Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Sunbeam Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Know the humidity level of your place with the portable Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer. It is compact enough to fit into your palm. This humidity hygrometer helps you to achieve the desired comfort level. After analyzing your rooms humidity, the hygrometer points to the dry, comfort zone, or humid scale. By knowing the humidity level, this Sunbeam hygrometer lets you modify your rooms setting accordingly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation68%30 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Sunbeam won't stand behind this defective product

05/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these for winter, one for each floor of my house. When I put them on a shelf for storage in the summer after sitting for a couple of weeks one read 60 % the other read 75%. When I called Sunbeam they said they don't recommend putting two side by side. I asked why and they had no answer. THE ANSWER IS THAT IS HOW YOU CAN TELL THEY ARE JUNK.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Totally Worthless

05/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these hygrometers. Set side by side, they read 15% different. Neither one has changed it's reading in the 2 weeks they have been sitting there.
It's hard to believe that the humidity hasn't changed even a tiny bit in two weeks.
Even harder to believe that there is 15% difference in the humidity located 2 inches apart.
These hygrometers are completely worthless. don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

A very important and useful tool that any house

06/27/2014
By ,
McKinney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very small and inexpensive tool that any household should have two or three units - especially if you have very young or elderly people in your home. The correct relative humidity is very important both in the summer and winter. Many people will be amazed at the profound difference when the correct humidity is achieved during any season. In the winter (when it is typically very dry) proper humidity will lessen dry and static hair, chapped hands, dry eyes, dry mouths & tender noses. In addition more humidity makes the air feel "warmer". In the summer where most homes experience a humid summer, achieving proper humidity will make the inside air feel much cooler and will enhance the comfort level inside. Correct humidity is also important regarding furniture, books, clothing, any wood or cabinets in your house. It is simply amazing what a little humidity or humidity removal will do for a specific sleeping or living area. Use this inexpensive little tool to help monitor and balance the humidity in specific areas of your house and enjoy the benefits for a very long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Very Light

05/23/2014
By ,
New Orleans LA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very small and light weight plastic, I would not buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Accurate and helpful

07/26/2011
By ,
Okinawa, Japan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these because the humidity is very high on the island and I needed to control mold outbreaks. I have since purchased 8 total, to give to friends. I keep 4 in my house and they all read the same when in the same room. Great price! I totally recommend these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Does not work correctly

06/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's not worth anything as it isn't any where close to being accurate
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Compact and Great Value!!

05/05/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a small, easy hygrometer for the bedroom to make sure I wasn't going overboard when using my humidifier. Dust mites love humid environments, and I don't need to make it any more welcoming for them. I tested it right away using the salt in a ziploc method. Registered 75% like it's supposed to. Then put it in my bedroom and an hour later, registered in the comfort zone. It's so small it fits in the palm of your hand. Which I think is good since most hygrometers are with thermometers, and the size of wall clocks and meant for outside. No batteries needed which is a plus as well! Just wish stores in my area carried them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

A piece of junk

04/03/2014
By ,
Palmetto, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Inaccurate and hasn't changed as a more expensive unit has changed, as has the level reflected by a humidistat connected to the thermostat.
It took about 10 days to be delivered to the store and it came in an enormous box. The staff at the store insisted on opening the box because they felt it was empty.
I'd take it back but that would be too time consuming.
I would not buy again and would not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

cheap & cheap

08/02/2014
By ,
los angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
inacurate and too light and poorly balanced. waste of money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Purchased 2, both work great, and exactly the same

11/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, great price, purchased 2, both work identically and reliably. A must have if you humidify your home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Not so hot hygrometer

03/14/2011
By ,
San Diego
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although the product is inexpensive it does not stand up very well. It constantly tips over the base is so small that the slightest bump, breeze or stare will cause it to fall over. There are other cheap hygrometers out there. Give the others a try first.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

Inaccurate piece of junk

06/10/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My HVAC guy tested it against calibrated equipment and advised me to throw it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

great for keeping humidity levels comfortable

03/20/2014
By ,
mountain view, ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the site to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

garbage

06/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
as my humidity went down this thing went up. completely useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

seems to be accurate

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice. Portable. Smaller than I expected but seems accurate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

handy little gadget

11/12/2013
By ,
Kingman, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for somethng to measure the moisture in my house as I live in the desert and it is very dry here. I run humidifiers when it is not the monsoon season but I still didn't know how much moisture I was getting. this little hygrometer only costs $4 and it is well worth the price. it's very small so you can put it anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer
03/05/2013
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought three of these worthless things. Each one has a significantly different reading after many hours of sitting side by side. Threw them away. Not even worth the cost of gas to return.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

not accurate

06/19/2013
By ,
AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 3 of these and they each have different readings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer
01/27/2012
By ,
Oscoda, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works as advertised and it is a constant peace in a house dry with debate on the moisture issue. Good product at a great price. Bill
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer

TOTALLY WORTHLESS

01/07/2013
By ,
CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT 2 OF THEM THEY ARE NOT ACCURATE AT ALL, I ALREADY HAVE 2 DIGITAL ONES I WANTED A FEW MORE FOR THE BED ROOMS, I BURN WOOD FOR HEAT SO IT GETS VERY DRY IN THE HOUSE I HAVE 2 LITTLE ONE AND NEED TO KEEP THE HUMIDITY UP, WHEN I GOT THE 2 SUNBEAM HYGROMETERS I PUT THEM WITH THE DIGITAL ONES FOR A FEW HOURS AND THEY READ TOTALLY DIFFERENT NOT JUST A LITTLE OFF WAY OFF THE DIGITAL ONES WILL READ 40% THE NEW SUNBEAMS READ 75% WHICH IS IMPOSIBLE, I LIVE IN NEWENGLAND ITS 18 DEGREES OUT AND THE WOOD STVOE IS RAGING ITS IMPOSIBLE TO GET HUMIDITY THAT HIGH, DONT BUY WASTE OF MONEY, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next