Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Braun Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Braun Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Experience the Braun Series 5 shaver. Complete with ActiveLift to capture flat-lying hair in problem areas for a smooth and precise shave, this electric men's shaver delivers the close shave you expect from the reliable Braun shaver brand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%122 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Excellent Shave

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned older model electric razors by other makers, however none of them compare to this razor. One swipe and it is smooth skin, not to mention the wow factor of its self cleaning. Lots of shaving creams make me break out. Now no break oouts with this Braun.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Very good shave with this product, close, smooth c

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

braun electric shaver

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Braun shavers in the past but this new one has risen to a new standard. I am known for growing a dense wiry beard that is tough to cut. The 5 series 550CC does an amazing job that is quick and close. Under the chin where it seems to be the densest is no problem and on the neck where at 67 years old the skin is not tout it gets it done with ease. I am totally satisfied and have not yet used the automated cleaning system yet which I expect to be as impressive as well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

great smooth cut

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is one of the best razors i have ever used .my old one last for 15 yr.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Good shaver for disabled.

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Amazingly close shave

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few years ago I bought an inexpensive Braun shaver just to see if it would shave close enough that I would actually use it. It did. I have used it now for years and finally decided to "move up" in the Braun line. This one is so much better that I kick myself for not buying it before now. It shaves fast and so close I can hardly believe it is not a razor. I love it! Definitely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Excellent shaver

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best of any shaver, foil or rotary, and the trimmer is second to none.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

good quality

06/19/2014
By ,
La fayette, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have searched for an electric shaver that didn't irritate my skin and gives a close shave and this one does it. As a bonus it is fairly inexpensive. It has various settings that meet the requirements of your face and yet gives a close shave. It's easy to clean and the cleaning station does a very nice job.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Great Razor

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, Great Quality @ Great Price
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Braun 5 Series

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used cheap electric shavers in the past and thought I was getting a good enough shave until I used this. Wow. Best shaver I have ever used. I choose the five because of the rating and because the 7 series was a little too expensive still. Still a perfect shave, absolutely no pull or irratation what so ever. If your debating whether it's worth the money, it is. No worrying about getting it clean or fresh everytime because the charging station does this for you and very well. Perfect product for those who care about their close shave and need to look professional.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Painful

05/05/2014
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This looked like a well built model with lots of nice features, but the problem is IT HURTS. I have thick stubble, and have never found a electric razor that can handle neck hair. With this one I felt nicks and scrapes and immediately returned it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Braun vs. Norelco

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a 50 year user of several triple head Norelco shavers. Norelco has gone down hill in quality over the past few years and the price has gone up. So I thought it was time to make a change and try a Braun. So far, so good, but it's only been a few days. The manual says it can take two to three weeks for my skin to become acclimated. I do recommend the shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

My husband loves it!

04/11/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase as a Christmas present, my husband loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

nice upgrade from the Series 3

03/23/2014
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We originally had a series 3 which lasted fine for a few years. The pop up trimmer broke off recently--not sure whether it was due to dropping it too hard in the base or whether the plastic was too thin to begin with. But this time we upgraded to the series 5. The primary difference is the series 5 has an articulating head which contours your curves better. Otherwise, the cutting mechanism looks similar or maybe identical. Both the series 3 and 5 seem to only clean and charge in the same cycle, without being able to choose one or the other. I think you have to get the series 7 in order to have the choice to just clean, just charge, or do both.
All in all, a good product. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is brand new and have not used it long enough to give it a full 5.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

works great!

03/22/2014
By ,
Washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am in the military and needed something not only for daily use, but for use in the field. Excellent shaver. The only thing bad I would say is the time it took for delivery. I paid extra money for speedy delivery and it took 10 days to be delivered through FEDEX. Very poor.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Okay for certain people

03/22/2014
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a large atoms apple so for me to shave on my neck i find this shaver to make it difficult the side burn trimmer broke after about 4 months i have tried several methods to shave with this shaver and only find that my old norelco is still the best i am guessing the foil shavers are no good for my neck and give me a closer shave. this will be the first review i have ever done but i was so disappointed to have spent so much money on a shaver and it to perform as it did. Different things work for different people tho depends on your face i guess.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

best available

03/20/2014
By ,
alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
much more expensive than remington or norelco but much better quality.closer shave and blades stay sharper much longer.cleaning system is useless-you can do the same thing with rubbing alcohol.not all that it was hyped up to be but still the best on the market for now.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Smooth transaction and quick delivery

03/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't owned an electric razor in 40 years...boy have they come a long way.
After doing research on the brand as well as talking with a couple of friends who own this model, I found Wal Mart to have the best price.
This was my first online purchase from Wal Mart and I was very pleased with the entire transaction.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

great shaver

03/15/2014
By ,
golden valley az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shaver was easy to set up. cleaning system works great. i have a heavy beard and this shaver does a wonderful job!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

A Good Razor

03/07/2014
By ,
Salinas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Series 5 for my father who has used the Series 3 for years. It charges and cleans automatically so that's the main difference. He says it gives him a smooth shave, so that's all I can comment on. Also, when the power cord is plugged into the charging and cleaning unit, it has a blue light that bothered him at night as it was in his bedroom. I just taped the cord to the table, so he unplugs it at night and the cord doesn't fall down behind the table. Simple fix. My husband used a Norelco for years and I didn't like the way it performed at all. The Braun is a much better razor in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next