Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Allen Sports Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

The Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer provides safe transportation for two children. This lightweight aluminum trailer can accommodate a total weight of 100 pounds. The Allen Sports bicycle trailer features an universal coupler that attaches to most bicycle models. This trailer also comes with a removable rain and bug shield that offers great protection for your little one. Well-equipped with a safety harness, jogger handles, inflatable tires of 20 and windows on the front and sides, the Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer is also easy to put together, dismantle and folder when not in use. The wheels on this kids bicycle trailer are convertible, making it possible to change the trailer into a stroller if so needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%19 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

bought a kidarooz instead

09/17/2012
By ,
Whittier, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
fairly easy to put together(like under ten min) trailer looks good and works fine. but i felt like it was big n bulky especially since when its no;t in trailer mode and is a stroller the stroller wheel arm sticks out a lot. anyway i checked online again and found a more expensive better quality trailer with no stroller arm for more than half the price off (used).big difference. its roomy and less bulky. so anyway that is why i returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

My baby LOVES this!

09/27/2013
By ,
broomfield, co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 1 yr old daughter for her bday, but even my 5y6m8d old daughter fits in there with her. Most of the time it is used with just the baby, but the fact that my 5yr old fits as well tells you how roomy it is. I will say they are sitting up side by side with one another, but they both do not seem to mind at all. My 1yr old is 21 lbs 26in, my 5yr old is 41 lbs 45+in. I've even put my 7y3m27d old daughter in there 1 time with an inch or so head room left to spare. There is at least 3in head room with my 5 yr old in there. The product quality is far better than I anticipated I give it 4 stars (4 because I'm not sure how I feel about the Velcro), size gets 5 stars, appearances gets 5 stars, & I give 5 stars for product weight as well. Pulling 85lbs (product weight + baby + 5yr old) is cake going straight or downhill, going uphill can get you slightly winded, but isn't that the point? Even going uphill I'd still consider it easy & I'm not in shape. The baby loves this bike trailer so much she starts trying to get in it when I'm not looking or cries when we go outside & walk past it & my 5yr old asks everyday if I'll take them for a ride.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Perfect

05/10/2012
By ,
milwaukee, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research & reading many reviews on bike trailers we took a chance on this particular brand, make & model. We, retired aged great grandparents to a set of 20 mo. old twins needed a sturdy, safe, comfortable, convenient, & yrs of enjoyment trailer for the twins that we babysit for every M-F. This trailer really exceeded our expectations. We had 1st purchased Shwinn's trailer. Upon opening their box we could see right away none of the requirements we were looking for was even remotely in the ball game. We immediately returned it to WALMART. We then ordered this Allen, sight unseen off the net. Yeah, we were nervous. Turns out we had nothing to fret about. This trailer IS all that & more. The twins have plenty of room to grow. No bottom dragging/sagging what's so ever. Storage glalore. Well built. Allen thought of everything concerning manufacturing the trailer. Also, we like using this trailer better than their double stroller when putting it in it's stroller mode. Much easier to stir & maneuver than their costly double stroller. I hope I helped.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Great child trailer, even better Customer Support!

06/09/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the trailer two weeks ago without being able to read any reviews. I figured it looked like a better product that the competitors, as well as a better warranty. I was nervous to recieve it, incase the quality was poor and parts were missing. I haven't been happier with a product. The trailer is of great quality and assembly couldn't be easier. Instructions were not even needed. Our 2 year old son loves riding in it and we can't tell its even behind us, good thing too because we have fixed gear beach cruisers. I think the step up from the AST100 is a smart one, steel rusts and is heavy, the AST200 is all aluminum. No tools needed for assembly which is nice and the included jogging stroller kit is a must have when biking to locations and locking up the bikes and walking. Great product Allen, and thanks!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer
09/30/2011
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We went on vacation to Cape Cod and needed something to transport 2 of our children (age 5 & 2) that would not be able to go on bike rides with us because they are too young to keep up. We hooked this to the back of my husband's bike & it worked great! He said it was a bit harder to go up hills, but on flat ground no problem (even our 8yr old pulled it on flat ground!) but it fit them both, was easy to assemble, easy to attach to the bike...After a few months of alot of use, 1 back wheel is at a slight angle due to a poorly designed bracket but it still works fine. Well worth the price. I love that the pins that hold it together are attached to the trailer so you dont lose them! such a smart idea. I now use it as a stroller for all the sports the boys do to transport everything
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Posted 03/12/2012
Nice trailer but not for 2...I have twin boys almost 2 yrs old( about 25lbs each) and they were scrunched in the trailer had absolutely no elbow room. I really think its a nice trailer..perfect for one but I dont see how you fit 2 children in it up to 50 lbs each.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Exceptional trailer

