Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Innova Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

The Equus Innova 3721 Battery charging system monitor keeps track of your car's battery to help you avoid car break downs due to a low battery. This 12-volt battery monitor is easy to use. It plugs into your cigarette lighter outlet to help you to monitor the battery and the charging system voltage. This car battery monitor features an LCD display that shows the voltage in a bar graph. It has color-coded LEDs that indicate the battery's status. A pivoting head allows you to view the battery charging system monitor from any direction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%29 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Great way to prevent being stuck.

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I keep a volt meter in all my Swimming Pool Service Trucks. All that starting and stopping is rough on the charging systems. My guys tell me what the voltage is when the charging system is having a problem and I know if they need a battery or alternator. I purchased 4 more because they have a tendency to disappear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Plug-in voltmeter was "a perfect fit".

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this voltmeter to provide an inexpensive way to get a reading of my camper battery's voltage, so as not to under or overcharge it. I installed a weatherproof power socket right on the battery box, located on the trailer tongue, and hooked it up to the battery terminals with an in-line 10 amp fuse on the positive lead. Then, because the voltmeter is a plug-in type, I can easily pull it out after getting a quick reading, and protect it from the weather. Afterward I can plug it into a power socket inside my tow vehicle, so as to monitor the tow vehicle's battery as well. The meter has digital and lighted displays that are easy to read. Although just installed, it looks like a winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

A TRUE voltage monitor

06/09/2011
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this SPECIFICALLY because it indicated "hundredths" of volt. In this way you can really see the condition of your 12v battery & charge system. I feel that using only the single decimal does not give sufficient charge indication as 12.7v is indicative of full (100%) charge and 12.2v is already under 50% - the extra decimal digit just gives better info.
Value has four stars only because I did find this in the local store (afterward) at a lower price even though searching online claimed the local to have none when I made my initial check. I suggest actually checking the physical store prior to ordering online if at all possible - you may save a few bucks and get it quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor
02/22/2011
By ,
So. Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to monitor my 12v portable power packs I use for camping. I'm a retired Master auto technician and I used a $3000 digital lab scope to test the accuracy of the monitor. I was very surprised at the accuracy. It was right in line with the expensive unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor
07/18/2013
By ,
Kalamazoo MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My volt meter in my 03 Silverado 1500 HD quit working about two years ago, I checked battery and alternator voltage peoridocally with my multimeter, but it was unerving to be miles from home and not have constant monitoring as I pull a 25' fith wheel camper, now in excess of 90,ooo miles across the US and Canada. (yes ninty housand) tip-use 3rd gear not drive.
I was doing a intrnet search lookind for a better way than replacing the instrument cluster, when I saw this device which plugs in the lighter receptical, reading the instructions, specifications and reviews, this shoud work great. and it does, very happy with this product. ordered on line from Wallmart, it arrived at my local store in bout one week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Easy & accurate

12/13/2010
By ,
Pharr, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy product to use and provides very accurate readings. Served my purposes completely
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Great little voltmeter

06/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would not leave home without one of these in my car. Love knowing battery and alternator status versus just waiting for a red light to light up on the dashboard. This is my second one, lost my first in a move or it's in a storage box somewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

A great product

10/17/2011
By ,
Ames, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This voltmeter monitors both battery voltage (engine off) and alternator output voltage (engine running). Indicators include colored LED's, a vertical bar graph and a large digital display reading in hundreds of a volt. The device is smart enough to know whether or not the engine is running so the "condition" readings are appropriate. The head is adjustable for the best viewing angle. I leave mine plugged in as a permanent display. I'm really happy with the product. It arrived at my local WalMart sooner than promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Does what it claims to do.

