Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Braun Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Braun Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Experience the Braun Series 5 shaver. Complete with ActiveLift to capture flat-lying hair in problem areas for a smooth and precise shave, this electric men's shaver delivers the close shave you expect from the reliable Braun shaver brand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation94%112 out of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Braun vs. Norelco

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a 50 year user of several triple head Norelco shavers. Norelco has gone down hill in quality over the past few years and the price has gone up. So I thought it was time to make a change and try a Braun. So far, so good, but it's only been a few days. The manual says it can take two to three weeks for my skin to become acclimated. I do recommend the shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

My husband loves it!

04/11/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase as a Christmas present, my husband loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

nice upgrade from the Series 3

03/23/2014
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We originally had a series 3 which lasted fine for a few years. The pop up trimmer broke off recently--not sure whether it was due to dropping it too hard in the base or whether the plastic was too thin to begin with. But this time we upgraded to the series 5. The primary difference is the series 5 has an articulating head which contours your curves better. Otherwise, the cutting mechanism looks similar or maybe identical. Both the series 3 and 5 seem to only clean and charge in the same cycle, without being able to choose one or the other. I think you have to get the series 7 in order to have the choice to just clean, just charge, or do both.
All in all, a good product. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is brand new and have not used it long enough to give it a full 5.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

works great!

03/22/2014
By ,
Washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am in the military and needed something not only for daily use, but for use in the field. Excellent shaver. The only thing bad I would say is the time it took for delivery. I paid extra money for speedy delivery and it took 10 days to be delivered through FEDEX. Very poor.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Okay for certain people

03/22/2014
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a large atoms apple so for me to shave on my neck i find this shaver to make it difficult the side burn trimmer broke after about 4 months i have tried several methods to shave with this shaver and only find that my old norelco is still the best i am guessing the foil shavers are no good for my neck and give me a closer shave. this will be the first review i have ever done but i was so disappointed to have spent so much money on a shaver and it to perform as it did. Different things work for different people tho depends on your face i guess.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

best available

03/20/2014
By ,
alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
much more expensive than remington or norelco but much better quality.closer shave and blades stay sharper much longer.cleaning system is useless-you can do the same thing with rubbing alcohol.not all that it was hyped up to be but still the best on the market for now.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Smooth transaction and quick delivery

03/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't owned an electric razor in 40 years...boy have they come a long way.
After doing research on the brand as well as talking with a couple of friends who own this model, I found Wal Mart to have the best price.
This was my first online purchase from Wal Mart and I was very pleased with the entire transaction.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

great shaver

03/15/2014
By ,
golden valley az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shaver was easy to set up. cleaning system works great. i have a heavy beard and this shaver does a wonderful job!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

A Good Razor

03/07/2014
By ,
Salinas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Series 5 for my father who has used the Series 3 for years. It charges and cleans automatically so that's the main difference. He says it gives him a smooth shave, so that's all I can comment on. Also, when the power cord is plugged into the charging and cleaning unit, it has a blue light that bothered him at night as it was in his bedroom. I just taped the cord to the table, so he unplugs it at night and the cord doesn't fall down behind the table. Simple fix. My husband used a Norelco for years and I didn't like the way it performed at all. The Braun is a much better razor in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Surpassed any thing I could have expected!

02/26/2014
By ,
Bowling Green KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this product from Braun for 2 weeks now, and it is without question the most satisfying product I have ever purchased. I would have never believed that an electric razor could give me as close a shave as a blade, but I'm a believer now! I have been so pleasantly surprised by this shaver. In a matter of 3-4 minutes my face is as smooth as a baby's butt! Way to go BRAUN! Make sure you go ahead and spend the extra few bucks to get at least the Braun 550cc, because 550cc and up have the Optifoil vs the Sensofoil. Other reviewers stated that it makes a difference, and they weren't lying! Buy this razor with confidence....you'll love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

It delivered what I expected - very happy

01/22/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had used a rotary (Norelco) razor for many years . I developed a basal cell cancer which was successfully removed by a Dermatologist, but left a tender skin patch, which was irritated by the rotary razor.I was not really certain whether the Braun foil razor would meet my expectations. When I started looking, I was overwhelmed by the available choices. I didn't want the cheapest thing I could find , but I didn't want to pay any more than necessary. ( $ 75 - 300). So, I chose the middle of the pack, and WalMart online had the best price ($125). So far, so good. I am pleased with free delivery in just a few days, I am pleased with the performance. I don't really know what I gained over the cheaper models, and I don't know what the more expensive models might have delivered...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

best shave with electric razor

01/16/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband says it is the closest shave he ever got with an electric razor
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Extremely close shave

12/10/2013
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my husband. Never disappointed with a Braun. Previous Braun lasted over 13 years. This is its replacement and works great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Great razor...shaves close.

12/03/2013
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Head design promotes close, clean shave. Came with a travel case and charging/cleaning station. Cleaning station works great and additional cleaner refills are in stock. Well made.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Great shaver at great price!

11/28/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get a new Braun shaver every 6-7 years and this is the best one yet. Great price too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Great Razor, worth every penny

11/26/2013
By ,
Inland Empire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was skeptical to but a 135.00 razor, but it's a high quality razor from Braun. My prior razor was a Braun and I used it almost everyday until it finally fell apart. This razor provides a clean, comfortable close shave. As an afro American, we tend to have hairs that curl and hide at the neck line. This razor was able to find those and cut them with no issues. Worth the money to invest in a great product....and this is it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

This razor is ok for shaving your head only

11/06/2013
By ,
Grapevine, Texas (Dallas/Fort Worth area.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This razor does an ok job shaving your head but not your face! I have a Norelco that does a much better job on my face and when I am done shaving my head I use the Norelco on my head to get a much closer and smother finish on my head as well. I like the Braun cleaning system and the fact that it is one flat surface and not 3 rotating heads but bottom line it can't get close to giving me a smother shave than my 3 head Norelco. As I stated above it is easy to use and clean, no dough a quality product but when it comes to performance it will not cut it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

The Best I Have Had

10/17/2013
By ,
McPherson KS.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just used Norelco shavers. The last one I had was the over priced Norelco Sensor Touch 3D.
Like the ones I had years ago, I cut myself with it almost every time I shaved with it. Had 3 months to return it. Took it back to WalMart and got the BrAun Series 5 shaver. I got the 550CC-4.
It cost less than the Norelco and for me it is a fantastic shaver. I have only cut myself a couple of times with it and have figured out how to shave with it and not cut myself anymore. Some people have never heard of cutting yourself with an electric shaver but I have always had that problem.
The wide gaps in the heads to let the long and bigger hairs in will also let the skin in and when it does it will nip you.
From now on I won't buy anything else other than a Braun Shaver.
Lee M.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor

Great razor

07/15/2013
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great razor. Closeness of shave is really very good, better then I had expected. Cleaner seems to work just fine and saves time as you don't have to spend time cleaning the unit. But if you don't want to clean the razor the unit will just charge it. Refills can be a little expensive, but you can get them on ebay at a good price. Overall, a fine razor and Braun suggests that you change cutter head after 18 months. Pretty good time frame in my opinion. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Braun 5 Series 550CC Razor
05/21/2013
By ,
Erie, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I called my local Walmart and they did not have my item. They told me to try online. I found the items, Braun Shaver and Braun cleaning kit. I ordered them and they were delivered 2 days earlier then stated. It was very consumer friendly and easy. I would not hesitate to go online if my local store did not have what I wamted.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next