Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reese Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Reese Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

The Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag expands your vehicle's cargo capacity and keeps gear safe and protected. It installs over the crossbars in the car's top and keeps your luggage covered and protected from dirt, rain, wind other elements you encounter while on the road. This car top carrier bag provides 15 cubic feet of additional cargo space and helps you reclaim space inside the car for a more comfortable travel experience. Easy to install, it includes all the required hardware for keeping the bag securely and firmly in place. Not only rainproof, this car top bag also uses durable UV- proof material that prevents it from fading under the rays of the sun, even on long drives on bright days. It features four security straps that help fasten the car top bag securely in place so it weathers even demanding road trips with high speeds and sharp turns. It folds down to a compact size for easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.119 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation86%87 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Met needs

01/09/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The carrier accomplished what we needed - more room in our vehicle. We had many suitcases and lots of Christmas presents to carry. The carrier was easy to use, was sturdy and got everything there safely. We did notice 30% less gas mileage - not very aerodynamic. We drove from Indiana to Minnesota.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag
08/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently drove from PA to NC for vacation. We have a Jeep Patriot and are a family of 5. We needed more storage space for luggage. After researching we purchased this soft top carrier because of the price and it's guarantee to be waterproof. Our jeep only has side rails. I purchased some wench straps to secure the bag as the straps that are included appeared inadequate. On the way to NC we drove through some of the heaviest rain I have ever experienced. It rained so hard we had to drive 35 in a 70 mph zone for at least 45 minutes. When we arrived at the beach I expected the worse. I was surprised that no water had penetrated the carrier. All our clothes and other accessories were dry. We were able to fit 4 large duffle bags, 2 backpacks, 3 boogie boards, and 2 beach chairs in the carrier with room to spare. The carrier made no noise during travel and there appeared to be no compromise in our gas mileage. This bag was worth it's weight in gold. I highly recommend this product. Why pay $400.00 for a hard top carrier when you can get the same performance out of this carrier at under $50.00. Excellent value and worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boston Ma
Posted 06/05/2013
What a very helpful review! Thank you!! :D
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Reese Rainproof Cargo Bag

07/15/2012
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought two of these bags. Used the first bag for two different trips from GA to Tampa, FL and it performed well. Purchased a second bag (identical Reese Bag) for a subsequent trip and needed more storage room. I noticed halfway into my drive down that the bag was ripped open in the back - not sure why this bag fell apart. It appears it is due to cheap plastic material used to manufacture this bag. Tomorrow i plan to return this second bag back to the store for a refund.
i have mixed feelings about whether to recommend this bag or not.
Pros: Cheaper than the competition
On the surface the bag appears to be made well, with heavy duty zippers.
Definitely water proof, as long as the bag doesn't fall apart.
Con's: Suspect plastic material used to make this bag.
1 of 2 bags has literally fallen apart (and the tear DID NOT occur at a stress point (i.e. where the straps connect to the bag; nor at a seam, or where the zipper is attached to the bag)
I will next look for a "canvass" type cargo bag, hoping this will perhaps be a stronger bag than one that is made out of plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Happy Camper

06/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used it to go camping this last weekend and was surprised how much of our stuff we could fit in it. Was expecting noise and to feel it while driving, this really surprised me. Only felt it a little bit but this was at higher speeds on the interstate going around curves. Limited noise but that was from the excess straps that was blowing around. Was initially going to use an extra tie down after reading reviews of this item and other similar ones. Didn't end up using any because I felt the four straps on the four corners tied tightly to the roof rack was enough and was confident that they would do the job, they did ! Gave it good rating instead of excellent because didn't get to test in the rain. though if I had to guess, I'd say that the material would do the job it says it would. For the price, Under $50. Can't go wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Not exactly WATERPROOF

06/09/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The zipper is the weak spot in terms of waterproofing. It ONLY keeps water out if the zipper is not exposed (meaning the flaps are velcrowed down) AND if it stays square.
For example, I use this bag in the bed of my truck. A couple of times I only had a few medium size items inside the bag to where it was only half full. So the bag was crumpled on at least two corners (not squared off). I went through a rain storm, opened the bag at my destination (no longer raining) and there was approximately a 1-2 cups of water that had gathered in the bottom and my items were wet that had gone through the zipper. The zipper was completely zipped up during the ride.
The next time I used the bag halfway full, I tested it by tying all the straps above the bag in the bed of my truck (squaring off the corners - not crumpled). Went through a similar rain storm, opened the bag, and no water was inside.
Again, the bag WILL work, but ONLY if the bag is square and the flaps are velcrowed down. If you buy the bag, I recommend being very careful with how you pack and stow the bag.
If you really need a WATERPROOF bag, don't buy this one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great item

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. Very roomy. Very satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great Product

12/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great topper...My family just traveled from Florida to Va and back through snow and rain with no issues. We were able to pack in 3 small bags of clothes, a pack n' play, and two small/medium sized suit cases. I was initially concerned as the manual instructs you to attach to crossbars and we do not have any on our 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee luggage rack but it worked fine just attaching to the side bars... Easy to use and packs away small when done (comes with storage bag that takes up approx 10"x12"x6").
Would recommend to anyone traveling with family!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag
08/16/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very roomy. We were able to put 4 airline sized carry-on suitcases and my husbands large duffle bag into the carrier with room to stuff a few small items for our trip to the shore. With a family of six this was important as there really isn't space in the vehicle. We then used it to carry 3-40 packs of water, 6 cases of soda, and all the plates, cups, bowls and utensils to our family reunion. More than served its purpose. In addition, we did have rain on both trips and had no issue of wet luggage.
The only reason I did not give it a perfect rating is because one of the plastic feeds on one of the straps broke when attaching it on the day of the reunion. Fortunately we always carry Ratchet straps which, perhaps, should have come with it anyway. Overall we are very satisfied to date with our few uses, and I'm certainly hopeful it stands the test of time for future uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

