Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

The Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack helps create extra wardrobe storage in your dorm room, laundry room or bedroom. A double hanging space allows room for shorter garments, such as pants, sweaters and shirts. This versatile garment rack features smooth-rolling wheels for easy mobility, and has adjustable height and width options to accommodate your growing storage needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.755 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
34
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation74%115 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
34
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Does what expected.

12/23/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good item for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Terribly balanced, cheaply made rack

01/16/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unless you're only hanging what's shown in the stock image, don't waste your time with this piece of junk. I hung a handful of suit coats and slacks, about 15 collared shirts and a couple sweaters using both racks and the top extensions, and after a few weeks the whole thing started to develop a wicked lean. I took all the clothes off, broke down the rack and put it back together, taking extra care to make sure the weight of the clothes were all balanced and symmetrical. A few weeks later, I noticed an even worse lean, and had to tilt the entire rack against the wall out of fear that it would topple forward. I took all the clothes off again, and at closer inspection I noticed the middle rack attachment, made of plastic, had cracked. The bottom plastic feet that hold the rollers had also warped badly from either the clothes, the lean, or both. Bottom line, this is a low quality, poorly designed piece of plastic and cheap metal. Don't waste your time or your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

This product exceeded our expectations.

11/23/2011
By ,
Sun City AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our laundry room is in the garage, but there was nowhere to hang the clothes when they came out of the dryer. We had a previous one-rod cheaper product, but the plastic rod holders wore out and all the clothes ended up on the floor after using for about a year. This two-rod product fits our need, is well constructed and very easy to put together. It has the advantage of the two rods, and appears to be much strurdier than the previous garment rack.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Niagara Falls, NY
Sturdy
Posted 05/14/2014
Hello,
I purchased this garment rack yesterday. I put it together and hung my clothes on it about 9:00 pm last night. In the middle of the night it fell over, about 6 times. I got so mad, I felt like throwing it right out the door. I am shocked to hear you say that this rack is well constructed and sturdy. I do not know how you got your rack to be sturdy. That is why I am writing to you...what is your secret? Mine leans to one side and then it falls over. I really need this for my clothes and hopefully you can help me out with some advice on how to keep it sturdy and straight. Thank you, Mary
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Super Surprised

04/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am staying with friends and needed a two tier rack for my clothes to hang ASAP! I read the reviews with dismay - but HAD to get something, I had clothes everywhere .
In all seriousness, this product super surprised me. My clothes; that used to be organised in a walk in closet; the size of a small bedroom were all hanging on the racks .. super excited that the reviews were wrong... its been been 7 months and only now the rack seems to be sagging over to the one side - not sure why - maybe I need to stop buying more clothes .. but really; if you whip a horse enough; its going to give up ... and I am a prime test candidate for this rack. I certainly have an unreasonable amount of clothes on the racks and it has not collapsed at all - sagging to one side yes - but not collapsed
I will say that I did not use the wheels - not necessary, and anyway they would not have withstood the weight of the clothes.
It completely stood the test of time - especially for $26 and free shipping .. I would absolutely recommend this product .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black
08/03/2011
By ,
Princeton, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was really excited about this product. I had the smaller rack already and it worked fine but there just was not enough room for all my clothes. So a few days ago I purchased this rack with the 2 rods. Everything fit perfectly and it looked great. However, it only stood for 2 days! I came home from work last night only to find that one of the legs had snapped right down the middle and my clothes were all over my floor. I do not reccommend this to anyone who plans on hanging both rods full of clothes. It may be ok for a babies clothes but I don't think it is made sturdy enough for holding adult clothes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Broke the first day

11/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to hang coats on, built it, hung the coats went back the next day to get a coat and the whole this was tipped over on the ground. The plastic bar on the bottom cracked in half spilling all the coats to the floor. I already threw box away so I had to build a bottom brace out of wood to hold the rack back up. Should've just built the whole rack out of wood - waste of money unless your only hanging very light t-shirts or something on it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Good but Light

11/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly was incredibly easy for this unit, and it holds well. However, this unit is unbelievably light - I would not recommend this for someone who has children or mobile animals (cats, dogs, ect) as tipping it would be a simple matter. It rolls incredibly easy and is light enough to lift with one hand.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Not durable unstable

11/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thinking of returning
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Sturdy until I put clothes on it.

