Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Add the Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent to your travel checklist and explore the outdoors leaving behind all your camping woes. This 12 x 8 tent can accommodate up to 6 persons and provide you with 96 square feet of dedicated sleeping space. The two pole assembly makes it very easy to set up. Made from Teflex water-repellent fabric, this outdoor family tent will accompany you on your camping trips for years together. It also has a large rain fly that helps keep the tent dry. This Ozark Trail 12' x 8' tent is spacious enough to accommodate 2 queen size mattresses and has 3 windows to facilitate ventilation. The rain fly can even be removed for additional ventilation. A power port at the front eliminates the need to unzip the tent to allow power cables inside. The included carrying bag, made from recycled polypropylene fabric, makes it easy to carry the tent around.
Average Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation79%99 out of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 151 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Good Low Budget Tent

05/15/2012
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this tent for the first time last weekend. With two of us it was very easy to put up. We had a double-high queen airbed inside along with some gear. Had plenty of room. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because of the rain fly. It doesn't cover the windows, but I knew that before purchasing. I was able to fix the problem with a rain fly from an older tent. I put it over the original one and as you can see in the pictures, the windows are now covered. I was able to leave the windows open and have privacy. I plan on making another fly from a tarp for those rainy days that won't go away. I can't wait to use it again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Leaks like a sieve -

07/02/2011
By ,
Bay Area, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews & figured this little tent at a great price would work out just fine for our annual camping trip. Boy was I wrong. We were caught in a sudden downpour and the thing leaked like you wouldn't believe. The rainfly covering the mesh top did nothing to stop the water from pouring in. The water soaked in around the windows as well.
When the rain dried out and the camping continued the tent was still a big disappointment. The walls inside dripped condensation. The walls were soaking wet in the am. There were just 2 of us sleeping inside as well. There just isn't enough circulation.
It was super easy to set up & take down. The storage bag is roomy making it easy to get back in the bag. However, the bag ripped when were putting it away. We had it neatly folded - there wasn't any excuse for the bag to rip.
We returned the thing the same day we returned home. Couldn't get rid of it fast enough.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Perfect tent

07/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched many tents before deciding on this one. It was a great size for the money and the reviews were good (except for the ones from people with way too high expectations for everything). We camped with this at the local campground with our 9 year old daughter. It was so roomy. The little tarp mat at the opening was a nice addition to be able to lose the shoes before entering. The windows were perfect and let such an awesome breeze through! We haven't used it in rain but it was very windy and the tent held up better than expected! Definitely buy this tent. Was well worth the money. Going to be using it again tonight and can't wait. Also the green color is such a nice color! You don't see it very often on tents! And set up took less than 5 minutes as well as take down. Went right back in the carrying bag with no problems!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Not exactly what I expected...

10/26/2011
By ,
Norman, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this for when we go hunting. We needed something that would fit a queen size air mattress, and our hunting gear. The tent sets up quick. I didn't like the stakes that came with it, so I bought the Coleman stakes you can find at Wal-Mart. Our first hunting trip left me a little disappointed in this tent. We managed to fit our air mattress, a 36 inch duffel bag and two large bags with our hunting gear, and that's about all we could fit in. We didn't have much room to move about. We also had the pleasure of having a strong thunderstorm pop up, and we spent three hours in the tent, waiting for the heavy rain to end. The rain fly is great. It allowed us to have the window on the door flap open for fresh air and rain didn't come through. We did have some leakage from one of the windows, so I highly recommend buying some seam sealer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Perfect tent for newbies

08/22/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I used this tent for a camping trip with a group of friends. We were able to fit our Queen size air mattress and several supplies in this tent.
I will say that if you have never put up a tent before it takes a little getting used to. We got confused after inserting the poles, but our very experienced friends walked us through the rest of the process. Once we inserted the poles onto the pins it was a breeze.
This tent is nice and sturdy, held up well in light rain for two nights. We also used a ceiling fan/light and we are very pleased with our purchase. I recommend this tent for two people, even though it fits up to 6, just because I like to have the extra space. If there are one or two adults and one or two small children this tent would still work well. I just could not imagine 6 grown people cramming into this tent. Great product Ozark.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'
02/25/2012
By ,
Macclenny, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG, this tent is so great!! I put it up in about 10 minues and my only helper was my giggling 8 yr old daughter. It was really super easy!! This is my first tent and I'm very happy with it. So far we've only camped out in the backyard, but we can't wait to use it spring break. It fits two queen air mattresses very easily with a couple of feet around the edges, has loop in the ceiling to hand a light, two pockets to store things in on the sides, a nice vented ceiling and huge windows, and a covered flap for the electric cord to come through. Very roomy!! I love it :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Good night's sleep.

