Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reese Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Reese Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

The Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag is an ideal accessory for additional cargo space, for a more comfortable interior. This waterproof rooftop cargo bag is suitable for all kinds of cars, or SUVs. The rooftop cargo bag measures 37"L x 30"W x 16"D, and has 10 cubic feet of useful space, freeing up the truck and inside for the vehicle for other items, or stretching room. This black car top cargo bag comes with a storage bag to preserve it when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.061 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation61%20 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

So worth it!!!!!

07/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to use on our trip from North Carolina to St. Augustine, Fl... about a 7ish hour drive and we were VERY pleased!! My parent's-in-law were highly skeptical and they love it now! We fit 2 large suitcases, a duffel bag, two beach chairs, pool noodles, and a boogie board with a little more room to spare. It didn't shift at all during the ride and we did go through some rain, and nothing was wet when we arrived in FL. The only advice would be to make sure you have a chair or something to stand on if you are vertically challenged to reach the top of your car comfortably. hehe Other than that.... SO worth the buy!!!! ALSO!!! for the people wandering about how it effects gas mileage, we usually can go around 360ish-miles on a tank, we got about 340ish-miles when we had to stop. TONS cheaper than having to take another car!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

It actually is a very good product!

08/04/2011
By ,
Reno, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at the reviews and decided against purchasing this. A moment of desperate need and low budget had me running into a WalMart to get it. Easy to use, haven't had the torn seams or zippers or loops, the belts and buckles all are in good order, not like the reviews I had read. Haven't used in bad weather. We stuff sleeping bags, pillows and blankets for 5 people in here, along with whatever else doesn't fit the car. Works great. I always have a tarp in the car, so if it rains, I'll just use it on the bag. The first time we used it, the straps were buckled straight and it made wind noise which we couldn't hear if we had the radio up a bit. Easily fixed by twisting the side straps a couple times as we buckled. The front and back straps didn't have any problems. I've used the bag 6-8 times in the past couple months. Packs nicely, don't notice too much wind resistance, nothing torn or broken or problematic. Actually a very nice set up, especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

NOT WEATHER PROOF!!

05/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my husband and I purchased this cargo bag and attached it securely atop our suv for a 6 hour road trip. we were able to fit all of our stuff in this bag BUT we ran into some rain on our road trip. By the time we made it to our destination all of our clothes and other cargo were WET!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Posted 06/14/2011
According to the description above, the bag is "weather resistant", not "weather or water proof". I am not sure what it may say on the information inside the packaging, but based on this description, I wouldn't expect it to go through rain without some wetness getting through.
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Worked Great for US

07/17/2013
By ,
Wasco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used this bag for a family camping trip. The add said that it is "weather-resistant" but I found on the manual that it is not the same as "weather-proof" since it said that we needed to put our belongings in plastic bags to keep the rain out as the bag was not "water-proof". I felt that was a little misleading, but it didn't rain, so we were fine. Otherwise, the bag performed remarkably well, has ample storage space for our needs, tied down nicely to our car, which only has the cross bar luggage wrack, but it stayed right in place. I needed a step ladder to pack it, but my husband is tall enough that he could do it without any problems. When we left the campsite, I couldn't help him load, so we packed it before putting it on the car and had one of my strong relatives help my husband lift it on. That worked better than trying to pack it on top of the car. I loved that it had a little storage bag and that it folds down to almost nothing. We can store it with our camping equipment and use it every time we go.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Did exactly as promised.

06/28/2011
By ,
Central NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for a vacation trip to the beach. It was very easy to attach and held all our beach toys, towels, umbrellas and even a 3 ft plastic pool.
We had a short rain shower while driving and it kept everything dry.
I highly recommend this car top bag. You get so much extra space for an extremely reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Roof top storage.

02/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have some items that just won't fit in the trunk, then this fits the bill. As other mentioned, it's not water-proof, but if you wrap everything in trash bags or put in plastic bins, it's fine. We didn't over pack it. We mainly put several large (empty) plastic bins and a rear hanging bike rack inside it. We double-knotted the ties. We drove from Houston, TX to Orlando, FL without any issues other than puddles of water inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Great bag, economy zippers

02/19/2014
By ,
las vegas, nv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw a few reviews saying the zippers broke... they do break. I on the other hand was over stuffing it to the limit with vacuum sealed clothes. after an hour or so messing with the zippers i managed to get them secure. it is not rain proof (hence the vacuum sealed clothes) but very roomy. ( about a 100 articles of clothing , 3 queen comforters, a pack and play, iron, knife bag ect) About to take it on a 4 day moving trip from nevada to new jersey. lets hope all goes well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

worked well for me

08/26/2012
By ,
lansdale pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we hit a little bit of light rain nothing got wet, plenty plenty of room in it for most of your stuff very little if packed rite will be in your van or truck only cooler and things for the road.
tip is to pack the back of it with example the bike cart that folds down and a stroller then pack the corners with school bags or duffel bags to square it off and keep doing that to get the most out it. when tying it down tie the whole stapes till not much is loss then its more secure and you wont hear that rocks hitting the roof sound the whole trip. this year was the first time ever using one and i wondered why didnt i think of this years ago. also online you can buy it for 25.00 and free site to store shipping very cheap and elbow room saver. and dosnt effect on the gas not at all i found. i have a 2000 ford wind star and only took 3rd of a tank to get to va beach from lansdale pa. great deal over all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

