Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

The Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack helps create extra wardrobe storage in your dorm room, laundry room or bedroom. A double hanging space allows room for shorter garments, such as pants, sweaters and shirts. This versatile garment rack features smooth-rolling wheels for easy mobility, and has adjustable height and width options to accommodate your growing storage needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.749 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(167 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
36
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation74%123 out of 167reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
36
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Does what expected.

12/23/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good item for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Terribly balanced, cheaply made rack

01/16/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unless you're only hanging what's shown in the stock image, don't waste your time with this piece of junk. I hung a handful of suit coats and slacks, about 15 collared shirts and a couple sweaters using both racks and the top extensions, and after a few weeks the whole thing started to develop a wicked lean. I took all the clothes off, broke down the rack and put it back together, taking extra care to make sure the weight of the clothes were all balanced and symmetrical. A few weeks later, I noticed an even worse lean, and had to tilt the entire rack against the wall out of fear that it would topple forward. I took all the clothes off again, and at closer inspection I noticed the middle rack attachment, made of plastic, had cracked. The bottom plastic feet that hold the rollers had also warped badly from either the clothes, the lean, or both. Bottom line, this is a low quality, poorly designed piece of plastic and cheap metal. Don't waste your time or your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

This product exceeded our expectations.

11/23/2011
By ,
Sun City AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our laundry room is in the garage, but there was nowhere to hang the clothes when they came out of the dryer. We had a previous one-rod cheaper product, but the plastic rod holders wore out and all the clothes ended up on the floor after using for about a year. This two-rod product fits our need, is well constructed and very easy to put together. It has the advantage of the two rods, and appears to be much strurdier than the previous garment rack.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Niagara Falls, NY
Sturdy
Posted 05/14/2014
Hello,
I purchased this garment rack yesterday. I put it together and hung my clothes on it about 9:00 pm last night. In the middle of the night it fell over, about 6 times. I got so mad, I felt like throwing it right out the door. I am shocked to hear you say that this rack is well constructed and sturdy. I do not know how you got your rack to be sturdy. That is why I am writing to you...what is your secret? Mine leans to one side and then it falls over. I really need this for my clothes and hopefully you can help me out with some advice on how to keep it sturdy and straight. Thank you, Mary
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

found something better

06/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this before reading the reviews just because it had two racks. i live in an old home and my closet is the smallest things ive ever seen. fits about 10 shirts. Not to mention i share my closet space with my toddler who has all his books on the bottom shelves...
After reading all the reviews on this rack... i began to check out other racks... they all said the same thing!!!! all these racks (no matter what brand or price) lean and fall over and dont hold much weight.
i also dont like that it takes up so much floor space (i have a tiny 400 square foot home so floor space is prime real estate.)
after doing extensive searching... i found a rack the hangs over the door. Its sturdy. SO STURDY!!! and it keeps the clothes off the floor.
SO i returned the floor rack.
i was going to just install a bar on my wall, but wall space is also very valuable in a tiny home. but door space i was willing to give up.
If you are looking for more clothing space options, dont get this one. get the over the door one. ITS THE BEST!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black
08/03/2011
By ,
Princeton, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was really excited about this product. I had the smaller rack already and it worked fine but there just was not enough room for all my clothes. So a few days ago I purchased this rack with the 2 rods. Everything fit perfectly and it looked great. However, it only stood for 2 days! I came home from work last night only to find that one of the legs had snapped right down the middle and my clothes were all over my floor. I do not reccommend this to anyone who plans on hanging both rods full of clothes. It may be ok for a babies clothes but I don't think it is made sturdy enough for holding adult clothes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Super Surprised

04/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am staying with friends and needed a two tier rack for my clothes to hang ASAP! I read the reviews with dismay - but HAD to get something, I had clothes everywhere .
In all seriousness, this product super surprised me. My clothes; that used to be organised in a walk in closet; the size of a small bedroom were all hanging on the racks .. super excited that the reviews were wrong... its been been 7 months and only now the rack seems to be sagging over to the one side - not sure why - maybe I need to stop buying more clothes .. but really; if you whip a horse enough; its going to give up ... and I am a prime test candidate for this rack. I certainly have an unreasonable amount of clothes on the racks and it has not collapsed at all - sagging to one side yes - but not collapsed
I will say that I did not use the wheels - not necessary, and anyway they would not have withstood the weight of the clothes.
It completely stood the test of time - especially for $26 and free shipping .. I would absolutely recommend this product .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Not Sturdy or Stable

