Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sunbeam Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Bask in instant, sun-like radiant heat with this floor-standing quartz heater. The Sunbeam tower heater will have you warm in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation57%40 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Finally A Great Heater!

11/30/2010
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent weeks looking for a good heater. I live in an upstairs converted attic space in a house that is 80 years old. Needless to say, it is hot in the summer and freezing in the winter. I tried 4 different heaters from several different stores and they were all horrible. The heaters would feel warm if you were standing right in front of them but wouldn't really warm up the living space. I finally saw this heater at Walmart and noticed that it had a blower built into it along with radiant heat. Although the fan is small, it really heats up my upstairs attic space. I was shocked!!! I plugged it in and waited 1 hour. My room was warm within 45 min's. Within 2 hours it was so hot that I had to turn off the heater. It drops into the 30's where I live and this heater is perfect. The cord doesn't get hot either which was another problem I noticed with other heaters. Sunbeam brand has been around for awhile and I knew their heated blankets were good. This product is even better. I would also suggest putting plastic at your windows if you need the added warmth. I did this and it really helped. Buy this heater! You'll love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 2 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Great heater!!!

01/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My father surprised us with this heater ~ 3-weeks ago. He liked his so much that he had to buy one for my brother and me. I'll have to dually agree and that's why I'm giving this review. Like everyone else, it seems, I've become more conscious of my thermostat settings and turned to heating areas of the house (that we use the most often) rather than trying to heat the whole house. We use it in a 22'X13 room with great results. Typically it runs on low (750w) with even/consistent heat, fairly quiet and easy to move around as needed.
The coils do rattle a bit when it's first turned on, but this is to be expected and is stated in the directions and on a sticker on the heater itself.
I have a few different types/styles of heaters....Fan/coil, oil filled radiator ... and think this is the way to go. Thinking back, I remember my grandparents had an older box/quartz heater and that thing worked like a charm . If you can find one and have a month or so of cold weather left...I'd pick one up!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Broke in 2 weeks

01/16/2012
By ,
South Hill, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this heater because I have a drafty living room and on the box it stated that this was good for drafty rooms. I took it home and turned it on, it took a while for this to warm up the room and it was kind of noisy and loud. A week into having this heater I noticed at glance there were some dents in the metal cover and just thought that it was part of the design, which really didn't affect the heater. Another week into it as the nights got colder.... about 27 degrees colder the heater just stopped working, I thought it had reached it's thermostat heat which I normally put it between the 3rd and 4th dot, but that was not the case. The red light was on but the heating elements weren't on, so I turned it off and unplugged it. The next day I plugged it in again and the light came on but the heating elements weren't on again, apparently it had seemed to burn itself out. I am very disappointed with this heater just for the fact that I have a lasko oscillating heater that I bought about 3 years ago that has outlasted this bigger sized quartz heater.... now I'm stuck with a heater that doesn't work... :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Very poor product

12/03/2011
By ,
SE Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this a week before Thanksgiving and thought it was going to be a great purchase. Found out less than 7 days later how wrong I was. Like others here it worked fine at first. I only used it in the evening for an hour or two. Then one evening it just quit working. I read the booklet and followed the instructions to "reset" - nothing happened. Tried again the next day - still dead. Will not buy another one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 5 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Quartz Heat

11/08/2010
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater warmed up our family room, dining room and bedroom on a cold day. We haven't had to turn on the central heat, either. Fan makes a bit on noise but you won't have to turn up the TV sound. 1500w and 750 w.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Review 6 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Quit working after a month!

01/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this heater several years ago to heat our master/br & bathroom, but during the first season, the high setting quit working. You could turn it on high, but after a few minutes, it would shut off. So you could only run it on low.That basically made the heater worthless because the low setting puts out little heat. Over the next few years we bought other heaters, which worked fine, but I really did like this heater when the high setting worked. So, we figured after a few years, the company would've fixed the glitch, and we bought a new one. In about 30 days, the heater (while on high )just cut off. I couldn't believe it. We let the heater cool and tried again, but the same thing. Now we ended up with a second heater that only works on low, and that is completely worthless. I would absolutley not recommend this heater. I know some people have had ones that have lasted and worked great, but 2 out of 2 times for us is way too many times to be a coincidence! Last year, we bought a Lasko Digital Ceramic Tower Heater, and we have run that thing to death, but it is still running solid! We like the heater - it really warms our large bedroom, it just takes a little longer than the quartz heater did. We really just bought the quartz heater again to warm the bathroom quickly in the morning. As I said before, since the Quartz heater quit working on high, it definitely does not warm our bathroom unless we leave it on in there for several hours!! Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Awful Heater

02/10/2012
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 5 of these heaters to put around my home in various rooms. All 5 heaters started out working fine the first evening used. By the second evening of use, all 5 heaters showed similiar problems. None of the heaters thermostats seemed to work properly if set above the half dot mark. The heaters thermostat set above the half dot mark would just constantly run and never shut off no matter how hot it got in the rooms. I returned all 5 heaters for an exchange of 5 new heaters. All 5 new heaters after 2 days of use had the same thermostat issues. I returned those 5 heaters for a refund & will never purchase these heaters again. My advice, do not purchase this heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Just Quits in less than 30 days

11/15/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this heater on the 18th of October and it worked fine for my large room area and it just shuts off on Nov. 14th, I thought it went into cool down mode or something but it never came back on.I tried unplugging it and waiting a while but nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 9 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Garbage

01/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My review is simple, these heaters are garbage.
I purchased 5 of them and every single one has failed.
When running they perform brilliantly, but the hi/low switch malfunctions within minutes and they shut down.
Seems from the reviews many have better luck than I, how's your luck been lately?
I strongly suggest not buying these heaters.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Review 10 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Love it!

