Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Celestron Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Celestron Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Every aspiring astronomer will find the Celestron 21036 Power seeker 70AZ Telescope an excellent way to open up the wonders of the universe. The captivating world of astronomy can be a wonderful family hobby to enjoy year-round. This high-quality astronomical telescope features slow-motion controls for that up-close and personal viewing experience. It also contains 90-degree erect image optics, and a red dot finder for the viewers convenience. The incorporated Barlow lens triples the magnifying capacity of each eyepiece in this portable telescope. Mount the telescope on the included tripod for a steady view. The Barlow lens telescope is designed to give the first-time telescope user the perfect combination of quality, value, features and power.
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
54
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation87%136 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 158 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
54
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Good value, dont expect wonders

12/16/2013
By ,
Avondale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good: Price, Clear images, decent power, accessories (lenses, tripod), lightweight, easy to assemble and use
Bad: touchy (fine adjustments have a lot of play to them even while tightened so just focusing or tracking objects its easy to lose it completely), no horizontal fine adjustment, "red-dot finder" only ideal for closer objects (I might just need to adjust it a bit though), box is misleading you wont see Jupiter or galaxies as it shows.
Overall: I say its a decent telescope for the price, I'm happy with it as is my wife who's never even looked through a telescope before this one.
Attached is a picture of the moon on the night I got it, clarity issues come from taking a picture with a bad camera phone through the lens and not the telescope itself
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Perfect for the price

12/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EXCELLENT FOR THE PRICE; PERFECT FOR ENTRY LEVEL; THE GOOD: PRICE AN EASY TO USE, THE BAD: FIXED AZIMUTH ITS HARD TO GET. I UPLOADED A PICTURE OF THE MOON, THE CONDITIONS WHERE REALLY BAD AND I HAD A BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE MOON. GET IT KNOW FROM WALMART BEFORE THE PRICE CHANGE!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Good first telescope or intermdiate telescope.

01/19/2014
By ,
chicago illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The optics on this telescope are quite good. I looked at the full moon with this telescope witch for a refractor is a good test of the objective lens quality. Only a slight ring of false color around the extreme edge of the field of view was seen. The lunar disk showed up sharp and distinct all the way up to the edge where this slight amount of chromatic aberration appeared. The amount of false color was indeed minimal and quite acceptable. I then turned the telescope to the planet Jupiter and was easily able to see the moons of Jupiter and the Equatorial Cloud Belts on the planets surface clearly with no chromatic interference. I found the slow motion tracking control to be a very good and useful feature of this scope, however the scope does suffer from a tripod that in my opinion could be a little taller. Overall I find this telescope to be a good choice for either beginner or even a somewhat advanced astronomer, Like myself, to purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

excellent for price

12/13/2013
By ,
Trinidad
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Now for this price I definitely did not expect much but this did surprise me. The construction is mostly plastic but that's okay cause it is cheap, The tripod is amazingly good quality, and the quality of the image seen is very nice but remember it's plastic so it can be better. Overall great for kids and as this was my first telescope buy I can't compare much but I do own two DSLR's and am impressed at the distance I can view with this (I can take a picture through the very small eye piece with my DSLR). Toys had also proven to be useful in shooting range sighting for extreme distances and extreme remote bird or animal watching but the most you can do is gaze at the moon as the stars are only a big dot anyways. Galaxies are oh so much further away lol!
Overall a great buy for around the house and you don't have to worry about it as much as if it was an expensive one. Great for getting the younger ones interested in more complex wonderful things.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

piece of junk

03/27/2014
By ,
Saint Joseph, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its a piece of junk. could not see anything either on ground or in the sky. view with naked eye is much better. tried to focus and refocus several times and for several hours, but of no use. simply cant make it work. its just a expensive plastic toy. The included software is bad as well. Not user friendly, not informative.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Great telescope

11/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have looked at several telescopes before buying this. For the price, it is a great deal. The 70mm size is much bigger than the usual 60mm telescopes out there. You can really see the craters on the moon, and Jupiter was an awesome sight. it was also easy to use. I have been interested in astronomy and other sciences but this price got me to make a purchase. I am quite a shopper but when i compared the features of this telescope to others out there, I decided on this. I was not disappointed. In fact, I was impressed. It came with several eyepieces and I did not need to purchase additional items. This was a lot of fun. Great product!
Recommends this product? Yes
+379points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

A stunning value.

