Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Carter's Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Carter's Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

The Child of Mine by Carter's Convertible Crib is the perfect, versatile solution for your child's nursery. The Jamestown 4-in-1 convertible crib can be converted into a toddler bed, day bed, or a full size bed with the help of conversion kits (sold separately) - so as baby grows, the crib grows too. Made from a combination of solid wood and wood veneer, this convertible crib ensures a reliable performance for years to come. The non-drop side makes for added stability, whereas the black cherry finish adds up to the overall look of this convertible crib. This black cherry convertible crib can be easily assembled in no time, requiring very minimal tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation96%102 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Love it! Strong, Sturdy and Beautiful!

03/14/2012
By ,
Florida Panhandle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got the full set and absolutely love it. For the sticker issues, you can take a warm, wet rag and hold it on the sticker for a few minutes and then carefully scrape it off and use some Goo Gone to remove any leftover residue. It's really not that much of an inconvenience considering I was already wiping down the wood with Pledge. The photos for the "Black Cherry" color really make it look more black than it is. I'm uploading some photos that may help. I have a friend who works for WalMart and told me about this ahead of time. She had seen one in store first.
The assembly was fine for my hubby. He can build anything though so if you don't have a skilled person to assemble it, it may be complicated. It was a breeze for him. All the pieces are strong and sturdy. I am very satisfied!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Headboard had two 9 inch cracks upon delivery.

06/09/2011
By ,
Rhode Island
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. I opened the box and the first thing I found was that that the headboard had two large 9 inch cracks in the wood. The cracks were clearly caused by the insertion of the metal threading that holds in the screws where the sides of the crib will be screwed into the headboard and yet the manufacturer packaged up the crib anyway. When they slapped the big stickers on the headboard you can’t tell me that they didn’t see the cracks. The whole point of me buying this crib online and having it delivered to my home was to avoid having to lug the crib home in our car and now I will have to do just that so return the crib to the store. Total waste of my time. It looks like it would be a very nice crib but I'm NOT HAPPY that now my husband and I have to return it to buy another crib. It's a good thing we didn't need the crib right away.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

LOVE IT

02/12/2012
By ,
Henry Co, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this crib. I was nervous buying a crib on-line w/o having seen it first, but I am very pleased w/ my purchase. The color isn't as dark as I thought it would be, but it's still a very pretty brown. I had it shipped to store, it arrived in a little over a week. There was not any damages, all parts,pieces and tools needed came with it. It was easily assembled. I actually purchased the matching dresser and changing table as well and I LOVE the whole set. The price was excellant and everything seems sturdy and safe. The matteress came w/ the purchase of the crib which I thought was awesome!! All the pieces well match each other. It took my husband about 1 1/2 hours to assemble the whole bundle set (crib, dresser, changing table) all by himself. I would recommend and buy again ...VERY PLEASED WITH THIS PURCHASE :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Great

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is awesome. It looks great in the nursery and it's so easy to put together. I am 37 weeks pregnant and my husband and I put it together in like 20min. The directions are so easy to follow. I have not had my baby yet so i don't know how sturdy it's going to be but it looks great. And i would not hesitate to recommend this bed to anyone specially when you loo at its price :)
Pros: easy to assemble, Convertible crib that can grow with child
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Great crib at good value

06/08/2013
By ,
Boston, Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Jamestown Black Cherry set. I love the finish and look of the crib, if you are looking for espresso finish it may not be for you. Its is a dark cherry finish with the redish tint. All three pieces seem sturdy. I ordered it online with Walmart.com and it was delivered via FedEx 3 days later. I did not have any damaged pieces besides small nick in back of dresser. I Didnt feel it was significant enough to return. Assembly was easy I am 6 months pregnant and did it myself. The chest was more time consuming. I gave 4 stars because I haven't used it just yet, baby is due in 3 more months. Overall nice set for $500
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry
10/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Crib went together easily. Loved the colour. stickers are in visiable places.Hard to remove. Very sturdy.
Pros: easy to assemble, Convertible crib that can grow with child
Cons: stickers are visible, scratches easily, hard to find convert parts
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

VERY BEATUIFUL CRIB

08/24/2011
By ,
LOS ANGELES, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE CRIB SET IT UP TOOK ME ABOUT 30 MINUTES, WHICH WAS VERY GOOD. IT LOOKS SO BEAUTIFUL AND NICE AS IF IT WAS A HIGH QUALITY CRIB. I WOULD REALLY RECOMMEND THIS CRIB. THE COLOR IS A DARK RICH CHERRY VERY NICE. GOOD CRAFSTMANSHIP.
Pros: easy to assemble, Safety ratings, Convertible crib that can grow with child, Durability
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Beautiful Crib

