Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Sunbeam Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

With its sleek design and small build, the Sunbeam Portable Bathroom Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug is a convenient way to heat up a room in your home without using a large amount of energy. This bathroom-safe heater features a comfortable range of settings that will allow you to adjust the temperature to suit your needs. The bathroom electric heater comes with a specially designed plug that provides safe power. A secure choice for most any setting, the Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug will warm a room and is wall mountable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%69 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 80 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Good Little Heater

09/11/2014
By ,
Riggins, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in an older home heated by propane wall heat. We changed everything to electric but last year winter hit before we changed out the wall units from gas/propane to electric. I bought two of these heaters, one for the living area and one for the front office, and I'm now ordering two more for a couple of other rooms in the house. These heaters kept our home so cozy I'm now sure when we'll get around to installing the "real" electric heat. There are five heat settings, 60 - 80 degrees and it takes me about 4 seconds to set mine on 70, that's where it's comfortable for us, and ours goes off & on and keeps the room at a very even temperature. Keep in mind, our home is insulated very well and our blood may run a little warmer than others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Not exactly what I was expecting.

11/16/2013
By ,
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is one button for everything. You have to run through every setting to get to the one you want every time you turn the heater on. I got the heater for my bathroom because of the bathroom safe plug. It comes with a mount to be mounted on the wall so I didn't have to leave it on the floor and I like that. I haven't yet figured out how to get the heater to maintain a temp in the bathroom and I am not real keen on leaving it on overnight until I understand how it comes on and off. The bathroom is small but this heater doesn't seem to be able to heat much more than below the knee level. To turn the unit off you either have to scroll through all the temps and levels until it turns off or hold the button in for about 2 or 3 seconds. When you turn it back on it comes on 5 degrees higher than when it was turned off so you have to scroll all the way back through until you get to the temp you want again. It is basically a decent small heater. My main problem with it is the one button for everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Inexpensive and IT WORKS!

11/05/2012
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do have to admit that I buy a new one almost every year because after one season of constant use the units seem to give out. Normally, I would be peeved; however, due to the price, it's not a deal-breaker. I have used this as my only heat source for the last 5 winters and my heater from 2 years ago is still holding up! I like the one touch control system and I like the ability to set the fan to either high or low. Personally, I leave it at 65 to 70 on low and let the thermostat take control. It cycles on and off as needed. I would caution that if you're attempting to get a cold room warm right away you may be disappointed initially. This is just not a big enough heater for that task. If you can leave it on at 60 when you leave in the morning and adjust it when you get home the room it is in should be nice and toasty. I've had this in a large 12 x 12 room and I do keep it near me but the room itself does get warm and stay warm but it takes a while. As to the cost of running it every day, it is literally just pennies a day. I was surprised but my electric bills during the winter are affordable and this certainly beats the price of propane.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Suggested leaving on
Posted 10/17/2013
NO one should ever leave any space heater on & leave it unattended! Not good advice!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Well Worth It!

11/14/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this heater as the only source of heat in our bedroom at night. Our bedroom is 12X12. I set it to Low 70 and it does an amazing job, at times we have had to turn it down to 65 since it warms the room so well. We have used it every night for the past 3 weeks with no problems.
Walmart also sells a Sunbeam heater for $15, that one works well too.
I also own a Bionaire Silent Micathermic heater and a large baseboard heater by Honeywell. This Sunbeam heater is my favorite and warms the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

excellent value

12/25/2013
By ,
central michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
in December 2013 Michigan had the worst ice storm in 100 years. no power anywhere. I hooked this heater up to my generator and run it non stop for 4 and a half days. I had my living room and kitchen isolated from the rest of the house. the temperature outside was in the lower teens but it kept my two rooms at 52 degrees. amazing for its size and price. it never overheated or had any problems. I will be buying another so I have 2 for next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Great product!

10/16/2012
By ,
Greenfield, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our daughters room which is very cold during the winter. Even though we have the heat on for the entire house, it seemed to never keep her room a descent temp. This heater did just the thing! Nothing on it is metal, so it doesn't get hot like others we have seen in the past. We have had this Sunbeam heater for almost 3 yrs now and it still works like its brand new. My favorite part is how it turns off when it gets the room to the desired temp and will turn back on to regulate that temp. This year we are actually going to purchase 2 more of these for our bedroom and living room so we can take it easy on the furnace and have lower gas bills this winter since it will be a very cold one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

great product

12/29/2010
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two of these heaters (one in our family room and one in a guest bedroom). No need if we are watching a movie in our family room to heat the entire house. We like it cool when we sleep, so our guests can set the temperature in the guestroom as they desire and be comfortable. We mounted them on the wall and they are out of the way, but work wonderful. The thermostat is a great feature. Love, Love, Love, this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Great space heater.

