Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Allen Sports Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

The Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One Bike Carrier is an effective and convenient solution to take your bike with you on travels. It fits on a wide range of vehicles including SUVs, hatchbacks, minivans and sedans. The Allen Sports bike carrier has a small footprint and boasts a compact folded design that makes it easy to install. You can use the individual tie-downs, which are designed to protect the bike, to firmly secure your bicycle to your car separated by a small gap. This bike carrier for cars features a durable, powder-coated gray finish and will fit on your vehicle in an unobtrusive way. When not in use, the rack can be easily folded and stored using the carry bag that comes with the package. The ultra-compact design is one of the smallest available on the market. This Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One Bike Carrier has a padded lower frame that protects the vehicle from scratches and damage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.397 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%58 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Great Concept BUT

01/04/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recommend anyone interested go to the company website to make sure this fits your car or truck. I found out the hard way and now I'm stuck with a rack I can't use. Allen Sports USA will tell you the make, model and YEAR that this rack can be used for. My truck was listed but the year was not which made a difference. http://www.allensportsusa.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Superb folding bike rack for single bike

06/04/2011
By ,
Issaquah, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The rack is compact - folds up quickly and easily and fits into approx. 17" x 7" bag - so easy to carry in the trunk when not in use. It is light weight yet very sturdy and holds the bike steady and securely. The straps are long enough to fit varying size cars. The finish of the product is excellent, inspiring confidence that it will last a long time and not scratch or damage the bodywork of the car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Good Product

01/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a single rack to transport my bike, but didn't want to break the bank. I read reviews and watched the video. I used it today and drove 20 miles, on the freeway at 70mph. The rack and bike were secure and worked the whole time.
The only thing extra I did was buy some small bungee cords from the auto department. I used a couple of the bungees to help secure the bike to the middle of the rack. I used one bungee to secure the front tire so it wouldn't turn or the handlebars wouldn't turn. I also put a small towel down between the trunk lid and the mount, to save any issues of marks on the trunk.
I use it on a 2010 Camaro and it works great! Quick to install and remove. The unit is compact too, doesn't take up much trunk space. I liked the fact that my vehicle was listed on the back of the box, so I was confident it would work.
Definitely worth the money!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Works like a charm!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does everything it says it does and yes it works easily. I am a person with a back injury and I was able to use the bike carrier with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

It looks cool, but very nerve racking

04/20/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm planning a big bikecamping trip and I live alone so I was pretty excited when I found the one bike bikerack. It's coolness factor is pretty high, and I like the way it folds up. It's also moderately priced. But my biggest problem was strapping the rack to my car. The way the buckles are, I was so paranoid that the top buckles would loosen and the bike would fall off. Also, when car is driving, the bike would bounce up against the car I had to actually bunji the bike to the rack. I did use the extra lashings to tie the bike down as well. Another concern, is the straps the hold up the frame. There is no locking mechanism, but a velcro strip. These are just concerns though because my bike didn't fall down, it was just that the paranoid. For it's price, the fact that it could fold down, and it's compact makes it a good product, it'sjust, the way the bike is setup causes paranoic worry.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

It Works!

07/21/2014
By ,
So Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the bike rack a couple of time now and it works.
My MT bike is about 28lbs and the rack can support it, so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Doesn't fit Woman's Bike

02/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to carry a new bike home. Put it on my car - was so excited and then went to pick up my bike. I couldn't get the bike to mount on it. WHY doesn't it say somewhere on the box that you need an adapter to mount a woman's bike? Took it back and got a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

handy, simple, folds up well.

05/16/2014
By ,
02382
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great carrier that folds up well to keep in car without taking up much room.
Easy to set up and take down.
Be sure to check website(allensports.com)for models that fit your car !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Allen Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

06/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rack is built like a tank and should last a lifetime. Definitely worth the small price and I would encourage anyone looking for a good bike carrier/car carrier, to purchase this product. I believe this rack will fit just about any vehicle made, and once installed your bike and rack will not move or sway. Easiest bike rack to install that I've ever owned and better than most higher-priced racks being sold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier
06/16/2011
By ,
CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT BIKE CARRIER. REALLY SIMPLE TO USE. BIKE DOES NOT MOVE AT ALL. I DID TAKE A BUNGEE CORD AND CONNECTED IT TO THE FRONT WHEEL AND THE BIKE FRAME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Great for the price

07/26/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Straps easily onto my 2000 Honda Civic, held up well for the 850 mile drive from Utah to CA through the Nevada desert in July (I bought it specifically for the move).
The center pad is too small for my 23 in frame to rest on, in fact it lined right up with my metallic water bottle holder, which melted a gash in the rubber pad in Nevada. But I just move the holder now, use old sweatbands to cover the inside pedal and rest that pedal against the rear bumper (not ideal, but relatively secure).
Get a couple bungees to secure the front tire with the frame and you're good to go, just make sure to cover up potential scratch points on your bike (brakes, exposed brake cables, handle bars) and that the water bottle holder isn't the part resting on the pad, or it'll snap and you'll end up with scratches on your trunk like mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Folding One-Bike Carrier--Great Product!