12/01/2012
By ,
SW MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical of the possibility of a quality scope for under $40. But, I figured I could just return it in-store if I was unsatisfied.
I was pleasantly surprised by the optics included. I took it out on a night of mediocre "seeing" (full moon, slightly hazy) and was very impressed by the views of Jupiter. It's moons resolved sharply, and banding on the planet was clearly visible. (Enough so that I could tell the red spot was not facing Earth at the time). I also quickly found the Orion Nebula (albeit washed out by the full moonlight) and was pleased with the red-dot finder's ease of use overall.
The moon had some color fringing, but nothing too distracting. And the lunar views were impressive.
As a terrestrial scope, it performed well. The right-side up mirror does it's job, and the sharpness and clarity are more than adequate.
The weak spot of this package was definitely tripod/mount. A slight breeze will give shake your view, and any touch or bump will leave the scope quivering for far too long.
I'll work on that problem, there may be some DIY fix.
When shopping for a beginner's scope, there's always a fear of going too cheap and providing a dismal experience that would discourage a budding astronomer. I can honestly say that should not be the case here.
I use mine as a grab-and-go backup to my 10" reflector, and as a daytime spotting scope. In that, it has far exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Awesome for money

01/19/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This telescope is an awesome value for the price. We got this for my daughter, who is just now getting into astronomy. It is very powerful and we are able to view constellations, planets, the moon, etc. very clearly and with great detail. It's a bit complicated at first, and can be overwhelming for someone just looking to pull it out and view stars...yes, you can look at the moon without much work, but to figure out the lenses and angles, etc. was a bit daunting. Quite a powerful little 'scope for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

A Lovely Beginner's Telescope

12/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this telescope as a gift for our 7 year old son. It's taking some time to get him used to the idea of going out into the cold to look at the stars but when he does he seems to enjoy it greatly.
Assembly was very easy. We only had minor difficulties which were solved with a small adjustable wrench. (The bracket for the slow motion rod was not facing the right way.)
The software that comes with it is very nice. We simply installed it and it knew where we were located, the date, and the time and used that data to show us a view of the night sky.
This is sure to be a cherished item in our family for years to come!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope
04/20/2011
By ,
Parma Hts. Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality scope for the money,probably the the best scope you can get under $100.00.Can see Saturns rings,nice views of moon.Walmart deal cannot be beat,with extra eyepiece and red dot finder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Keep expectations in check, this isn't a $1K scope

12/10/2013
By ,
Berthoud, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is perfect for entertainment. It's great for closer views of the moon and it's craters. Don't expect to see "far away galaxies" like the ad and box promote. It's an inexpensive "toy" that is pretty cool. The tripod and construction is really nice for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Great product - great value

03/30/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my teenage son. I was a little cautious based on some of the reviews given previously, but we proceeded with our purchase. The day it arrived, my son already had it put together by the time I got home.
He thought he was missing a piece based on the instructions, but on closer inspection there was an addendum to the instructions regarding the starfinder and everything was there.
He loves it - it's great - and you can't beat it for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Powerseeker 70 AZ telescope

12/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great telescope and great price!! I bought this for my 11 year old and she absolutely loves it! I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Great Value!

12/30/2010
By ,
Utica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This telescope was a great value! The same telescope sold on other sites for more than double the price. It comes with 3 different lenses and is easy to put together. I'm amazed at all of the things you can see. My son was interested in astronomy so I wanted to get him a decent telescope to see if it was something he wanted to stick with. I looked at MANY other scopes in this price range but they were more like toys. This was perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Surprisingly Good Viewing Distance

03/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Considering I spent under $60 on the purchase and the parts are plastic, you really can see far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

telescpoe

03/03/2014
By ,
salem or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For my grandson he loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Nice backyard telescope

01/01/2011
By ,
SE Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought before Christmas at a great price. Site to store delivery was quick. It's perfect for this family's backyard celestial viewing. In our rural location, this telescope can also be used for watching wildlife at a distance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Great for the beginner

01/07/2014
By ,
Northen Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these as gifts this past Christmas! Celestron is a well respected name and if you dont want to spend alot of money this is a great deal. The adjustments and little fine tuners take some time to learn but on the first night that we set it up we were able to see Venus and the moon very well. ( Saturn is coming up a bit past our bed time ) I would find a good website that tells you the location of certain astronomical items on your given night and location and sit back and try to find them! Remember its all about being able to capture the light. Things that are further away need a more powerful telescope which means more $$ If you want to see nearby planets and the moon this is the one to get. Cant wait for the next comet to pass because this would work for that too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

Great product, great price!

12/30/2012
By ,
Victoria, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8-year-old grandson asked Santa for telescope for Christmas. I knew this might be "above his age level" and too complex to keep his attention, but the price was about $20 lower than any other retailer's and I hoped he'd grow into it. When he tore off the wrapping paper and saw the picture on the box, he exclaimed, "I don't like this present. I LOVE IT!!"
Set-up definitely required adult help and careful reading of the instructions, but only took about 15 minutes. First look was at the nearly full moon on Christmas day afternoon. All he could say was "Wow!" That night he saw Jupiter, and is looking forward to future sightings of planets and constellations.
I would give it 5 stars if the instructions were more complete with better descriptions. We had to use trial and error to figure out the red-dot image finder, and which eye-piece to use, but it wasn't difficult to the point of frustration or anger -- just a minor irritation.
If he breaks it I'll probably buy another just like it. At WalMart's price of $39.99, you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

What a great deal!!!

01/01/2011
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been interested in astronomy for a long time so I tend to monitor the web sites of the major telescope manufacturers, esp. Celestron. I saw this telescope first on the Celestron site. Then when I happened to see it on the Walmart and it contained two additional accessories that I wanted and was offered at a less expensive price, I just couldn't pass it up. Thank you Walmart. The scope is great. You made my year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next