Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Frigidaire's 12,000-BTU 115V casement/slider room air conditioner is the perfect solution for cooling rooms with casement windows and horizontal sliding windows up to 640 square feet. This unit is specifically designed for use with casement windows or sliding windows and is not suitable for standard (double-hung) window installation. Ready-select electronic controls allow you to easily select options with the touch of a button. The full-function remote control allows you to precisely control the temperature and fan speed from across the room. The multi-speed fan features three different fan speeds for more cooling flexibility and 4-way air direction control allows you to direct the air where you want it. The antimicrobial mesh filter cleans the air, removing harmful bacteria. Plus, quiet operation keeps you cool without keeping you awake.
Average Customer Rating:
4.035 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation83%48 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Keeping my cool this summer!

07/13/2011
By ,
Clarkdale, AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for a great price and delivered for .97 cents! I live in Arizona and most all builders use the slider style windows. These vertical units are hard to find so I purchased this one as soon as it was available. Frigidaire is known for their quality and this unit is on par! My slider windows are 60 inches tall and the unit comes with a white coreiplast board insert to fill the “gap” (up to 45”) above the unit. The instructions mentioned an “optional” tall window filler kit but I wanted to get this installed right away. I didn’t want to give up the light above the unit so for twelve dollars I bought a piece of clear Plexiglas and cut it to fit perfectly in the window frame. I sealed it with clear indoor/outdoor silicone sealant and viola’ it looks great. This a/c unit is now a permanent installation in my 600sqf garage workshop. It does an excellent job of keeping me and the shop cool on the “energy saving” mode. I love the “sleep mode” which I use when not occupying the room to save even more. It's been in use now for three weeks with a few one hundred plus degree days and is doing it's job with no complaints!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Good air conditioner for small windows

07/02/2013
By ,
Soldotna, Ak
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a nice A C but when we got it it was all crushed and then we found out that it only goes down to 60 degrees.... That's still nice but my husband and I were looking for one that could make it cold. The photos that I uploaded are of how it came in then how it looks in our window.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Exactly what I needed

08/04/2012
By ,
Western Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this AC to install in an very old house with very narrow vertical windows that open by sliding up and down. The handymen that installed it built a steel bracket rather than using the included one. When winter is here I will be able to just push it out the window and store it on the bracket on my front porch without having to lift it. Pretty cool. It has been keeping right up with a long string of high 80's - low 90's days. It cools the large living room and small kitchen very well. It loses a little bit of effectiveness if I open the bedroom door, but still is fine. It was very easy to figure out the controls both on the unit and on the remote, and I have been using all of the different options with ease. Even though it was pricey, it is exactly what I needed and Walmart's price was the lowest on the web. I wanted the option of returning it locally if it didn't fit. It arrived in one week on the first day of the delivery range. I'm very happy with this purchase and the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Excellent unit! Perfect fit, easy install!

06/12/2011
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a west facing room that is the highest in our home making it unbearably hot in the summer. Room has very high vaulted ceiling with a loft and this unit cools everything down. Our window is one that opens left to right, not up and down and this unit installed easily, fit perfectly - could not be more satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner
06/17/2011
By ,
Akron, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is expensive. Casement window air conditioners are hard to find and
sell out fast. Cools great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Ship to Store - Not Home or you risk damage!

