Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

Generic Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

The Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine has an all-weather stock with ambidextrous design and a two-stage, adjustable trigger. With a relatively light cocking force, the Crosman .177 Break Barrel Carbine has a micro-adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front sight. The Crosman pellet guns have a velocity of 1,200 fps (with lead-free pellets) and are made of synthetic materials. This Crosman .177 Break Barrel Carbine is a superb pellet gun that would make a great gift for the outdoorsman in your family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%11 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

Great gun

03/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a serious air rifle. It is very well constructed with an extremely solid barrel and stock. It looks and feels like a real .22 caliber rifle, not the cheap, plasticky pellet guns I had as a kid. I compared it side by side with my 20 gauge shotgun and the Crosman was both longer and heavier. This airgun has a rifled steel barrel and accuracy is very good. It is also quite powerful, and will shoot through a steel food can and exit the other side with ease. It is absolutely accurate and powerful enough for hunting small game. At this price I consider it an excellent value. I recommend the Crosman Premier hollow point pellets that are also sold at Wal-Mart. (They are usually a couple dollars cheaper in-store versus online). Overall, this is a great gun at a great price. I've been very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

A true gun

04/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every aspect was beyond my expectation. The rifle is pretty heavy, makes you feel solid and comfortable. When you hold it and shoot, it's like shooting a 308. After the scope sighted in, I could basically shoot anywhere I aim within 35 yards, very accurate.
Pro: long rifling barrel, high pellet velocity, composite make (all weather), accuracy
Con: a little too loud during the barrel break-in time (which is about 50 pellets shooting), a little too heavy for an air rifle (though I myself take is as a Pro)
The scope in the combo option (that some other websites are selling) was said to be dissapointing, so I bought this rifle without scope, and ordered a 3-9X40 from the Amazon, along with 1-3/8” rings, fits the rifle perfectly. Now those ravens crows or rabbits are dead meat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

amazing rifle, worth 3 times the sales price

05/12/2011
By ,
new mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i am a lifelong shooter, both long range rifle and combat handguns. wanted a new .177 to replace my aging pump gun. after much research bought the phantom at walmart. i must say that mine is even better than the reviews i read on the net.
it is a quality rifle that functions flawlessly and shoots amazingly consistent groups. it is also quite deadly on small game. i installed my 4x scope on the rifle and began breakin. i tightened all screws after every 5 shots. after 100 rnds no more tightening. have fired 2000+ rnds and everything is still tight. groups avg .220" @ 50 yds. on calm days it will shoot 1" groups @ 100 yds. trigger is firm but zero creep. i love this rifle!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

One Shot Stopping Power

04/01/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I came across the Phantom by accident and glad I did. The Phantom has the power to stop small game with one shot. I have tried several pellet types with this rifle and two other air rifles I own and like the Destroyer best. This airgun feels, looks and sound like a real gun. The price is great for the power, I paid the same amount for my Air Master 77, which failed/died after 2 months. My other two airguns are pump action I will never buy these types again between the noise and wait before the next shot, a few more dollars and the stoppping power of the spring I'm hooked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

Crosman Phantom

03/10/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This break-barrel air rifle is the best one I've ever owned. I've had it for about 2 years now and it fires great! The important part of this gun is scope mounting. HIGHLY recommend a ONE-PIECE scope mount in stead of a 2 piece. The main point to this is that springers have a unique recoil that goes backwards and forwards. Also get an airgun rated scope, because if you don't, you would have wasted money. A lose hold is also important, you need to let the rifle recoil freely. I've been consistently shotting quarter sized groups at 50 yards. Remember, put airgun oil in the right spot ever few hundred shots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

Light, Fairly good shooting rifle once worked on!

05/21/2011
By ,
New Haven, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The first thing I noticed was that the front sights have a huge amount of plastic around the light pipe "dot". This obscures many small pests. I cut this all away and super glued the light rod in place. I ended up putting a scope on it
I decided to try and get the trigger to work better so I took the gun apart. I found that it was filthy inside and had a lot of gritty-sandy grime. I cleaned and de-burred it so it wouldn't tear up the seal when I re-assembled it. I put heavy grease around the big spring.
It shoots amazingly well now. Good repeatability with the accuracy.
I love how light and compact it is. Can easily kill squirrels.
I gave it three stars because I just don't think it would have been reliable or lasted very long the way it was.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine
05/30/2011
By ,
greenville,ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did research on this gun before I bought it .I could not find one bad review about it except the combo which comes with a scope .They say the scope is no good so I bought just the gun .will buy a better scope later.I shot it for the first time yesterday man this gun is so accurate and powerful I could not believe it .This is not a kids toy this gun is powerful kinda loud on the first 10 shots .But it got better over all this is a very good gun for the money Crossman could easily get more for it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

Got my PHANTOM at last:) Thanks.

08/26/2011
By ,
Puerto Rico,USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finally got my Phantom .177 cal from Crosman. My first impression was WHAO!, It is a great loking air rifle. Clam shell packed but arived OK in a carton box without any packing material. UPS did a great job. Is inpresive the size. Is just lijke my rimfire .22 rifle but lower in caliber. In time for RATS control. Thanks guys. Made someone happy. Will shot and add to this review if neccesary.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

THIS IS NOT A TOY but I play with it every day ;)

05/28/2011
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeds Expectations. Wonder full, powerful and Loud as all Heck!
THIS IS NO TOY
I put a 4/40 scope on it, and I could be mistaken for a sniper. It is more than a plinker!
This puts holes in Phone books 2.5 inches deep at 40ft.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine

Impressive Gun

04/29/2011
By ,
Coldwater, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not your ordinary pellet gun. It shoots and feels like a well built rifle. This is a very impressive, well balanced, heavy gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Puerto Rico,USA
Loud at first. POWERFULL break barrel.
Posted 08/27/2011
The first shot is loud. Some pellets break the sound barrier and this makes a loud sound. Heavy and easy to load. Stock is hallow in some spaces inside but remains strong.The sights are great on day light. Easy to aim with.Working on a silencer for it.Plan to buy scope and sling. It is 44 inches.Looks great.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Carbine
04/19/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this rifle. The only thing that I am missing is the scoop... But still. Its a great rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.