06/09/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I started out with the rods extended on both sides, and gently put out my clothes on the rods. I got two of the unit and put them side by side in my garage. I found that in trying to move one of them over a bit it tipped quite easily, and then I saw the extensions bowing down and felt the unsteadiness when I accessed my clothes, so I switched some of them over to a more sturdy closet and pulled in the extensions. Since then, they have been serviceable to me. But what good was the promised extension if it did not give me hanging space and still stay stable?
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

NOT UP TO PAR

02/15/2011
By ,
Wilton Manors, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered 2 of the garment racks and upon putting the first one together I added the wheels and one of the bases for the wheels cracked and broke in two. The second one I put together I didn't add the wheels and it worked better and was more stable. But you cannot put as many items as you would think a 2 tier rack would hold because of the unstableness of the rack. The base should be made so when the wheels are added there isn't an issue with the base cracking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

It's great!

08/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY VERY HAPPY with this item. I was a hesitant to purchase due to several negative reviews. However I don't move it around a lot so I thought I'd give it a try. Was I HAPPY! Even if I had to move it around a lot it would be great. I put several heavy sweaters/sweater dresses that I crochet (I use it to hold my samples) and I could fill the whole thing up and it will be fine. It's SUPER easy to assemble (as a matter of fact if I had to travel I would disassemble & re-assemble (it's that easy I wouldn't mind). It's sturdy and holds a lot of weight. It looks great and it's nice and narrow so I could put it in this narrow space I have. I'm glad I didn't spend bigger bucks on the "Saleseperson" "Professional" jobbies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

CHEAP but breaks... get what you pay for

12/30/2011
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a college student, and was thrilled to find a rack at such a low price.
BUT at least 3 times, I went out of the room for unspecific amounts of time--came back--and then ALL of my clothes were on the floor.
I had fallen over onto the floor AND the rods had come out of their places.
I tried using cables to attach it to a large pipe on the wall. DIDNT WORK
I also used Gorilla tape to attach each rod and hole. DIDNT WORK
Eventually one of the PLASTIC bottom feet broke in half. I even tried to put a stack of books under it to salvage whatever I could of my closet.
I am now searching for a MORE EXPENSIVE clothing rack that will last.
You get what you pay for I guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Broken within two days.

03/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this product half full with light clothing and it snapped at the base within a couple of days. This product is a total waste of money. Do not bother!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Sturdy, I think not!

12/19/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This rack was used for a whole 3 days before it shattered into pieces leaving a mess of clothing in our room. The plastic T-fitting for the lower bar sheared off under the weight of about 15 pair of pants, and the two bottom braces with the casters snapped in half. There was about 20 light shirts on the top bar when this happened. The polls are a little better quality than the plastic components. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT IF YOU INTEND ON HANGING CLOTHES ON MORE THAN HALF OF THE AVAILABLE SPACE. I guess that you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Great Garment Rack

06/17/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned inexpensive garment racks in the past...they were junk. This garment rack has great features, two bars with the top bar extending. The price is exceptional and the quality is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Inexpensive, yet does the job

04/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far has worked completely fine for my purposes. I was looking for something inexpensive, but that would allow me extra storage space for clothes. These work fine. These are not long-term investment quality, but they're also not long-term investment priced, so I didn't expect anything top-notch. The one thing to note is that there is not enough space between the bars/space between the bar and the floor to hang dresses. See my picture. I used the rack on the left to hang dresses, but that makes me unable to really use the bottom rod. This still worked fine for me as I also have a closet in which to hang clothes, but may not work for you if you need to hang dresses and use all the rods. The rods that extend from the side of the rack would be ideal to hang dresses if you only have a few, however, my wardrobe consists mostly of dresses and the rods that extend from the side weren't long enough to accommodate all of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Not sturdy at all

