Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Reese Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Reese Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

The Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag expands your vehicle's cargo capacity and keeps gear safe and protected. It installs over the crossbars in the car's top and keeps your luggage covered and protected from dirt, rain, wind other elements you encounter while on the road. This car top carrier bag provides 15 cubic feet of additional cargo space and helps you reclaim space inside the car for a more comfortable travel experience. Easy to install, it includes all the required hardware for keeping the bag securely and firmly in place. Not only rainproof, this car top bag also uses durable UV- proof material that prevents it from fading under the rays of the sun, even on long drives on bright days. It features four security straps that help fasten the car top bag securely in place so it weathers even demanding road trips with high speeds and sharp turns. It folds down to a compact size for easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.184 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%77 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Met needs

01/09/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The carrier accomplished what we needed - more room in our vehicle. We had many suitcases and lots of Christmas presents to carry. The carrier was easy to use, was sturdy and got everything there safely. We did notice 30% less gas mileage - not very aerodynamic. We drove from Indiana to Minnesota.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag
08/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently drove from PA to NC for vacation. We have a Jeep Patriot and are a family of 5. We needed more storage space for luggage. After researching we purchased this soft top carrier because of the price and it's guarantee to be waterproof. Our jeep only has side rails. I purchased some wench straps to secure the bag as the straps that are included appeared inadequate. On the way to NC we drove through some of the heaviest rain I have ever experienced. It rained so hard we had to drive 35 in a 70 mph zone for at least 45 minutes. When we arrived at the beach I expected the worse. I was surprised that no water had penetrated the carrier. All our clothes and other accessories were dry. We were able to fit 4 large duffle bags, 2 backpacks, 3 boogie boards, and 2 beach chairs in the carrier with room to spare. The carrier made no noise during travel and there appeared to be no compromise in our gas mileage. This bag was worth it's weight in gold. I highly recommend this product. Why pay $400.00 for a hard top carrier when you can get the same performance out of this carrier at under $50.00. Excellent value and worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boston Ma
Posted 06/05/2013
What a very helpful review! Thank you!! :D
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Reese Rainproof Cargo Bag

07/15/2012
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought two of these bags. Used the first bag for two different trips from GA to Tampa, FL and it performed well. Purchased a second bag (identical Reese Bag) for a subsequent trip and needed more storage room. I noticed halfway into my drive down that the bag was ripped open in the back - not sure why this bag fell apart. It appears it is due to cheap plastic material used to manufacture this bag. Tomorrow i plan to return this second bag back to the store for a refund.
i have mixed feelings about whether to recommend this bag or not.
Pros: Cheaper than the competition
On the surface the bag appears to be made well, with heavy duty zippers.
Definitely water proof, as long as the bag doesn't fall apart.
Con's: Suspect plastic material used to make this bag.
1 of 2 bags has literally fallen apart (and the tear DID NOT occur at a stress point (i.e. where the straps connect to the bag; nor at a seam, or where the zipper is attached to the bag)
I will next look for a "canvass" type cargo bag, hoping this will perhaps be a stronger bag than one that is made out of plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Holds more than we thought and no leaks

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
900 mile trip with some rain, no leaks and everything stayed dry and secure. Very happy with this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great Product

12/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great topper...My family just traveled from Florida to Va and back through snow and rain with no issues. We were able to pack in 3 small bags of clothes, a pack n' play, and two small/medium sized suit cases. I was initially concerned as the manual instructs you to attach to crossbars and we do not have any on our 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee luggage rack but it worked fine just attaching to the side bars... Easy to use and packs away small when done (comes with storage bag that takes up approx 10"x12"x6").
Would recommend to anyone traveling with family!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+197points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag
08/16/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very roomy. We were able to put 4 airline sized carry-on suitcases and my husbands large duffle bag into the carrier with room to stuff a few small items for our trip to the shore. With a family of six this was important as there really isn't space in the vehicle. We then used it to carry 3-40 packs of water, 6 cases of soda, and all the plates, cups, bowls and utensils to our family reunion. More than served its purpose. In addition, we did have rain on both trips and had no issue of wet luggage.
The only reason I did not give it a perfect rating is because one of the plastic feeds on one of the straps broke when attaching it on the day of the reunion. Fortunately we always carry Ratchet straps which, perhaps, should have come with it anyway. Overall we are very satisfied to date with our few uses, and I'm certainly hopeful it stands the test of time for future uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Didn't last one 7 hour trip...waste of money

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this deluxe garbage bag (along with a great and practical wire cargo basket from a different company to provide more support and security) to allow for more space in our car for a family trip...7 hours one-way. Used 1 time, packed well, strapped it down securely...arrive at destination with a large basketball size hole in the black vinyl with the white nylon shredded underneath...TRASH. Will be looking for a different brand and more of a sturdy canvas built rather than vinyl. Waste of money. Contacted customer service to describe issue. No longer covered by warranty because my initial use was after 1 year: but, even if within 1 year, I would have to return the carrier bag, at my expense, for review to see if they could repair it...I'm out of luck. But, wouldn't waste my dime if I had only known...Sequint Consumer Products is the sister company of Reese...no help
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great for the price!

06/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waterproof thick material.
Washed easily
Easy to lift up, attach and remove.
Would fit on almost anything
Great size
Goes flat nicely on top of car
Wished the zipper was nicer. Heavy duty but hard to zip.
Wished straps had a 'lock'or catxh to keep it from slipping looser. Did well over long hours but was slightly looser in wind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Awesome product!

