Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Brother Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Create fashion-forward clothing that stands out with the Brother Limited Edition LS2250PRW Sewing Machine. Make your own fashion statement with the Brother 20-stitch sewing machine. It is compact and will not occupy much space in your room. This limited edition decorative sewing machine is easy to use with 20 stitch functions for garment construction, decorative stitching, quilting, and heirloom sewing. It's a solid introductory Brother sewing machine for any beginner. The project runaway sewing machine features a built-in sewer light for user convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation87%139 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 170 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Would not recommend

12/10/2012
By ,
Abbeville, Al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took it back the next day. Might be okay for a beginner that only wants to do straight stitches. Was not impressed with the buttonhole function at all.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Excellent!

05/17/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this having never touched a sewing machine before in my life. I've never even sewn anything by hand. This machine was easy to thread, the instructions were easy to understand, and it works great! I put 2 or 3 relatively straight lines into a cloth, and jumped right in on my first project. I cut up an old pair of pants (used the buttonholes it came with) and made a handbag. I don't think I could have done it by myself if the machine hadn't been so ridiculously easy to use. It is a very basic machine though. Straight stitch and zigzag is all it does so if you're looking for something more complex get a different machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wellsville
have a qustion
Posted 09/19/2011
so u can sew pants with this and no problems with it i want to buy one....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Extremely Easy to Use

03/27/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always wanted to buy a sewing machine but was skeptical about being able to work it. After, reading the reviews and reading that it included an instructional DVD and at a price of $50 (for Black Friday) I decided to purchase this one. Truly anyone can use this machine. The last time I used a sewing machine was over 20 years ago and only in my half semester Home Ec. class in high school. I have used it to make a Toy Story Woody like vest, a pillow and covered my red cushioned rocking chair. Now, I'm ready to make clothes for my daughter. This was one of the best buys ever.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Black Friday Special.

11/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tuesday before Black Friday, I looked at the Walmart site and checked out the sales at my local store. Having very minimal experience with sewing machines in the past and wanting to pick back up the hobby, I noticed this machine for only 50$.
There was a stack of about 20 when I got to the store and quickly picked up a box.
When I opened it, I got what I expected. A very sturdy and small sewing machine. It was a little heavier once out of the box (if that makes much sense) and does not come with a carrying case and the handle which to move the sewing machine isn't on top (which would be the only drawback I can currently think of). Threading the machine was very simple and the manual for the machine was very descriptive. It also comes with an instructional DVD I've yet to look at for the lack of need to. I did a few practice stitches in various materials and the machine runs very smooth. I would recommend for an amateur seamstress, like myself, or anyone looking for an inexpensive but powerful sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Great Little Machine!

12/13/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my friend pick this up for me on Black Friday as our local store was sold out. I was nervous afterwards as I read some of the reviews. I got the machine today and it is exactly what I have come to expect from Brother, a great little machine!
I opened the box, threaded the machine, and sewed fleece scarves right away. This machine powered through three layers of fleece without straining. I am shocked at how quiet it is! I am very impressed. Sure, this machine does not have a lot of fancy options, but it is a great starter machine or back-up machine. I personally own 4 other machines and wanted this to save the wear and tear on my more expensive machines as I teach my son to sew. As a home economics teacher and someone who sews every day, I love this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+166points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Dont Waste Your Money

04/01/2011
By ,
Netcong NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this sewing machine for $50 thinking that it would be a good beginner sewing machine, because it was very basic, and cheap.
first off you need to take this machine apart and oil it before you even get started, and the only way you would know this is if you go on the brother website.
I spent hours trouble shooting and fixing this machine.. and maybe less than an hour actually sewing on it.
This machine jammed like it was its job... thread would get twisted up in places that most experienced sewers thought was impossible to get thread stuck in... My mother, who has been sewing for over 40 years had a hard time using it. So I brought it to a repair shop to see if it was me or the machine that was the problem. and to quote the repair man "its definitely not you, this machine is poorly built and there is nothing you or i can do to improve its performance. Basically You get what you pay for.
I told the repair man that I was going to just give this machine to my sister and he asked me if I hated her... I think that says it all right there
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Great for beginner--me

