Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

The Paul Jr. Designs Coleman RoadTrip Grill is a portable camping gas grill that is functional and stylish. This powerful Coleman RoadTrip gas grill has authentic open flame and drip-through grilling. It is collapsible and can be used at home or on camping trips. The grill has a generous cooking area of 285 square inches and has dual 10000-BTU straight burner. The independent control knobs in this camping gas grill let users to adjust temperatures on either burner for flexibility. The cast iron grates used in it are porcelain coated and are durable and easy to clean. The Coleman 2 Burner Grill also has Instastart electronic ignition so that you can light it up even without matches when you need to the grilling during camping. It comes with collapsible legs featuring two wheels on one end and a wide handle on the other for towing
Average Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%53 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Great Grill!

01/24/2011
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved into an apartment with a small balcony and obviously needed a small grill. I didn’t want to buy a “cheap,” small grill that would be no use to me when I eventually move to a larger place and have space for a larger grill. I found this grill and noticed it is compactable, so when I do move, I can still use this grill to tailgate, camp, etc. I honestly don’t do the grilling, but my boyfriend loves the way it cooks and I love the way the food tastes :) It is definitely large enough to fit many burgers, hotdogs, steaks etc. I would highly recommend this grill! We just leave it standing up on our balcony and it fits perfectly in the corner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 2 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Great Grill

11/09/2010
By ,
Omaha NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment, so I am restricted to having a grill that uses the small propane canisters. I found this grill from Coleman and it fits what I was looking for perfectly.
It has a good size grilling surface. I was able to cook 10 large kabobs on it the other night. It heats up quickly and cooks great! The lid is pretty shallow, so that you cannot cook a beercan chicken on this grill. However, the upside is the grill heats quickly and gets back up to heat in a short amount of time after the lid is closed.
The only downside to the grill is that the latch is pretty flimsy and won't hold the lid closed. Other than that, this grill is close to perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 3 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

very nice and compact

01/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy w/ the product. Compact and easy to store in the motorhome. Easy to use and clean.
The price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 4 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

what we were looking for

04/26/2011
By ,
saint francis,mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product like the fact it came almost fully together, folds up nice, great apperence,cooks food great easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Syracuse, NY
Perfect size for tailgates
Posted 06/23/2011
We travel to lacrosse games & football games and needed a space efficient grill to fit in the car, with a lot of grilling space. This is perfect. The cooking serface is large and the wheels make it easy to move. A great gift to the ultimate tailgater!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Griiltastic

03/08/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PROS: This grill is awesome for both camping and tailgating. It gets hot quick so not use up propane fast. I have had both grilled steak at night, switch out to the griddle plates in the morning and cooked eggs and bacon. Perfect for camping, not to mention it folds up and is easy to pack. Got nothing but compliments tailgating. It looks great with all the chrome, Harley guys love it! CONS: Have to keep your eye on it all the time so no one steals it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Great Portable Grill for the Price

06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the Paul Jr. Road Trip 2 Grill and it was $20-50 cheaper than the Road Trip grill and best I could tell it's identical except for cosmetics. It assembled easily, lights and works great, cooks pretty evenly. The extra tables and hooks are very handy. Walmarts price was the best online w. delivery... sadly, they don't seem to carry Coleman grills in the store.
The thermometer didn't work at first, but now seems to be working right. The catch that locks the lid shut for transportation is poorly designed and very flimsy... as it bounces down the trail, expect your lid to pop open and your grills to fall out. But if you don't tote it far, or ground is smooth you can get by. It's likely nothing a good bungee cord won't fix. For how well everything else works, it's a mystery why Coleman went so cheap on this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Love my Grill

07/07/2011
By ,
up north
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Grill. So easy to take anywhere. I cooked with the heat on low with the lid closed and had no problems. Cant wait till next week when I go camping again and can show it off. Have friends that r now buying this grill. I bought the griddle and stove grate when I bought the grill and am so glad I did. I cooked my bacon in a frying pan on the stove grate instead of straight on the grill Just because I didn't want a bunch of grease all over my grill. The stove grate also worked great for boiling up water to wash dishes. The griddle worked well for our french toast,hashbrowns sausage links. I might actually buy another stove grate in case I need to use 2 at a time. I have had no problems with the latch as other have. Hope everyone loves this grill as I do.
i
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

It's a heavy bugger....