NOT WEATHER OR RAINPROOF BUYER BEWARE

07/29/2011
By ,
Northern Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item from my local Walmart to use for our camping gear - sleeping bags, towels, clothing ect. I followed the directions and installed it on the roof of our van making sure it was closed and strapped down properly then it started to rain. We left for our trip after the rain stopped then when we arrived to our campsite I opened the bag to find everything wet and water standing in the bottom of the bag . It wasn't even raining that hard out . I cant imagine what a down pour would have done to it. Everything had to be dried out before use. After returning from camping I immediately returned this to the store . I would not recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Would not buy

07/13/2011
By ,
Ludington, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Went on a 8 hour trip with three small suitcases. By the time we got to where we were going the cargo bag was torn and everything was wet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Water resistant...not waterproof

03/01/2013
By ,
New Orleans, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This item is weather-resistant as said in the title, not waterproof as said in the description. Besides that, this thing is great!!! It holds a lot for the price and despite the weather proofing issue, it's pretty sturdy considering it literally withstood a hurricane. For the price, I'd say it's worth it!!
I moved from Miami, FL to New Orleans, LA and threw a bunch of my stuff on top of my car in this thing. It's fabric so it can accomodate oddly shaped things unlike other car toppers I've used. A day after I arrived in New Orleans, hurricane Isaac hit and literally drenched this thing while it was still strapped to my car. I had placed my stuff in garbage bags inside of it. Only a few items were wet after the storm. After hanging it out to dry, I stuffed it in the little bag (super compact!) that it came with and stashed it in my closet. I've pulled it out to use a bunch of times for camping trips, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

not a good buy

08/25/2011
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is for the top of a car/van, BUT says ok for (weather), but once I got it... IN SMALL PRINT ON BOX IT SAID NOT to use in RAIN! How can a roof rack for a car/van not be used during RAIN????
I couldn't use for my family trip cause a week away from home and in another state... Who knows if it will rain???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Terrible and horrible

01/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It riped after 2hours of driving! If I hadn't tighten it right I might have lost everything that was stored in the bag! Not only that but what if something fell of while I was driving!?! Might have caused an accident!!! Don't buy this terrible thing!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Great for the Money!

01/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Keeps in small bag. We keep $1 painters plastic cloth in bag to use if we need waterproofing for our contents. Easy to install. Frees up a lot of space in small SUV!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Ripped apart during the first 4hrs of the trip

10/13/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We put this "thing" on our SUV, packed it up, and headed out for our trip. We were excited about the extra space we were able to gain, but the excitement was short. We stopped for gas 4 hours into the trip and I noticed some ripping of the bag. The tearing was surprising, but at that point we were committed to using it for the haul. We got to our destination after another 5 hours and the ripping was noticeably worse. The bag was coming apart with every minute that passed during our travel.
For the trip back home we abandoned the bag and stuffed everything in the back of the already cramped SUV. It was a miserable trip, but I can't imagine how it would have been if all of our belongings flew off the top of the vehicle. Needless to say, we will never buy another Reese bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Horrible product

11/10/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product to help accommodate a cross country move. Withing the first 15 minutes of loazippding it, the zipper broke. Then the strps broke off. Complete disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Not what I would have expected.

08/31/2011
By ,
Portage, Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I bought this for a trip to Dallas, Texas and after about 12 hours the side was ripped out and we had to put everything in our car. I was not a happy camper with this product at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag
10/13/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For $25 it was well worth it! Easy to pack & tie down and fold up and put back in the storage bag. I'm more of a visual person, so it was smaller than I expected. But we fit a Graco baby stroller, a couple bags with beach towels, sand toys and several misc. items. It's advertised as Weather Resistant which I took as water resistant. My daughter read the instructions which say it's NOT water resistant and suggested putting items in garbage bags, which we did. Thank god because it rained the entire drive, from the Keys to Jacksonville. It leaked a little, less than I thought it might. I'm going to spray it with water proofing and hopefully that will solve that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

Great for a budget move

11/25/2013
By ,
Phoenix Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The storage itself was great we went through a heavy storm and snow and our items were 99.9% dry with the exception of the top couple items. The only thing I would say negative is the straps tend to slip after a while so you have to keep an eye for that
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag

very compact

11/28/2013
By ,
oregon,dallas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
you can carry it every where you go, bring it out and use it when needed ,then fold it backup and store it again,adding your overall cargo capacity
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next