Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Whitmor Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Organize your clothes, while not taking up much floor space with the Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack. Perfect for dorm rooms, bedrooms, laundry rooms or anywhere additional storage is needed, this rack can be used to store your clothes and shoes at the same time. Use the top bar of this Whitmor garment rack in chrome/black to hang your clothes and the bottom part as a shoe holder. Made from high-quality steel with chrome plating, this garment rack will last for many years. This steel adjustable rack comes in a chrome and black finish which is sure to add style to any room. It also includes wheels to enable easy mobility around your home. Easy to assemble, the Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack also has adjustable height options to accommodate your growing storage needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.942 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation80%109 out of 136reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

cheap

12/01/2012
By ,
valley stream NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's great if you just need something fast. But it's not worth 15.00 - maybe 10.00. The pieces don't fit that snug together, so it does wobble a bit. I just needed it to steam some shirts, so it is fine but a bit over priced for some plastic and metal poles that's not very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Does what I need it to

08/23/2014
By ,
Cairo, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basically, this is a lightweight clothing rack with adjustable height and rolling casters. That's exactly what I was looking for. It's not solid steel, and it won't hold up the weight of 20 heavy coats. It's good to hang your summer clothes, child's clothes, or a few sweatshirts that wouldn't fit in your closet.
I just moved and my new room is small, and the closet is barely even there (you can see the small size of it in the first picture). I needed extra space to hang some tee shirts and lightweight clothing, since I couldn't fit everything in my closet. I figured the adjustable height would be perfect, because I could make it just short enough to roll under my loft. I love it for this purpose. It meets all of my expectations, and it's not bad to look at. I even was able to fit a small hamper on the bottom shoe rack, to save more floorspace. I love that I can easily roll the "closet" out from under my bed (on hardwood floors, at least) and then put it back when I'm done picking out a shirt. This product gave me the extra space I needed, and it's holding up well so far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Good Product and Good price

07/05/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with this item. I knew ahead of time that it would need to be made sturdy by how I positioned my clothing on it. I put the wheels on and it is sitting on shag carpeting. I have no intentions of moving it. From the reviews I also knew ahead of time if you wanted a clothes rack that would move and carry a lot of garments this was not the one to choose for that purpose. As you can see in my picture I put a heavy box on the right bottom due to the fact I have a heavy hanging clothing garment holder on the left. It is filled with pre-packaged clothes. I do not have many hanging garments in the picture but that is not because the rack couldn't handle more there. I intend on hanging a lot more on that side in the future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Nice

12/01/2013
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value and easy to set up. I bought this for hanging up my clothes and coats. It's a little wobbly but that's only cuz I over stuffed it with items. Great for hanging dresses and work clothes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

LOVE THIS RACK!

12/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Due to lack of closet space, I was looking for a small, adjustable rack to hang some jackets on in my bedroom. I wanted a rack that would also look nice since it would be out in the open. This rack definitely fits the bill! It was even nicer in person than I thought it would be and it only took a few minutes to put it together! I've had it for 2 years, it's been through two moves, and it's still holding up and looking great! I had it adjusted tall at one house, and both my husbands and my winter jackets were hanging on it. The bar did not bend or break even though the jackets were super heavy....and I was even able to fit 2 good sized bins filled with shoes on the bottom of it! In the 2nd house, I adjusted it short so it could sit on top of a dresser. Both looked very nice and kept my rooms tidy. I do have to suggest if you want it to be more stable, take the wheels off! There's a good chance that the wheels could be what was causing the rack to look like it was bending for some people. It was much sturdier just sitting on the ground with no wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Exactly what I was looking for

10/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was looking for a rack my 5-year old daughter would be able to reach so she could pick out her own clothes. The Whitmor Adjustable Rack is a good, low-cost solution. I adjusted the rack to it's lowest height and it is just perfect for my daughter's size.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Ridiculously FLIMSY!!

11/28/2013
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the mixed reviews and thought - for the price - I'd try it anyway, but I really don't understand how some people can say how wonderful it is!!! Although it looks great, it will come apart with the least pressure because the uprights are NOT - I repeat - NOT attached in any way to the bottom: no bolts, screws, locks, etc. They just fit in a hole on each end. When I tried to push it over a bump in the rug, the uprights came out in my hands! The only reason I'm keeping it is because I have it propped in a corner between a dresser and the wall, so I won't be moving it at all. Even still, it starts to tilt with any pressure when putting clothes on or taking them off the rack. As I said: Ridiculously FLIMSY!! How hard would it be to have some type of latch/lock on the bottom of each pole??? At least it wouldn't come apart in your hands!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Sturdy product..

10/18/2014
By ,
woodstock va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item is sturdier than the product it is replacing, which was a pleasant surprise. Delivery was prompt and putting it together may have taken 5 minutes.
So far, so good!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Garment Rack

10/16/2014
By ,
Central Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a lighter weight than i expected, but will still do the job. I wanted a rack to have next to the dryer so i can hang up shirts when dried. this fits just great. Rolls easily, its worth the money, i put a cloths basket on the bottom rack. Very pleased
.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Great for light use..

10/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this for the garage to hang on the hockey gear of the kids (instead of their sweaty stuff just lying around on the floor).. Its fine for the 2 outfits. I've put it perpendicular to the wall, so if they do push against it, one end the wall, and the whole thing does not topple over. Did not attach the rolling wheels so it would remain firm on the ground.... Very neat and 'pretty' and does the job for the hockey gear.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Great for teachers too

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am actually using this to hold pocket charts in my classroom as I teach and it works great. It easily holds weight and isn't too big and bulky. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Flimsy

10/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought a similar clothing rack (same brand) that has two bars instead of one, and it worked great. I purchased this one for long dresses and skirts and after hanging up about 25 light dresses it began to list to one side.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Useful in the laundry room

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although it came with no assembly directions, putting all the pieces together correctly was obvious. It was somewhat difficult pressing the tubes into their plastic fittings though. It takes either quite a bit or force or a few taps with a rubber mallet. I did not attach the wheels, as this rack sits on deep carpet, so wheeling it around would be impossible. It seems sufficiently sturdy for the purpose, so I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Bad quality

09/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unstable. Can't hang too many clothes. If move the rack, it feels like it is falling apart. Cheap but not good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Falls apart

07/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these racks and within a week both were unstable and completely leaning towards the left. They no longer stood upright and I had to throw both of them out. Completely useless and I would not waste my money on these again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

good for light items

08/16/2014
By ,
buckhannon,wv
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not for heavy loads or full racks not very sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Good

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's easy to move and you can adjust the height
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Holds clothes

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what I want. Extra closet space. I currently have about 8 dresses, 5 sweaters, 3 pants, and a handful of shirts and it's holding up fine. I plan I putting more on and it should be a problem right now it's only about half full. Adjustable height is good. Easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Good item but not as sturdy as previous comparable

08/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as sturdy as previous comparable item which I purchased from Walmart and was told they no longer sold the prior item and this was their comparable model. It's not quite the same quality but less expensive than the prior one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Adjustable Garment Rack, Chrome/Black

Great for regular light use!

08/25/2014
By ,
Ware,MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great rack for regular light clothing. I wouldn't recommend it for heavy coats or drying fishing waders etc., but it works great for my regular closet needs. In my rented apartment, I have no closet in my bedroom, so I placed this in a small inset and then hung a curtain across the inset with a tension rod and voila...closet!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next