Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Allen Sports Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

The Allen Sports MT2 Folding two bike carrier is an ultra light and compact bike carrier, perfect for carrying two bikes on sedans, minivans, and SUVs. This two bike carrier comes fully assembled and is quick to install. Its compact, foldaway design makes this bike rack ultra-portable and allows for convenient storage when not in use. The secure individual tie-downs on this Allen bike rack offers a safe and expedient way to travel with your bicycle. This bike rack for cars and other common passenger vehicles has a padded lower frame, designed to maintain a practical distance between the body of the car and the bicycles.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation78%49 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Folding Two Bike Carrier

03/10/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This folding two-bike carrier does mount to my CRV as described in their directions. Unfortunately, one of the spring-loaded thumb buttons (that you depress to lock and unlock the folding arms in place) soon malfunctioned and became jammed within the tubing. I was unable to retrieve it and had to return the item to Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart is excellent at accepting returns with no questions asked and gave me my full money back. I do feel that this item may be prone to such a malfunction again, so I did not swap it for a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Gets the Job Done

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this product is far from the best out there I must admit it gets the job done. With only a top and bottom strap I found there was quite a bit of lateral movement that this carrier allowed for and the bikes would bounce up and down a bit. However I used this to move two bikes on the highway all the way from DC to Denver with no problems so it definitely works. Best of all the pads did provide enough cushioning so they didn't even leave a mark on the car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

good compact and useful

05/13/2011
By ,
miami, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this rack because it was getting a bit expensive to always use the pickup truck for long trips before bike rides. for its intended purpose it works great. it has functioned flawlessly on both my wife's merc as well as in my hatchback focus. i do reccoment to use a set of bungee cords or something else to hold the wheels still and keep them from rotating while driving because the way it angles the bikes, at least on my hatchback, cause the wheels to move a lot in the wind. other than that great item. My Wife's bike is also a lady's specific and i did have to get the adaptor for her bicycle to use in the carrier but it worked fine as well. all in all for under 100 bucks spent total the item is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Memphis, TN
women's bikes
Posted 01/03/2012
can you elaborate on what you had to buy (and from where?) to make a woman's bike fit on there? We have a mountain bike with a woman's crossbar that isn't quite parallel like the men's. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

worth it

10/02/2011
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was very skeptical in buying especially since part of it rests on my hyundai santa fe's back window. but it was easy to assemble as 1-2-3 once i read the instructions slowly. only had to read the instructions once. tip/hint: don't let the carrier touch the ground or get dirt on it (just like the instructions say) if you are worried about scratching your window and be careful in getting the metal hooks of the bike carrier attached to their key points first (to get them out of the way). getting the bike on was easy. i tied the front wheel into place with the extra straps flapping around (as the instructions say). good idea to since it is the only thing that might cause problems. the bike is on solid once you adjust the straps. i drove back roads home and haven't been on a highway yet but the carrier didn't sway around or cause difficulty. just bought some extra velcro bike straps to secure that front wheel but otherwise this bike carrier is so worth the buy. after deassembling i noticed plastic scuff marks on my window but they wash off. good price. good value. solid and convenient.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Great bike carrier with quick on and off feature

03/28/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy carrier. Impressed with ease of installation and removal. Recommend for the weekend bike rider! Simple loading and unloading of bicycles. Folds up easily and comes with small carry bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Compact and very easy to setup

10/02/2013
By ,
Fremont, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what I wanted, a rack to quickly setup and mount my bike on the back of my 2000 Ford Focus ZX3. It takes me just minutes to mount/unmount the unit. Very well constructed and designed and a great value for the price. Once the bike is mounted, it is very sturdy when driving around...does not rock or sway. Really impressed by its simplicity.
I do agree with other reviews, the pins needing to be depressed can be a bit tough but after some practice, I can depress them easily with my thumbnail.
The only issue I found is I have a bottle holder mounted on the "down tube" (the tube from the headset to the crankset) and it bumps up against the bike rack but I quickly remedied this by placing a 1/2" styrofoam in between it.
Otherwise, I am very pleased with this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Very Pleased

04/25/2011
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rack to get help get me and my bikes home from college for the Summer. I have been able to use it to make some day trips before school gets out and am very impressed. Having borrowed similar items from my friends, here are some of the things that set this rack apart from anything else that I have seen:
1. Folds down to an incredibly small size. It stores right in the trunk of my car without getting in the way.
2. It comes with its own storage bag.
3. It's super easy to use.
Can't wait to take this on a few road trips when school gets out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Glad I bought this

07/18/2011
By ,
White Plains, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 sons have each gotten a new bike for this summer and the bikes are too big to throw in the trunk of our Nissan Rogue. My older son has a 20 inch bike and my younger son has an 18 inch bike. A Rogue will not accommodate bikes of these sizes with the boys also in the car. I supposed if we folded down the seat, but then where would the kids sit? But I digress.
We needed something to transport the 2 bikes around and I came across this particular carrier. After reading several positive reviews I decided on this one. The price was right and it isn't something you have to permanently attach to your car.
It's very easy to put together. If you look at the picture shown, you don't even need the directions to unfold it. It's strong and sturdy and those straps are very thick and heavy to hold the bike on securely. It fits the 2 bikes perfectly and the bikes do not even wobble when you are driving at highway speeds. I love this product.
The only suggestion I would make to someone with a smaller SUV like mine (and maybe it's specific to Rogues, I don't know) is to NOT secure the bottom strap UNDERNEATH the back bumper as it is all plastic down there and potentially would not bear the weight. Plastic is too pliable and can crack. It seems too flimsy under there to bear such a load. What we do now is secure the bottom strap in the seam for the trunk closure. In other words, the 2 straps are secured in the top seam of the trunk, like the picture and directions show, and the bottom strap is secured in the seam where the trunk closes. So, it's like the whole contraption is only secured to the trunk door. Using the trunk door is 100 times more secure than the strap being on the flimsy underside of the car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