04/23/2011
By ,
Sugar Land, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could be great for a seasoned seamstress, I cannot rate that :) it is a great and sturdy little machine, especially for the price! Everyone was telling me I would gave to fork out $150-$200 for a "good" machine. I'm happy to have proved them wrong. Love the tutorial disc, über helpful! I was able to set it up and sew a quick little project in the first 30 minutes (that includes taking it out of the box!) I def. recommend this for a "virgin" seamer, such as myself. Yes, as in never touched a sewing machine before. The word bobbin was something kids did for apples at Halloween. Yeah. That beginner.Oh, and as for the light issue that others have mentioned, I've used mine several times and had no problem. There must be some faulty ones out there, but come on, it's walmart.....exchanges are far from impossible ppl.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Estacada, OR
Great Little Machine
Posted 11/14/2011
I started quilting in January. I bought this machine on Black Friday. I have since made 4 quilts and numerous wall hagings for christmas this year. this machine just keeps going. I have been sewing for more than 50 years and this machine is a winner for me. It's light enough to take to my quilting group every week. Let's face it the price is right. In fact I think I will get another this Black Friday so I can leave one up all the time and haul the other to my quilting group.
0points
Customer Avatar
napa ca
question
Posted 10/26/2011
where i can see the 20 stitch functions?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Great product

12/06/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this machine on black Friday. I am new to sewing with a machine. Actually, I have not used one since 7th grade. Everything was simple to understand. The enclosed dvd was a great help. I started making Christmas gifts the first day I got it.
It includes 2 extra needles and three bobbins. The threading was a breeze and winding the bobbin was easy, also.
I really enjoy this machine and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning to sew.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+360points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Good beginner machine, great price

01/24/2011
By ,
Salt lake city
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried after I bought two of these machines for my girls (8 and 10), after reading some of the initial reviews. When I opened the box, the machine seemed sturdy and nice looking. We set up the machine and it was easy to use and perfect for a beginner, not too many confusing buttons etc. My 8 year old was able to make a pillow and use the zig zag to put an initial on, she was so excited and proud. The machine ran smoothly and quickly and we had no problem. We opened the second machine a few weeks later with the same outcome. My 10 year old made bean bags by herself. She previously had a 3/4 size kenmore which was the same price and had no light and a lot less features. So yes, I am really pleased with these machines and I would recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville,Tn.
RETURNING IT TODAY !
Posted 06/21/2011
I couldn't wait to get this,it came today and Iread how to set it up and was ready to sew.
It keep knocking the thread up on the back.I ajusted the tension and still hanging and bunching the thrtead and wheel not turnibg.I worked on it for 2 hours.IT GOES BACK TOMORROW !
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Best Value

07/25/2011
By ,
Key West, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received the machine in days of ordering. Been sewing for maybe 50 years. Have used every brand out there. No need to read any booklets, directions were printed right on the machine. Very easy to thread, used every stitch available and could find nothing bad to report about this great little sewing machine. It is quiet, sturdy, steady, the bobbin and top thread had perfect time for a strong stitch, used different fabrick thickness, used stretch fabric and the machine worked much better than exspected. Perfect size for my apartment size kitchen, light weight, good size foot controller, long cord and light bulb in right place. My most recent machine I bought maybe 4 yrs ago at about the same money and when I started having problems I put it in the trash and bought this machine. I use it almost every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Excedes my expectations!

05/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am having fun learning how to use all the stitch patterns on the machine. I love the speed control button and the way the machine always stops when with the needle down so I don't lose my place on the material. It's my first new machine in 30 yrs and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

PLEASE READ - THIS IS A BEGINNER'S MACHINE

11/02/2012
By ,
La Plata, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother is a seamstress and I was not interested in sewing until recently. When I decided to purchase a machine to learn on, my mother helped me select my machine. She kept saying that I did not need many features to begin, just a straight stitch and zig zag. so when I saw this machine, I asked her to take a look at it, she was sure that this would be perfect for me. So, I got this machine. She is unable to teach me as much as I like, so I began attending a local sewing club - ladies of all sewing levels meet weekly to sew, chat and assist learners like me. I bring my machine to the group and they all agreed with my mother. In order to learn the basics, they felt this machine was great to begin. I have made numerous items for my home and clothes for myself. I did have some issues with tension - NOTE: the bobbin tension is a little tight on this machine, but I do not recommend that a beginner adjust it. If possible, take the machine to a store or ask someone experienced to adjust as the turn needed for adjustment is so slight. The manual tension will require some play to get right. overall, I am having a ball with my machine and doing everything I want to do with it. There are a few things I will leave you with.
1. all machines require tweaking before sewing - you will not be able to use the same tension setting for everything you sew.
2. make sure that you are buying the correct machine for your skill - if you have experience, this machine will not have the features you need, if you are beginner, this is a great intro
3. make sure that you take an intro to sewing class - craftsy.com has online sewing classes that will show you how your machine works in addition to learning to sew. (Unpaid, unsolicited endorsement). Understanding how the machine works takes the scary away.
4. Make sure that you maximize your money. I was able to buy a more expensive machine to start, and in fact planned to buy one for $200.00 - the features were similiar to this one and I was ok with that price. I found this while researching christmas gifts. I saved $150.00 getting this one and everything I have made so far looks great. The machine sews what you create! Great construction begins and ends with you. If you pay attention to detail, what you paid for the machine will not matter - people will be amazed that you made it!
Enough typing...buy this machine and get sewing!!!! Have Fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Great multi-functional basic sewing machine

