Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

A must-have for every adventurist, the Ozark Trail 8-Person Tent, 14' x 8' is a free-standing camping tent that offers adequate space to fit large groups. It can be set up in minutes with the help of the quad-pole system. The three windows provide ample ventilation inside the tent. This 8-person tent can conveniently accommodate two queen air mattresses. A large rain fly with ridge pole and sealed seams are provided to protect you from rain. During clear weather conditions, you can remove the rain fly and get additional ventilation. The durable Teflex fabric coating together with the rain fly keeps the interior dry and clean. The Power Port located in front of the Ozark Trail dome tent enables you to connect power cables without having to unzip the door. With the included carry bag, which is made of recycled polypropylene fabric, you can conveniently take this Ozark Trail dome tent anywhere with you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.054 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation80%165 out of 205reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 211 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Leaked despite seam sealer

06/30/2012
By ,
Springfield, VT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my second Ozark Trail tent, and based on its performance the quality has gone down considerably in the past 16 years, though I also think I paid about $10 less for this one. The materials of this are much lighter-weight, and it leaked more than the old one does even now. (I'd still be using the old one except that it was a dome. The poles split and were an odd size, therefore hard to replace. At this point, they're mostly duck tape and not very stable.) I sealed the seams of both and applied waterproofing spray to this one. After a few hours of very heavy rain, we had big puddles, more than we'd have had after a few days in the old tent. The biggest problem points are the end windows, the triangular seems on the floor (even after I covered them on the outside with duck tape), and anywhere there are hooks to attach to the frame. The rain fly more or less dumps rain onto the windows, where it puddles and eventually seeps through. The fabric used to attach the hooks absorbs water, which again seeps through, especially where the fabric is most tightly stretched. One problem this shares with the old tent is that after heavy or sustained rain, there is a drip where the poles cross in the middle. This would probably be fine if there were fabric rather than screen there. Our solution to this has been to throw a raincoat over that spot on the airbed.
On the bright side, this does go up quickly and it has stood up well to some very strong winds. We use a queen airbed at one end, and it's nice to have room for a chair or two at the other end. I would have preferred an extra foot or so of width, however.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Tent itself is fine.

06/08/2012
By ,
Bridgewater Me
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wind resulted in a portion of the poles to splinter, and Walmart does not offer replacement poles for this tent. One season's use of a tent such as this is not satisfactory to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Great Tent

04/24/2013
By ,
Fort Myers, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it for a camping trip with myself and 2 kids. It was vey spacious and looked exactly as it was shown on the picture. It was well worth the $80
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Great tent and great value

04/24/2013
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tent for the money; easy to set up for its size and really roomy. Very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

5 stars

06/01/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was my 1st time camping ever. I bough this tent for my mom and her dog for mothers day 2013. I bought it directly at Walmart. I had also bought online the 3 room xl tent oz ozark for my family of 4 ,that looks like a little house with a red rainfly and it is blue with beige for a price of 139. Well since my tent had not arrived yet we decided to assemble this Ozark 8 person tent in my living room area ( on mothers day). I live in a condo. This thing was huge and occupied all my living room. I was amazed how big it was. Although I think there is no way 8 persons can be in there comfortable without being one on top of each other or unless all of them are in sleeping bags in a stright row, definetly 4-5 can be there very comfortable. When I saw it assembled I said " Honey I think we are going to have to return ours " This would be enough for us 4.
There are several things that i loved. 1st _ You walk in and do not bump your head with the ceiling and do not have to enter crawling like those other little tents. You can perfectly change your clothes in there while being standing. I loved the colors it makes it look so cozy inside. I say a queen Matresss plus a full would fit comfortable with a little space in the middle. It is easy to assemble. Took like 10 minutes for my husband and I to put it together. Now when my tent arrived a week later since it was so big we decided to assemble it outside. Once it was all put together and i went inside I did not like it. I felt something was missing. I did not feel it cozzy at all, did not like the colors either. I could not get the tent with the red rainfly because it was out of stock but instead my tent was all color beige with dark blue. I went and changed for the ozark 17x8 which is very similar to this one because of the colors ( a little bit larher though) but very similar in the design. I am so happy for both tents. We went camping and it rained although not too hard and it passed the test. There is a video on you tube of a guy called "camping in lake greenwood". He has this same tent if you want to see how it looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Quick setup, large space, amazing price!