It blew off the roof of the car

06/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even with duck tape on the straps to provide more support and a tighter hold on the bag, the bag ripped off the hood of our car two hours into our 14 hour drive on the highway. It was terrifying. Luckily, no accident was caused and no one was hurt in this incident. I would not recommend this bag for the top of your car traveling long distances on the highway at highway speeds.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great Product

06/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is no need for a hard plastic roof storage box that cost about $300.
I was very impressed with this $50 storage bag. It handled a summer road trip from California to central Mexico. Its a long & tough drive through the Sonoran & Chihuahuan Deserts.
The paper installation instructions are a bit difficult to understand, so look up videos on Youtube.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Car Top Rainproof Bag

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Subaru Forester and I was limited in available room to pack all things needed for our camping trip since we took our 2 grandsons with us. I found this online at Walmart.com. It came and I prayed it would work! It is awesome and we filled it with 2 suitcases, 1 large travel bag, 3 sleeping bags, and a few other minor things and there was still room left for more! We loved it. Worked well and kept on top of a car nice and secured for our 1 1/2 hour trip! I would recommend this to anyone looking for some extra storage space while traveling!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Terrific Rooftop Cargo Bag!

07/22/2013
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched several more expensive rooftop cargo options at various sporting goods stores and then came across this item at Walmart. Stop looking, save your time, and buy this one! This cargo bag is a great value and made of a thick high-quality vinyl/plastic material (not a nylon mesh like many others). It was easy to install and fit perfectly in the rack on top of our Chevy Tahoe. It zips on two sides, so there's always a way to access it once it's up on the roof. The first time I used it was on a 10-hour road trip, with rain, and it was excellent. Afterward, everything was dry! The best thing about it is, after your trip, you can hose off the bugs and dirt, wipe it off, fold it up, and store it away easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Holds more than we thought and no leaks

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
900 mile trip with some rain, no leaks and everything stayed dry and secure. Very happy with this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great Carrier

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great, protected our things in the rain and a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great Buy

06/15/2011
By ,
lorton, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this about a month back from Walmart. This is an excellent piece of roof top carrier for that price. We went from Virginia to Michigan and at some point it was really raining, but we didn't find any leakage. Huge space inside to put lots of big items(don't forget your roof capacity). Easy to install (infact there is nothing to install).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

top shredded 2 hours into trip

05/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought in store, selection was limited in store. This product looked sound and would meet what was presented on the cover of the package. Did not over extend the bag with luggage. Used the tie downs provided, followed the instructions. Checked the bag after 30 minutes of freeway driving 75 mph, looked ok. Two hours later to check again, rips in the top of the bag and the straps coming loose. Ending up buying bungee cords to secure the bag. The bags netting was able to hold the luggage for the remainder of the 12 hour drive. Ran into rain which made the luggage under the tears wet. Would not recommend this brand or product. Walmart gave me a full refund due to receipt saved.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

LEAKS!!

04/27/2011
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased car topper to use for upcoming vacation. Husband and I pulled it out of package, securing it to vehicle as instructions specified. Before loading luggage into carrier (and while all rainflaps were velcroed down and zippers closed) we had some rain. Shortly after the rain let up, we began to put our luggage into the carrier only to realize it had leaked!!! - - - A LOT!! We called the customer service number located on the bottom of the package only to speak w/ a representative ("Kim") who totally cared less and insisted that their products were only "weatherproof" - not the GUARANTEED RAINPROOF their packaging states! "Kim" also insisted that the included instructions clearly stated to place all luggage into "bags," however, I had my instructions in hand while speaking with her and told her, "No, your instructions say nothing about bagging luggage - period!" She then said their website stated to do this and, again, insisted their products were only "weatherproof." My packaging states, in 4 places - "Gauranteed Rainproof." Luckily we were still within Walmart's 90 day return policy and could return it for a refund. Will never purchase another REESE product again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Great value; even larger size than I expected!

07/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely no problems with this product! Held everything it needed to with room to spare. From reading other reviews, (some negative), I would advise that you pack the edges with only soft or rounded items- use common sense. Try to pack it evenly to keep as much of the rounded box shape as possible. Follow the directions!!! We will definitely use this again and recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

05/14/2011
By ,
Huntington bch,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the money. This car top bag is huge and very durable..this made my move to california doable..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag

Didn't last one 7 hour trip...waste of money

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this deluxe garbage bag (along with a great and practical wire cargo basket from a different company to provide more support and security) to allow for more space in our car for a family trip...7 hours one-way. Used 1 time, packed well, strapped it down securely...arrive at destination with a large basketball size hole in the black vinyl with the white nylon shredded underneath...TRASH. Will be looking for a different brand and more of a sturdy canvas built rather than vinyl. Waste of money. Contacted customer service to describe issue. No longer covered by warranty because my initial use was after 1 year: but, even if within 1 year, I would have to return the carrier bag, at my expense, for review to see if they could repair it...I'm out of luck. But, wouldn't waste my dime if I had only known...Sequint Consumer Products is the sister company of Reese...no help
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next