Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Memorex Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Memorex Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

The CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner is designed for use in CD and DVD players. It uses a six ultra-soft brush system to safely remove dust and dirt from the laser lens of the disc player. This will help ensure quality and consistency of laser performances and maximize performance levels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation74%14 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Solved a problem for me

02/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a MacBook Pro with a slot-loading dvd writing/reading drive. It stopped reading discs reliably and would only write, so I thought I had a bad drive. I did some research on the Internet and found many people had used the Memorex OptiDisc to clean the laser on their drives, fixing that problem.
The Apple manual says not to use cleaning discs in their slot-loading drives, but I figured I had nothing to lose since it wasn't working properly anyway. Bought the OptiDisc, put it in the slot a couple of times and let it spin. It ejected it and then I tried writing and reading dvds. The dvd drive works perfectly now.
There are cheaper cleaning discs out there. But I knew others had success with the Memorex brand so I figured I'd stick with that rather than try another one. The others may work just fine, but I have no experience with them. This appears to have gotten the drive working without me having to replace the drive, so I'm quite pleased with this.
Remember, the Apple manual says not to put these in your dvd drive, so you do so at your own risk. All I can say is you can read on the Internet that lots of people have done it and have had success. I'm one of those.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Memorex OptiDisc cleaner

12/26/2010
By ,
Marion, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does the job, and the price isn't bad for retail. There are cheaper ways to get a cleaning solution if you're buying preemptively, but if you need to run to Walmart immediately for a quick fix, this price is fine.
It works as intended. Players that play automatically from hardware (CD players, older DVD players and Bluray players with the appropriate firmware) play fine.
To address the reviewer with low stars, you don't simply jam in the disk and expect Windows(or Mac, or any operating system used to be difficult for argument) to start playing the tracks.
Optical drives will have a headphone jack to listen to the drive the same was that we used CD players for. If you're a laptop user with a slim drive or your drive has no port, just let the disk spin around to do its job.
Proper usage prevails every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Inexpensive but effective

11/15/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used a product similar to this for years but borrowed it to someone and never got it back. Had recent problems with known good DVDs so bought and used this cleaning disc on the player. Seems to have done the job and the price is right, especially if one can either find it in their local store or have it sent site-to-store for pick-up during regular shopping trip. Reviewers who have had problems either have faulty hardware/software or are otherwise using the cleaning disc incorrectly. If this cleaning disc either doesn't work or resolve your problem, then you most likely have faulty hardware/software. NOTE: Depending on one's computer configuration, one may have to start playback after the cleaning disc is inserted.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

works great

04/04/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just put it in the DVD player and started it. It is an audio CD. Tracks 1 to 3 tell you what it's doing while cleaning the player. After that the cleaning is finished, but you can continue with track 4 and do an optimization/diagnostics. My DVD player worked fine after just one time running tracks 1 to 3. I tried several DVDs and they all worked fine. It previously had difficulty just recognizing a DVD, and some DVDs wouldn't play at all. Very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Excellent product

12/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If the problem is a dirty lens, this is your product: inexpensive, put in, press play, done. If this product does not work for you, then the problem isn't the cleanliness of your laser lens.
I have a BD player with two lasers. One for audio/DVD and the other for BlueRay only. BD wouldn't play, other would, so problem was firmware update (done), or laser dirty or out of focus. $9 later and a clean laser, BD are playing. To your other reviewer: you gotta be smarter than the equipment you use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

It worked!

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our older DVD player was having trouble playing discs we rented. Some didn't play at all, some would spontaneously pause and skip. Ran this in the player and haven't had the problem since! Product works great and EASY to do!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Would not even load!!!

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Going to return this... did not work... would not load in my Samsung Blu-ray DVD player!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

WORKS LIKE A CHARM!

