Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Die Hard DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Die Hard DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

The DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger makes it easy to charge 12 volt batteries. This money-saving device can be used to charge lawnmower batteries, farm equipment, motorcycles and even small cars and some SUVs. The 12 volt battery charger has two modes; a 12-amp fast charge mode and a 2-amp trickle charge mode. The 12-amp fast charge will charge most batteries in just 2-5 hours; the 2-amp trickle will charge a small 12 volt battery in about 2-12 hours. The portable battery charger is built tough, just like Diehard batteries. The DieHard battery charger with emergency engine start is fabricated using solid-state circuitry with silicon diodes. It has a simple, intuitive interface with LEDs that indicate when the charging process is completed. The charger comes in a durable, rust-proof metal case with a top-mounted handle for easy carrying.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation78%39 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Damaged Product

09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received this product, it was damaged on the front so bad that it would not function at all. The amperage switch was broken completely off and inside the unit. The product was damaged before packaging or shipping, not during. There was no damage to the original box or the box it was shipped in, so it had to be placed in the box, in that condition.
Recommends this product? No
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

No green light

06/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not familar with battery chargers. Bought for a RV battery. This one showed the needle moving back and forth when first attached to battery. Only light ever showing was the yellow. No fully charged light ever shown. After coming back to check on battery, needle back to start position. Still no light showing battery was charged. Had to use a battery tester to check to see if battery was charged. Showed battery had some charge, not in the index range I expected. Not happy with product, manual doesn't explain the needle movement I had. When calling for help, wasn't given an explaination. Too much of a hassle to return by mail. Would not order a battery charger over internet again. Still not sure if battery is fully charged, hoping it will charge itself while I'm connected to vehicle while towing my travel trailer.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great Charger

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely satisfied! This charger is heavy with bigger cables and terminal clamps than average charger. It’s heavy duty and professional grade. I was concerned about shipping damage after reading comments. I choose to ship to local Walmart and charger look new and no scratch. This charger is heavy but the box got no foam and that explained why so many damage complaints due to shipping. I charged my pickup at 12A for about 15 minutes until green light on and off then switch to 2A and charged for anther 40 minutes. It works.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

It will charge a completely dead battery

07/02/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It will charge a completely dead battery unlike most smart chargers and do it quickly. For a dead battery start out on the 12 amp setting then reset to the 2 amp setting when the charger begins to cycle on and off the 12 amp setting. Allow the charger to remain on the 2 amp setting until fully charged. Charging the battery completely helps to both save the alternator and the possibility of getting stranded later Nice metal case, heavy clamps and analog type meter all are a plus on this charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great for marine batteries

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alligator clamps are great there much larger than most other chargers, about like booster / jumping cable size. The full charge light is a great additive from older battery chargers with didn't have it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Best Charger on the Market

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most of the newer charters don't work unless hooked up to a battery with a slight charge. This charger works as the old ones did, you plug it in, you get 14v at the clamps. If you touch them together, sparks fly and car batteries get charged. The new chargers that don't provide voltage to the clamps unless they are hooked to a battery won't charge dead batteries, what good is a battery charger like that!?!
Buy this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

great chgarger - great price.

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this charger on line because I could not find this charger in the store. It arrived fast and in great condition,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Poor quality control at packing plant, came dented

02/28/2014
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product seems to work as described, but this charger continues to be damaged at manufacture before they put in box. This indicates poor quality control and lack of quality of workers at manufactures place. This is not damaged in shipping, box perfect, and unit itself seems to be ok quality of materials (have not tried the 75 amp start feature as of yet, but the other functions seems to work ok for the short period of time I've owned it).
But this particular manufacturer, Diehard, really needs to get a handle on its quality of handling and stop mishandling the products causing damage to the unit. There has been many complaints of dented merchandise with this brand, not just this model, but many of the models of Diehard. Some in front of the casing, some on the bottom where my damage was and can't sit right.
The hassle of returning and replacing, many times with just another that is damaged and dented is not the expectation of a consumer buying a new supposedly quality product. That is why I'm giving it only a two star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Love it

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's one of the best investments we had ever made.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

I don't think it gives my battery a full charge.

06/09/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wish I had info about not giving a full charge.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Works great!

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Diehard 75/12/2 Automatic

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a great deal on a battery charger, this is the one. Great price, great features and it is Automatic.
This unit has more Amps for trickle charging, fast charging and jump starting.
All the other units that were compared to fell short of all the features.
I have already recommended this to other family members.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Damaged

06/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We didn't get a chance to use the charger because it arrived damaged. We ordered a replacement and that one was also damaged. Both were returned to our local Walmart for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Disappointing

05/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked okay at first but has no amp gauge. Has a battery condition gauge that wasn't accurate. Only used it a couple of times and now doesn't work at all. Thought this would be a good old fashioned style charger and is heavy like the good old style ones but never did work right. I bought this charger because of the boost feature. Judging from other reviews I must have just got a faulty one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Good choice of charging settings..Not degital!

02/01/2014
By ,
Lakewood, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great choice of settings, Not digital was the reason to purchase this charger. A heavy built & nice battery cable connections.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

It works

05/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, work perfect, the unit is larger than expected, But good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

This is a great charger for the money

05/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They should stick this. It took a long time to arrive at store for in store pick up. Better than the plastic digital chargers they stock which I have not had good luck with. They are fragile and over heat.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

DieHard Battery Charger

01/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this battery charger to use with my 1988 K5 Blazer because it sits in the garage sometimes for prolonged periods of time. I also bought it incase the battery fails to start the truck, which hasn't happened yet. I've only used it to charge the battery for a few minutes 2 or 3 times and it's worked great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

A 2011 Christmas Gift for the Man of the House

01/21/2012
By ,
East Central Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little giant-of-a battery charger/starter sure did come in handy when our 1994 Pontiac Grand Am's Die Hard battery did just that...died REALLY hard. My husband just plugged the unit in, connected the cables, and the old car cranked right up! An hour later, we have a new car battery and nothing but praises for our (his :) Die Hard Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start. The price was right; I ordered online and had it delivered here at home. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone desiring a battery charger with the reassurance of a quick emergency start without long, heavy jumper cables.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DieHard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start
07/18/2012
By ,
Columbia, Md.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The item was received with a dent in the outer frame. It appeared the inside of the product was not damaged. Put the item to work immediately and it worked fine. The shipping container was not damaged in anyway so it appear the item was dented when packed for shipment.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scoopi
Posted 08/21/2012
If you go to www.batterychargers.com they will help help you with your issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next