04/08/2014
By ,
olympia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Allows me to check the battery voltage with and without a load and gives me an idea what the impact is of turning on accessories.
Handy since it resides in the "cigar lighter" when taking measurements and doesn't require more hands than I have available.
Use it to check battery condition before launching boat.
Clearly not a laboratory quality instrument, but good value for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Great real-time monitor for elec/charging system

04/10/2014
By ,
West coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plugs in and tells me precisely what the battery charge and alternator activity are. Acts like the old-time dash amp meter used to (don't know why the manufacturers eliminated that). Switch from car to car to check charging situation. It seems very accurate.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Just What I Need

04/15/2011
By ,
Waipahu,Hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What We All Need To Be Aware Of A Problem Before It Gets Bad. Very Accurate Reading Lights Up In Darkness. Aloha;Mod Squad
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

I am very disappointed

01/22/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just got this meter yesterday. I took it home and plugged it in. The battery reading was 14.8 V and yet the indicator light was red. I checked it with a lab grade voltmeter and battery voltage was 12.4V. When I crank up engine, indicator light turned on green and meter read 18.88V. Holy cow, that means my regulator messed up and could not regulate alternator output to 14.5V. I checked with my lab grade voltmeter and it read 14.4V.
Bottom line is this device does not work as it is supposed to. The indicator light is not accurate. The readout is terrible. It is off mark by almost 5V. I am going to take it back to Walmart. This is the first time I have to return a Walmart.com merchandise back to Walmart. We'll see how well Walmart takes return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

An Excellent Tool

08/13/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this volt meter to monitor the charging system on my older (1985) Honda Goldwing. The real-time digital voltage display is excellent, and told me exactly what I needed to know. The LCD display lights up enough to see it easily at night, but not so bright as to be a distraction. Now I just leave it in the socket all the time (switches off with the key).
It does not come with instructions, though, which would have been helpful in determining what some of the symbols on the display are supposed to mean. A quick Google search found that the circle indicates it is reading the charging system, while the batter symbol indicates ... well ... the battery.
It's an excellent tool for initial diagnostics and monitoring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Great product and value

03/13/2014
By ,
Norwalk CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product makes it very easy to evaluate alternator and battery issues instantly. Large digital readout. This is my second one. My first one lasted for many years. This is an excellent diagnostic tool and the price is hard to beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Easy way to check your battery and charging system

05/09/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. No more mystery how my battery is doing.
Just plut it in the cigarette lighter/12VDC socket before you start the engine - then watch the voltage. Before starting the engine, it should be close to 12.8VDC. Near 12.0VDC, your battery is almost empty. When you start the engine, it should be above 14.2VDC. As you keep driving, the voltage should drop to 13.6VDC, possibly a bit less, as the battery is being charged. If you leave your car overnight and the voltage is still near 12.0VDC, a new battery will be in your future.
I use this tool also for my RV to check the chassis and coach battery voltage levels so I don't have a surprise in the morning when I leave.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Super Value and Accurate

03/03/2014
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for its two decimal readout and adjustable head. When I checked its accuracy against a $150 Fluke DIgital Multimeter, the Equus voltage was within 0.02 volts. Wow!
Exceeded my expectations, and at $13 it is a great value. Every RV or Boat should have one as a primary or secondary battery monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Can't go wrong

03/01/2014
By ,
Yuma, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy, reliable, very large readout. The lights may or may not apply to your type of battery, but being able to rotate the face makes this very adaptable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Terrific battery voltage monitor (voltmeter).

11/14/2013
By ,
Port Orchard
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several of these things. They work excellent and are very accurate. They allow me to easily and accurately monitor the battery voltage in my RV's , boats, and cars. It reliably shows how the battery is being discharged or charged while in use, or resting. They are also great for diagnosing battery/charging system problems. I have used it several times to assist friends with problem vehicles. I even installed one of these in my battery charger. I used to be able to buy these in the Walmart store, but now only on-line. I strongly recommend this meter for persons who are serious storage battery users.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Super Battery Monitor

08/01/2011
By ,
Missouri near St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these little devices. We had one previously purchased in the store and when we wanted another we were disappointed that only the less sensitive model was being offered in the store. We were delighted to find that the increased sensitivity model could be ordered online and then conveniently picked up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus Innova 3721 Battery and Charging System Monitor

Great Product

02/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very accurate compared to what a mechanic would use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next