02/20/2011
By ,
Sacto CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well...I didn't care at all who designed it -- in fact, Paul Jr. didn't do anything all that great. BUT when I went looking for a portable gril and what you get for you $'s....this was a great deal.
It's heavy and the latch is not very good -- I've employeed the bungee around the cover to ensure it stays closed, but the Coleman quality was there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 9 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Pro's & Con's

06/22/2011
By ,
Asheville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife bought me this grill for my birthday and as an early Father's day gift. We love the Grill. It cooks great and we can take it anywhere we want to go. However, with that said there are some SERIOUS design and structure flaws. The plastic handle for pulling the grill is really weak. I stepped on it once to setup grill (per instructions) and it cracked. The locking switch (which locks the grill shut) is designed backwards. When you stand the grill up to pull, the lock slides down (because of GRAVITY) and opens while you are pulling the grill to the desired location. My final thought is, it's way too short when setup. The designer was over paid, but the results are almost satisfactory.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Just What We Were Looking For

07/13/2011
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This grill is exactly what we were looking for...something reasonably light and portable, solid construction and great at searing meats. We wanted something that would take both 1-lb propane cylinders (for camping, the beach, etc.) and larger propane tanks (for use at home) and this is it but it does require separate purchase of a hose adapter in order to use the larger propane tanks.
Far more robust in construction than the standard Coleman RoadTrip LXE grill, it also has a thermometer in the cover that the standard grill doesn't have and is less expensive than the standard grill (I couldn't figure out why because it is better than the standard grill almost all the way around). It easily collapses to a small, easily movable and storable item and just as easily expands and sets up for grilling. Clean-up is easy and Paul Jr did a bang up job turning it into a great looking grill.
One disappointment is the low heat is a bit too hot so it cooks the food pretty fast. Don't turn your attention away from grilling or you risk it getting overdone before you know it.
I also don't like the fact that the hose adapter (for the larger propane tanks) and a cover couldn't be purchased from Walmart but they can be purchased at Coleman.com, Amazon.com, eBay.com or several other on-line and brick stores.
I'd also recommend purchasing the wheeled carry case if you plan to be traveling with it. It holds the grill and accessories and zips up tight. It will certainly help to keep your vehicle free of grease and it's nice not to have to pack everything separately from the grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Well worth it!

06/21/2011
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the exception of the lid lock (Bungie cord works for me), I am very pleased with this grill. I use it every chance I get as it now serves 2 purposes for my family. Replaces a much larger gas grill at home (plenty of grill surface) and is a Great compact camping grill. I have also purchased the Coleman 2 burner stove to use for "pots and pans" cooking due to the high cost for the assessories for this grill, i.e... stovetop coil and griddle plates. You wont be dissapointed in this grill though. Heats up fast, no "cold spots", cleans rather easy and stores away nicely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

O' Boy...

05/09/2011
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill thinking that it would be great for cooking hotdogs & sausages on. Wrong!!!! you can cook anything that fits on it, as fast or as slow as you want to. The pictures do this grill no justice. It is a pretty nice size grill and well built. I was wowed at the size of it when I got it. On mothers day, I cooked the whole family dinner on it. Mom's to the great, great grandchildren.
This is a steal at Wal-mart. The Reg price is $300.00. If i could i would give this as a gift 2 all me family & friends that like to BBQ & the outdoor scene.
Luv it.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Excellent for Small Spaces & BIG Spaces Too!

12/31/2010
By ,
Beautiful Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this BBQ for my husband's Christmas present and he couldn't be more happy with it. It has all the space you need for 3-4 steaks. It's easy to move around in tight spaces, it heats up quickly, storage is not a problem, and the height is perfect. I have to admit that I didn't read all the information about this BBQ because it was so perfect...so I wasn't aware of the propane tank size...luckily we had one that fit it perfectly. If you'd prefer to use a large propane tank, you'll need to purchase a separate hose for the regulator.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Great grill for the price

