Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

A must-have for every adventurist, the Ozark Trail 8-Person Tent, 14' x 8' is a free-standing camping tent that offers adequate space to fit large groups. It can be set up in minutes with the help of the quad-pole system. The three windows provide ample ventilation inside the tent. This 8-person tent can conveniently accommodate two queen air mattresses. A large rain fly with ridge pole and sealed seams are provided to protect you from rain. During clear weather conditions, you can remove the rain fly and get additional ventilation. The durable Teflex fabric coating together with the rain fly keeps the interior dry and clean. The Power Port located in front of the Ozark Trail dome tent enables you to connect power cables without having to unzip the door. With the included carry bag, which is made of recycled polypropylene fabric, you can conveniently take this Ozark Trail dome tent anywhere with you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.049 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation80%163 out of 203reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 207 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Great even in a storm easy set up !

12/02/2012
By ,
Langhorne, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first tent I ever purchased for me and my two daughters 4 and 9 years old daughter. (Hubby doesn't do camping but growing up I did and wanted the girls to have the same experience# WE went with friends camping and this is the third year I have used it. Last year we had a bad storm and we stayed dry while our friends were trying to get the water out of their own tent. Its SOO easy to set up my daughter and I put it up with my 4 year old looking on taking photos. I have never set up a tent before but the directions were SPOT on.!! I would def. recommend this. Its big enough to put two blow up queen size beds. WE had a queen and a twin with lots of room inside. THe big windows were great for fresh air and the mesh door kept the bugs out. THe little door mat we great to in order to keep the sand out as well. #very important to bring a tarp bigger then your tent to put under it )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Great tent, great price

07/10/2011
By ,
No KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and daughter bought this tent for me as a fathers day gift. We set it up on a 95 degree day with no fights in less than 5 minutes! only 5 poles to set up (4 if you don't use the rain fly.) It was big enough for our king air bed and my daughters twin with room to spare.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

NICE TENT

05/03/2013
By ,
miami, fl ( miami dade count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
on 3/13 WE ORDERED MY BABY A TENT. ME & MY BF PUT IT UP. i WOULD REFER THIS TO ANYONE. We r not regular campers however we had it up once for about 2-3 wks & it stood up well i cant recall if it rained while it was up . I would say the directions are not clear regarding how to get the tent to raise up however we got it. Also very big and spacey inside. So spacey & wide inside that i had to take pics from different angles i uploaded 2 to give yall an general idea Miami dade (305) :))
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Fantastic Tent

07/10/2011
By ,
Spring City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent to essentially replace our popup camper which requires a costly repair.
We needed a tent big enough for the family but easy enough for myself and my 9 year old and his friends to help setup and break down.
I tried it last night at a friends yard and I literally could set it up by myself in about fifteen minutes. There are two huge black rods that essentially "frame the tent. Once the pins are in the rest is easy. The smaller orange poles go across, hook the tent hooks to it and done. A nice touch was the shoe mat that went outside the tent. It helped to keep debris outside.
There were light winds and I didn't even stake the tent down and the tent didn't move an inch.
There was no rain in the forecast so I left the top off. The mesh openings provided a ton of ventilation and made for a great way to see the stars. We kept up the side windows and despite temps in the 90's during the day it was cool at night.
Inside is huge! We setup up two queen size mattresses and there was still room to move around. There are a couple of mesh pockets to put keys, wallet, phone for easy acces.
I normally don't write reviews unless I feel strongly (either positive or negative) about a product. This is a great family tent that I would highly recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent
05/30/2011
By ,
North Padre Island, Corpus Cristi, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We set up this tent on the beach which is very very windy and this tent was pretty sturdy. Before I bought this tent, I bought 2 tents and both broke down on the same day by the wind so i end up returning it and exchanged it with this tent... I absolutely keeping this one. I only give this tent a 4 star because I haven't tried it on the rain yet. But so far I'm happy with it, happy with the size and price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+177points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Ended after 11 days of camping...

