Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Sunbeam Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

With its sleek design and small build, the Sunbeam Portable Bathroom Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug is a convenient way to heat up a room in your home without using a large amount of energy. This bathroom-safe heater features a comfortable range of settings that will allow you to adjust the temperature to suit your needs. The bathroom electric heater comes with a specially designed plug that provides safe power. A secure choice for most any setting, the Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug will warm a room and is wall mountable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.386 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%117 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 84 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Not what I expected

11/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was not as I expected - would not fit well in our tiny bathroom wall space due to 1940's construction issues This does not plug directly into the outlet on our wall, you have to use the corded plug and either mount it (which didn't work for our funky old bathroom) or use on a counter or the floor. You need to unplug it when not in use. There is one button that you push over and over to get to the right setting that you want. I chose this heater as it was the smallest one I could find to replace a direct plug in (no cord) bath heater. We only have one bath outlet that is high up on the wall in which the outlet box sticks out quite a ways from the wall and really need a direct plug in heater/fan. I liked that it had a nice built in carry handle. It did throw some good heat (not too excessive) but noticed some "extra" unnecessary noise when cycling through the push buttons a second time while trying it out.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Not exactly what I was expecting.

11/16/2013
By ,
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is one button for everything. You have to run through every setting to get to the one you want every time you turn the heater on. I got the heater for my bathroom because of the bathroom safe plug. It comes with a mount to be mounted on the wall so I didn't have to leave it on the floor and I like that. I haven't yet figured out how to get the heater to maintain a temp in the bathroom and I am not real keen on leaving it on overnight until I understand how it comes on and off. The bathroom is small but this heater doesn't seem to be able to heat much more than below the knee level. To turn the unit off you either have to scroll through all the temps and levels until it turns off or hold the button in for about 2 or 3 seconds. When you turn it back on it comes on 5 degrees higher than when it was turned off so you have to scroll all the way back through until you get to the temp you want again. It is basically a decent small heater. My main problem with it is the one button for everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Good Little Heater

09/11/2014
By ,
Riggins, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in an older home heated by propane wall heat. We changed everything to electric but last year winter hit before we changed out the wall units from gas/propane to electric. I bought two of these heaters, one for the living area and one for the front office, and I'm now ordering two more for a couple of other rooms in the house. These heaters kept our home so cozy I'm now sure when we'll get around to installing the "real" electric heat. There are five heat settings, 60 - 80 degrees and it takes me about 4 seconds to set mine on 70, that's where it's comfortable for us, and ours goes off & on and keeps the room at a very even temperature. Keep in mind, our home is insulated very well and our blood may run a little warmer than others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Warmness

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome heater. Had it 3 years now and always puts out heat. Puts more heat than the other 2 I have, not sunbeam. best heater for the money. By the way my house is huge so I supplement the space with this one. I also use it in the bedrooms (12x12) and it cranks the heat until it becomes a sweat lodge if you want it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Good heater but...

09/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Been using these for several years (4 in a 900 sq ft house) and have experienced a considerable cost saving over my inefficient central heating system but have experienced having them work one day only to have them not work the next.
I discovered that the PLUG had failed (I'm clueless as to why) on 3 units (at different time). Replaced with a Hubbell (Lowes) p/n 5965VYRZ hinged plug rated at 15 amps and 'saved' the three heaters.
Also my heaters accumulate quite a bit of dust and need to be cleaned, even to the point of taking them apart to clean the fan blades, probably because my carpet is old and and shedding.
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Rv

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this little heater because it had such good reviews for our 24' camper. It really puts out the heart. We have only used it when we are packing the camper, so far. It heats the whole camper very well. One of my concerns is, when we set it on the floor, the floor gets very warm. Concerned It might eventually cause the glue to release under the flooring. My husband built a little stand to put it on so it is off the floor, about 8". We are really happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Well Worth It!

11/14/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this heater as the only source of heat in our bedroom at night. Our bedroom is 12X12. I set it to Low 70 and it does an amazing job, at times we have had to turn it down to 65 since it warms the room so well. We have used it every night for the past 3 weeks with no problems.
Walmart also sells a Sunbeam heater for $15, that one works well too.
I also own a Bionaire Silent Micathermic heater and a large baseboard heater by Honeywell. This Sunbeam heater is my favorite and warms the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Not intended to use in the bathroom!

