Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Die Hard Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Die Hard Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

The Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger makes it easy to charge 12 volt batteries. This money-saving device can be used to charge lawnmower batteries, farm equipment, motorcycles and even small cars and some SUVs. The 12 volt battery charger has two modes; a 12-amp fast charge mode and a 2-amp trickle charge mode. The 12-amp fast charge will charge most batteries in just 2-5 hours; the 2-amp trickle will charge a small 12 volt battery in about 2-12 hours. The portable battery charger is built tough, just like Diehard batteries. The Diehard battery charger with emergency engine start is fabricated using solid-state circuitry with silicon diodes. It has a simple, intuitive interface with LEDs that indicate when the charging process is completed. The charger comes in a tough, durable, rust-proof polypropylene case with a top-mounted handle for easy carrying.
Average Customer Rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%25 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Damaged Product

09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received this product, it was damaged on the front so bad that it would not function at all. The amperage switch was broken completely off and inside the unit. The product was damaged before packaging or shipping, not during. There was no damage to the original box or the box it was shipped in, so it had to be placed in the box, in that condition.
Recommends this product? No
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

It will charge a completely dead battery

07/02/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It will charge a completely dead battery unlike most smart chargers and do it quickly. For a dead battery start out on the 12 amp setting then reset to the 2 amp setting when the charger begins to cycle on and off the 12 amp setting. Allow the charger to remain on the 2 amp setting until fully charged. Charging the battery completely helps to both save the alternator and the possibility of getting stranded later Nice metal case, heavy clamps and analog type meter all are a plus on this charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

REFURBISHED? DAMAGED RETURN?

12/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I went to the store to pick it up, I opened the outer box to make sure the inner box was ok as it was poorly packed. I got home and opened the inner box to find the metal case of the charger to be bent in several places, not a good sign. Plugged it in after connecting to a battery and...nothing. Opened it up to find a loose wire since the cables coming out of the unit had no grommets or strain reliefs to prevent internal wires from pulling out. Contacted Schumacher, the manufacturer of the charger, and they sent me a schematic so that I was able to reconnect the loose wire. The charger works now. I repaired the damaged cabinet and am now waiting on a parts list from Schumacher so that I can get the missing grommets/strain reliefs.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

best charger for the money

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The large clamps work so much better,good,solid charger,arrived without any damage, arrived at store in one day,no shipping charges, excellent product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Poor quality control at packing plant, came dented

02/28/2014
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product seems to work as described, but this charger continues to be damaged at manufacture before they put in box. This indicates poor quality control and lack of quality of workers at manufactures place. This is not damaged in shipping, box perfect, and unit itself seems to be ok quality of materials (have not tried the 75 amp start feature as of yet, but the other functions seems to work ok for the short period of time I've owned it).
But this particular manufacturer, Diehard, really needs to get a handle on its quality of handling and stop mishandling the products causing damage to the unit. There has been many complaints of dented merchandise with this brand, not just this model, but many of the models of Diehard. Some in front of the casing, some on the bottom where my damage was and can't sit right.
The hassle of returning and replacing, many times with just another that is damaged and dented is not the expectation of a consumer buying a new supposedly quality product. That is why I'm giving it only a two star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

taterhead

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a kid can make it work great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Doesn't seem to work

11/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off, it took an additional 10 days to get this item than what Walmart quoted. Item arrived, opened the box, just a unit and a manual. Nothing in plastic wrap. Unit was upside down in the box. Manual looked like it has been flipped through more than once previously. New items owners manuals come in plastic bags, and new electronics come wrapped in plastic. Therefore, I can only conclude this item was purchased, returned defective and subsequently shipped to me. I've had the unit hooked to my 2 month old battery for over 5 hours and the needle has not moved one millimeter. I think Walmart will be getting a R/A request on this from me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

stupid

11/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no on & off switch & a bit noisey
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Good choice of charging settings..Not degital!