01/20/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We received the crib in 2 days (ship to home) and it is beautiful! The color is really nice against the blue walls in our nursery. Took my husband about an hour to assemble the crib and changing table and both match well. The crib is sturdy and looks GREAT! I am very happy with our purchase so far! The only problem was the sticker, like other reviews have said, it's right on the side and I need to use warm water to try and get it off.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry
06/22/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Very surprised by price and quality. Good buy. Worth every penny.
Purchased both changing table and bed. Cant wait to decorate our baby room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Great buy!

04/12/2013
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little nervous about the quality if this crib because of the price. We just set it up yesterday and its really pretty! Great color and quality! Looks like it cost a lot more. The same goes for the dresser and changing table.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Great product!

05/02/2011
By ,
Missississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful crib! The black cherry is a very nice color and the wood is very sturdy. It took my husband less than an hour to assemble the crib. We purchased the entire bundle for $498 (included dresser, changing table & matress as well). The dresser & changing table was also easy & quick to assemble. The wood colors also match perfectly! Everything is very sturdy. I haven't actually used yet as our little one is due in 3 months, but it's a nice product and definitely happy about the quality of it, especially for the price. We did the site to store shipping and it took about a week longer to arrive than originally estimated. However, when it arrived, everything was in great condition & no missing parts. Also, we knew that the full size conversion rails weren't included, but thought that the toddler conversion rail was included (b/c it's in the picture). It's not! So, you'll have to purchase that separately. Overall, we are pleased & would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/19/2012
Do you know if this crib changes height position? Im sure it does
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry
02/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about ordering this crib. I read all the reviews and liked what each one had said. We had a side drop crib, which is not approved anymore. I wasn't sure about the color, considering you can't reallly tell what it looks like online. So I did some shopping around. Mostly at babies r us and the color was exactly the same as this one. Plus I was able to decide if I wanted curved side rails or straight. After looking at all the crib styles and colors I knew this one would be perfect. My husband assembled it, but it took the both of us to put the springs on--one to hold it, and the other to screw it in place at the desired height. The black cherry is a little darker than a cherry. So if you want something a bit darker than cherry go with this one. I wanted something dark but not black. I don't like that adjustable sides are not approved, considering I have two others that like to climb into the crib with their sister. But that can't be helped. Other than that I love this crib
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

love this whole set

05/17/2011
By ,
peoria, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the whole set and it is beautiful and looks so nice. I was scared at first because I have bought furniture before from Wal-Mart and it was cheap and flimsy. So I was very critical. I had some faith because of the carters brand. The crib is very sturdy. My husband said it was a pain to put together but turned out worth it. It seems like it could scratch easy. It’s the cheapest set around for how good of quality it is. it also drove me crazy how it was out of stock all the time and they dont give you the Conversion set with it and dont sell it at walmart. i called the company that makes the crib and they said they sell it for 100 bucks or walmart sells it for 49. but walmart doesnt have it so maybe they will have it later. but i dont want to wait long and nobody sells it anymore but it doesnt come with the toddler rails or the Conversion to full (FYI). my baby hasnt come yet so i havent used it yet. hope this was helpful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Great Crib, No Toddler Bed Converter

08/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This crib is very beautiful, very sturdy, and was easy for my husband to put together. Once we got it together, I asked my husband where the parts were for converting it to a toddler bed or day bed. That's when we found out that the parts do not come with the crib and there is a note in the back of the manual saying it has to be purchased seperately. This was a big disappointment, as this particular feature was one of the main reasons we chose this one. Perhaps we just assumed and didn't read the description well enough since there was a picture of the crib converted to toddler bed already in the description pictures of the crib, but I also do not recall a specific note saying it would have to be purchased separately- I'll have to look into that more.
I went to walmart.com to find out how much the conversion kit would be and could not even find it available at all! Even bigger disappointment! I don't want to have to get rid of this beautiful crib just because we can't find the kit, but we really intended on long term use of this purchase. I also have contacted Summer Infant to see if the kit could be purchased directly through them. Though I have not heard back from them, I also did not find the kit available on their web site either. This makes me sick because our baby is due within the next couple of weeks and I'm stuck with this crib not knowing if we'll get the parts we need for it.
The crib itself is an A+ investment, as long as you never want to use it as a toddler bed. I would have given 5 stars but am giving only 3 because of the hassle of trying to figure out what to do about the conversion kit. When you have a baby on the way, you have enough to think about!
Pros: easy to assemble, Durability
Cons: no toddler conversion kit
Recommends this product? No
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Conversion Kit
Posted 06/19/2013
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Child-of-Mine-by-Carter-s-Conversion-Kit-for-Jamestown-Crib-Black-Cherry/15939797
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Beautiful Crib