06/20/2011
By ,
MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We had two air mattresses in there and plenty of other room for our stuff and loved that we could stand up in the tent - even my tall hubby.
It was really easy to put up. Just two poles and it's set up in minutes.
We had it out last weekend in a pretty strong thunderstom and there two spots in the back corners that dripped water in A LITTLE. It was like one drip every 20 minutes so we were still dry and comfy. We are going to just put a little sealant of some type in there for next time and hope we aren't in a downpour again. Our smaller 4 person version of this tent that is exactly the same didn't leak at all.
One of our rain fly ties didn't come with the hook. Not a big deal but would have rated higher without the drips and the missing tie.
I wouldn't pay the full price they are asking for but it was really cheap with the sale and I think a great deal for what we paid.
Other family members were jealous of how little we paid for such a large tent and it seemed made as well as Coleman one I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+162points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

water poured in through window seams!

02/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tent seemed to be a perfect size for my kids. However, after reading some reviews that stated it leaked at the bottom of the windows, I was hesitant. It seemed like a good value and being a camper I Purchase the tent, set it up in my back yard and completely waterproofed the entire tent. I paid special attention to the seams under the side windows placing waterproof spray and seam sealer on them. The tent was left in the yard for a few days. I did notice on the 3rd day that there was a very light rain outside. I thought I would go sit in the tent see how it holds up to a light rain. When I entered I was shocked to see that the seams were leaking and the floor was soaked. There wasnt that much rain I never expected to see water. This clearly has to be a design flaw as the water accumulated at the seam and poured into the tent and this was a very light rain. I returned the tent the next day I was disturbed that I had spent so much time waterproofing this tent for nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Great Value and Space

07/20/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this tent for the extra space for myself, husband and two year old. Easy setup and take down. Plenty of space. We had one queen size air mattress, one inflated pool float for a mattress, all of our luggage, a fan and still plenty of room to walk around the tent. The first night camping was very windy. The tent stood well, no shaking. The price is great. The small pockets inside the tent were great for our keys, cell phones, wallets and small belongings. The electrical plug slot that feeds from the outside was really convenient as well as the mat that you can attach to the front door. I purchased two solar lights that fit into the ends of the mat instead of the stakes so we had some light walking to the tent at night. The only complaint I would have is the door zipper gets stuck on the flap when zipping and unzipping, but this happens on most anything with a flap over the zipper. I love this tent and am extremely happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

This tent made it through Hurricane Irene

08/31/2011
By ,
Hyde Park, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent for my sis for her birthday 8/25. Wait let me go back a moment. I ordered a tent from Walmart that had 5 stars and when I tried setting it up for my sister in her backyard, it was the wobbliest tent that I have ever encountered! So I bunched the "failure tent" up and brought it back to Walmart and purchased this one. We left this tent set up in our yard for the entire Hurricane Irene disasterous encounter just because we figured that if it would withstand Irene, it would surrive anything. Well, to make a long store short, my sister's tent survived Irene with minimal water leakage. The tent was tested a couple of days before in just regular rain and it did leak in the two far corners as someone mentioned in their review. In our book though, we are giving it 5 stars for comfort, very easy setup and most of all, Hurricane Irene survival. Sis and I highly recommend so much that we are thinking of buying a second one since the price is fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

My first tent and I love it!

07/25/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the chance to take this tent on a camping trip this past weekend. First off the tent is super easy to put up. You could do it alone but I recommend having someone else to assist. It is just less hassle that way.
Three adults and my medium sized dog stayed in the tent. I had a queen size air mattress and each of my friends had a cot to sleep on. We had more than enough room for our bags at the foot of each bed as well as a small walk space.
Unfortunately, it did not rain so I was not able to see how it does in those types of conditions, but based on the previous review's I sprayed my tent down before we left to seal up the windows just in case.
Take down of the tent was also easy. It took a little time to get the air out of it, but with two people it was not difficult at all. I guess that is to be expected anyway, but like I said this is my first tent.
Overall I love this tent and would definitely recommend it to any/everyone! Can't wait to use it again next weekend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Simple tent with some extras

07/03/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this tent on two trips - 1 nice weather, 1 light rain - no issues with water.
Thoughts:
I can set it up myself in about 7-10 minutes.... less if someone helps. The tent itself is a simple 2 pole "x" design. It uses a combination of clasps and fabric holes to to hold the poles in place. I like that there isn't a lot of fabric to catch your poles on. Putting the rain fly on is a bit of a pain, but that would be the case with any tent that is over 6 ft tall.
outside -
stakes are your typical basic narrow L-shape found in most low priced tent. - functional for light duty camping.
The rain fly leaves a lot of fabric exposed - so I suspect that it's very important to avoid touching the sides of the tent during a rain storm.
The rain fly doesn't pull away from the body of the tent very far so I'm not sure how well it breaths with all your windows sealed (I had the windows open both times).
There is a mud flap in front of the door.
Inside -
The floor is a tub design - the base seems thick enough to do the job.
There's a covered flap in one corner to allow an extension cord into the tent.
A hook in the middle of the roof to hang a lantern from.
Several mesh pockets for storage.
Well designed front door! Someone finally got that right! Plus lots of tie backs for screen and door.Good internal ventilation.
Tall enough to stand in the center and not have to stoop (I'm 6').
Overall -
I was a bit worried about the 8' width, sounded a bit to narrow but actually it was fine. This is a good basic tent for weekend campers with a few nice extras. Easy set up and take down. Everything fit back in the bag with room to spare.
5***** rating based on value per $.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+142points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