02/01/2014
By ,
Lakewood, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great choice of settings, Not digital was the reason to purchase this charger. A heavy built & nice battery cable connections.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

A 2011 Christmas Gift for the Man of the House

01/21/2012
By ,
East Central Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little giant-of-a battery charger/starter sure did come in handy when our 1994 Pontiac Grand Am's Die Hard battery did just that...died REALLY hard. My husband just plugged the unit in, connected the cables, and the old car cranked right up! An hour later, we have a new car battery and nothing but praises for our (his :) Die Hard Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start. The price was right; I ordered online and had it delivered here at home. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone desiring a battery charger with the reassurance of a quick emergency start without long, heavy jumper cables.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

DieHard Battery Charger

01/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this battery charger to use with my 1988 K5 Blazer because it sits in the garage sometimes for prolonged periods of time. I also bought it incase the battery fails to start the truck, which hasn't happened yet. I've only used it to charge the battery for a few minutes 2 or 3 times and it's worked great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Works as promised

04/14/2011
By ,
Milford, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The charger works just fine, reviving an almost-dead battery, and acting well as a trickle/maintenance charger. I haven't tried the booster/starter function.
The only problem was that the packaging was insufficient: it came with a small dent on one side (the casing is metal, not plastic like most at this price). This was not enough for me to be bothered about
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great Charger

06/26/2014
By ,
LEWISTON MAINE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Product the 75 amp jumpstart is a great feature Auto shut off is another great worryless feature without overcharging the battery
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start
07/18/2012
By ,
Columbia, Md.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The item was received with a dent in the outer frame. It appeared the inside of the product was not damaged. Put the item to work immediately and it worked fine. The shipping container was not damaged in anyway so it appear the item was dented when packed for shipment.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scoopi
Posted 08/21/2012
If you go to www.batterychargers.com they will help help you with your issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start
04/04/2013
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
planned to buy a 10a with starter but found this at excellent price. very pleased with performance, quality and price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indialantic, FL
Diehard 75/12/2
Posted 05/19/2013
Is this one "Diehard 75/12/2 amp" Fully Automatic Battery Charger, Electric??? I wanted one that I can just plug in the wall and jump start my car.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Has a higher amp boost than most hand helds.

07/16/2011
By ,
Indy, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only turned this unit on to see if it works. I purchased it mostly to complete a cast iron electrolysis system I plan on using to clean old cast iron skillets. The price was very good. Most other chargers of a similar size seem to have a boost rating less than what this unit offered. I also liked the more simple, older model current needle instead of the electronic displays found on newer models.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Christmas Gift

11/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had several of these product's' and when i got this out of the box ' knew i had the best one i have ever had''''the close pin's are bigger than i have ever seen' that make's them get a better connection to the Batery' this is good for motorcycle' boat' car and truck' and lawn mower' one time use' with your car or truck litght's left on and run your batery down' could pay for it's self' and also get you out of trouble and going again' yes could product' you need to check out some of the generator's'''''''''''''
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Quick and Easy 75A

04/06/2014
By ,
New Bern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As soon as i got the box in the mail, I knew it was what i wanted. Heavy but not too heavy, Simple controls and sturdy clamps. Choice of battery types. and a charge range switch make it easy.
The only thing i didn't like was the charge indicator. It was marked in percent rather than the customary Amps. Anyone who bought this charger knows what amps are and wants to see it on the scale. They skimped on the indicator but it works and you can guess the amperage.
In short it's a good if not great charger for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

This product has the best warranty.

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has the best warranty. I owned a diehard charger for 19 years and wanted another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great battery charger for the price

02/02/2014
By ,
Covina, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The charger works great and I have not had any problems with it. The automatic charging feature is not overcharging my battery at all. The only issue was with the shipping. The charger arrived in the box with no packaging at all from Walmart.com, damaged and crushed. I returned the item and had them ship another to the local store for pickup instead. Customer service at the store was great and promptly helped me out. The new unit arrived in great condition and has been working great ever since. Bottom line, this is a great product and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next