Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mountain Trails Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mountain Trails Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

The Mountain Trails 6' x 5' Tent will be your travel companion and will keep you r cozy and warm on your camping, backpacking, or hiking trips. With a spacious 30 square foot area, this tent will accommodate 2 people comfortably. Lightweight and compact, it is designed keeping in mind the needs of backpackers. This 2-person dome tent features two polyester mesh roof vents that increase the air circulation inside. It also features a utility pocket inside for keeping all your personal and emergency items within your easy reach. Affixed mud mat ensures the tent floor is always clean. The welded polyethylene floor keeps the floor dry. With a big Dutch D style door, going in and coming out of the tent is also easy. The shock-corded fiberglass frame along with pole pocket attachments makes it easy to set up. It will strap to your backpack in seconds, giving you an ultimate portable storage system. Simply roll and take it anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%37 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Big Enough for 1 medium height adult and one child

08/15/2011
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I really love this tent. It's small, cozy and fun. It has a small window and a door with a screen. The top has screen vents for good ventilation and a cover for those screen vents. This would be best as a child's tent to fit up to two children. I am 5'5" and I must sleep diagonally with my son then also sleeping diagonally so we both fit. With that kind of sleeping arrangement, we sleep just fine. He is 4 years old and is of average height and weight. I'm of average weight. So, we like this tent very much for the price. It will not fit two adults though unless you are okay with your feet pushing on a side of the tent which wouldn't be wise. Diagnoally, I barely fit. But I'm fine with it! I love the price and what we got for the price is amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Review 2 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Can't go wrong with the price

04/27/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this tent at a fraction of what our other climbing/backpacking/camping friends were paying for their small, lightweight, backpacking tents. It is SUPER easy to set up and take down. Straps to my pack in seconds. Camped 3 times in it and I have no complaints. It fit 2 of us (my boyfriend is 6'1"- so it's a little short for him), both of our frame packs, and our rock climbing gear. Stayed warm- even though it was 30' outside and snowed in the morning
Only drawback- it sweats A LOT over night on a cool night- and your ENTIRE inside of the tent is wet. All of our belongings stayed dry- just don't touch the walls of the inside of the tent. :)
Also- a tent fan remedies that well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+108points
Review 3 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Very light and conmpact But not sturdy

01/29/2012
By ,
SoCal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tent is definitely a 1 person with gear or a i adult and a kid. yes the floor is tarp material but its very cheap and flimsy.. My first time setting it up a dry thistle stock , that was a few inches high punctured the floor. If I were going to use this tent for an entire season Id get a ground tarp to protect it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Review 4 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Great Value and Surprisingly Worth It

02/05/2012
By ,
St. Clair Shores, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just returned from a cubscout camping trip in Mid-Michigan. I would definitly recommend this tent for any situation. I am not sure if this tent is meant to with stand winter temps but it certainly did. The very small mesh vents on top allow minimum warm air to release. My 10yr old son opted to sleep in the tent by himself and was warm all night even when temps dropped into the teens. As like all tents when they say 2 Man they really mean 1 man and his gear. This tent is what it says 6' x 5' on the base. I am 5'11" and with my sleeping bag well over 6', with the rain fly only 18" square I would have been touching the ends letting everything get soaked. This tent is perfect for one man (sleeping diagonally) or 2 kids. Sets up in about 2min and can be moved with one hand. And no need for a broom you can just lift it up over your head to empty it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Review 5 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Excellent affordable backpacking tent

10/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used it for my 3-day backpacking trip in Yosemite. It is lightweight and it survived a thunderstorm. No water got in! The bottom of the tent is the same material as a tarp, so you don't need to purchase a separate tarp. The material of the tarp is a little cheap, but it did the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+51points
Review 6 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Over all not a bad tent

04/11/2012
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Im 5'4 and my boyfriend is just under 6'. When I set it up when I got the tent and tried to lay in it the tent side would hit my head in the wind. We both fit but you would not have much extra room. With our heads hitting the side that would not work out well with dew. The tent was VERY easy to set up in the drive way. Nice window and front door with screen. The tarp for the bottom went up the sides a bit as this is nice if the gets wet. If it was just me camping this tent would be great because I could sleep corner to corner. Its a good tent just not what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Review 7 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Nice Features - Easy Set Up/Break Down

01/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has some nice features for a tent in this price range - screened windows on back and on door, plus on the "ceiling," which you need the rain fly to cover. Also has a couple of gear pouches, bags for poles and stakes, and elastic bands to keep rolled tent securely rolled. (There are also two extra ties in case the elastic breaks some day.) I had this tent set up in my living room by myself in less than five minutes. Of course, I didn't pound the stakes in....
Small enough to take hiking with me. As I said, very well pleased for the price I paid!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 8 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'
03/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tent for the price. Lightweight and compact. My 11 yr old son and I fit in it. I was able to fold it and put it in a stuff sack (not included) and it fit into an outer pocket on my backpack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 9 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Made to Order