A Very Good Tent :) !!!!!!!

06/20/2011
By ,
Columbus , Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a tent that i could put a queen air mattress in and have plenty of room to walk around in . Today , i came across this tent and it match , to what i was looking for and the price was great . when i got it and put it up was easy and for most was bigger than my other tent. this is my frist Ozark trail tent and must say they did outstanding on this tent :) .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

good quality for the price

04/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to set up. Easily fits two queen air matresses. 6'1" center height so you can stand up in the center.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

It's fine if you like sleeping in the rain.

09/27/2011
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this nice looking tent and some sealant to spray on it. My husband and I went to the Loretta Lynn Dude Ranch campground, which is in a beautiful area in TN. We set up the tent easily and it looked nice. We placed our queen size air mattress inside and had plenty of walking room like the ad says. During the evening it began raining. When we awoke the next morning the floor of the tent was full of water. The walls were wet, and my husband was laying in a pool of water on the air mattress. My side was dry. Thank God we were on an air mattress rather than sleeping bags!
We had originally planned on spending two nights, but ended up staying only one night. It was the worst camping trip I've ever been on because of this stupid tent. Do not buy it if you expect to stay dry. I returned the tent and the empty can of sealant to Walmart for a full refund. I wish I could demand a refund of the tent site and the tank of gas it took to get there!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

Please don't do this to yourself.

06/08/2013
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased tent on 5/31, I set this up in the backyard to get familiar with the tent and also to waterproof the seams. I sprayed it for about 5 minutes with a waterhose, and checked for leaks and found nothing. The on 6/7 I took my little girl for her first camping trip. We setup the tent in about 20 minutes. A couple of hours later, the skys darkened and it started raining. We climbed into our tent to wait out the rain. I was laying on my sleeping bag and my leg noticed a wet spot about the size of a basketball. About that time, my little girl says, "Daddy, there is a lazy river on my side of the tent". And there was. The seams under the zippered windows passed water through as if they were designed to do so. I am not talking EF3 wind and rain, I am talking a late spring shower through a canopy of trees. We used an entire roll of paper towels to get past the 45 minute rain shower. We returned it to Wal-Mart today with no issues, but still would have rather had the awesome camping trip with my little girl.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

A good tent!

07/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I camp once a year in the summer. This tent is a great option. It fit my queen triple high air mattress and went together easily. The only issue (which everyone I camped with had) was water seaping through the bottom when we had some hard rain. I had a tarp underneath and it seemed to collect on there and then soak through. Also, the rain cover doesn't really pull away from the tent, but it was adequate for the 3 nights of rain I endured. No rain soaked through the top of the tent.
I loved being able to stand in the center and have plenty of room (in fact, my tent was the rainy day entertainment space). I bought in store and paid $5 more than the price advertised online. The bag, tent stakes, etc are all of reasonable quality for the money. If you aren't rough with this tent, it will last you for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

good tent for 2-3 persons

08/29/2012
By ,
sioux falls, sd
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive had this tent a year and its easy to set up, maybe 10 minutes or less including staking it out. i did seam seal the tent and sprayed it with camp dri and have had no water issues. the tent will get condensation on the walls if it is cool outside but nothing too serious just dont touch the walls to start 'wicking'. It is easy to keep warm inside even in 20-30 degree weather. i have a Big Buddy heater which will keep the tent 70+ degrees inside if you circulate the air. There is adequate room for a queen size mattress, a chair, small table, the heater and duffel bags. No way that this is a practical 6 person tent. 2 queen mattresses would fit but not much space left over. The ventilation is good with the windows down. The zippers on my tent work good. All said, its a great little tent for 2=3 people, 4 tops. I've been in 35-40 mph sustained winds and if properly staked (with decent tent stakes, not the ones it comes with), it stood up, although one of the pin rings broke, which is easily fixed. It was less last year when I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'

easy to assemble

06/13/2011
By ,
Rockville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had so far only one night out in this tent. It was easy to assemble and the material seems to be sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 6-Person Tent, 12' x 8'
07/15/2011
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had one day it poured and everything inside stayed dry. So I would recommend this tent to my friends and family
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next