09/04/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I go camping at least four times a year, and I am extremely picky about what tent I use. I used to have a Columbia Bugaboo II, but the dimensions were wonky and it started to leak. Moreso after the tree branch came through the ceiling, but that's neither here nor there. So, I needed a new tent, under budget, in a hurry. This tent worked wonders. Here's the deal:
Pros:
- Quick, easy setup.
I had a friend help me set up the tarp and pitch the tent, and we didn't even really need the instructions. Two large black poles for the main cross, two orange ones for the sides, and one for the fly. Boom. Done! And in less then 10 minutes. The weather report had called for a little rain, but no wind, so I didn't bother with the guylines on the fly.
- HUGE space.
I have a double-high queen air mattress with me when I camp, plus a large Rubbermaid container that my clothes, towels, and sheets go into. This tent held it all, with room to spare. I had the head of the bed pointed at the left side of the tent, and left enough room that it wasn't touching the left wall. This gave me about 6-8" on either side of the bed, so when getting up I wouldn't be hitting the walls. My container and other bags were off on the right of the tent, and had plenty of space to put them, plus a camp chair and a small rug for my dirty boots.
- Ventilation.
The windows helped a lottttt. It was humid, but windy, so it helped keeping them unzipped. Granted, more shade would have helped, too, but that was a location issue, not a tent issue.
Cons:
- Rainfly is a tad short on the sides.
We only got a little rain - maybe 1/2" to 1" one day - but the rainfly and the tub floor held up well - no leaks! I was concerned, though, that if it rained harder or sideways that the short-sided fly wouldn't help, but that will be tested at a later date. Scotchguard and seam-seal your tents before you go - it's not foolproof, but it helps.
- Front door zipper catching.
The only thing that really bothered me was that the zipper kept catching on the little flap of material when I would zip/unzip the door. But this is easily remedied by slowing down when you open/close the door.
- No overhead storage.
My last tent had an overhead storage net, hanging cupholders, and mesh pockets on the sides for your excess gear. This tent has one pocket on either side of the tent, and one ring in the top center to hang something from. Not the most convenient, but I tent to use the top of my storage bin as a table instead. Even better - get some of the cheap back-to-school plastic drawer sets and use those for clothes, storage, and a table.
- Mud mat ripped off of the toggle.
This tent comes with a 'mud mat' that attaches by toggles right outside the door, and then is staked down. The stitching on the toggles is kinda shoddy, and it ripped off one of the toggle lines when my foot slid. This can be easily replaced by the company, or just use a spare chunk of tarp. (See below.)
Plus, I needed this tent in a huge hurry - I ordered it on a Sunday and paid for rush shipping. It was shipped Monday morning, and was at my house by Tuesday afternoon. Woot!
TIP: Buy a 10'x20' ground tarp and cut it down to 8'x14'. Use the spare pieces for added rain coverage, make a shady spot, or a better mud mat. And keep a tent repair kit handy at all times for any tent - you'll be glad you did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Ozark Trail All-Purpose Tarp
4.7 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Perfect for beginner

10/15/2012
By ,
Prattville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this tent over the weekend. It was so easy to put up and take down. It actually fit back in the bag too! I had a queen and double air mattress in it with plenty of room to walk around and for our bags.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Bad Buy

01/01/2014
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it twice. It rained and leaked. After using it, I stored it in my outside shed. It deteriorated prior to my taking it out the next year. The flooring ripped as soon as I unfolded it to set it up. This was a $90 bust. Not worth $50 because it won't last to set up the next year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

wet night

11/20/2013
By ,
Largo Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this tent in September after the zipper on my last tent broke. This was very close to my old tent that I liked. Went on first camping trip with this tent November 15th. Set up was fine. The first night it started raining around 10:00 pm. I woke up around 11:00 pm with water dripping on my head. My pillow was already soaked along with the front part of our air mattress. When I got up in the morning there were puddles trough out the tent. Needless to say I was not a happy camper! I do not recommend this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Great tent

08/29/2012
By ,
Middleburg, fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy and quick to assemble, it took my wife and I just 10 min.
I let it sit in the rain for 3 days and not one drop of water was inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

fine tent

07/03/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
just a fine tent. i like the color and style but it's kinda hard to put up. seemed to be smaller in actual than the advertised dimensions because our 2 queen air beds didn't fit lengthwise which should have been less than 14 feet. i think this should be a tent for 6 people only and not 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

great tent for a beginner

07/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the tent was pretty big and when we had our camping, it was actually raining and it did a great job..
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

roomy and easy to put up

10/02/2012
By ,
Owensboro, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great first tent!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Good tent - Worth more than I paid

07/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good tent. Roomy and well ventilated. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