10/28/2012
By ,
Knoxville, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My crew & I decided to hit the old dusty trail just for fun and sight seeing on foot and this little tent was just made to order. It was easy as ever for each of us to carry right on our backs with our backpacking gear. Putting this tent together was a breeze and loads of fun when you factor in that most guys don't read directions anyway. With these tents it was so easy our children were arguing over who's turn it was to set it up instead of moping around with sad little dreadful faces over the thought of having to go through the struggles of having to set up the tents.
These tents left us all with plenty of time to explore nature, fish, catch butterflies, and laugh around the camp fire over jokes told. They only take mere minutes to set up and then you have so much time on your hands for everything that you really wanted to be doing on your adventure out into nature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 10 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Kids love it

04/17/2011
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tent for my kids to play in. Instead of pulling out the blankets we pull out this tent and camp out in the front room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Review 11 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

There is no way this tent is 6 ft long

08/06/2012
By ,
Murfreesboro, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I excpected this tent to be tiny, but I expected to be able to lie down in it. I am only 5' 8" and I could not even lie down in this tent. Way too small for regular adults to sleep in. May be better for a kids tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 12 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Pretty dang good tent!!

04/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So i havent put it in action outside yet, but i put it up in the living just to get a feel for it, and it looks pretty good to me. For 1 person, its great. For two, its still good (which is what i got it for). However, like some others have said, may want to get something for the floor cause it is quite thin (its the first tent ive been in in yrs so im not quite sure how thick the flooring should be, but just a little more padding would be nice). Overall, pretty darn good tent i believe, and cant wait to get out in the wild:D (in the not too wild tho, ,dont want anything knawing off my hind quarters when i wake up) (((O_O)))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 13 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Not for 2 people.

07/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall great if you're just one person backpacking or car camping. This tent would not fit two people as it claims to do though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 14 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'
07/15/2012
By ,
Geneva, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a great lightweight tent that rolls up really small and easy to carry. The only problem I have is that I'm 5'6" and my friends and I have tried to stretch the tent out as best as possible yet I still have to sleep diagonally in this tent. I wouldn't recommended this tent for more than one person and definitely not for someone over 5'8.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 15 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Does NOT fit 2 normal sized humans.

08/13/2012
By ,
New York, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought for a 3 day trip to the adirondacks. I am 5 foot 9 and could not even come close to stretching my hole body out. It is definitely not 6x5, more like 5x5 seeing as how it looks like a perfect square when made. Horribly disappointed. Looking for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 16 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

No Space

10/08/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took this tent to a music festival where my boyfriend and I were the 2 people sleeping in this tent. Even if you slept diagonal, there was still no room and we were both scrunched up uncomfortably. There is no way that this tent is at all 6' because if that was the case we'd both be able to lay comfortably in it. Also, when it rained it did not leak, but the condensation basically flooded the inside and the temperature rose on the inside because of it. (tent fan was helpful; I did like the roof space that came off and the window on the door, which both circulated some air)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 17 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Good tent, misadvertised dimensions

08/26/2012
By ,
southern cal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Title and specs say 6' x 5'. Actually sleeping dimensions are 5ft6in x 4ft6in. I am 5ft 5in and I must sleep diagnally or the side of the tent will hit the top of my head and my toes. (this was mentioned by another reviewer). When it is windy, sides of tent sways a lot, thereby hitting the top of my head and my toes (not good when trying to sleep). Go to REI to replace toothpick tent stakes with beefier ones. Have not tested it in rain. The price is good and it is lightweight (2.5 lbs), which is great for backpacking. WALMART NEEDS TO REVISE TITLE/SPECS TO AVOID MISADVERTISEMENT.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 18 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

Just Perfect for a smaller 14 Year Old

08/14/2012
By ,
Rockwall, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom helped me purchase this online. I'm almost 14 years old and this tent is just perfect for me (as i plan to camp alone in it). It was a good price / good buy. I haven't camped in it yet, but I'm quite confident it will fit all my needs. I believe it is really suitable for me; a smaller teen. The one draw back, is that I don't think it would fit 2 adults... more like either 3 smaller kids or one teenager and a small kid. My parents and I don't think it would comfortably hold a full sized adult (let alone 2) without their head and/or feet touching the walls of the tent which can cause it to wick moister if you're camping in a moist setting. I would recommend this product for a younger, smaller person...it won't accommodate much more than that. Because I fit that description, I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 19 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

My Dogs Love it

12/02/2011
By ,
Auburn, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this tent for my two dogs. It is perfect to protect them from the wind and rain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 20 for Mountain Trails 2-Person Tent,6' x 5'

This is a great product

04/14/2011
By ,
Woods Cross, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Grandchildren love to build "tents" with blankets over furniture. Now it is just a matter of minutes and they have their tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-7points
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next