01/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over all, it's very good heater for the price. So far, it's been working properly after I bought it for a month. But it states in the Instruction Manual that "This heater is not intended to use in the bathroom, laundry room...". I was very disappointed. I bought this heater because I thought I could use it in the bathroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Best Portable Heater

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best portable heater. I've been using these for the last 10 years. It's amazing how you set it and it get to that temperature & keeps it at that temp.. I used it in the 12 x 16 den for my company; they were comfortable and decided to purchase 3 of these for themselves for their home. It's lightweight, safe plug and sure does it's job; love how the fan blows out the warm air making you very comfortable. It's very much so worth the price. i wish all heaters, etc. had the thermostats on them like this one. Another thing is this one mounts on the wall; it only takes 2 screws to put the mount on the wall. It's so easy to do and has the heater, wires etc. out of the way. Excellent product, excellent buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Great product!

10/16/2012
By ,
Greenfield, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our daughters room which is very cold during the winter. Even though we have the heat on for the entire house, it seemed to never keep her room a descent temp. This heater did just the thing! Nothing on it is metal, so it doesn't get hot like others we have seen in the past. We have had this Sunbeam heater for almost 3 yrs now and it still works like its brand new. My favorite part is how it turns off when it gets the room to the desired temp and will turn back on to regulate that temp. This year we are actually going to purchase 2 more of these for our bedroom and living room so we can take it easy on the furnace and have lower gas bills this winter since it will be a very cold one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Just what we needed

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just a small, lightweight, but safe heater. it warms up the bathroom on chilly mornings, and also is easily moved to my home office on chilly evenings. It's nothing fancy, but does the job, and didn't blow a fuse!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Little heater with big power

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The heater heats up my living within 20 mins of turning it on. This was a good buy and I think I'm going to get another one for my bedroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Small Sunbeam Heater

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for our small bathroom. Now we don't have to hear up the whole house when mom takes a shower.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

1 works, 1 quit after 2 weeks

01/21/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
one works well in my living room, about 12X24, keeps it around 68 degrees with no other heater, even when feels like -20 outside, second one used in basement same size, wouldnt keep it 60 degrees and quit in 13 days, so I guess it depends on if you get a good one or a bad one, electric bill only went up about $18 but we did have an increase in the price per Kw hour, so probably not much. Good luck getting a good one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Portable Heater

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for as a bathroom heater. Like the built-in GFI. Heats small area very quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Inexpensive and IT WORKS!

11/05/2012
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do have to admit that I buy a new one almost every year because after one season of constant use the units seem to give out. Normally, I would be peeved; however, due to the price, it's not a deal-breaker. I have used this as my only heat source for the last 5 winters and my heater from 2 years ago is still holding up! I like the one touch control system and I like the ability to set the fan to either high or low. Personally, I leave it at 65 to 70 on low and let the thermostat take control. It cycles on and off as needed. I would caution that if you're attempting to get a cold room warm right away you may be disappointed initially. This is just not a big enough heater for that task. If you can leave it on at 60 when you leave in the morning and adjust it when you get home the room it is in should be nice and toasty. I've had this in a large 12 x 12 room and I do keep it near me but the room itself does get warm and stay warm but it takes a while. As to the cost of running it every day, it is literally just pennies a day. I was surprised but my electric bills during the winter are affordable and this certainly beats the price of propane.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Suggested leaving on
Posted 10/17/2013
NO one should ever leave any space heater on & leave it unattended! Not good advice!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Love this item

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well. This is the 4th one I own.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Its just as its name Sunbeam

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater warms up really good. Not like some expensive heaters that cost so much and don't warm up at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Pretty good for a small heater

01/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is doing a nice job in our bath room. . I like that it has a wall mount that is easy to do, and one can do both Low and High like a normal small heater .. as well as set temperature for thermostatic control. It is also relatively quiet, specially on Low.
I would like the High/low/Off and the thermostat settings to be on a different switch.. it is a bit of a problem to have to run through all options when you just want to change the temperature setting.
For those who don't read the manual.. to turn it off hold the Single button down for 3 seconds.. when you turn it back on, it will restart at which ever setting you had before.
A good solution for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

excellent value

12/25/2013
By ,
central michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
in December 2013 Michigan had the worst ice storm in 100 years. no power anywhere. I hooked this heater up to my generator and run it non stop for 4 and a half days. I had my living room and kitchen isolated from the rest of the house. the temperature outside was in the lower teens but it kept my two rooms at 52 degrees. amazing for its size and price. it never overheated or had any problems. I will be buying another so I have 2 for next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next