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had to take 2 kids to college in 2 different states and REALLY wanted to do it one car. At the last minute we picked this carrier up at Walmart and it was worth every penny. We put 3 very large trash bags full of clothes and 3 other duffel bags in it. Strapped it down using only the straps provided then proceeded to drive 750 miles. It never even shifted on our roof, remained securely fastened the whole time . It rained, everything stayed dry. We were THRILLED
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great Buy

06/15/2011
By ,
lorton, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this about a month back from Walmart. This is an excellent piece of roof top carrier for that price. We went from Virginia to Michigan and at some point it was really raining, but we didn't find any leakage. Huge space inside to put lots of big items(don't forget your roof capacity). Easy to install (infact there is nothing to install).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Terrific Rooftop Cargo Bag!

07/22/2013
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched several more expensive rooftop cargo options at various sporting goods stores and then came across this item at Walmart. Stop looking, save your time, and buy this one! This cargo bag is a great value and made of a thick high-quality vinyl/plastic material (not a nylon mesh like many others). It was easy to install and fit perfectly in the rack on top of our Chevy Tahoe. It zips on two sides, so there's always a way to access it once it's up on the roof. The first time I used it was on a 10-hour road trip, with rain, and it was excellent. Afterward, everything was dry! The best thing about it is, after your trip, you can hose off the bugs and dirt, wipe it off, fold it up, and store it away easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

GREAT! AND RAIN PROOF!

08/15/2011
By ,
west virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the last minute before our vacation a week ago we purchased this product. This was our first time using any type of roof top bag. My husband easily put this on our Hyundai Tuscon - it's as easy as setting it on top and loading it up, then tying the straps to secure it. He did a good job tying it, but I was still paranoid it would fly off as we were going 80mph down the highway! We crisscrossed bungee cords in an "X" over top of the bag (hooked to our roof top rails) as an extra measure to secure it and it worked absolutely perfect. Barely wiggled at all the entire trip. We did have to tighten the straps whenever we stopped for gas or break. They weren't ever close to being completely loose, but a small pull to tighten them.
We had a medium sized storage bin, large piece of luggage, 3 boogie boards, and some odds and ends pieces -- and still had room to spare.
We put the bag on the rooftop the night before we were leaving, and it rained. We had to open the bag to finish loading (not raining at that point) and found that it was completely dry inside. As we got on the road, it rained, hard, for the entire 4 hrs we drove that day. I was very nervous thinking of the other reviews I had read on here that it was NOT rain proof...It continued raining all day/night and again rained a lot on our travels the following day. From the time we packed the bag (Sat a.m.) we did not open it until Monday afternoon. IT WAS COMPLETELY DRY!!
I definately recommend this product -- my husband and I were talking we were glad we didn't spend hundreds of dollars on a roof top carrier when this $40 one worked so well! We did leave it and the stuff in it on our vehicle the two nights we stopped at a hotel, and also for an extended period in downtown Baltimore and Washington DC. We locked the zippers with a luggage lock. But anyone that really wanted to mess with it could have untied it, cut it with knife, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great value

04/18/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had an opportunity to use the car top storage bag, however, we were very impressed with the quality. It has a heavy duty zipper that goes down two sides, with a vinyl flap that covers the zipper, to further insure no water gets in. The vinyl is very heavy duty. The bag is large and I'm sure it will hold much of our stuff. I am very pleased with the purchase and look forward to using it soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Did what I needed it to do

09/17/2014
By ,
Anderson SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted something that wasn't too pricey for extra storage for my Pacifica while traveling on vacay. For a family of 6, it held all of our travel bags, large and small, with room to spare. Our travel speed was on avg 75 mph and it held up. No Damage. We had minimal rain showers and everything remained dry. So I am extremely pleased with this product so far. Will use it again when we go camping. I like it when a product does what it is manufactured to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

LEAKS!!

04/27/2011
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased car topper to use for upcoming vacation. Husband and I pulled it out of package, securing it to vehicle as instructions specified. Before loading luggage into carrier (and while all rainflaps were velcroed down and zippers closed) we had some rain. Shortly after the rain let up, we began to put our luggage into the carrier only to realize it had leaked!!! - - - A LOT!! We called the customer service number located on the bottom of the package only to speak w/ a representative ("Kim") who totally cared less and insisted that their products were only "weatherproof" - not the GUARANTEED RAINPROOF their packaging states! "Kim" also insisted that the included instructions clearly stated to place all luggage into "bags," however, I had my instructions in hand while speaking with her and told her, "No, your instructions say nothing about bagging luggage - period!" She then said their website stated to do this and, again, insisted their products were only "weatherproof." My packaging states, in 4 places - "Gauranteed Rainproof." Luckily we were still within Walmart's 90 day return policy and could return it for a refund. Will never purchase another REESE product again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great value; even larger size than I expected!

07/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely no problems with this product! Held everything it needed to with room to spare. From reading other reviews, (some negative), I would advise that you pack the edges with only soft or rounded items- use common sense. Try to pack it evenly to keep as much of the rounded box shape as possible. Follow the directions!!! We will definitely use this again and recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Decent cargo carrier

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I fit 2 big suitcases and some bags of bedding in this bag. I used it on a subaru forester 2012 that only had side rails and no crossbars. Since the suitcases were heavy and just fit there was no wiggle room and it was wedged well on top of car. I feared however that it could go forward or backward without crossbars, but it did not. The straps held well for the 2 hour trip in the rain and nothing was wet. It's a little awkward to get your stuff into when it's on top of the car and do the straps. You need another person or two, but it's not complicated.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

05/14/2011
By ,
Huntington bch,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the money. This car top bag is huge and very durable..this made my move to california doable..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Worked as advertised

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used once so far on a trip of 500 miles in rain. Nothing wet. Very pleased with its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Met my expectations

07/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drove one 6hr trip through some rain. Stayed dry did well enough. No complaints so far
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next