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Stunning Effectiveness

10/24/2013
By ,
Northern Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had no intention of writing a product review for Walmart but after witnessing the success of the Diehard 80/20/10/2 at resurrecting a 2 year dead battery back to full life, I had no choice but to pass on my advice - buy this if you want your money's worth!
I originally purchased this (via online order/ship to store, which worked great and helped me avoid checkout lines) to maintain intelligently through the winter the newish deep cycle marine battery I bought in the spring. But before hooking up to the good battery, I thought I would put the Diehard to the test of its claimed ability to sense a bad battery and start a desulfation process. Sure enough, when I hooked it up the Diehard told me the battery was at 0% (in spite of being "charged" a few times 6 months ago). It then went to work, and stalled at 20% charge, but did not flash a failure so I let it continue to work. 2 hours later it jumped to 76%, but stalled there again, with no failure indications. I rode it out for 4 more hours while it sat at that number and then it suddenly started climbing bit by bit all the way to 100% Voila a new backup battery.
How can you beat that?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

fills all our charging needs.

03/12/2011
By ,
Ashville, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a small farm and lots of different batteries. Most of the time one of them is dead. We need quick start as well as trickle charge. It is a great product. It is the second one we have owned. Lightning got the other one. Unplug it when not in use!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Awesome value and awesome Charger

12/01/2013
By ,
Hollywood, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own several older or antique cars and when they sit around for a while the batteries have the tendency to loose some of it's power, now I just plug in my charger put it on the boost mode and you are ready to fire it up!! Or if you are charging a battery that has been dead for a while, just put the charger on it's lowest setting ( 2 amps ) and let it charger for a while and watch how a dead battery comes back to life. Dollar for dollar this is the best charger for it's value. I even dropped my charger accidently from on top of the fender of one of my cars and it survived without a scratch. Now that's a true value for your dollars!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)
03/06/2011
By ,
Lock Haven PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has a lot of features that other chargers do not have and at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Excellent buy

02/07/2011
By ,
cleveland,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything I need it to and then some. I had to pay more than I wanted to, but the extra features are helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Excellent product

01/21/2014
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This charger has even more options on it than expected or stated in online description. We are VERY satisfied with it. Already used it and very happy with its performance so far. Big test will be this summer on marine battery, but am sure it will perform with excellence. Great product at a more than reasonable price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Great Car Charger

10/21/2013
By ,
Yelm, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 12 Volt car charger does a great quick job of charging batteries quickly and has a digital read out that shows how much charge your battery has. I had a battery at 61% and it completely charged it to 100% in about 2 hours. The only draw back is that it is only for 12 volt batteries, but for the price it does a great job, it also tells you the state of condition of your alternator in your vehicle. Best car charger that I have ever owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Does the Job

01/25/2014
By ,
Novato, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The charger is pretty much plug it in and make the simple connections and switch it on. You get an LED reading of Percent Charged and Voltage. It turns off automatically and gave my dead auto battery a second chance. The first attempt on slow trickle charge gave a false completion reading and turned off. The car started but it did not fully charge the battery. I used a quicker charge and it brought it back to life @100%. Also this is not portable in the sense that you can carry it in your trunk for roadside emergency starts= you need a nearby 110V plug. The power cord could be longer. I needed an extension cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Great Garage Tool

05/01/2011
By ,
Poulsbo, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Diehard fully Automaic Battery Charger exceeds my expectations and will always be a valued tool in my garage. I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a battery charger that is easy enough for any member of the family to use. Great tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

it charges but the gauge is not accurate and might

10/12/2012
By ,
denver co
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
it charges but the gauge is not accurate and it might overcharge.let me explain.i have a few battery's i like to keep charged.i put this on all of them,let it sit for a while and it climbed to about 67 to 69 percent.i then came back later and it said the same for hours.i unhooked a clamp and then hooked it back up and it said 95 percent full?it did this on every battery.the battery's start boiling and since this thing thinks its not charged all the way it keeps charging even when the battery's are full.basically this needs to be monitored like a manual charger.i am getting a manual one because the micro processed technology is not good enough yet.maybe in a few years they will get it down right but its not there yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Great piece of equipment

