Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Make lip smacking traditional pot roast and stews effortlessly with the Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker. A great kitchen tool for your busy life, this cooker is all you need to prepare slow-cooked dishes, but without being overcooked or burnt. With four temperature settings, Off, Low, High, and Keep Warm, this Hamilton Beach slow cooker lets you have complete control over the doneness of the food. Made of stoneware, the pot ensures extended durability. The stoneware pot is removable, making for easy cleaning. The glass lid lets you take a peek at the food when it is being cooked. Both the pot and lid can be conveniently washed in the dishwasher, so maintenance is absolutely hassle-free. With a capacity of 5 qt. , this dishwasher safe slow cooker can accommodate as much as two 2 lb. roasts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation90%26 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Love this Slow Cooker

11/23/2012
By ,
Corona, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this slow cooker to replace one that I had for over 20 years. I researched different brands, sizes and styles before settling on this one. I have cooked 2 meals so far and I am very pleased with the outcome. I like the color and style. One of my complaints with my old slow cooker was that the outside got so hot it would burn your hand. This stays a lot cooler. So far I am very happy with my purchase and very, very happy with the price. I used the ship to store and received it in about a week. I highly recommend this slow cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

love this slow cooker

01/29/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews on several sites before deciding on this slow cooker. I did not want to spend a lot, but I wanted a good basic cooker, to feed 4 people. It's very attractive - black with silver. I have been using it now for 3 weeks and everything has come out really well. I've been experimenting with low and high heat, and it will cook a beef stew on low for 8-10 10 hours, and on high heat in 5 hours. I think it's important to read the directions - don't expose the crock pot to extreme temperature changes, and follow recipe and heat directions. My family loves the results. This is a very nice, good-looking basic pot. It doesn't have a lot of bells or whistles - it just does what it is supposed to do, very well. After reading reviews of some of the other brands and models, I am really happy I chose this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

This is a great slow cooker.

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the size 5 qt. it really is the right side for two people, to have left over. Plus a lot of the recipe call for a 5 or 6 qt. Can't beat a Hamilton Beach app.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Great Deal!

12/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been cooking with slow cookers for years and this one is wonderful. I've already used it several times and it's been great. It's a good size, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

operates on the KISS theory...

08/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keep It Simple Stupid. Deisgned and operates exactly as a crock pot should. The Low setting does not overheat and perfect for leaving unattended all day. Nice keep warm setting. Clean up is breeze with an overnight soak or in the dishwasher. No disappointments and all for around $20? Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Awesome product, no worries.

03/15/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple to use, it was what I was looking for. I've already done great ribs that comes off the bones, oatmeal for breakfast, pot roast, etc. Great product I would recommended to anybody that is looking for some extra time in their busy schedule. All you have to do is prepare the meal as usual put it on low in the slow cooker the whole day and no worries. You come back home to a delicious meal.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Bought it for my daughter..

05/13/2011
By ,
Sewell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this crockpot for my daughter when it was on sale for an outrageously low price. She loves it, tells me all the time how great it cooks. I knew she'd like it because I have had one for a couple of year and love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

cooks very nicely

06/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the slow cooker it is easy to clean,easy to use and you can adapt any receipe to fit the cookers .
would recommend this product to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

So far, so good!

08/26/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just cooked our first meal in the new slow cooker, and it came out great. Our old cooker seemed to be overheating, and it would have overcooked (slightly burned) this meat loaf, but it was evenly cooked and done just right in this one. I didn't rate Durability because we haven't had it long enough, but it's off to a good start!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

works wonderd

04/17/2011
By ,
Philly
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i jus used my slow cooker for the first time today 4/17/11 n im making a lil pot roast n its tends to b workinh jus fine. I can not wait cook more in my slow cooker ,:)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black
10/22/2013
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The chicken is done and the roast is tender. Easiest crockpot to wash. Hope it lasts a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Priced Right

11/05/2013
By ,
Joshua Tree, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with the cooker in both appearance and functionality. I appreciate the ease of care as the crock can be removed and is easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

one I got was not good

07/28/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't know if the standards have been lowered for crock pots but this one the lid did not sit on the crock properly. If the lid is not going to make a seal all the way around it how is it suppose to cook the food. The lid could actually rocks on it. Maybe I just got a bad one. But I wouldn't try another.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

waste of engery

12/21/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The base takes forever to heat up the inner pot. Then it takes forever for the food to warm or cook. Yes it is a slow cooker but after 2 hours and on high my food was still cold even after stirring.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Its how you are using it..
Posted 08/28/2013
You are NOT suppose to take the lid off and stir...Thats how a crock pot works, it builds up the heat inside, once you open it, its like starting all over again....and yes it does take all day to cook so if you think it will be done in a couple of hours, then this is not for you....Sorry
0points
Customer Avatar
Redding area
Getting hot
Posted 07/06/2012
Unless your food was frozen, it sounds like you just got a bad pot. It happens.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

One flaw keeps this from being great

10/17/2012
By ,
Naperville, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One flaw keeps this slow cooker from being great. I do not like the vent in the glass lid. I had to plug it with foil to make sure my pot roast would be done. This was after 4 hours of cooking. Will be returning this item today. Want a slow cooker with the regular glass lid.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black
12/29/2011
By ,
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Large interior with a powerful warming setting; Could overcook whatever is in the pot. I have not yet tried the low or high settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black
08/29/2013
By ,
Brooklyn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome price, does the job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Happy cooking

03/17/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it only once so far,but it worked really well. I look forward to making more meals in this cooker. It is a time saver and does not use as much energy as using the electric stove for eight hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

great great price for a slow cooker

11/28/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what my daughter was looking for!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Slow Cooker, Black
12/09/2012
By ,
pgh, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good price does what it should
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next