12/18/2013
By ,
lakewood,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this space heater!!! I purchased the space heater at Costco that they sell every winter and was always nervous about keeping it on when I wasn't in the room. It also made this loud scary noise if it got too hot. So I decided to get this sunbeam portable heater for my bedroom. It's little but boy does it give off some heat. I love the way it adjusts when it gets to the desired temperature. I also feel very safe and can sleep all night with it on while feeling comfortable. I'm buying my nephew one for Xmas. You won't be disappointed!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

GREAT/ little buy

10/11/2013
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this @ local wal-mat for half the price online. It is a little fan, but do not let that fool you, this little heater puts out heat, always sit in bathroom door, never in the bathroom near water etc. This little fellow I believe would heat up a small room. You cannot beat the price & it has a safety deal on the plug-in. This is a great buy for fast heat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
RETURNED IT BECAUSE
Posted 11/23/2013
I WOULD onLy RECOMMEND THIS FOR A BATHROOM, & then IT CUTS ON & OFF TOO MUCH, IT RUNS APPROX 5 MIN & SHUTS OFF APPROX 10 TO 15 MIN. I tried it out when it was warm weather & when the morning started getting colder, forget it! There are NOT many space heaters that can warm large areas & my whole central heating unit went, so if some reviews say they are supplementing it with their heat fine, if not standing alone, NO, NO No you will get cold! Its not much!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

great product

11/06/2010
By ,
Kings mountain,N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this heater is super. I sit it on the table and the fan has so much force that it moves the celling fan.It heats the room and turns off with the thermostat.great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

DOES WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO DO

12/26/2013
By ,
waldorf, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this heater for a bathroom. Works great and heats up fast. Good little investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Very good little space heater

11/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased before last winter to replace an older model space heater. Last winter was very cold and this little heater held up well and is going into it's second winter of use. I have an 80 square foot bathroom I use it in.
If using this in a small room it's the heater for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

WARMTH!!!!

01/26/2011
By ,
Lebanon, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally - warmth!! I am always cold at my desk at work due to windows behind me and air flow from vents above me. I borrowed this space heater from a co-worker and I am now toasty. It puts out a good amount of heat and it is sitting several feet behind me. I am definitely going to purchase one of my own for work, and purchase one for my bedroom at home as it is the coldest room in the house due to the fact it used to be a garage and whomever turned it into a room did not do very good quality work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Great Space Heater!

10/30/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these. Use one in our bathroom to get toasty warm when showering, and another in our RV. The controlled temp settings is perfect for the RV to set it & forget it! Auto shut off & back on is great & noise is not an issue, very quiet. Great for smaller rooms only. Have had both heaters for several years now, work perfectly & glad to see their still available if I want more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Little heater that could

02/13/2013
By ,
North Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My girlfriend called me and said a rat had gotten in the house (country living, yay) and before it was dealt with, it had chewed through the cord of the coil heater in her kids' room and started a fire. Being that the nights are still terribly cold here, I didn't want her kids to get cold, or have to sleep with mom. She was using the dryer all night as a heat source for them, so I looked on line for a cheap, reliable heater. I found this one and ordered it with instore pickup. Since I couldn't get there to pick it out and bring it to her myself. It was ready in less than an hour and she got it with no problems at all. (I had set up the pick up in her name and email). The heater works great! The kids' room stays at about 70 degrees or so, and we mounted it on the wall to prevent future rat happenings. There hasn't been any problems with it, the heater is lightweight and easy to mount and the heat and thermostat work perfect for the room. If needed I would buy one for each of the bedrooms and the kitchen. Luckily though, that isn't an issue needing facing right now. If you need a single room heater and don't want to spend a ton... this is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Not for Bathrooms

10/24/2013
By ,
New Orleans, La
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product thinking that it can be used in a bathroom, however the instructions from the company states that it is not to be used in bathrooms. It seems to be a good heater otherwise, so I can only give it 3 stars because of the misguided statement by Walmart on its use as a bath heater. Could not recommend to a friend because I have just purchased it and need time to evaluate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/17/2013
That is why it's wall mountable so it CAN go in a bathroom. It has a bathroom safe plug. The law states that they are required to maintain that it cannot be use in a bathroom. I use it in mine and it's never been a problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

Great Unit

11/01/2012
By ,
Bethesda, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my bedroom. Love it. Quiet, makes a lot of heat, and the thermostat keep the room a constant temp. Good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

BATHROOM NO LONGER COLD

01/11/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live on top floor of ten-story high-rise, so cold air escapes through the vent inwardly. I mounted this heater on the wall beneath the vent, and it works wonderfully with thermostat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

I use it every time it gets cold out

12/18/2013
By ,
Rapid City, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunbeam Portable Heater with Bathroom-Safe Plug SFH442-WM1

good little heater

12/08/2013
By ,
78132
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this heater two week ago it does the job it could blow a little harder
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next