09/29/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, this battery charger is one of the best that I have owned and I have had quite a few. Right away, I charged all of my boat batteries, which two were Deep Cycle and one was for the engine and it did very well. Then I charged two more Deep Cycles in my RV and the standard battery for the engine. No problems so far. I really like the carry handle and the size is about what I expected for a 20 amp charger. I have not tried the 80 amp start function, but I am sure that it works well on smaller batteries for motorcycles or maybe a half charged car battery. I highly recommend this battery charger and the price is great also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)
09/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best charger I have bought and you can't beat the price. It's size allows you to easily move it around and store it. I like this one a lot better than my $200 charger. I was a little unsure on its capability to jump start a vehicle but I tried it and my car started up right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Great deal!

07/11/2011
By ,
Prescott, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This charger works great so far! I have used it on regular, deep cycle, and AGM batteries - puts them all at 100%! Nice to see the voltage level too. Like Ron Popeil says about his rotisserie, just "Set it and forget it!" Charges and maintains - and at a price well below the comparable models from the more well known competition. I checked a lot of reviews, and too many of the mainstream charger models seemed to have unexplained failures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Happy with the product

11/28/2011
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had this item very long, but have used it about five times and, although I can not yet vouch for its durability, it seems well built and works as advertised. My only complaint is the operator's manual leaves a little to be desired - specifically, I could not find what it meant when the yellow charging light was flashing and had to call customer service (which was knowledgeable and helpful). I was advised that it meant the charger was in the desulfation mode. The manual does not state this anywhere. Also, the manual states the voltage display is not available during charging and that the charger will default to BATTERY %. My charger showed a voltage reading and did not default to BATTERY % making me think I might have a defective unit. Nope, according to customer service, the manual is wrong and will be corrected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Good luck......you may need it.

09/10/2013
By ,
az
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK, yes, it does seem like a value, especially if you consider its cost per pound and what it is suppose to do. But that is just about where the good news ends for me. It is an "automatic" charger and, accordingly, you never really know what it is doing to the battery while it's "charging." Based on a hydrometer read during the charge process, the hydrometer indicated a 75% charge (and yes, it is an accurate hydrometer) however, the charger's digital read out indicated 100% charge and yet it continued to pump 10 to 20 amps into the battery seemingly indefinately (even after the hydometer indicated a 100% charge), unless, of course, the operater (you) interviens and unplugs the unit (apparently, not as automatic of a charger as it aspires to be, or maybe it's a charger on steroids, or it just can't let go because it is, after all, a Die Hard). Also, you will always know when it is charging because it has a high pitched zinging sound emitting from an internal cooling fan of some sort -- sounds like it's getting ready for take-off. Who knows, you may like it. Somebody must be buying and using this charger; however, apparently the engineer who designed it, probaly didn't. But I would give him an "A" for effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Easy to use and store.

10/21/2011
By ,
Hemet, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, 3 charging modes; Jump, Fast charge, and trickle. I have a large battery and it went from 3 volts to 12VDC at peak amps in 5 hours. I found this product to be superior to others costing more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Good product

11/09/2011
By ,
Mountins of Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only use this charger for a short time but it has perfomed as described. Bought it to keep my travel trailer battery charge over the winter months when it is not being used. Does a great job, would recomend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Works so far... Unit received wasn't new

04/04/2014
By ,
Jackson, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Arrived in beat up box, loose inside, very clearly had been used previously... Dirty, scratched terminal ends, cords unraveled, etc. Upon testing, works as it should so far in 10 amp setting, needed it immediately or would have brought back to local store for refund. Glad I purchased replacement plan as I'm nervous about why I was sent a used item and why it was returned in the first place.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Works Great

11/30/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our car was completely dead, and this charger (using the quick start function) started it right up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Diehard 80/20/10/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start (Not Sold in OR or CA)

Manual said it has a loud buzz, it told the truth

01/22/2014
By ,
SE MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Works fine but way too loud, even if turned off. I've got a 200 amp charger that doesn't have any transformer noise. Any thing vibrating that much isn't going to last long term, it's going back.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next