Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Valvoline Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Valvoline Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%28 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Great ATF for my 2003 Hyundai

06/26/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ATF so far is working fine on my 2003 Hyundai Santa Fe as a replacement for original SP-III ATF.
Shifting is smooth again, but I replaced the whole fluid. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SE Texas
You removed the transmission?
Posted 10/19/2013
In order to change "all" of the fluid the transmission would have to be removed and disassembled. The filter screen would need to be replaced also.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Top O The Line

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best trans fluid.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Workd for my Honda Odyssey

04/21/2014
By ,
La Quinta CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fluid that came with my transmission was not holding up to the heat that is generated by that particular transmission. I needed a higher quality fluid, so I did heavy research on the subject and I discovered this product. It is highly recommended by others just like myself having the same problems.
I used 11 quarts on a complete flush and added an in-line magnetic filter. I could not be happier, it solved my problems, and I have a better smoother shift. I suggest that after the flush a computer reboot will be helpful. Simply unhook the battery and then re-hook.
Maxlife Dex/Merc is a fluid that I recommend to anyone, especially Honda Owners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Great!!

10/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used in my 1996 Nissan 200SX. So far, so good. Switching to synthetic may have caused a leak in one the seals somewhere, but I know how take care of that. It doesn't leak under the car but you can smell the fluid from time to time. A little better performance than just regular trans fluid so no complaints from me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Cost Effective with Accurate Unit Measurements

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the purchase price of the gallon container more reasonable than purchasing individual quart containers. The unit measurements on the side of the container made it much easier to refill my transmission.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Best value

10/19/2014
By ,
London, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was recommended on the RAV4 forum for Toyota Rav4's. This eliminated an annoying rattle under the vehicle. I am extremely pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Excellent Product at a great price!

09/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know several people that use this Maxlife ATF, and every one of them love it. I use it in some of my cars and I have not been disappointed. Although I do use Amsoil ATF and Mobil1 ATF in some of my other vehicles, the Maxlife is the best bang for the buck by far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

maxlife in fleet trucks and cars, even in my boats

07/01/2014
By ,
SACRAMENTO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maxlife oil I love it.. I use it on my fleet trucks(10) and cars(35), my boats(3) and toy's(4# I use to play. long time user and it never failed me. im a d.i.y. man and everything can be fix or repaired. I recommend this line in new and old cars trucks and OTHER APP. you can use this on
it not about the price but it helps when you changing 11 1/2 QT per + A POP#vic.).
let just say it in my top 3 choose because the weather im in. summer most of the year 75-125 degree I don't see winter unless im going into the summit. so I need something to control heat. HEAT And FRICTION engine and transmission num. 1 enemy. I give it 5stars.
*pro. help all the seal out, keep parts clean, and it last longer#brake down oil#
*con. wish they made filter to match. other then that non.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Great Dexron III Substitute

08/02/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just put a gallon of this into my 2003 Subaru which calls for Dexron III. Car's shiftng seems smoother and quieter with no hesitation. Label also says you can use this in 2005+ Subies calling for Subaru HP fluid although I can't attest to its effectiveness in that application, but in my 2003 it works great. Smells like an environmental disaster but once its in the sump you won't notice it and I guess it's proof the additive package is different than your typical Dex. Hard to find in most Walmart stores but worth tracking down, great value for the price especially in older high mileage cars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Awesome transmission fluid at a great price!

08/03/2012
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced the transmission filter and flushed/replaced all of the old fluid with three gallons of Valvoline Max Life in a 2006 Ford Fusion SE with a FRN5 transmission. The Max Life was the recommended fluid according to Valvoline tech support. The FRN5 fluid from the dealer is $11.00 per quart, but I purchased the Max Life for one third the cost from Walmart.com.
The Max Life is working great as a replacement fluid with smooth shifts, and improved gas mileage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!!!

11/20/2013
By ,
Jericho, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VALVOLINE MAXLIFE is without a doubt the best transmission fluid on the market especially for older cars that have over 75,000 miles on it. I've had my orginal transmission now on my 2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT Sedan for 187,000 miles and it runs like new. I started using this VALVOLINE MAXLIFE when my car reached 75,000 miles on it and it has continued to run flawlessly ever since. I also use VALVOLINE MAXLIFE oil and that too is phenomenal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Great Product for do it your self

09/02/2014
By ,
Soda Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this automatic transmission fluid for my car and I have to say it is excellent, my car performing and running better. I recommend it to every one who want there car run good for a long time
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Excellent product.

07/27/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Valvoline MaxLife Dex/Mec Automatic Transmission fluid since 2002 with no problems at all. My vehicle (Chevy SUV) has over 200,000 thousand miles clocked with the Trans fluid being changed every 35K. The transmission has no problems and shifts smooth. I also use the Max Life in my Toyota Avalon & Toyota 4 Runner. Excellent product & price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

HAPPY CUSTOMER

05/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item worked very well for my car....What a Dif
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Great Pru

03/21/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product but my nearby Walmart store location quit stocking the 1 gallon jugs of Valvoline MaxLife ATF . It is inconvenient to travel to other Walmart location that have iy. Please stock it a all Walmart locations that have an automotive department. .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

THE BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!

11/24/2013
By ,
lakefield, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have been using this fluid for the last 15 years, and never had a transmission fail me yet! they want 10 bucks a quart at the local auto stores. i got it off walmart.com for 4.25 a quart! they dont always have it in stock so when they do buy as many as you can or you will end up waiting for more or paying threw the nose at your local auto stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Great value for synthetic

03/27/2014
By ,
Miami, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered through various Walmart locations in order to get the total amount needed for the transmission fluid change. My transmission was long over due for a fluid change. Seems like shifting is a little smoother and I don't hear the engine as loud as I did before on the highway (maybe it's not working as hard). So far so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

The price is right

02/05/2014
By ,
Loris,SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price verses what other brands cost. Can't really evaluate now,as I only put it in my car yesterday. Will see.
A main point: Containers of the same product are labled differently. Have same product and upc #,but one says fully synthetic,one says nothing,one says blend. Very confusing, Valvoline needs to fix this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Great for high mileage

02/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes the cars run great :-) Much better than they were :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Valvoline MaxLife Dexron / Mercon Automatic Transmission Fluid, 1-Gallon

Look,you just simply cannot get a better..........

05/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look,you just simply cannot get a better or comparable high quality product at this price....and if you happen to find one (and i searched high & low for 1!!) they'll match the price, im thinking they call that a 'no brainer'!! Seriously folks , if you want to compare darn near anything side by side, from Publix,WinnDixie and other common Fl Supermarket or Auto Accesories,Pet foods ,it goes on and on,I was not at all surprised that my local SuperCenter had exactly what I needed at the very best price!( as usual!!).Delivered right to my door, 2 gallons,shipping cost - 94 cents!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next