08/21/2011
By ,
France
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this tent online for our trip in America. When we first used this tent it was great. Set-up was easy with two people, lots of room inside (perfect for two single air matresses + luggage, definitely not eight people as advertised), height in the center comfortable (you could eat inside at a table + chairs), well ventilated with all the big windows. The only design problem I saw was the too short rainfly. It covers only the top of the tent, as on most tents sold in the US. That means the vast majority of the tent is single walled and so highly exposed to rain. Also the quality of the materials looks quite cheap and thin. It is good to keep a lighter weight to the tent but for example the floor was very fragile. We used a tarp under it, but even with that we have had small holes due to little stones on the ground. Anyway apart from that no other problem, nothing broke or torn.
One night it was raining a bit and we had a little water in the tent. But on the 11th and last night, we had a torrential rain all night, and were woken up by several leaks all over the place. We tried to move the stuff to leave it in the remaining dry places.... So in the morning when the rain stopped, we decided it was no longer useful to keep this tent if it couldn't hold up in the rain, because when you camp you are fairly sure to encounter rainfall. Therefore the tent ended in the campsite bin ! RIP
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent
01/11/2012
By ,
Blaine,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Borrowed this tent from my sister--IT WAS GREAT!! Held 5 teens and all THEIR stuff( you know teens) with plenty of room to spare and weathered 3 days of storms with all well and dry!! I plan on buying one of my own this time! GREAT PRODUCT!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Great tent with "Design Flaw"

09/05/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rain fly doesn't cover side windows. So in a strong storm, rain drains down from the rainfly to bottom of window stitching, and collects. Then weeps in. If rain fly could be extended 15 inches over side windows. The same way it is for the front and rear. It wouldn't have drowned me out last night. Thanks for the shower Ozark, this tents going back...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent
06/11/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can totally recommend this tent. It may be sufficient for winter camping or some hard core stuff, but I don't think it was made with that in mind. We are "good weather campers" and it was great for us. When we got the tent, we sealed the seams and sprayed some extra waterproofing from Walmart on the tent. We had one night of rain, no rainstorm, but steady rain all night long. Everything stayed dry except for one spot we had neglected to seam seal. We have never been tenting before, but this tent was so easy to set up! We tried it once before leaving on our trip and when we arrived at the campground, we set it up in the dark within 10 min. It is easy to put back as well, just make sure that all the windows and the door is open and you get all the air out while folding it up. That way it is really easy to put back into the bag. We also had one night with wind gusts of up to 20 mph, the rain fly stayed on and the tent withstood it all, but we did have four extra stakes on the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nevada City, CA
Great tent!
Posted 03/04/2014
I live in this tent and i'm posting this from this tent. I've been living in this tent for over 2 months while using sensitive electronics inside. Me and my roommate share a full size bed and we heat it with a radiator. There are two tarps over the tent and it stays dry. There's even room for a full desktop computer, a large rat cage, and a kitty condo. The power pocket is a great addition!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

The size and price were right, BUT...

03/24/2014
By ,
New Hampshire
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a roomy tent, which is GREAT! Not too bad to set up. Took me about 30 mins to figure it out and set up the one time I did it. The out-of-the-box weight was 21.4 pounds, which is also great for a tent this size. The tent poles are heavy, and the fabric is lightweight. I prefer a tent with lighter aluminum poles and coated, more durable fabrics. I'm puzzled why anyone would buy a tent that is "water resistant" instead of waterproof. It doesn't say so anywhere I saw in the on-line product description but that's what it says in the instructions that came with tent. The price was great for a tent of this size, but it serves me no purpose here in New England. Maybe in the desert... I'm not going to trust my vacation to a water resistant tent. The seams were not seal coated either, so this tent WILL leak when it rains. It comes with mosquito netting for the windows and doors, but that doesn't deter the minges (aka no-see-ums, gnats, etc) that we have here. Too bad. Too many serious negatives. I returned it unused.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

water proofing, overall quality...

07/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the tent is VERY easy to set up, very spacious inside and you can stand up straight. the sitched slot for an electric cord is a great idea, and the tent is well ventilated. i just got mine today and sat it up in the yard. as far as leaks go, in my experience, there is no such thing as a "leak proof" tent. too many factors involved in their manufacturing to guarentee something like that. i checked all the seams and did see light in some of the stiching, which means, "potential" leak. i bought the recommended coleman sealer and sealed it. with the bottom seam about 6 inches above the bottom of the tent, it was easy enough to seal, as well as up the seams in the corners to just under the rain fly. sealing the corners was a little more difficult but if you take an artist's brush, and work the sealer into the corners, i had it done in less than half an hour. well worth the extra time to do in advance of using the tent. the only thing i didnt like about the tent was the generic stakes they provide with the tent, and i wont use them, as they wont stay in the ground. i bought real stakes to use with mine and i reccomend doing so to anyone else. overall... great value and we cant wait to use ours!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent
06/24/2011
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We attempted to camp last weekend and were excited to use our new tent. We are a family of 5 with a baby, a 2 yr old and a 4 yr old. The tent met our expectations as far as size. We had adequate space for our queen size air mattress, the pack-n-play, and space for our other children to lay their blankets and sleeping bags. We also had additional space for our gear. Unfortunately, we did not get to use our tent for very long because we had pretty bad thunderstorms while we were camping. The first night, we stayed dry. The 2nd day, the rain was at a downpour and the wind was pretty bad. The tent was sturdy and did not shake in the wind. However, we did not spray our tent prior to camping and we had a significant amount of leaks in the back corners of the tent. We liked this tent for the roominess but are unsure if it will withstand rain in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Was tested in a heavy rain.