A good buy

05/29/2011
By ,
jonesboro Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been purchased for local use, but I definitely could use it on a long trip. It's easy to put On and easy to fold and put away. The bag is great for easy storage. I have only found one problem with this product...I feel like I'm not strong enough to get it as tightly tied as I would like...but I'm a girl so that's normal with some things. Otherwise; this has been very easy to use :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Not good on Honda CRV

08/19/2011
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy to follow directions. Truly a great carrier, but did not do well on our Honda CRV. The rubber boots appeared too firm for the strength of the metal on the rear hatch door, so I reinforced with one sided adhesive foam rubber tape. On trip to North Carolina carrier would slip and would readjust at every stop. Besides the adjustment appeared to make trip down. On return did not use foam tape. The lower rubber boots caused damage that made 2 small indentations in the metal under the rear license plate. Wife very upset from damage. It would be nice to know in the online purchase information what vehicles works best on instead of fits most vehicles. The pictures show to top boots on the glass and the lower boots on the license plate. Was not comfortable with pressure on contoured rear window.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Faulty design

03/21/2011
By ,
United States
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bike carrier because of the compact design. It utilizes self-contained "spring pins" to lock / unlock the arms on this unit. The problem is that these pins are difficult to push and then swing the arms into the proper position. If you use a tool, like a screwdriver, to push the pins inward to disengage the arms, you run the risk of over pushing and the pins disappear into the tubing. Once this happens, you can't get the pins out! I'm returning it today and buying the 102DB which has great reviews. Buyer beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

great

04/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
me and my husband love taking the portable carrie it fit well in my compact car and it also works great on his suv truck when were going on weekend trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Really a Good Bike Rack

06/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm very happy that I bought this rack. Easy to install, and small when broken down and stored. My only complaint is that there is no strap included to tie down the wheels (especially the front). The directions recommended purchasing an additional strap, and a $2.00 bungee cord did the trick perfectly....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/21/2012
I won't swear to it, but I it says in the directions to use the excess strap from the botton hook (the one that hooks under your car or at the base of your trunk) to tie the front wheel in place. If it doesn't, that's what I've been doing with it and it works very well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Great Rack - Great Service

08/01/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this rack to use for weekend trips out to trails around town. It comes fully assembled, sets up and installs super easy, and holds my bike extremely solid onto my car (BMW sedan). I had one question during installation, and called the company. The girl I spoke with was really helpful. A great rack from a great company!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Very unstable and cheaply made

07/17/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this bike rack to take our 2 bikes down to the Outer Banks, NC on vacation. First of all, we had to use rubber to place between the metal parts and my car to keep it from scratching the paint as nothing like that was supplied or used on the metal parts of the rack. Second, we had to stop less than an hour into the trip to readjust the rack as the bikes had started to slip sideways - both ways of the trip. Thankfully we had a container of bungie straps in the car to hold the bikes on the back of the car! Third and Finally, one of the support bars didn't hold up the bikes AT ALL!! I am very sorry that I purchased this rack and will be looking for another, sturdier rack for other trips. Unfortunately I don't have the receipt to return this useless rack and will just pitch it in the trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Thumbs up

03/24/2011
By ,
Venice, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While not as inexpensive as the other Allen 2-bike rack, the MT-2 delivers big time when it comes to carrying your bikes, and then practically disappears when it needs to be put away. If Transformers were to make a bike racks, this would be it. Very cool product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Nice Rack

04/10/2011
By ,
Columbia SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tried to save money and buy the cheaper Allen 3 bike carrier and ended up taking it back and getting this one. Haven't had any problems at all with this one and I use it 3 or 4 times a week. Sturdy and holds my bike nicely. Although it doesn't look like it will hold both mine and my wife's bike. At least not on my car. Maybe on my wife's van it will but not on a car.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Easy Assembly!

02/18/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter she has a little 4 door Nissan Sentra. I knew this product would need to be easy to assemble and assemble fast. I watched the video in advance and found it to be really helpful. I gave it to my daughter had her watch the video and she was able to put it on her car by herself and load up her beach cruiser! She is really happy with this bike rack.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Nice bike rack.

11/15/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used the rack a few times and it broke, the push pin got stuck like many others reviewers said. I contacted Allen and the replied within a few hours. They said they would send a new rack, but it was back ordered and would be a couple of weeks. It arrive within 5 days. I really like the rack, easy to put on and take off and to load my bike. I hope this one lasts! I would buy another Allen rack due to their customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Sports MT-2 Folding Two-Bike Carrier

Not bad.

02/02/2014
By ,
AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It worked ok but it could use side straps to keep the bikes steady. If it had the side straps I would have given it a 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next