07/05/2012
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great product that we ordered online from Walmart for transporting our bike from home to the bike store to be fixed. Being a fix-it-challenged person (I can't fix my way out of a paper bag!), the instruction sheet for installing the bike carrier was amazingly easy to follow! We managed to install the bike carrier correctly onto our car, but unfortunately for us, our bike did NOT fit onto the carrier. The top bar (it was a man's bike) wasn't straight across, but had a "fork" that did not allow for the necessary snug fit. Also, the maximum weight allowable is 35 lbs, and the bike weighed exactly 35 lbs, so we didn't want to risk it. Our local Walmart accepted the returned bike carrier (we returned it in the handy box it came in) and refunded our money with no problems. The bike carrier itself was extremely well made; we were disappointed that it was our BIKE that was the drawback, NOT the carrier! So, the product DID meet our expectations; however, WE couldn't use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Excellet

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a nissan 350z, and this rack fit perfet in my car...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

easy setup

04/26/2011
By ,
Yankton, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
although the instructions are easy to follow, the straps are extremely long and you need to wrap them and tie them off...unless you think you can cut them(?) Otherwise, it's sturdy and does the job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier
03/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice bike carrier, nice design,I'm pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego
Posted 06/23/2011
I did some research for a bike rack carrier, and I chose this particular one allen sports MT..Because the price was reasonable and they had more positve reviews than negative..When I got the bike rack it was not to hard to assemble..I think I just smashed my finger one puting the pin in but over all not hard. the tricky part for me was trying to get my bike on the bike rack..Thank GOD for neighbors cause he helped me figure it out..I was scared at first, to drive on the freeway ..thinking my bike was going to fly off my car and cause an accident..That allen sports race held it snugged and tight..I was able to take my bike to the beach and I had a great time..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Great Product!

04/22/2012
By ,
Ridgefield, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, a little background. I'm a single female under 5 feet tall, and 59 years of age. The car that this product is used on is a Ford Escape SUV. The bike has non-conventional bars between the seat and handlebars. I had to purchase a bar that is placed between the seat and handlebars to use all carrying methods, except #1.
I love to bring my bike to different parks to ride. Transporting it has been challenging for me.
I have tried many different methods.
1. Putting the back seat down and putting bike in rear of car. This works, but I don't like having to put the seats up and down constantly. Also getting the bike in and our of the car is a little awkward, at times.
2. I have hitch. I purchased one of those bike racks that have a pole that inserts into the hitch, extends upward to about 6 inches from top of rear window. It accommodates 3 bikes, has locks, and conveniently can allow for the opening of the hatch door when bike is not on it, since it folds downward. I am unable to use this method for a few reasons. Once the bar is placed on the bike, the space where the bike rack arms are to be put into is not large enough to accommodate the the arms of the rack. Secondly, even if the space were wide enough, being short, I am unable to lift my mountain bike high enough to be put on the rack arms.
3. I bought a sort of tray that attaches to the hitch and has 3 loops to accommodate the front wheels of three bikes. This works pretty well, as it is low enough for me to lift the bike on to. However, I have to put multiple tie down straps to secure the bike. Also, since the tray is quite heavy, once it is put on the hitch, I leave it on. This presents a problem when backing up the car, as I cannot tell where the farthest end of the tray is. I also, really don't like having to keep it on the back of the car all riding season long.
4. And finally, the Allen Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier. The best product ever! It doesn't have to be kept on the car for the duration because it installs and uninstalls in minutes, whenever I need it. I can adjust how high the rack arms are by adjusting the straps that hold the rack to the car. It is no longer too high for me to lift the bike onto. The arms are small enough to fit in to the space left on the bike after the bar is placed between the seat and handlebars. I don't need any additional tie downs to secure the bike. I use the length left over from the bottom strap to secure the front wheel by threading through the spokes and tied onto the strap. The bike does not move at all during transporting. And the price is right. I think I paid over $100 for each of the other 2 carriers I wrote about. Also, I bought online at Walmart, knowing that if I had to return the product, I could just bring it to the store. - WON'T BE DOING THAT!
Happy riding! - from shorty!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Allen Folding Carrier

08/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this carrier for my hybrid bike and am very pleased. Easily installed on my Lexus sedan (simply read the instructions; it's very simple). Carrier is very sturdy, and remains firmly in place once installed. My bike doesn't move once it's secured. (Used excess length on strap to secure the front wheel so it doesn't swivel). Compact folding design makes it easy to carry on my back (in the included pouch) while riding. Overall, a great product at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

The Best

09/17/2011
By ,
Pevely, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was a little leery about buying this. After researching other bike racks I kept coming back to this one. It is very SOLID AND STURDY, EASY to FOLD, COMPACT and just all around GREAT!!! I can't wait till later this week to try it out when I go camping. I am Very Excited and Satisfied with this purchase and would recommend this item to anyone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pevely, Mo
UPDATE
Posted 09/27/2011
I used this for the 1st time this weekend. Took it on a 3 1/2 camping trip. All I can say is this bike rack is SOLID as a ROCK!!! It never shifted or became loose. This is the best purchase EVER!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

Sturdy little bike carrier

06/04/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really pleased with this purchase. The set-up is quick and easy, and it worked great. I first used it to return a new Huffy Beach Cruiser to Walmart that I wasn't happy with, and then used it to bring my new bike, a Schwinn mountain bike, home. It worked equally well with both bikes. I drive a Pontiac Sunfire, and I was a little nervous at first, both because my car has a spoiler, and because the beach cruiser is clunky and heavy, but everything was fine, and the carrier didn't budge. I drove on a major highway, at about 55 mph.
When I bought this carrier, I also bought the Adapter Bar, and I highly recommend that to anyone transporting women's bikes. Not sure I could have transported the beach cruiser without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier

well-built

03/31/2011
By ,
Dunkirk, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rack is well built and sturdy. Hold bike very stable and is easy to mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next