12/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My XBOX 360 has been having that "open tray/disc error" for the longest time. I used to think that it was because my discs were scratched, but in the end I found out that wasnt the case. I literally just went to Walmart and picked this bad boy up, popped it in my 360, and after 5 minutes it was cleaner than a whistle. I put in the two games that were never reading and now they both read on the first time. If you are a gamer like me, do not send in your 360 to MS, just buy this Memorex Lens Cleaner and your problems will be fixed.
PS If it doesnt read the first time, eject it and put it back in. The first time I put it in, it didnt read, but the second time I put the lens cleaner in it did its magic :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Worked perfectly for me!

03/24/2014
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not play anything on my DVD player anymore. Everything stuck, got hung up and would not advance. Drove me crazy. Decided to try this product before I started researching new DVD players and voila! First DVD I played after using this product ran smoothly with no problems at all. However, the 2nd DVD I played, hung up again. So, I cleaned it again and it worked. So, even though the Memorex Opt Disc works great, I still might have to get a new DVD player...ugh!
I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

exceeded expectations completely

12/06/2012
By ,
aurora, in.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
having had trouble with magnavox dvd/vcr recorder ie:couldnt read disc, no disc, dvd wouldn't record or finalize,timer would not record,etc. installed the disc and nothing, machine even said playback not possible, i thought oh no just what i had read from an earlier review so i ejected and thought well i got a jvc home theater might as well try it. again on screen was nothing but on the machine was some numbers 4 and something i don't remember. this time i just hit play again nothing on screen but vocals came on telling me about the disc and what it was going to do. i let it run thru, finished it ejected it and tried it back into the magnavox again nothing on screen but it was reading and the numbers came up on front of machine as it had on the jvc. i hit play again voice cameon finished the cleaning,put in dvd that would not work earlier and wow all that was wrong suddenly worked. it now reads ,formats,records (one touch & timer) and plays back. i had hoped to salvage this machine but after having used other disc cleaners, even manual cleaning i was dubious.it worked just remember nothing appears on screen while disc does it's work.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

It does not do DVDs

06/27/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
According to the description this cleaner will do CDs and DVDs, however it only does CDs which is not what I needed it for. I'm very dissappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Worked once only and didn't last

04/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first time I put it in my DVD player it seemed to work just as expected. My player that was not reading discs was able to read a disc just fine immediately after using this. However, the very next day I had the same problem as before, with my DVD player not reading discs. I tried putting this lens cleaner disc in again, and it couldn't even be read. Either the product is faulty or my player's issue is more than just a dirty laser lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Great optimization tools!

03/19/2013
By ,
Dinuba, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cleaner is great, but the tools on tracks 5-14 are particularly helpful in higher end sound systems. I use the "in phase/out of phase" speaker utility as well as the pink noise generator and Dolby sound check to diagnose problems that have nothing to do with the DVD/CD player itself. Nice add-on to the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Restored an old system sounds

01/12/2013
By ,
Lynn, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 10 disc boombox that i was getting disappointed in the way it played my cds until I used this cleaner. When I use it at least once a week it makes my cds sounds very clear. Thanks Memorex for making such a product so that my 10+ old boombox now has new life!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

unreadable

12/12/2010
By ,
Ashtabula, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read lots of reviews of how this product worked without a hitch. I had been burning lots of cd's and dvd's lately and noticed that some of my dvd'd and cd's were skipping at some point during play. All of the reviews that I read said this disc did a thorough and exellent job (for the exception of a few) including me. Well I have a home theater system thats less than two years old. Well needless to say my DVD player will not read the disc. Disc is unreadable. So I put it in my computer drive and the audio instructions would play but not in my home theater dvd player. Maybe its just some DVD players. I'm not going to buy another product of Memorex.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

It worked on my Wii!

02/27/2014
By ,
Midwest, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't think it was doing anything because I kept getting the error message that it could not read the disc so I just sat there and did it over and over and over, for probably a good half-hour or more. Finally, my friend asked me just to try another disc and see if it worked and it did! Haven't had any problems with it since! Wahoo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner

Poor product

03/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used one time on CD player and it hasn't worked since. Would not buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Memorex OptiDisc CD/DVD Laser Lens Cleaner
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5