06/23/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super quality, takes 10 min to set up buy 2 people. Was tested in a heavy rain in the mountains, chinks of ice were falling from the sky- inside the tent was dry and safe. We were 2 people inside- lots of room for everything u can think off ( Even to store some firewood so it don't get wet if its raining for a few days). I can see this tent to be very roomy for 4 adults- with lots of space to walk around the tent. You can fit 6 adults with some backpacks- wont be much room to move around really. I don't see how its possible to sleep 8 in it- no way. You can stand up inside the tent, it has 2 small pockets on the inside to store flashlight, bug spray etc. Zippers quality is awesome- so easy to open/close door and windows. Was not tested in heavy wind yet, so cant say anything about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Did not meet expectations...

03/31/2014
By ,
Birmingham, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tent for my son to take a camping trip to Florida over Spring Break. For two days the tent worked great. It was easy to set up and comfortable for sleeping. However, on the third day a rainstorm came through and the tent started leaking around the window openings. My son and his friends moved their possessions to the center of the tent. Then the tent started leaking at the top. After fighting the leaking tent for an hour or so, they loaded up their belongings and found a hotel to rent for the night. Needless to say, that tent was returned immediately. If a tent is to be reliable for camping, it must be leakproof. I did not know that I should try to waterproof it especially the first time it is used. I will not buy this brand of tent again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Great Value Great Tent

07/25/2011
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We research LOTS of tents and even purchased a few including the Coleman Stockton 8 person tent. The Coleman Stockton is the most comparable to this Ozark Trail 8 person. The Ozark was MUCH FASTER and EASIER to put up. Less polls, less stakes. Also, the Ozark stays upright on it's own without the stakes. We put the Ozark up with winds blowing about 10 to 15 mph. Piece of cake. Tent stayed upright with no problems. Polls are sturdy and the tent material is tough. The flooring is exactly comparable to the bottom of the Coleman. It's a great tarp bottom. We set the Ozark up on wet grass and the floor stayed dry. I sprayed the tent down with our hose and the inside stayed completely dry as well and that was before I sealed the seams. This is just a great tent and the price makes it even better. I reviewed ALL the negative comments and I just think those who made negative comments don't understand the "roughing it" part of camping and possibly had expectations that were too high. This is not a "you get what you pay for" tent. You get way more than you pay for. Oh and PLENTY of room for 4 adults plus luggage. 6 adults would fit but as per usual with tents, 8 adults would be really cramped.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pocatello, ID
Great Value Tent
Posted 07/20/2013
We find this tent to be wonderful, great value and easy set up. My husband and one two of the boys (8 and 10) set this up in wet grass at our campsite. We never set it up before hand or checked it for leaks as other viewers recommended. The tent was up in about 15 minutes, I think thats pretty quick considering not putting it together beforehand. We had a pretty good storm come through and it stayed up and the rain cover remained on without any leaks. We never put the waterproofing seal on it either. My husbands main concern with tents in general is if he can stand straight in them (he is 6'3) and with this one there is not a problem at all. Ours did come with the the mud mat and considering we had 7 kids (9-14) and 2 adults in this tent for there to be minimal dirt and debris is a great thing. The inside is very spacious. We put in a queen sized air mattress and the kids all laid out sleeping bags and that took up the remaining floor space. Just to give you an Idea of the amount of floor space. We have used this so far on 4 occasions and each time with the same amount of people for at least a week and it is still in great condition. The tear down is easy as well except for fitting it back into its bag. But I will take another commenters advice and open the windows to aid in air removal. I would definitely purchase again. :) Happy camping
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Spacious, easy set up, keeps you dry

06/24/2011
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the tent, went camping with the family of 5. VERY easy to put up, VERY spacious inside. It rained...it kept everyone dry for the most part. The door flap wasn't completely closed and some rain came in and collected into my husband's boot (!!!) While we were cozy and dry our friend's tent got all soggy and puddly. :( poor friend... Also, just wanted to point out that there's a little mud mat entrance thing you step on before you go in, the friend was laughing and joking about that, but it did in fact keep the tent cleaner inside, hers got a little icky. It was a cinch to take down too. The only trouble I had was getting all of the air out of the tent to fold back small enough to fit into the pouch...but it was done!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+220points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Camping tent
Posted 05/10/2012
I have read the reviews on this tent and am very disappointed with the product.The tent is so cheaply made, and is not constructed very good.It is difficult to put up and there is not an instruction manual with it, just on the bag that the tent comes in and the instructions are not explained very well on the bag how to put it together. I bought it on the first of May 2012 and received it on the 4th of May 2012, put it together today and the zipper on the door of it broke right away, i do not consider this product to be of quality material nor do i consider it to be of easy put together, needs to come with instruction manual and made easy to read and self explained.I would not recommend this to any one.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Duct tape saves the weekend!