3rd time was NOT the charm

05/16/2012
By ,
Chicago il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this tent, drove from Chicago to Pennsylvania, first time it rained the dry rotted poles snapped and the whole tent collapsed on us. THe next day we hunted down a walmart and traded it in for another one. Same tent, SAME THING HAPPENED.
Funny thing is, Our neighbors had the same tent, and on day 4, their poles snapped too. HUH. I'm seeing a pattern here. Like, 3 states away and still dry rotted.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

This tent cost us our vacation

08/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I took this tent out for our first vacation in many years, and were greatly looking forward to a few days fishing next to a lake in Colorado. We got the tent set up according to the instructions and initially were quite happy with our purchase. Unfortunately on the second day (second day!) a thunderstorm came up that damaged our tent beyond repair. The tent blew down, we set it back up during a break in the storm, and it blew down again. Two of the tie-down tabs (heavy nylon bands with metal loops located on the long side of the tent that you use to stake down the tent) tore off during the storm, leaving holes in the floor-pan of the tent. The main tent poles, of the fiberglass type with strong elastic cord inside them, split open and tore apart, making it impossible to use them or to set up the tent again. Of course everything that was inside the tent was soaked. As a result of the poor performance of this tent we wound up coming home after only one night and losing the rest of our vacation.
FYI, there were no weather warnings (I checked via mobile phone while waiting out the storm in the car), this was just a typical summer storm that our tent should have withstood easily.
We purchased this tent as part of a value bundle that included sleeping bags and an air mattress, and those items were of good quality.
The best thing that I can say about this experience is that the customer service rep at the manufacturer, who we had to call as the first step of the returns process, was very helpful and didn't give us any argument. She offered to replace the poles for free but told us the floor-pan was essentially unrepairable. We returned the defective tent to our local Wal-Mart for a full refund, which we applied to the purchase of a different tent. I just wish we could have gotten a replacement for our vacation as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue
07/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roomy tent for a family of four. We used two queen size beds and had a little room for our bags. I couldn't see eight people sleeping in this tent and being comfortable. It was a great price. The only negative about the tent is the rain guard. I wouldn't feel confident that the rain guard would keep us dry; it barely covers the top of the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Great Tent

11/28/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews on a lot of tents and this one seemed best for my needs. Really big, love the center height, as my husband is 6'. Pretty easy to set up, and I like that the instructions are printed on the inside of the tent bag. One minor problem is the door zipper was slightly troublesome and don't really like the way the 2 door zippers meet (the bottom zipper flap is a little weird where the zippers meet.) I strongly suggest seam sealing this tent around the bottom, all the mid seams and at the bottom of the windows. We didn't get any rain on our first trip with this tent, but you could see some light through the stitching, so probably a good idea. I recommend this tent for the price and it was also shipped free to my house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Leaky, HOT and smaller than I expected...

08/18/2013
By ,
WV Eastern Panhandle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great tent unless it rains....even just a light drizzle like we had caused a leak at the bottom corner of one of the window screens, right in the seam. It leaked bad enough to cause a good sized wet spot at the foot of our queen air mattress. I should note that we didn't use a waterproofing sealer on the tent...lesson learned. If we ever use the tent again we will definitely waterproof it. Still, the rain fly needs to extend all the way to the ground, not end above the windows. It was a breeze to set up and take down, just be sure you put a tarp under the tent to keep sticks/rocks from poking through the floor. We also put quilts under the air mattresses for added protection for them. If you're going to be camping in hot weather you won't be able to sit or nap in it during the day, this thing was like an oven! Even with all the screens open. And I cannot imagine how eight people could sleep in this tent unless you don't mind being stacked like sardines. We had two queen air mattresses in it and there was barely enough room to put suitcases/other essentials and still leave any walking room. I would call this a two person tent, but then I like a little room to breath (like in a nice hotel room!). Overall not a bad tent....just make sure to waterproof it, don't plan on using it during the day in hot weather and limit sleepers to two if you're using a queen air bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent, Blue

Don't know about the tent- returned before used

04/17/2013
By ,
Columbus, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed this tent for a specific day, paid extra for fast shipping. Received an email the day before expected arrival, that order was delayed. Before I was able to cancel order on wal-mart.com, the order had already processed. Received the tent three days later than needed, and promptly returned it to store. I feel like wal-mart waited too long to let me know it was delayed, and didn't really give me a chance to cancel the order which I ended up paying express shipping for, and I didn't receive when originally promised.
I ended up purchasing an 8 man instant tent made by the same manufacturer. The instant tent is awesome! I can set it up by myself in about five minutes. Love it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 180 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  9 Next