08/03/2011
By ,
MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I chose Home delivery as this is a heavy item and wanted to avoid lugging it around at the store. Well when it arrived the box was fine, but when opened I noticed that the foam packaging was all cracked & the metal casing of the A/C was bent on one corner. This unit weighs close to 90 pounds and the box appears sturdy so I am sure someone set something too heavy on top of it and smashed it. I ordered a second unit and had it shipped "Site-to-Store" and although the box on this one appeared worse than the first, the unit looked fine once opened up. I still need to return the first unit to the store for credit, but since it's Walmart I assume that process will go well.
I've been running the A/C non-stop for the past two weeks and it seems to cool my space very well. I'm using it in a workshop space that is well insulated but, by the numbers, is too large for this unit - almost 1,000 sq/ft with 10' ceilings. Thusfar it has kept up real well in the 95+ degree temps and tropical humidity we've had recently. It's made the space usable once again in the Summer! The verdict is still out on the durability and longevity of the unit as I've just had it for two weeks. One thing I have noticed is that although it is installed with the recommended degree of downward slope it still pools condensation water in the bottom of the cabinet. I think it is supposed to drain out the cabinet seams, but it would make more sense to me if they had placed some type of collection point, drain hole and tube so you could direct the water where you wanted it. Oh, and at leas then it wouldn't be splashing into the fan and spitting out against the wall, window, etc., etc., and making funny noises while doing so. Minor flaw, maybe a drill will solve if it bothers me too much in the future...
Expensive, but the only thing available for narrow Sliding windows or Casement windows. Limited sales mean limited production, and I understand why the additional cost. Glad to pay it to make my space liveable and useful in the hot summer temps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Great product

06/23/2012
By ,
Tampa FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product works wonderful and I'm very happy with it. My only complaint is it is much more difficult to install that what is implied. The attachment to cover the open portion of the window that the AC doesn't cover was very cheap plastic and was not long enough to cover the entire window. I had to get board cut to the dimensions and use that instead to cover the open portion of the window.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

I didn't know what to expect

07/10/2011
By ,
Marblehead, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first casement window A/C, we have a long living room with a fireplace, it alway's gets so hot as we have a brick home and the back yard is where the sun sets, it gets very hot in the Summer. I put this in a few weeks ago with the help of my 20 year old, it is 80 pounds. I have been SO very pleased at the way this unit cools the entire room and our sun porch thats connected. We all are comfortable now staying in the living room!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Not really made for casement windows

07/26/2013
By ,
Stevensville, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can see that the unit's installation kit would work well for sliding windows. It is advertised for casement windows also. I bought and installed two units in casement window openings. There is no way that the setup that comes with the units would work in either window. I had to remove the windows and put a temporary frame and filler around each unit. I am a carpenter, so the job wasn't that difficult for me; but the average home owner may have found it quite difficult, to nearly impossible to do correctly. It shouldn't be advertised for casement windows without the caveat that considerable modification to the window opening may be necessary.
Other than that, the units seem to work well. I installed one in a large living room/kitchen area with a 20 cathedral ceiling. And, with temps running in the mid to upper 90's, it keeps the area quite livable compared to not having it. I am pleased with the units performance thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner
07/30/2011
By ,
West Mifflin, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't have whole house air, and this summer has obviously been brutal. We opted to put this in our kitchen window figuring it would be an improvement over fans, but not expecting it to cool down the entire downstairs. With the doors and windows shut, this unit has worked wonders. The kitchen is very cool, and the cool air radiates through the rest of the downstairs rooms, a living room, bathroom and bedroom. While those rooms aren't as cool as the kitchen, the level of humidity is cut so well that they are comfortable, even when it is 90 degrees outside. I'm thrilled with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Makes entirely to much noise.

06/22/2012
By ,
Portage,Pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This air conditioner makes too much noise. It sounds like a jet airplane. Can't sleep at night because of the noise. Other than that, it works fine. I don't know what Frigidare was thinking of when they made it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Damaged in shipping

07/15/2013
By ,
West Sound Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased as site to store item with free shipping. Took over a week to get here. When I went to install it I found the mounting frame was damaged during shipping. Returned for credit to my credit card. They would not just exchange it for an undamaged one. Went to order again but it was going to take over 10 days to get here. Bought a similar one from Sears. Cost more but I picked it up the next day and it was not damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Air conditioner is good but packaging poor.

