Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Griller Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Char-Griller Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Enjoy grilling, barbecuing and smoking your favorite recipes in your own backyard with the Char Griller 2-2424 Table Top Charcoal Grill and Side Fire Box. Featuring a lightweight design, it can be easily carried to your courtyard or patio for cooking. The charcoal grill and smoker combo features cast iron cooking grates. The grates provide superior food contact for high-temperature cooking. Its heavy-duty steel construction allows serious outdoor handling. It comes with an easy-dump ash pan for quick, convenient cleaning. The portable charcoal grill features a stay cool wooden handle that allows safety while cooking..
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation84%31 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Char-Griller Smoker

05/24/2011
By ,
Olathe, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great tabletop stand alone product. What the manufacturer and store does not tell you is that it is terribly difficult to attach to the Char-Griller combination barbeque to use as a smoke box. Even though the instructions say you need just a few tools, you reall need a drill with a bit that can drill into metal. If you are buying this unit to attach to the char-griller combination barbeque, make sure you negotiate to have it installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Great product, great price.

09/21/2014
By ,
Seymour IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Table top charcoal grill and smoker to add to my Char Griller as a smoker. I have been wanting this item for a couple years and finally broke down, bought it and put it to use. So glad I did. It is a great product at a great price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Solid Product

06/13/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just picked this up today and was happy to see that it was pretty much already assembled. All you have to attach is the legs, handles & vents. This grill is the most solid grill I have ever seen. I love the fact that the Grill Grate is made of Cast Iron, The instructions say to bake it for 2 hours at 300 degrees coat with vegetable oil then bake at 200 for an hour. This is to get the oil to soak into the iron and "season" the grate. Anyone who cooks with cast iron can attest that if well seasoned food tastes better and will not stick. I can't wait to give this grill a try. I believe it will give me years of solid use. By the way with a slide out ash bin I can see will be a major bonus for smoking as well. If you don't like lifting a heavy items this is not for you. It is heavy for a small grill, but I can only imagine it will distribute the heat better because it is so solid.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Awesome product and the price was great.

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The char griller table top and smoker is a great addition to our full sized char-grill, just the perfect
size to grill a small amount without wasting charcoal and fluid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

great design and functionally

10/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Positive aspects: Well built from heavy gauge metal. It meet my size and functionality requirements.
Negative aspects: Regretfully, I had to return the unit. It was missing the bolt kit, the cast iron grill rack removal handle was broken and one of the fabricated stand legs was bent so badly it could not be fitted to the grill body.
Summary:I am so impressed with how this unit was built that I will order another. Char-Grill makes a very good product and I am confident the problems with this unit was just an anomaly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Poorly constructed and packed

07/03/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to add this to my grill. Many of the screws and nuts were freely rolling around the box upon opening. In the box, it already started rusting. And that's before taking off the plastic wrap. The ash tray is just tack welded together. How long is that going to last? The door seals with a 1/8th inch gap at a minimum. So how does this help direct the heat into a horizontal side box? And most agregious, whoever built the unit I received put the lid on out of square and then pounded the begezzus out of one of the barrel sides to get it to fit. The origin of the product says USA or Imported, but if this is true American workmanship, it's just awful. Best price was from Wal-mart, so high marks for value. Product itself is disappointing. This is a quality-control failure. This should not have left the building. The company should be embarrassed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

This char-Griller is just what I wanted

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
portable, heavyduty, holds the heat...just what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

great little grille

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second grille, the first one I purchased 6 years ago, It still works great, I put my first grille on my main big grille for a smoker, this new one will be used for solo grilling. easy to assemble, durable, and walmart price was 50.00 less than amazon, I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Excellent as a grill or smoking box

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this well put together little grill mainly as a smoker box for a large 3' x 5' custom cooker. we put a 6" steel tube from this box directly into the bottom of the larger grill. I chose to use this grill by comparing it's design and sturdiness to other similar units. It's hard to beat for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Fair enough

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just purchased. A little bigger and heavier than expected. Dual function ( tabletop or smoker box for bigger grill). No instructions for grill mounting. Figured it out, so far, so good. Probably will need extra support to keep from damaging big grill. Overall, good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

assembly as a smoker went well

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this griller to add to my cha-griller and convert it to a smoker.The assembly went well however it lacked good instructions for mounting as a smoke box. all the pieces fit and it did not take long at all and I am looking forward to using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Grillers

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great addition for any griller
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Recommended

12/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband liked the grill. He said it was good material and it cooks the meat to the exact taste.
Easy to assemble and fits almost anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

a very good product

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is very sturdy easy to put together and the cast iron grills sear the steaks and hold heat well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Product is great, shipping was awful

10/11/2013
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this online for my fiance's birthday, because it said that to get the product in stores it would not be available until the day of his birthday. And that if I ordered it online, the grill would come two days before his birthday. Well I order it online and the box comes 1.5 days later, a whole week before his birthday, while I was out of town, and it wasn't packaged for shipping. The box the grill was shipped in was the actual product box with pictures of the grill all over it! So not only was there not any additional packaging to protect it during shipping, but arrived 5 days early, and my fiance obviously knew what he was getting for his birthday.
The product is great, but I was so disappointed in the delivery.
We will be using this for tailgating. The cast iron grates inside are especially nice. It took less than 30 minutes to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

as a grill yes, as smoker NO

05/16/2011
By ,
Maryland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are going to attach this to your grill and use it as a smoker you are in for a mess. The process to removed the vents are no where near as easy as the instructions claim. You will run the risk of ruining the whole box. Best bet is to find a grill with the smoker already attached and save yourself the headache.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

Setup for firebox is very bad

08/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to use as an add-on side firebox for my Char Griller Pro. I read the previous comments about it being difficult to install but didn't think it could really be that bad, wrong...no instructions whatsoever, and I ended up needing to drill out the mounting holes and even had to use and angle grinder to knock out the side hole for the heat to pass through to the other side. However once I got it installed the quality and performance is just as good as the other Char Griller products, but the paint did start to peel after the first time using it around the door. I really like the slide-out coal grate also. All in all I've had about 3 smokers and I expect this one to be the most durable given the thicker metal used in its construction.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

OUtstanding Porduct as a table top or Add on

08/02/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this to complete my smoker . I atatched to the side of my smoker grill as a fire box. It works great. If I don't need the room on my smoker I can use this a a small grill. It works great.
It lets me use wood chips in a water filled container to smoke my meats, and fish. It has a easy pull out fire grate for clean up and great cast grates for baking. I would recommend this product as a stand alone grill or add on to a char griller grille/smoker
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

well built durable grill

02/17/2014
By ,
Bettendorf, IA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used this grill once so far during the middle of a snow storm. If spring ever arrives I will give it a more thorough test. Charcoal starts fast and is easy to add during cooking with the slide out tray. Grill space is plenty big enough to grill for 2-4 people. The cast iron grates should make this grill last a long time. I have used Weber grills for years but like the way this grill performs even though I have only used it once. I can't wait for winter to break to test further!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Char-Griller 250 sq inch Table Top Charcoal Grill and Smoker, Black

no parts came with the grill.. very useless

03/27/2014
By ,
germany
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i did not receive all of the necessary parts to my grill and I'm stationed at a APO,AE address so as of right now I'm not happy at all.. i can't used this product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next