04/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I've not messed with a Burley or other $600 trailer, i shopped carefully before getting this, and am very very impressed. I build things, and recognize good or bad design details. This trailer is exceptional. It goes together very easily -- I did it in 15 minutes with my 2 year old grandon's "help" (gad). The fittings are excellent quality for easy snap together whether first time or for temporary storage, and they've even had the forethought to have all snap fittings tethered so you don't need to hunt for anything during assembly or unfolding later.
It's great to have a light but strong aluminum trailer yet still have a 100lb load rating, easily foldable, have functional stroller handle and wheel, and on top of all that, cost under $200 to your door.
I do have one little nit... It comes with a little stub thing (http://www.allensportsusa.com/products/AST-HCH ) for attaching to the bike axle. Once this is on the bike, the pin used to connect the trailer fits too tightly. I don't know yet whether I want to buy more of these stubs for the other bikes I'll use for pulling, or just keep the one stub and move it from bike to bike with the trailer. The rest of the quality and design far outweighs this problem.
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

After hours of research, I am so happy!

11/20/2011
By ,
Panama City, Panama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent hours researching & reading reviews for bike trailers. I made the best decision with this trailer and couldn't be happier. It's a fairly new model & I couldn't find a lot of reviews about it but after speaking with their customer service dept., I decided to go with it. I wanted a good trailer for the money but didn't want to break the bank. I read about the top of the line trailers and to tell you the truth, I'm not sure why this one doesn't cost more. It seems to have everything I wanted in a trailer. I originally wanted the Croozer 525 but am so glad I didn't spend the extra money. My 2 sons fit in it fine. (4 yrs. old - 43" 40 lbs. & 2 yr old - 31" 30 lbs.# The 4 yr. old has plenty of head space and when asked if he is comfortable, he always replies "yes mommy". I've read negative review on other trailers that when the children wear their helmet, their head bobs forward. This isn't the case with this model. There is netting area at the head area that is at the top of the seat so there is "give" for the helmets. Great design! They love the trailer. I want to go into the details because there isn't a lot of information about it. There are two little pouches on each side for their cups, snacks, small toys, etc., plenty of head room, large compartment behind the seats for storage of groceries, etc., screen behind the seats & trunk area that allow for plenty of airflow, comes with stroller attachment that works great, bottom of trailer is made of sturdy hard plastic, seat is sturdy - the kids are not falling into each other in the middle. If they ever do, there are 2 straps under the seat which can be tightened to prevent this. I found these straps while examining the trailer. #There isn't any information about this# The weather cover has a screen and a plastic cover that attach easily. The plastic rain guard rolls up in the front & back. There are reflection strips built into the canvas cover that reflect very well at night when a light shines on it. The stroller attachment is easy to use and it is a great stroller. The best part is my confidence in the company & their service and standing behind their product. My trailer came with a minor flaw and when I called the manufacturer, they provided quick, friendly service! They have been very helpful from the beginning. I live in Panama where it is hot & humid and the kids are very happy in this trailer. I take them to and from school every day #4 miles/day#. I use to push them in a typical double stroller. It was difficult to push and they got drenched when it rained which is almost every day. I purchased the aluminum version due to the humidity here. It is really light weight. If I haven't covered something, I am happy to answer any questions. I know how difficult it is to make a decision about selecting the right trailer. I don't think you will be disappointed with this one. I honestly can't find one negative thing to write about it. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sioux Falls, SD
Minor Flaw
Posted 09/11/2012
Could you please specify what the "minor flaw" was that yours came with?
0points
Customer Avatar
Central TX
Thanks for your great review.... question
Posted 01/31/2012
So is it fairly easy to convert from trailer to stoller? Do you think it makes a good jogging stroller? That front wheel looks so funny to me! Thanks for your review!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Very sturdy and quality materials

05/06/2013
By ,
Plano, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this trailer after researching quite a few. If you don't hae a preference about features, then buy one of the cheaper ones. The reason I purchased this trailer are:
It has a back air vent.
It has a rubber floor to protect kids from sharp objects poking up through. Also much easier to stand on or clean.
The wheels are 20" instead of 16" which offers a smoother ride. They are also real tires instead of plastic wheels.
It is held together by locking pins (which are only annoying because I have very small fingers and it's hard for me to undo them). I feel safe because I don't worry about anything jiggling loose.
It collapses down smaller than the trailers with plastic bottoms.
The cover is made from a higher quality canvas, not a tent-like material that will tear easily.
It comes with a stroller attachment wheel that can be left on the trailer while in use for a bike. Makes transition to stroller even quicker.
The reflective strips make meel a little safer..they show up very well.
There seems to be a little more room for 2 kids than in the cheaper bike trailers carried by Walmart.
This is probably the highest quality trailer I found until you jump into the price range of Burley and other deluxe trailers. I even chose this one over a Burley Honeybee after comparing features.
I have taken this trailer on several rides already...each about 6 miles long. Depending on the neighborhood, sidewalks work well or they are a total nightmare. I avoid busy streets and just bike through neighborhoods on the road.
I wish it had ventilation from the side windows as well. All the trailers I looked at also had the plastic windows, so that was just something I had to accept. It gets a little toasty inside if it is sunny...and that is with the back air vent open. Also the flag fell off on the first ride. It would have been a great feature if it didn't come apart so easily.
But overall, I am pleased with the quality of this trailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Amazing trailer for the money

