Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for PEAK Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

PEAK Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

See clearly with the 3-1/2" Peak Backup Camera. This camera system installs on most vehicles in just minutes. Use it for towing or on any large vehicle when rear visibility is limited. Mount the camera above the rear license plate with factory bolts, then mount the LCD monitor to the inside front windshield using the included suction cup mechanism. Once this is done, the wireless backup camera is ready for use. It pivots for your viewing requirements, allowing it to be seen from a variety of angles while driving. It can be used in cars, SUVs, vans and trucks. Each car backup camera comes with all the mounting hardware required, ensuring that it can be used out of the box. As an added bonus, it is water-resistant and suitable for use during bad weather.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation64%9 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Works as advertised

11/10/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I installed this camera on my Jeep. The camera view and clarity is good, however the camera monitor picks up ambient signals from other local cameras in the form of partial images or just snow on the screen as you drive, especially near shopping centers where store surveillance systems are active and on similar frequencies. The camera monitor has a constant blinking blue LED which can be annoying at night. The monitor can be turned off, but then you lose the automatic view when backing up. This device requires considerable knowledge to wire into the existing vehicle backup light harness. There is a wireless transmitter that must be wired to the backup lights for the camera to operate when the vehicle is placed in reverse. Then there are the connecting wires that should be hidden behind the vehicle panels. Not for novices.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Excellent camera everyone should have one!

09/13/2014
By ,
COLORADO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camera about a week ago because I got very tired of backing my truck up to my trailers. Having to get out of the truck, see how far off I was and then get back in the truck, back up again over and over until I was lined up and could attach the trailer to the truck. It was a real pain in the neck! With this new PEAK Backup Camera it makes this procedure a snap! Very easy to install. I used an old cigarette lighter plugin and spliced it on to the power end of the camera, works great!
If you are somewhat of a prankster like myself it is a great way to freak your friends out that do not know you have the camera installed! I come at top speed in reverse after asking them to help me backup to the trailer and stop perfectly in place to attach trailer! I get a great laugh every time hehee… Anyway {DO NOT TRY THIS BACKUP TRICK YOURSELF} I am a professional… Cheers, enjoy this product I certainly do…
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Priced right, Installs easily

10/20/2014
By ,
Southwest Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, installs easily and with very little effort. Only thing I did different was to power the camera with the running lights rather than the back up lights. This way, I can have use of it anytime I want. It allows me to check on my trailer hitch, chains and etc as I'm traveling.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Great after market camera!

02/02/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased to install on my Honda Odyssey. Installation was very simple and easy. Took maybe 30 minutes to install. Really makes backing up and parking much easier. Only problem is sometimes when driving passed places with automatic door openers the monitor will flicker on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Not For The Novice

05/21/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Back-up camera was advertised as "wireless" on both WalMart's website and the instructions. Instructions also said "installs in minutes". In fact this camera was not wireless, a hole was required to be drilled in car body and extensive wiring was required. Also, installation would have taken at least 2-3 hours. I returned the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kerrville tx
back up camera
Posted 07/11/2011
I hooked this up to a motor home and it is wireless, all you do is hook it up to the reverse lights of your car and it will power your transmitter and it send a signal to your monitor that plugs into your 12 volt outlet on the dash.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

About as I expected.

09/14/2013
By ,
Waterford, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Peak 2 1/2" monitor that wasn't in vivid color and didn't display any area beyond the width of the car. It was difficult to see and generally useless. I replaced that monitor with this one. Problem solved. This also gives me a spare old monitor and a new camera for emergengy use. I wish I'd bought the larger 3 1/2" unit to begin with, Lesson learned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Bad camera

04/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work most the time, can not get a clear pic.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera
01/10/2013
By ,
PENNSYLVANIA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ON A SUBURBAN IT REQUIRES A GREAT DEAL OF TIME AS THE TAIL GATE IS WHERE THE LISCENSE PLATE IS AND THE BACK UP LIGHTS ARE ARE NOT CLOSE. TIME REMOVING PANELS AND REPLACING.... 4 HR.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Works greate

08/24/2013
By ,
New Fairfield,ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wire hookup can be challenging if you do not have a wire diagram of your vehicle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Blinks Constantly

06/22/2014
By ,
VT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It would be much more useable if the camera didn't blink so much. I haven't done trouble shooting but it was installed by the book :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Great camera for a after market product

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install. it took more time to run the wires in a safe location than it did to install the camera. About 40 minutes to install the camera and hook up the monitor. About 1 and 1/2 hours to do the whole job. Sweet : - )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera

Great Product!

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! Took about one hour to install. Works a lot better than i thought.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera
05/29/2012
By ,
Hale MO.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ease put in an works good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Peak 3-1/2" Backup Camera
Based on 1 ratings-only review
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5