Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Organize your clothes, while not taking up much floor space with the Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack. Perfect for dorm rooms, bedrooms, laundry rooms, or anywhere additional storage is needed, this rack can be used to store your clothes and shoes at the same time. Use the top bar to hang your clothes and the bottom bars as a shoe holder. Made from high-quality steel with chrome plating, this garment rack will last for many years. The steel garment rack comes in a chrome and black finish which is sure to add style to any room. It also includes wheels to enable easy mobility around your home. Easy to assemble, this chrome garment rack also has adjustable height options to accommodate your growing storage needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.973 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation81%87 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

cheap

12/01/2012
By ,
valley stream NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's great if you just need something fast. But it's not worth 15.00 - maybe 10.00. The pieces don't fit that snug together, so it does wobble a bit. I just needed it to steam some shirts, so it is fine but a bit over priced for some plastic and metal poles that's not very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Nice

12/01/2013
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value and easy to set up. I bought this for hanging up my clothes and coats. It's a little wobbly but that's only cuz I over stuffed it with items. Great for hanging dresses and work clothes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Good Product and Good price

07/05/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with this item. I knew ahead of time that it would need to be made sturdy by how I positioned my clothing on it. I put the wheels on and it is sitting on shag carpeting. I have no intentions of moving it. From the reviews I also knew ahead of time if you wanted a clothes rack that would move and carry a lot of garments this was not the one to choose for that purpose. As you can see in my picture I put a heavy box on the right bottom due to the fact I have a heavy hanging clothing garment holder on the left. It is filled with pre-packaged clothes. I do not have many hanging garments in the picture but that is not because the rack couldn't handle more there. I intend on hanging a lot more on that side in the future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

LOVE THIS RACK!

12/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Due to lack of closet space, I was looking for a small, adjustable rack to hang some jackets on in my bedroom. I wanted a rack that would also look nice since it would be out in the open. This rack definitely fits the bill! It was even nicer in person than I thought it would be and it only took a few minutes to put it together! I've had it for 2 years, it's been through two moves, and it's still holding up and looking great! I had it adjusted tall at one house, and both my husbands and my winter jackets were hanging on it. The bar did not bend or break even though the jackets were super heavy....and I was even able to fit 2 good sized bins filled with shoes on the bottom of it! In the 2nd house, I adjusted it short so it could sit on top of a dresser. Both looked very nice and kept my rooms tidy. I do have to suggest if you want it to be more stable, take the wheels off! There's a good chance that the wheels could be what was causing the rack to look like it was bending for some people. It was much sturdier just sitting on the ground with no wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Ridiculously FLIMSY!!

11/28/2013
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the mixed reviews and thought - for the price - I'd try it anyway, but I really don't understand how some people can say how wonderful it is!!! Although it looks great, it will come apart with the least pressure because the uprights are NOT - I repeat - NOT attached in any way to the bottom: no bolts, screws, locks, etc. They just fit in a hole on each end. When I tried to push it over a bump in the rug, the uprights came out in my hands! The only reason I'm keeping it is because I have it propped in a corner between a dresser and the wall, so I won't be moving it at all. Even still, it starts to tilt with any pressure when putting clothes on or taking them off the rack. As I said: Ridiculously FLIMSY!! How hard would it be to have some type of latch/lock on the bottom of each pole??? At least it wouldn't come apart in your hands!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

This product is worthless.

04/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It won't stand upright. To use it at all, I must lean it up against something else. I purchased it to replace one that cost half the price of this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

great for anymore that need more closet space...

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE AND WITH THE ITEM I NEEDED VERY BADLY TO MAKE MORE SPACE IN MY CLOSET ......THANKS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Falls apart

07/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these racks and within a week both were unstable and completely leaning towards the left. They no longer stood upright and I had to throw both of them out. Completely useless and I would not waste my money on these again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

great value

11/11/2013
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value especially since Walmat doesn't charge shipping to purchase the same item from Amazon. And it was only $14
I wasn't expecting coaster wheels on the rack. So that's a nice bonus for the price.
Maybe my clothes are heavy but the rack tends to lean from the weight of what I have hanging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

excellent for the price

06/27/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used this to put clothes out for a yard sale. met expectations. not sure if it can handle 30 heavy winter coats but certainly can handle 40 shirts or dresses...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

You get what you pay for....

02/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother. Save your $ and get something that is much more study. If you walk by this thing too fast, the breeze makes it crash to the floor. You also have to improvise fastening it to the base. My husband used a drill. Hand torque wont cut it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Super Value

09/26/2011
By ,
Natick, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For such a price, I can't expect anymore. So far it has stood sturdily in my closet with 30-40 shirts/skirts hanging on it for 2 weeks. When I thought about reordering one, it's sold out. Hope there are more coming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

good

03/10/2012
By ,
yonkers,ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this product to hang wet laundry and it does the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Broken before I finished putting it together.

12/09/2013
By ,
Folsom CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was tricky to put together because the posts wouldn't go into the holes securely. With pressure, the prong that pops out to hold up the chrome post broke. Had to duct tape it together on the first use. Geez.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

VERY disappointed

11/24/2013
By ,
Interlachen, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew that if it was going to be that cheap and easy to put together, it couldn't be very good quality, but, WOW! I'll be lucky if this thing is still standing when I hang a shirt on it, forget about trying to move it around, even though it's on wheels. It would probably fall apart in a stiff wind! WASTE of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black
12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is awesome! I love it~~ It's of the same price as that I found in IKEA, but the quality is definitely better than the IKEA one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

not worth the money

08/09/2012
By ,
Delight, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this rack because I needed something to hang my clothes on. After I had around six shirts on it it had already started leaning. When I got the middle part filled with my clothing it was leaning very badly I knew better then to try to extend the side bars to add clothing. The top rack bars are very flimsy I didn't even want to test them. My dad was going to try to brace it with a 2 by 4 nailed on the wall for it to lean on, but then we discovered the whole bottom part had came apart. It won't even stay together. The rack is not worth the money at all and I would not advise anyone to try it. It is only meant for the 3 garments it is advertised holding. The extendable sides are a joke, they would never last. I was very displeased.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black
11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, great product, and easy to put together!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Do NOT Recommend

10/18/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the rack online and chose to pick up at local store. However, it was damaged when I picked up. The box was twisted and opened. I returned it right away. And this is NOT the first time! I ordered a shoe rack 2 weeks earlier and same situation happened. There must be something wrong with Walmart's logistic system. Do NOT order online!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black
01/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a rack just to hang my jackets on and this worked great! I liked the 3 different heights you could adjust it to. Assembly was easy and being over 60 I liked that also. Seems sturdy so you could probably hang a few heavy coats on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next