11/04/2010
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Love it! I use it in my bathroom. I turn it on about 10-15 minutes before my shower and its warm in no time. It definitely knocks the chill off in the room and I don't have to set my thermostat as high in the house. Perfect for warming up small spaces!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 11 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Just quit on us, after 2 weeks.

11/23/2011
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this thing, and were immediately impressed by how well it worked. Then it quit on us. We haven't been able to get this heater to work at all for a week now, either on low or high. Plug it in, turn it on, the little light comes on, and nothing. I'd recommend staying away from Sunbeam altogether, it's just not reliable enough to count on when you want it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

quit working within 2 months

05/09/2012
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This heater gets very hot. It first stopped working in the high setting then totally stopped working all together within 2 months of purchasing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 13 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Works For a few days or weeks ....

10/09/2012
By ,
Johnson city, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been thru 3 of these heaters , all 3 times the thermostat went out with in days or few weeks of replacement. I would not use this heater again if it was free!!! Bought a smaller cheaper Sunbeam Electric Flat Panel Ceramic Heater, SCH2100-WM instead of 4th exchange works just as good. I use it only in the winter, and it just started its 3rd year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 14 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

It lasted 14 months!

12/21/2011
By ,
Shreveport, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked pretty good in a drafty room in a 60 year old house, ie. 35 degrees outside/58-62 degrees inside. Yesterday, 12/19/2011, it cycled off like it had reached my preset rom temp and never came back on. OH well, I got a year and 2 months out of it, HUH; just after the warranty runs out. Good thing I still had my smaller heater that I've had for almost ten years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Not very good product

01/03/2011
By ,
Dallas,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry to say but I don't recommend this product
because it did not work.I had to take it back and
exchange it for a different one.The item would
turn on and suddenly turn off on its own.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Good Product, I would buy again

12/22/2012
By ,
Conway, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the unit without the fan but was delivered the fan or maybe both sunbeam quartz heaters have max flow fans. It is fortunate the low setting of fan is very, very low output since the fan must be on for the unit to turn on. Stupid design by sunbeam to have a quartz/radiant heater with a fan.
It is much lighter than ones I have purchased before that were made of metal. It can be easily moved and held with one hand. I have not noticed the cord getting hot and I check frequently but I do not have it running constantly.
The only issue I have so far is with the "thermostat". No specific settings on it and varies widely on the positions of the "thermostat". I haven't determined if it just randomly turns on and off, if it based on a time period, or if it actually senses a temperature. Other than this, it has worked like a champ.
It is only used as supplement heat not to heat a room or house. I use it at night for my grandson in his crib and when he is playing on the floor where it is cooler. It is great for this purpose and I don't think it would be good as a primary source of heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Good price, GREAT heater

11/07/2010
By ,
Panama City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in the panhandle of Florida where it can drop off in temperature rather quickly (from 80 to 32 degrees in 2 days); bought this heater 2 years ago and have used it every winter since. It keeps our bedroom (12x15) nice and toasty so we can turn the 'big' heater in the house down and save energy (saves us about $75 a month in heating costs). It does help to set it up on top of something sturdy to help it circulate the heat through the room. The temperature dial is wonderful and turns the heater off when the room is at the desired setting. We originally bought this heater for our business but it DOES NOT do well in a concrete block building that absorbs the cold. The heater does rattle a bit when it first comes on and the glow of the ceramic inserts takes a few nights to get used to, but I would definately recommend this heater to anyone looking for a warming solution in 1-2 small rooms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Unit kicks off on high

01/18/2013
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of these units. One of them kicks off at random times. The other kicks off if you place it on the number (2) setting. If you want to stay cold during the winter, buy this product. It will ensure a very cool home.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Great Heater

12/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one Sunbeam Quartz Tower tonight to replace some ceramic heaters. I was using 5 ceramic heaters to keep a 14' x 60' trailer heated and the ceramic heaters was not keeping the trailer above 68 degrease. I heard about quartz heaters through a friend. I only have the Sunbeam Quartz Tower running and in about 2 hours it was over 70 degrease in the trailer. I highly recommend this heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 20 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1

Very durable product

12/14/2010
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had 2 of these for 2+ years and they are still going strong. That is very much a miracle since my significant other has melted several other heaters.
They work well in rooms with doors partially shut heating the entire room and rooms that are open like a living room they will heat the general area.
I have recommended multiple times and would purchase again in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next