08/08/2012
By ,
racine, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a great deal on a Burley trailer all summer at rummage sales and on craigslist with no luck. When I found this trailer online it was just what I was looking for. There may be a little less leg room in it than a Burley but my 3 foot tall toddler never said a word. The large tires make for a nice ride and it's really easy to take on and off my bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Great bike trailer at a great price!

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 children (ages 1yr and 3 yrs) fit comfortably in this bike trailer. It was easy to put together and fold back down. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a bike trailer for 2 small children.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer
05/14/2012
By ,
va beach, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick & easy installation. Very roomy for my tall 3year old son. No tools needed for installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Pretty good bike trailer and stroller combo

06/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike trailer so my 2 year old and I could keep up with her older siblings on bike rides. It is a great bike trailer. I barely notice I am pulling anything behind my bike. There is plenty of room for her and all the things she has to bring with her. I have put my older children in it with her and it is snug with 2 kids but nobody complained. They were toasty warm when I got them out. I just tried it out as a stroller today and I like it. I have only used it around the neighborhood and haven't taken it in the car, but it does seem to be easy to fold and it is easy to assemble. I looked at a lot of strollers and this one won. Kids love it and so do I. It shipped fast and the box was in good condition. Everything was in the box. Super easy to put together. Took me about 10 minutes with limited help from my husband. Seems to be made out of a durable material and I like the rubber floor under their feet. I don't think it will tear even with them climbing in and out everyday. The only thing that wasn't as expected was the flag. It falls apart so I would recommend super gluing it together so you don't loose it on a bike ride. Overall I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
seems great hope i get to use it soon!
Posted 07/11/2013
So I just received my trailer today. My box came damaged thank you so much fedex! part of the aluminum was sticking out of the box and it had gotten all scratched up and the paint came off :( sense it was on a part i will never see after putting it together its not a big deal.
On another note it was SUPER easy to put together! I did it myself in like 10 minutes. I was however missing one of the pins on the top left side that is supposed to hold the stroller arm in place soooo i will not be able to use it as a stroller until they can hopefully send me one! I called today but they were already gone for the day. Also I may be crazy but i cant seem to find this little slot that is supposed to be there for the flag to slide in?????? Can anyone help me with that???? Also as others have said the flag DOES come apart VERY easily!! CANT WAIT to use it!!!!! Now if only walmart hadn't delivered me a messed up schwinn bike i had to return yesterday! :( haha bad luck with my deliveries lately!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Awesome trailer

06/03/2013
By ,
Sheboygan, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent time going to all the local bike stores to check out the products that they offer. All of them begin at $350, and head upwards from there. One store said they carried this trailer as it was made in the same factory under a different name. The wife wanted a cheaper one, but I knew she wouldn't want the weight of a steel frame. This trailer has been awesome so far!! Riden over 30 miles with it, and our little guy has not complained once. Assembly is easy, and it fits nicely in the SUV when we go camping or up north. Would have liked zipper attachment for the cover instead of velcro, but not willing to pay the extra $100. Hopefully it lasts as long as everything looks like it will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

Wonderful Trailer

12/27/2013
By ,
Springfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this trailer as a Christmas gift for my son and his family. Excellent quality! The Allen Sports Bicycle Trailer is equipped with everything you need and more. They thought of everything with plenty of attention to safety. If you are wondering... Yes, it attaches just fine on a 29er!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer

very hapy customer

05/13/2013
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Love that it converts to a stroller. what i was most pleased with was how smooth the ride is - the trailer handles bumps amazingly. in my neighborhood there are lots of little ups and downs when going from the sidewalk to cross the street to back to the sidewalk, and the trailer is super smooth!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer
04/13/2013
By ,
Minneapolis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product. It's all aluminum which makes it really light. The kids love it and it works great in poor weather to keep the kids dry and warm. Only negative is it is overpriced. It is a little more money than should be spent on a buggy. Quality and performance is there though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer
07/10/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pulls pretty easy behind beach cruiser. Assembly about ten minutes with no damaged parts. The back mesh window could be larger for air flow other than that good product for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer
06/30/2013
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this trailer rides smooth and has plenty of room for another child to ride with my 5 yr. old, who is 40 lbs. it puts together very easy and the larger tires are nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer
05/09/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not hooked it up to a bike yet, but I did go jogging with it and it is has a smooth ride. My daughter likes it, because she feels like a princess. It is well built and seems sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Allen Sports AST200 Bicycle Trailer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5