Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Organize your clothes, while not taking up much floor space with the Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack. Perfect for dorm rooms, bedrooms, laundry rooms or anywhere additional storage is needed, this rack can be used to store your clothes and shoes at the same time. Use the top bar of this Whitmor garment rack in chrome/black to hang your clothes and the bottom part as a shoe holder. Made from high-quality steel with chrome plating, this garment rack will last for many years. This steel adjustable rack comes in a chrome and black finish which is sure to add style to any room. It also includes wheels to enable easy mobility around your home. Easy to assemble, the Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack also has adjustable height options to accommodate your growing storage needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation78%121 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

cheap

12/01/2012
By ,
valley stream NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's great if you just need something fast. But it's not worth 15.00 - maybe 10.00. The pieces don't fit that snug together, so it does wobble a bit. I just needed it to steam some shirts, so it is fine but a bit over priced for some plastic and metal poles that's not very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Does what I need it to

08/23/2014
By ,
Cairo, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basically, this is a lightweight clothing rack with adjustable height and rolling casters. That's exactly what I was looking for. It's not solid steel, and it won't hold up the weight of 20 heavy coats. It's good to hang your summer clothes, child's clothes, or a few sweatshirts that wouldn't fit in your closet.
I just moved and my new room is small, and the closet is barely even there (you can see the small size of it in the first picture). I needed extra space to hang some tee shirts and lightweight clothing, since I couldn't fit everything in my closet. I figured the adjustable height would be perfect, because I could make it just short enough to roll under my loft. I love it for this purpose. It meets all of my expectations, and it's not bad to look at. I even was able to fit a small hamper on the bottom shoe rack, to save more floorspace. I love that I can easily roll the "closet" out from under my bed (on hardwood floors, at least) and then put it back when I'm done picking out a shirt. This product gave me the extra space I needed, and it's holding up well so far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Good Product and Good price

07/05/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with this item. I knew ahead of time that it would need to be made sturdy by how I positioned my clothing on it. I put the wheels on and it is sitting on shag carpeting. I have no intentions of moving it. From the reviews I also knew ahead of time if you wanted a clothes rack that would move and carry a lot of garments this was not the one to choose for that purpose. As you can see in my picture I put a heavy box on the right bottom due to the fact I have a heavy hanging clothing garment holder on the left. It is filled with pre-packaged clothes. I do not have many hanging garments in the picture but that is not because the rack couldn't handle more there. I intend on hanging a lot more on that side in the future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Nice

12/01/2013
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value and easy to set up. I bought this for hanging up my clothes and coats. It's a little wobbly but that's only cuz I over stuffed it with items. Great for hanging dresses and work clothes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

LOVE THIS RACK!

12/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Due to lack of closet space, I was looking for a small, adjustable rack to hang some jackets on in my bedroom. I wanted a rack that would also look nice since it would be out in the open. This rack definitely fits the bill! It was even nicer in person than I thought it would be and it only took a few minutes to put it together! I've had it for 2 years, it's been through two moves, and it's still holding up and looking great! I had it adjusted tall at one house, and both my husbands and my winter jackets were hanging on it. The bar did not bend or break even though the jackets were super heavy....and I was even able to fit 2 good sized bins filled with shoes on the bottom of it! In the 2nd house, I adjusted it short so it could sit on top of a dresser. Both looked very nice and kept my rooms tidy. I do have to suggest if you want it to be more stable, take the wheels off! There's a good chance that the wheels could be what was causing the rack to look like it was bending for some people. It was much sturdier just sitting on the ground with no wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

No tools needed? Hah!

07/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got these because I needed a cheap way to hang clothes without putting holes in the walls. They were falling apart as I was putting them together and continued to fall apart after I got them put together and clothes hung on them (nothing crazy either, pants, shirts, dresses- typical clothes). Finally I pulled out the rubber mallet and gorilla glue and beat them together after filling all the holes with glue. So far they are holding but I have them against a wall because they look like they want to tip over
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Ridiculously FLIMSY!!

11/28/2013
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the mixed reviews and thought - for the price - I'd try it anyway, but I really don't understand how some people can say how wonderful it is!!! Although it looks great, it will come apart with the least pressure because the uprights are NOT - I repeat - NOT attached in any way to the bottom: no bolts, screws, locks, etc. They just fit in a hole on each end. When I tried to push it over a bump in the rug, the uprights came out in my hands! The only reason I'm keeping it is because I have it propped in a corner between a dresser and the wall, so I won't be moving it at all. Even still, it starts to tilt with any pressure when putting clothes on or taking them off the rack. As I said: Ridiculously FLIMSY!! How hard would it be to have some type of latch/lock on the bottom of each pole??? At least it wouldn't come apart in your hands!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

DO NOT PURCHASE (YOU CAN THANK ME LATER)

06/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could rate it 0/5, I would. I do not like this rack one bit because you can't put anything on it. I put one jacket on this rack and it doesn't even hold up one of the heavier jackets by itself. It was alright right after I assembled it, but in the course of a day, it started tilting to one side. It's been a week and the thing is tilted to one side at a 60 degree angle. How ridiculous! The problem is the base; the whole thing is not sturdy because the base is poorly made. The rods keep coming out from the sides. This is a nightmare. I wish I could return this but it's not even worth the trip to Walmart. This is some serious trash and I would not wish this ordeal on anyone. DO NOT PURCHASE.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

missing parts

07/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not worth the money, returned it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Great

07/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and easy to put together. Using it for baby clothes but it does feel sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

not what i expected

07/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was very "shake and unstable" I will be returning the item
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Falls apart

07/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these racks and within a week both were unstable and completely leaning towards the left. They no longer stood upright and I had to throw both of them out. Completely useless and I would not waste my money on these again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

You get what you pay for....

02/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother. Save your $ and get something that is much more study. If you walk by this thing too fast, the breeze makes it crash to the floor. You also have to improvise fastening it to the base. My husband used a drill. Hand torque wont cut it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Super Value

09/26/2011
By ,
Natick, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For such a price, I can't expect anymore. So far it has stood sturdily in my closet with 30-40 shirts/skirts hanging on it for 2 weeks. When I thought about reordering one, it's sold out. Hope there are more coming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

excellent for the price

06/27/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used this to put clothes out for a yard sale. met expectations. not sure if it can handle 30 heavy winter coats but certainly can handle 40 shirts or dresses...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Very nice at a great price!

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's sturdy and looks nice. A good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Clothes hanger

05/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was used to hang clothes during a yard sale. We did have to make sure we had an even load because it did fall over when we first started hanging clothes. It survived the yard sale with no problem.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Sturdy

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together and very sturdy. Using it while we are doing a closet remodel, so it has three men's suits plus multiple shirts and women's dresses packed onto it, and it is stable. I am very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Exactly what I was looking for

10/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was looking for a rack my 5-year old daughter would be able to reach so she could pick out her own clothes. The Whitmor Adjustable Rack is a good, low-cost solution. I adjusted the rack to it's lowest height and it is just perfect for my daughter's size.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Exactly what I needed at a good price.

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my laundry room and is sturdy enough for my needs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next