Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SwissGear SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

SwissGear SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Camp with the whole family in the SwissGear Montreaux Family Dome Tent. The large, spacious dome-style tent can accommodate up to 10 people. It is made from durable, water-resistant fabric and comes with a full coverage rain fly and extended eaves to handle the elements. The side and rear windows, along with the mesh ceiling, allow proper ventilation. This well-designed outdoor family tent can be set up in no time with an efficient pin and ring set up system. It features sewn-in room dividers that separate the tent into two distinct rooms. Additionally, two separate side rooms can be created for storage. You can also use the tent without dividers as one big room. The interior of this outdoor family tent has sonic-welded polythene floor and truncated corners for more stability. The professionally designed seams add to the strength. An e-port is provided so you can gain access to an electrical cord.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation82%9 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Great Tent for Family Camping

09/07/2011
By ,
South Lake Tahoe, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent to go camping with our two kids (4 & 2). We are new to camping, but wanted a tent that was large enough for our kids to have their own space. We also wanted something tall since my husband is 6'4". We have slept in a small dome tent and this experience was 100x better.
We did a lot of reasearch and finally decided on the SwissGear Montreaux Family Dome Tent. We have now slept in it for three nights and love it.
OUR CRITERIA:
3 ROOMS- We have two kids and will be adding more so we wanted a tent that could hold all of us. We also wanted not be crammed in together and have some separation from the kids. We all sleep better that way.
TALL-Clark is 6′-4″ and we wanted him to be able to stand up. I hate having the tent up against my face while I sleep!
AFFORDABLE
THiNGS WE COMPROMISED ON:
Isn’t made for all-weather camping We have young kids so we won’t be in the snow so we thought this was acceptable
WEIGHT- We are car camping so weight wasn’t that big of an issue. If we go backpacking we will need a new tent!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Review 2 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Nice Family Tent

01/06/2011
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for a nice big family tent this is it. We had two queen size air matresses with room on the sides for all of our gear. We didn't use the front of the tent except to play games and sit around and talk. Plenty of room.
You will need two people to put up tent but it actually fits back in the bag when you take it down. Very nice tent for the average camper looking for a family tent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+50points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
minnesota
Thankyou for posting pics!
Posted 07/06/2011
Especially the one showing the side room. Give a more accurate visual of the size! Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'
07/19/2011
By ,
Monett, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it was great! used it in Colorado and it rained every night and it never leaked. great tent!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 4 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Great tent for the price.

10/08/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this tent! Tons of space, fit queen size air mattress with lots of room left. Best camping experience ever! Side rooms are just big enough for changing area or storage, but has two BIG rooms. It stormed all night and there were a couple spots where a very little amount of water got in, but overall did great. Great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 5 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Great Tent!

11/16/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this tent three times so far and it's been great. The inside dividers allow you to break it into four separate spaces. My twin 7 year olds love having their own "room" in the two back side wings and mom and I sleep in the middle back which is separated from the front "room" by an inside zippered divider. Lots of pockets in the divider to keep small stuff. The front room is big enough for a sitting area with a table. The layout is really livable for a tent. I've set it up myself but it is easier with an extra set of hands. I recommend added waterproofing to the rain fly. It let water through the first time we used it but has been great since I sprayed it with waterproofing. There is a hook in the center of the dome for hanging lights etc. Excellent tent all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+66points
Review 6 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Swiss Gear Montreaux thumbs up

08/16/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just camped in this tent the past weekend. It started raining Friday night and did not stop until Saturday about 7P.M. The tent held up great. We had one small leak where my sons bed was touching the side wall. I moved the bed and cleaned up the small spot of water and that was the worst of it! It did no leak anymore. Just so you know I set up the tent prior to the trip, and used 2 cans of water proofing on it and I also seem sealed the stitches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Review 7 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

A bit Fragile

05/31/2011
By ,
Nevada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tent is large for family, but you need to be aware of any wind. It will blow down at the slightest gust. I believe that this is mainly due to the lack of rope supports at the back of the tent where a lot of force is generated when windy. So just be aware if you buy this tent you need to put additional rope support at the back just in case it gets windy. If you don't then expect to get what we had and find that the side poles will snap and then put holes in your roof.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
How bad were the winds?
Posted 06/20/2011
Last summer I had a sumular experience with my Northwest Terrietorty tent which was almost exactly in design. Our porblem was we took it to the camping area right on the Beach (lake Erie) and the weather got terrible!! It got so windy that we had to take the fly off to keep the tent from lifting off the ground! I am just courious how much wind did you experience druing your camping trip, and are there places in back to tie the tent down to the ground? But of coarse we were in the sand and you know how well stakes stay in loose sand.. Our tent enced up in the trash, because of all the broken poles and holes in the frabric. We got this tent for this year and are praying for soft gentle breeses of wind.:-) Thank you!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Large tent, good value

09/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tent for a recent trip to the mountains. The tent arrived on time and we set it up before the trip. It sets up easily in about 20 minutes and takes down in about the same amount of time, fitting into the carry bag. I've not much experience with tents but I'd say this tent would work quite well for recreational campers. Quite large. I was able to put 2 queen air mattresses in the back "wings" of the tent. We were surprised by a early morning rain shower, not much wind and it lasted about 2 hours on and off. No rain came in the windows. One slight leak in the left rear. I didn't spray the seals prior to use. The price was right and the tent did well. You'll want to purchase better stakes, and the door flaps did catch the zipper but it's easy to correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 9 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Big tent for the price

07/20/2011
By ,
Coventry, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent online without seeing it and I was quite surprised. It is very roomy, easy to put up (takes 2 people to put it up) and very spacious inside. It rained 3 of the 5 days we camped and we spent a lot of time inside the tent. We had room to sleep and store our things as well as room to set up a table and place games. The material is light-weight and the colors are very relaxing. Take down is even easier. It is easy to roll up and store. I would highly recommend this tent to anyone wanting a tent, where you can stand up and walk around in it. It was great value for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 10 for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'

Not built well at all

07/15/2011
By ,
Palmdale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tent after our Columbia Cougar Flats finally started to die after several years of use. The size and floor space of this tent is AMAZING! But the quality is just not very good at all. First, the material is very thin....We set this tent up in the backyard for testing before our trip. It was up for 2-3 hours in 12-15 MPH winds. After a short time, the tent began to fail at the stich points. The movement, even though the wind wasn't really that bad, was just awful! If the tent had clips on the sides to clip the actual tent to the main support poles, the tent would stand up to the wind much better. With the current construction, even with all the stake points staked and stretched well, the main windows you see in the picture wouldn't pull straight...both panels sagged. The tent side material meets the floor material at the floor; the floor material does NOT come up from floor level at all! Meaning: if it rains, there's a strong possibility that you WILL get flooded! Additionally, all of the floor panels are glued! There is a floor panel for each of the rooms, the area between the rooms, and the front area. All are glued together, there is no stiching! Our Cougar Flats tent was sewn at all joint points in the floor. The floor on this tent leaves too much possibility for failure, especially as much as we camp!
We took the tent back to WalMart with no problems and we will be traveling to BPS this weekend to purchase the Cougar Flats II tent. For $220 bucks, I really expected better construction on this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for SwissGear Montreaux Family 10-Person Dome Tent, 17'X14'
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5