05/17/2011
By ,
Champaign, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just put this crib up about an hour ago. Took maybe 45 min by myself to do. It is a beautiful crib! Very sturdy and elegant looking. My only complaints would be the large sticker they put on the headboard that was ridiculous to try to get off. Also, no where on the box does it say you have to by conversion rails to turn it into a toddler bed. It says you have to for the full size, but not the toddler. You don't realize that until you're putting it together and at the end of the instructions it says how to turn it into a toddler bed, and that you can buy the rails at walmart.com. I wish I'd have know that before hand. My little one isn't due for another 9 weeks so idk how she'll like it, but other than that I think it's worth the money and looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Great combo deal for the price!!!

08/31/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks great when set up, only bad thing about it is that you have to be careful not to bump or knock the wood too hard because the paint will chip off easily. TO THE PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE STICKER ON THE FRONT OF THE HEADBOARD OF THE CRIB, WE THOUGHT WE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM UNTIL WE REALIZED THAT THE HEADBOARD WAS ON BACKWARDS, THE STICKER SHOULD BE ON THE BACK SIDE OF THE HEADBOARD OF THE CRIB, NOT THE FRONT, IF IT IS ASSEMBLED CORRECTLY. IF YOU LOOK AT THE CURVES OF THE BED YOU CAN TELL THAT THE BACK SIDE IS MADE MORE FLAT AND THE FRONT HAS A LIP CURVE.
Pros: Trusted brands, Durability
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kansas
about the sticker on the front
Posted 08/22/2012
to the person who said the sticker is suppose to be on the back, the holes for the wooden pegs are on the same side as the sticker, thus the headboard cannot be turned around. The sticker IS on the front. The lip is on the outside of the frame part of the bed... yes, it would probably look better the other way around, but that is not how the holes are drilled. Either way, it is a beautiful bed and I am very happy with the purchase!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Cherry nursey set

12/03/2011
By ,
San Antonio.TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do not go by the picture for color. "Black Cherry" photographs espresso, but it is NOT. It is regular traditional reddish brown cherry wood. So if you want the dark espresso color then keep looking. The crib is well made and looks more expensive than it was. My mother in law purchased the set (crib, changer, and dresser) for me off my registery. I had it shipped directly to my house, since I do not have a truck to pick it up site to store. The shipping fee was very resonable price $12.97 for all 3 pieces to arrive at my door.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Beautiful crib

11/27/2011
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the 4-piece Jamestown set for our baby girl and are VERY pleased with the quality and value of the furniture. We didn't want to spend thousands of dollars on baby furniture but wanted something that was still quality and nice looking. This is beautiful furniture and the color is a true cherry. We thought it would be darker but the cherry is very nice. It was very easy to put together. We did have an issue with the headboard, however. It arrived cracked and we went back and forth with Wal-Mart for a month in order to get it replaced which was a real pain. BUT, Wal-Mart finally came through and shipped us a new crib and we just used the headboard and shipped the cracked one back along with the other unused crib pieces.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

beautiful but conversion parts extra

05/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Crib, well made and well worth the money. Looks like a designer crib but does not come with any conversion parts. Not sure if you have to order them or where to get them yet, still trying to find out. Still one of the best ones i have seen in a long time, very happy we went with this crib.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Child of Mine by Carter's Jamestown 4-in-1 Convertible Crib, Black Cherry

Awesome Crib, Great Price, Completely Satisfied

09/01/2011
By ,
Smithfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this crib and the coordinating dresser for our second child. It is a beautiful crib and solidly constructed. The assembly was simple and instructions were clear and concise. I am very happy with the look and feel of the crib. It's sturdy and attractive. The color stain matches the coordinating dresser very well. Overall we are very satisfied with this purchase and would definitely recommend it to others.
Pros: easy to assemble, Convertible crib that can grow with child, Durability
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next