11/07/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Being the positive person I am (it was a Friday) I decided to put previous reviews out of sight, out of mind and still order this product. It shipped very quickly and was very easy to set up. I was jumping (inside) for joy as I was hanging all my clothes that now I had a home on the new rack. Next thing I know the entire racks falls face-first onto the ground. Luckily I wasn't in the danger zone or else I might have needed some serious assistance trying to get it off me. At first I figured it was my fault because I put a bunch of coats on the top rack (not smart, not smart). So I re-arranged putting very light shirts on top. To sum it up the rack fell over a total of three times in the first two days and titled at a severe angle after the first 24 hours, no combination of lighter clothes worked. One of the parts even cracked. I ended up calling the manufacturer and the sent me two parts (very helpful and fast shipping!). However, in order to get the rack from not falling and not tilting it had to be anchored to the wall which it made it work great. For the price the rack is okay if you're only planning on putting a limited number of garments on it. If you need something durable that won't tilt I wouldn't recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

LOVE it!

10/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is exactly what I was looking for. Great for light duty... I wanted something that I could hang clothes on as I was folding the rest of the laundry. Can't say how it would hold up if it was loaded down but easy held what I was doing and I do a LOT of laundry for BIG men lol. I like that it has a place for long hanging stuff as well.
Assembly was a breeze
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Great clothes rack for displaying clothes.

07/04/2011
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I sell Kelly's Kids clothes and use this clothes rack to display 25-30 pieces of clothing.
It is easy to assemble and sturdy especially for indoor use.
It did fall once outside due to wind, but once I put some weight on the bottom rack, it was fine.
Great value for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Disappointment

11/01/2011
By ,
Naugatuck, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for extra space to hang uniforms so that they didn't get crushed and wrinkled in closets. This unit went together very easily. As I hung all the uniforms on it and 2 suits, I noticed there was not enough clearance between the top and middle bars so that the bottoms of the shirts did not touch. The uniform pants were hung on the bottom bar and they fit just fine. I tried to switch them out but the shirt hung too low and dragged on the floor a bit...so that was no good. Back up to the top bar the shirts went. After all was said and done I went to roll it flat against the wall and it began to bend when half of the wheels went off the area carpet. You really can't roll this unit because it is top heavy when items are hanging on it. It began to fall over and the middle bar came dislodged from the unit and all the pants slid off. I yelled for my husband to come help me and we got the bars all put back where they belong but then the unit was sitting crooked. I had him hold the top still while I just made sure all the bars vertical and horizontal were pushed in enough. When I pushed on the one vertical bar to make sure it was in the base good the base snapped entirely in half. The whole unit wracked and fell and all the clothes went on the floor. I contacted Whitmor and they said they would replace the part but it is backordered right now. I am still waiting for the part. My husband made make-shift feet out of 2 x 4's and the unit hasn't worked better than that. Perhaps we should sell Whitmor that idea? LOL Anyway, the brown plastic parts of this unit are made cheaply and the top rack clearance leaves much to be desired. I wonder if that's why the photo of the unit on the website only has 2 items hanging on it? Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

This is nice double clothes hanging rack.

04/18/2012
By ,
Lorain County, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was worth the price I paid for it without a doubt. It does not fall over or sway at all. It is sturdy. However, I can not put my three leather trench coats on one extended end if I have it fully extended. I adjusted it so it is a tiny bit over 3/4 extended on the one side and now it can hold the weight of my leather coats plus two more heavy coats just fine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Adjustable 2-Rod Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Doesn't hold long clothes in the sections

08/24/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very stable and holds quite a bit of clothes. But, the sections are not tall enough for 'over-sized clothes' (i.e. suit and/or sport coats) such as those for tall or big people. However, coats can hand off the ends. Otherwise, this is an excellent rack. I place all my business casualware on the rack and it makes it so easy to get dressed in the mornings and to rehang in the evenings after work. Overall, if you can live with separating your suit jackets and pants, then by all means this is a great rack to purchase. If you can't live with separting them out this rack will drive you nutts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next