07/06/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just used this grill last weekend camping. We don't cook too much meat on the grill (did do burgers once and they were fantastic, but I was starving....) but it is great to have a stove that has the ability to cook a variety of items. We cooked bacon, eggs, pancakes, etc on it and it was great. I did purchase the extra attachments that come with it - the pot attachment so you can cook something in a pot, etc, and the griddle (LOVED THE GRIDDLE) were great. Even heat, got really hot if I wanted it to, but the low setting was nice and low (have had some grills that low was really "medium". Cleanup seemed easy and I loved the fact that it collapsed, easy to move around.
I don't know how easily it would clean up after cooking steaks, lots of burgers, etc. We tend to cook our meats over charcoal or a fire, so I don't have any experience yet with that. But, it was extremely nice to be able to pop a little coffee on the stove in the morning and fire up the eggs and bacon/pancakes without building a fire. For the price, I don't think you could beat it!!!!
I had contemplated purchasing a table top grill that was less expensive, but I'm glad I didn't. When camping, table space seems to be at a premium anyway and it was nice to be able to have the grill off to the side and away from the table - the side tables that slide in and out were nice to have (did have one of the "springs" stuck and had to fix, but overall well made).
Great grill! Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 15 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Impressive right out of the box

06/10/2011
By ,
bristol tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my husband, he bragged on me for days and still does about my buying this for him. The guys were impressed BEFORE we even got it out of the box. Easy to put together and LOOKS GREAT. Tried it out at the campground this past week-end and it COOKS GREAT too. Now we are getting the accessories, they are costly and we wanted to wait to make sure it worked good. We had to go to another camp supplier to get the accessories, wish walmart would carry them they might not have been so expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Great Grill

04/12/2011
By ,
HB. Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The grill sets up nicely and cooks very well. This is a great looking grill and heats up very quickly. I followed the manafucturers instructions on pre-heating the grills and had no problems at all. I recommend the hose connector w/adapter for the larger 5 gal Propane bottles as it used up the 1 gal bottle cooking just three meals. The hooks in front are a bit fragile and you have to be careful when packing the grill in tight spaces. Clean up is easy, specially if you line under the grills with tin foil.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Coleman Paul Jr Portable Grill

05/06/2011
By ,
Kent County, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice grill, heats well, easy to clean grill grates, folds up easily like an ironing board and rolls on the 2 back wheels. I am happy with the grill. In storage I keep the grates separate from grill.
HOWEVER, 1. The grill cover latch does not work! It is supposed to keep the cooking grates from falling out when walking/rolling the grill; I have to bungee cord the cover so it stays closed when walking with it. 2. The grill handles get in the way when storing the folded grill upright in my garage
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

Best Grill Ever

04/24/2011
By ,
Clover, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Coleman grill through Walmart.com after seeing it another store for $60 more. We camp a lot and it is great. I bought the stove component and travel bag. I cooked breakfast and dinner each night. i did buy the griddle iron but am going to send it back after using the grill grate and stove grate. I liked Paul Jr version because it has a temp gauge on top. The red version does not. I will likely buy the convertor kit for the larger gas supply. I am thrilled with this purcahse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill

close buy no cigar I am disappointed

05/16/2011
By ,
IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is definately impressive to look at, and it cooks fast with 2 burners I do not consider it to be much of a portable grill kind of heavy if you are packing a lot of gear this is heavy, bulky flippy floppy can easily be finger pincher .
the grill plates do not have anything like a dimpled area or slot to hold it steady will move when trying to slide a spatula under something, and they will flop and drop around in transport stuck them in a trash bag just another thing to keep track of, no good place to put the grill plates, and regulator for transport,
I look at it basically as a coleman stove with make shift, grill plates put in it with the regular stove burners it uses for flame the light bulb shaped area which is a closed area over the burner is terrible to clean builds up a hard burnt crust tried using grilling pam but did not help ,it builds up crust fast with one steak or burger,the entire thing is a lot of work to cleanup since the tray under the burners are basically a bowl I had to use oven cleaner and soaked the grill plates a long time to clean them ,half way decent, not sure what to do with it I might just order the stove grate and griddle, available for it and have a fancy coleman stove the tank bracket holds the tank right in front of the drip tray so the tank has to be removed kind of aggravating itself to remove, to drain it just has a lot of little things that puts this below a 30 dollar charbroil grill in my book which I may order and use this as a conversation piece at the camp sight.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Coleman Paul Jr. Designs RoadTrip 2-Burner 20,000 BTU Gas Grill
03/07/2011
By ,
Auburn , Wa.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
its ok the latch doent hold the lid down
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-1point
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next