09/12/2013
By ,
NW Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The air conditioner works fine but the package needs to be way better to stand up to the shipping abuse. First air conditioner looked like it had been speared by a fork lift. I retuned it to my Walmart and ordered a 2nd air conditioner. Thanks to the Fed Ex person pulling it out of the back of the truck and letting it hit the ground it too was damaged when I removed the packaging. This time the outside sheet metal near the back was bent, possibly from hitting the ground ( I think). It looked like it would still work and it was 90 degrees out so I put it in and it seems to be working fine. My advice would be to Frigidaire and that would be to improve the packaging significantly. Walmart did everything right on their end and their price was the best. I would buy another but be sure to look the box over before the shipper drives off if you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Great product at a reasonable price!

07/22/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some people mentioned that this unit could be a little noisy, but what they probably didn't know was that this unit has a bigger fan and moves more air that any other similarly rated 12,000 BTU unit on the market!
We use it in conjunction with our central air in our large (added on) family room. It does an excellent job, and Walmart's price is very reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner
07/04/2012
By ,
Ridgefield, Ct
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Instructions are not good. They wanted me to install the mounting plate on top of the the plastic window tracks. I didn't think that they could support the weight of the 80 lb unit. Also I was instructed to drill holes thought them. I called for help, but was told they didn't give help on mounting, great. They gave me telephone numbers to talk to dealers, one was a bad number and the other wasn't in. I installed a block of wood on the sill so the mounting bracket was above the tracks. This seem to work. Also the saftey bracket is missing. My window is 46 inches high, so the filler that goes on the top is 6 inches short. I cut a pice of cardboard to filll in the space, but I'm going to have to do something more permatent. The unit works fine. It was close to 90 today and the unit cooled and area of 15' by 40'. They need to work on better installation and customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Great deal!

06/18/2013
By ,
Portland, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick shipping! Best price on six stores and websites
I checked. Great quality- nice and cold, allows you to choose
direction of flow, remote control. Not to hard to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

So far so good!

09/06/2013
By ,
Connersville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this unit to replace a 10,000 btu unit for a casement window. Installation was easy and took about an hour from start to finish and that was taking out the old unit too. We have a 20x40 kitchen and it cools that room, plus it even cools down the surrounding rooms. This unit was the best one for the price that I had found that fit our dimensions. (we were lucky enough to have it match dimensions of the old unit, so the frame the previous owners built for it, worked for this unit too) I would recommend having an extra hand for installation, basically one to help hold and lift the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Expensive, but works great

07/20/2012
By ,
Wichita, kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have an upstairs bedroom that gets unbearably hot, so we've wanted a window unit for a long time. The problem was finding one small enough to fit the skinny window. We got this one because of the width- a perfect fit. I guess it's expensive for that reason. Anyway it was very easy to install (even though it was designed for a casement window that opens side to side and ours is a normal window that lifts up) and works great. I really like the remote control too. We have never slept better!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

BROKEN OUT IF BOX.. COMPRESSER DOESNT TURN ON.

07/07/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to order this product online as it was unavailable in stores. After I obtained it I had to frame my window to allow for the 80 pound air conditioner. I made extra support on the outside as well. When I finally finished I installed the air conditioner to find it did not work. The fan came on but the compresser did not and it did not cool anything. I was so disappointed. Now I have a hole as I had to take my window out to fit the air conditioner...I guess I should have turned it on prior to installing it. Plus I thought the installation was harder then expected. So I have to take this 80 lb unit back to Walmart and reinstall my window, only to order a new one and start the process all over.
Very disappointing.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Frigidaire FRA123KT1 12,000-BTU 115V Slider/Casement Room Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Great alternative for slider/casement windows.

07/15/2013
By ,
McMinnville, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price for vertical in-window air conditioners is about 40% higher than a traditional window AC that would install in a double hung, up/down window.
What is surprising: I ordered this unit on one of the hottest days of the year - AC units were all but sold out at merchants across the metro area. But with Walmart's Site-To-Store delivery choice and distribution from the West coast, this unit arrived at my local store within three days - four days ahead of the scheduled arrival.
If you can wait a couple days to receive a purchase not immediately available at your local store, check this option.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next