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was easy to put together and seemed sturdy. Once I hung clothes on it, it started leaning to the left. It is barely standing now. The only clothing I hung on the top bar was tee shirts and scarfs, nothing heavy. I got what I paid for, cheap price = cheap quality. I would return it but I already cut down the box and put it in my recycling box.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

NOT UP TO PAR

02/15/2011
By ,
Wilton Manors, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered 2 of the garment racks and upon putting the first one together I added the wheels and one of the bases for the wheels cracked and broke in two. The second one I put together I didn't add the wheels and it worked better and was more stable. But you cannot put as many items as you would think a 2 tier rack would hold because of the unstableness of the rack. The base should be made so when the wheels are added there isn't an issue with the base cracking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

You get what you pay for...

11/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This rack is not sturdy. Clothes falls.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Leaning tower of clothes

11/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought it 2 months ago and its tilting to the right like its about to fall over. It gets worse every day. It holds a good amount of clothes and I love that it has two rods, but the fact that it hasn't lasted in good condition is a big downside. I would not recommend this product, spend the extra money and buy a wardrobe rack that will last.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

It's great!

08/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY VERY HAPPY with this item. I was a hesitant to purchase due to several negative reviews. However I don't move it around a lot so I thought I'd give it a try. Was I HAPPY! Even if I had to move it around a lot it would be great. I put several heavy sweaters/sweater dresses that I crochet (I use it to hold my samples) and I could fill the whole thing up and it will be fine. It's SUPER easy to assemble (as a matter of fact if I had to travel I would disassemble & re-assemble (it's that easy I wouldn't mind). It's sturdy and holds a lot of weight. It looks great and it's nice and narrow so I could put it in this narrow space I have. I'm glad I didn't spend bigger bucks on the "Saleseperson" "Professional" jobbies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Exactly what I needed

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Second one I bought. Love the extended piles on each end to hang longer items like my robe! My mom liked it so much so bought one for her laundry room to hang thaw up as they came out of dryer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

exactly what I wanted!

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These racks were very easy to assemble. Literally took less than 5 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

CHEAP but breaks... get what you pay for

12/30/2011
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a college student, and was thrilled to find a rack at such a low price.
BUT at least 3 times, I went out of the room for unspecific amounts of time--came back--and then ALL of my clothes were on the floor.
I had fallen over onto the floor AND the rods had come out of their places.
I tried using cables to attach it to a large pipe on the wall. DIDNT WORK
I also used Gorilla tape to attach each rod and hole. DIDNT WORK
Eventually one of the PLASTIC bottom feet broke in half. I even tried to put a stack of books under it to salvage whatever I could of my closet.
I am now searching for a MORE EXPENSIVE clothing rack that will last.
You get what you pay for I guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Height

10/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is pretty sturdy if assembled well. But in terms of adjusting height, there is not much that can be done. Only two levels of height I can get so far. Wish there could be more notches in the vertical black pieces for the silver colored vertical poles to fit in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Sturdy, I think not!

12/19/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This rack was used for a whole 3 days before it shattered into pieces leaving a mess of clothing in our room. The plastic T-fitting for the lower bar sheared off under the weight of about 15 pair of pants, and the two bottom braces with the casters snapped in half. There was about 20 light shirts on the top bar when this happened. The polls are a little better quality than the plastic components. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT IF YOU INTEND ON HANGING CLOTHES ON MORE THAN HALF OF THE AVAILABLE SPACE. I guess that you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Great Clothing rack for the money.

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy and very easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Broken within two days.

03/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this product half full with light clothing and it snapped at the base within a couple of days. This product is a total waste of money. Do not bother!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next