08/29/2012
By ,
Sahuarita, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tent. It met all my needs and expectations barring one small incident. It has plenty of room for 2 queen mattresses with plenty of room in between them. I had enough room to place my gear at the top of the beds as well. Plenty of storage pockets for flash lights, wallets, cell phones, etc. We stayed warm and dry all weekend. The material is well made and held up to two tweens and one 8yr old. It went up with great ease but does require 2 people. I had an 11 yr old which is where & why the incident occurred. When the tent went up, the main pole elastic cord was over extended and snapped. There was no fixing it and I was 1.5 hrs away from the nearest tent store. I wound up duct taping each section together. It worked perfectly and lasted all weekend. The only other issue I would address is the main zipper gets caught if you are not paying attention... so pay attention. You cannot find another tent that does all this for this price. I will be ordering another pole set and would definetly buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

WOW!!!

07/22/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this tent online and and glad to say that I am crazy happy about the decision. First, it took only three days to recieve the tent via FedX. As soon as I opened the package I set up the tent to insure there was no issues like those I have seen on other reviews. I had no holes anywhere. Set up was easy and can be done with one person but a second person would be a big help. To my surprise it was actually larger than I was expecting and the tent colors were darker than in the picture but actually look better than the picture. My little family (two dogs, wife, and 2yr old son) and I have room to have our queen air bed inflated and a table and chairs, and all of our food inside at the same time. Needless to say I can see this tent staying in use for a long time while our family grows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Great tent minus zippers

10/05/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent is a great value for the price. It worked perfect for "fair weather" camping. Can't say much for rain or wind since we were lucky to have none. It was pretty easy to put together, but the directions were lacking clear instructions which was our only complaint about that. The tent seems like a good quality, minus the zippers. They snag very easily and you have to be careful not to get them caught on the fabric. Other than that, I have no complaints about this tent. It easily fit our queen air mattress with room to spare on either side, plus our two duffel bags and a large dog crate. If you had more people camping, you could comfortably fit four people plus gear, and even more if you weren't using air mattresses and duffel bags.
One more thing to note: if you don't use the rain fly, the tent is 'open' at the top. The top sections of the tent are made of screens, so if you are at a campground, you may want to use the rain fly even if it is not supposed to rain just to get a little more privacy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

The REAL review.. (Read Mine)

05/29/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am an avid camper, and have been camping since I was in cub scouts (I'm 29 now). I wanted to write a good review, because the ones on here were incomplete.
Summary: This tent holds up pretty well, and I reccomend.
Here are a few good points:
* Cost friendly (At $89 dollars at walmart, you get a good deal)
* Kept us dry (It rained for about 12 hours, and I only saw a drop or two)
* Kept the bugs out (My lady appreciated that)
Here are the neutral points:
* Takes two people to setup (Don't even think you can do it alone)
* Not sure it will last me 20 years like a Kelty tent would. I expect to get 4 or 5 good uses
Here are the bad points:
* Zippers most certainly catch the material from time to time.
* Does not come with a foot print. (Buy A Tarp!)
* Rain Fly should be a tad larger, but it was sufficient (See above)
* Tent stakes could be better (Buy the Coleman tent stakes from Walmart at $4)
Overall you can trust this particular model. I believe it is a tent made just for walmart, and Ozark Trail does not have a website. I also recomend buying the O2 Cool battery operated fan. The box says it will run for 24 hours on a set of D batteries, but it lasted us about 30 straight hours on Rayovac Alkiline batteries. Also, the Ozark trail sleeping bags are better than the Coleman ones. Coleman bag ripped on day 2.
As for the reviews from people who said their tent leaked.. if the rain cover is on properly, and the guy lines are tied down, and windows are closed, you are fine. If you are that worried, buy some seam sealer (Coleman)
** Make sure to set it up BEFORE your camping trip. Ensure that all pieces are in the bag, and that the tent is not damaged. You should do this with any tent, regardless of where it came from. ***
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next