Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Die Hard Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Die Hard Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

The Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger makes it easy to charge 12 volt batteries. This money-saving device can be used to charge lawnmower batteries, farm equipment, motorcycles and even small cars and some SUVs. The 12 volt battery charger has two modes; a 12-amp fast charge mode and a 2-amp trickle charge mode. The 12-amp fast charge will charge most batteries in just 2-5 hours; the 2-amp trickle will charge a small 12 volt battery in about 2-12 hours. The portable battery charger is built tough, just like Diehard batteries. The Diehard battery charger with emergency engine start is fabricated using solid-state circuitry with silicon diodes. It has a simple, intuitive interface with LEDs that indicate when the charging process is completed. The charger comes in a tough, durable, rust-proof polypropylene case with a top-mounted handle for easy carrying.
Average Customer Rating:
4.081 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation81%30 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Damaged Product

09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received this product, it was damaged on the front so bad that it would not function at all. The amperage switch was broken completely off and inside the unit. The product was damaged before packaging or shipping, not during. There was no damage to the original box or the box it was shipped in, so it had to be placed in the box, in that condition.
Recommends this product? No
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

It will charge a completely dead battery

07/02/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It will charge a completely dead battery unlike most smart chargers and do it quickly. For a dead battery start out on the 12 amp setting then reset to the 2 amp setting when the charger begins to cycle on and off the 12 amp setting. Allow the charger to remain on the 2 amp setting until fully charged. Charging the battery completely helps to both save the alternator and the possibility of getting stranded later Nice metal case, heavy clamps and analog type meter all are a plus on this charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Poor quality control at packing plant, came dented

02/28/2014
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product seems to work as described, but this charger continues to be damaged at manufacture before they put in box. This indicates poor quality control and lack of quality of workers at manufactures place. This is not damaged in shipping, box perfect, and unit itself seems to be ok quality of materials (have not tried the 75 amp start feature as of yet, but the other functions seems to work ok for the short period of time I've owned it).
But this particular manufacturer, Diehard, really needs to get a handle on its quality of handling and stop mishandling the products causing damage to the unit. There has been many complaints of dented merchandise with this brand, not just this model, but many of the models of Diehard. Some in front of the casing, some on the bottom where my damage was and can't sit right.
The hassle of returning and replacing, many times with just another that is damaged and dented is not the expectation of a consumer buying a new supposedly quality product. That is why I'm giving it only a two star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Online Walmart shopping is a Breeze.

02/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Diehard Battery Charger takes away all the worry of weak batteries. Wish someone had told me the simplicity of charging a battery existed in this Battery Charger.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

very nice

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i like the brand and the price,seems to work well at this time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

GREAT

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice works great, nice really large clamps. Really well built.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Exactly as advertised

01/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A functional, trusty, and convenient piece of equipment to have. All 3 settings are purposeful. I used the battery charger to jumpstart a car and to trickle charge a battery (used the 12amp, then switched to the 2amp to top off the battery to full capacity). Automatically switches off trickle when charge is complete.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Heavy duty

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had previously purchased another brand of charger instore. I was completely non-functioning & light as a feather. This charger is heavy duty equipment. I like the quick charge or trickle charge feature. My battery was not really low-on quick charge it showed fully charged almost immediately, I set it on trickle charge & it reached full charge within 30 min. I like it! Used only once.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Missing a few modern BASICS

01/17/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This charger does functionally work and will likely be a reliable unit. However, the two negatives in my opinion are that it has not ON/OFF (plug it in, it is ON) and it is quite noisy compared to all others I have had or used.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

got an open item or used.

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pulled it out of box and I saw the cover was not attach properly on it,came with some scratches on front cover, not a big issue but gave me a second thoughts if this item was repair before or was an open item so had to take it back to the store,no issues returned it back to the store at all.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Good choice of charging settings..Not degital!

02/01/2014
By ,
Lakewood, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great choice of settings, Not digital was the reason to purchase this charger. A heavy built & nice battery cable connections.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

REFURBISHED? DAMAGED RETURN?

12/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I went to the store to pick it up, I opened the outer box to make sure the inner box was ok as it was poorly packed. I got home and opened the inner box to find the metal case of the charger to be bent in several places, not a good sign. Plugged it in after connecting to a battery and...nothing. Opened it up to find a loose wire since the cables coming out of the unit had no grommets or strain reliefs to prevent internal wires from pulling out. Contacted Schumacher, the manufacturer of the charger, and they sent me a schematic so that I was able to reconnect the loose wire. The charger works now. I repaired the damaged cabinet and am now waiting on a parts list from Schumacher so that I can get the missing grommets/strain reliefs.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

A 2011 Christmas Gift for the Man of the House

01/21/2012
By ,
East Central Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little giant-of-a battery charger/starter sure did come in handy when our 1994 Pontiac Grand Am's Die Hard battery did just that...died REALLY hard. My husband just plugged the unit in, connected the cables, and the old car cranked right up! An hour later, we have a new car battery and nothing but praises for our (his :) Die Hard Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start. The price was right; I ordered online and had it delivered here at home. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone desiring a battery charger with the reassurance of a quick emergency start without long, heavy jumper cables.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Broken in the box

01/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Same experience for me as one of the other one-star reviews. Opened the box to find the amp selector switch broken off and rattling around inside the charger case. The case was also not even screwed together properly. Lousy quality control somewhere along the line.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

DieHard Battery Charger

01/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this battery charger to use with my 1988 K5 Blazer because it sits in the garage sometimes for prolonged periods of time. I also bought it incase the battery fails to start the truck, which hasn't happened yet. I've only used it to charge the battery for a few minutes 2 or 3 times and it's worked great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Works as promised

04/14/2011
By ,
Milford, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The charger works just fine, reviving an almost-dead battery, and acting well as a trickle/maintenance charger. I haven't tried the booster/starter function.
The only problem was that the packaging was insufficient: it came with a small dent on one side (the casing is metal, not plastic like most at this price). This was not enough for me to be bothered about
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

best charger for the money

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The large clamps work so much better,good,solid charger,arrived without any damage, arrived at store in one day,no shipping charges, excellent product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Doesn't seem to work

11/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off, it took an additional 10 days to get this item than what Walmart quoted. Item arrived, opened the box, just a unit and a manual. Nothing in plastic wrap. Unit was upside down in the box. Manual looked like it has been flipped through more than once previously. New items owners manuals come in plastic bags, and new electronics come wrapped in plastic. Therefore, I can only conclude this item was purchased, returned defective and subsequently shipped to me. I've had the unit hooked to my 2 month old battery for over 5 hours and the needle has not moved one millimeter. I think Walmart will be getting a R/A request on this from me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

Great Charger

06/26/2014
By ,
LEWISTON MAINE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Product the 75 amp jumpstart is a great feature Auto shut off is another great worryless feature without overcharging the battery
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Diehard 75/12/2 Amp Fully Automatic Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start

taterhead

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a kid can make it work great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next