11/13/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have worked with several sewing machines by various manufacturers. This is the first machine I have bought for myself. It does not have all of the bells and whistles that machines geared for more complex projects (i.e., many varying stitches and other options.) This sewing machine is able to perform two basic stitches, the straight plain stitch and the zig-zag stitch. lengths of the stitches can be adjusted. Even though it is a more basic machine as sewing machines go it is very functional and easy to use. I have been able to work on hems, as well as basic sewing projects related to my quilting and doll making. The instructional DVD is very basic but it was nice to see the visual demonstration of how this machine is operated given that each machine is a bit different. The manual offers troubleshooting tips as well as convenient charts for selecting the appropriate needles for different fabrics and threads. I am very pleased with my purchase of this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

A great little machine!

02/07/2011
By ,
Akron, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on a whim as I left my other Kenmore machine at home while I'm visiting my son. I must say I'm surprised at how steady, quick and accurate the stitching is! It's really fast too! I sew a lot of clothes, and never use decorative stitches (I use a serger to finish edges) and this one can really be used as my primary machine! I highly recommend it to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

they would never use this on PR

02/07/2011
By ,
Northern KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I very rarely write product reviews, however I am writing as a warning especially to beginners about how strongly I recommend against purchasing this product. I understand its inexpensive, which is the only thing going for it. I can not believe that project runway allows this unfunctional, poorly made product to carry its name. They would never use this on PR. Here were my issues: I am a beginner. I know nothing about sewing. I wanted to make curtains and pillows out of some fabulous fabric I purchased. the first time I tried to use it, the tension was so out of whack that it wouldn't even hold a stitch. I had a sewing pro friend come over to help me adjust it and learn the basics. We tried every single setting and still the stitches wouldn't hold. On top of that the bobbin jams almost once per minute, and the fabric gets stuck underfoot. Extremely annoying, as you then have to untangle thread, pull out your seam ripper and remove the stitches, remove and replace the bobbin, and most likely rethread the machine, as the needle comes unthreaded quite often. I called brother customer svc and they recommended taking it to a shop 50 miles away to be repaired- not an option- as it was brand new! It also says it has 20 stitch functions; it has only 2. It is surely not strong enough to do zippers, or any fabric heavier than cotton. I tried a flannel and it was a disaster. As a beginner, the last thing I would want is for you to become too discouraged and quit. Sewing is fun! Get a great machine you can grow into. I recommed the brother cs5000I, it has 70 stitch functions, 5+ feet for different projects, and over 800 great reviews online. For a hundred bucks more you could have a machine that will last many years. Walmart did return my faulty machine with no questions asked, so I gladly purchased a replacement from them, knowing if I had any problems I could return that one as well. Happy sewing! I hope this review is helpful!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Exactly what I was looking for

01/10/2011
By ,
Lockporrt, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for myself for Christmas and it is just what I was looking for. It does many different stitches as well as embroidery. Very eassy to set up and not too heavy. Perfect for beginners.
Right out of the box I made fleece hats and scarves and am getting ready to make little fleece, silky blankets. Love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Lots of features and ships quickly !!!

06/09/2011
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's fast delivery surprised me, first of all. After unpacking and setting it up, the supplied DVD was played. Everything was straightforward and easy after that. Come to think of it, I don't think my experience would have been as nice without that all-important DVD. Having the DVD to watch and help me along and stop me from screwing anything up really made me feel good about the equipment and what I was able to accomplish with it. Absolutely recommended for the low price range that it was in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

AWESOME MACHINE!

03/28/2011
By ,
Edon, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definately recommend this to everyone who wants a great sewing machine! It has all the features any new sewer needs to get started! AWESOME MACHINE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

JUNK

11/28/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought on black friday broken on saturday. Very poorly made! To lightweight to sew anything but cotton, fleece strained the motor and it is no longer running. I think the timing may be off now as well. I will be returning it shortly. My wait in line to buy it was longer than the run time I got out of it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother Limited Edition Project Runway 20-Stitch Function Sewing Machine, LS2250PRW

Excellent Performer!

06/14/2011
By ,
Springfield, VT.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is a great performing, and very easy to use....it is also and excellent value! If your looking for a sewing machine that gets the job done, and dont need a bunch of extra stitches, and enhancements, look no further....this will absolutely put a smile on your face!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next